Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V20, 5% M2 Amex on weekend spending (NOT ALL)

DJFoo000
post Aug 23 2022, 01:40 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Aug 23 2022, 01:09 PM)
me too haha. almost wanted to take MAE but then I saw that RM8 annual fee, I turned away.
same goes to my other banks SA debit cards, always opted for the Basic SA and the staff always be like "u sure? but RM8 u can do unlimited withdrawal bla bla bla". "ya im sure. please no annual fees".

*ps, I love collecting plastics from different banks + having a basic SA with them shows that I trust them and increases potential of future service acceptance from them.
Which banks' basic savings account punya debit card has no annual fee? Afaik only Maybank.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Aug 23 2022, 01:40 PM
DJFoo000
post Aug 25 2022, 08:52 PM

3,000 posts

QUOTE(PoisonSoul @ Aug 23 2022, 09:08 PM)
I think every bank in MY. BNM's directive to ask every bank to have a "basic savings account" with no annual fee but did not say banks must promote this first.
Banks relatively kept this very quiet as, of course they are not able to earn from this BSA. You can always find this BSA option hidden inside each bank's website. Usually hidden @ the bottom of the list of services they offer for savings account.
MBB for instance

CIMB for instance

You have to either scroll down or click "load more" on each bank's savings accounts options.
BNM directive (2005 though)
I was asking specifically about the debit card though. CIMB by default does not open an Octosavers account for you (which has annual fee for both the account AND the debit card). I kena the Basic Savings Account, which was not eligible for lifetime annual fee waiver for the debit card. Every year kena makan RM15 for no good reason.

QUOTE(lovelyuser @ Aug 23 2022, 10:08 PM)
I'm using PB Petron VISA Debit Card, lifetime no annual fees

Need to maintain min balance RM 25 at all time
Only got to know once I really dug deep into the banks' website. This Petron card is not the default card they issue. The default card they issue makan annual fee. Might wanna visit a branch to see if can replace with the Petron card since my default card gonna expire very soon.

QUOTE(red streak @ Aug 23 2022, 10:12 PM)
That's because you don't have the right account.  rolleyes.gif CIMB Basic Savings Account 1 is what you need to get a debit card without the annual fee. Everything else is a ripoff since CIMB is easily the worst bank despite their widespread availability.
I don't know why this macha has some serious comprehension issues.  rclxub.gif
Nope, BSA (which is the default when you walk in to open account at branch) also don't give annual fee waiver for debit card. Only Octosavers get waiver for debit card.
DJFoo000
post Nov 3 2023, 10:09 AM

3,000 posts

TNB confirm cannot get AMEX cashback via existing means of payments (TNB app, JOMPay, M2U bill payment).

0.0431sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:38 PM