Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V20, 5% M2 Amex on weekend spending (NOT ALL)

peri peri
post Sep 7 2018, 09:15 AM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

very weird, i always thought mbb2 cards are combo card, always can be selective to cancel either.

maybe is time to ring BNM
peri peri
post Sep 7 2018, 09:23 AM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(dannyw @ Sep 7 2018, 09:20 AM)
I know that is always come as a package, however they should follow the previous practice, only charge one SST instead of two.
yeah, u reminded me that since last GST, they only charge once
peri peri
post Sep 27 2018, 12:00 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(borneoman1 @ Sep 27 2018, 09:15 AM)
Hello, I went to maybank and asked for upgrade to platinum. Luckily I got it. But it seems my gold cards are active too. Does this mean I can still get cashback for the gold, in addition to the plat amex cards?

I was thinking I should keep both and just offset the sst fees for both sets using points & cashback.
are you sure its still active? have u try and swipe or pay anything to proof it? or it just stuck there in your online banking.
peri peri
post Sep 28 2018, 09:04 AM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(borneoman1 @ Sep 27 2018, 06:41 PM)
I just tried to top up prepaid card after reading ur post. It went through, so I guess it's still active.

Edit: My mistake, it was a different card. I'll try to swipe something with the gold cards and give an update later.
mine mbb vs cards after twice cancellation due to AF issue, now like forever stuck there with those others active cards. only solution is walk in to any mbb branch, wait 1 hour to be attended just to clear it off from screen. thats the inconvenience part.

Just to share, my cancelled HLB card, after 1 year i check my ccris report, it still stuck there. but in online banking the card info is disappear. Have to be extra caution handling cancelled cards but it might not reflect accordingly in ccris.
peri peri
post Sep 28 2018, 10:30 AM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(kremlin @ Sep 28 2018, 10:13 AM)
I went the branch in Mid Valley (not the Gardens) and the officer at the reception (issuing queue number) did the update for me. Waiting time is 5 minutes.
eeeeee. i purposely went to garden on weekend, the recep said they only do application, gift redemp and card cancel.

they direct me to branch to get it done there instead. vmad.gif i kena troll ?
peri peri
post Sep 28 2018, 10:33 AM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 28 2018, 10:32 AM)
Did you read the post correctly?
my bad, very tricky sentence
peri peri
post Dec 8 2018, 12:35 AM

11,943 posts

hi guys, pay maxis no more support amex for payment?

just now i use the previous amex paid card to pay, once otp, got rejected. after that i notice the credit card only showing visa and master.

peri peri
post Dec 8 2018, 11:28 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(munfatt @ Dec 8 2018, 08:28 PM)
Not sure about Maybank2u but I just tried to pay today with AMEX. Since I save my credit card in maxis pay so I just did payment via saved credit card. Unfortunately after tac code validated, Maxis website says sorry payment not successful. Please contact bank bla bla bla.

Upon contacting Maybank, they said my transaction was successful. Please check with Maxis.

Then I called Maxis and they said that starting 1 Dec 2018, Maxis no longer accept AMEX. Suppose the payment I made earlier will not go through as per Maxis CS. However, if it does, Maxis will credit to my bill.

From my experience, businesses staying away from AMEX. Nandos and Maxis that use to accept it, DOES NOT accept AMEX anymore. Anyone experience similar situation with merchants that don't accept AMEX anymore, please update ya.

Cheers!!
omg, exactly happened to me last nite,

are you going to wait maxis revert the refund back to ur amex automatically or how?

thx for reply

edited, my case after the maxis prompt my payment rejected and blah blah blah

10 minutes later mbb sent sms saying my payment successful, but maxis no further payment receipt for amex

This post has been edited by peri peri: Dec 8 2018, 11:30 PM
peri peri
post Dec 10 2018, 05:05 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Dec 9 2018, 01:00 AM)
I just called Maxis and they confirmed my payment via Maybank2u on Dec 1 (an hour or two after midnite) was received. Didn't use the Maxis App though. And they confirmed that they're no longer accepting Amex since Dec 1. So maybe mine was near the cutover time, i.e. they have not stopped Amex yet.

Here's the thing - I don't know how paying from the credit card issuer's bank site works. Maybank2me can still deduct money from me Amex card and deposit money into Maxis, unlike the Maxis App where Maxis has to bill to Maybank2me, no? After all, it's all within Maybank2me's control.

In the past, I've also managed to pay Syabas with HSBC credit card from HSBC website, although I *think* Syabas does not accept credit cards.

peri peri chicken, I think you need talk to Maxis if you used Maxis App. If they don't support Amex anymore, they should not have charged your Amex until you receive OTP. On the other hand, if you paid from Maybank2u site, then you'll have to bug Maybank2me for a start if Maxis did not receive the money.
ok, thanks for reply
QUOTE(munfatt @ Dec 9 2018, 01:48 AM)
I'll check Maybank2u later to see if transaction go through or reversed by itself. I'm hoping it to squeeze through and earn one last time 5% cashback paying Maxis.
yup, im also tracking their posting in my m2u. suspecting the amount is charged.

This post has been edited by peri peri: Dec 10 2018, 05:06 PM
peri peri
post Sep 4 2019, 04:53 PM

11,943 posts

SST rebate/reversal

1. Maybank2kard visa cancelled to get sst reversal
2. FCB visa unable to use 10k TP to offset SST
3. Used 10K TP to offset SST
4. Cancelled the ikhwan due to SST also

Hopefully coming Budget PH dont U turn on SST again
peri peri
post Oct 23 2024, 01:58 PM

11,943 posts

any idea why so hard to request credit limit increase for mbb card? mine mbb is the lowest cl among other bank.

Need hint coz been tried few rounds. rejected without reason.

But applying new MBB cards approved so fast. Adui
peri peri
post Oct 24 2024, 10:08 AM

11,943 posts

Just got approved for CL increase after 2nd round application. remember to enclosed IC copy during application.

I requested for 250% CL increase, but only gotten 28% increase.
haiz, better than nothing.
peri peri
post Oct 24 2024, 03:42 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(Gabriel03 @ Oct 24 2024, 11:06 AM)
What did you do differently in the 2nd application?
Also why is the IC copy needed? It's not listed as part of the required doc to submit.
IC, first round no selection for IC.
Then since no update, i apply again, this round got selection for IC. then attached. Approved in 2 days

0.0357sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:13 PM