Hi to all Sifu, anyone knows how to maximize the amex cash back now that we cannot get the 5% for utilities fees or any government link companies?
Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V20, 5% M2 Amex on weekend spending (NOT ALL)
May 28 2019, 06:07 PM
153 posts Joined: Aug 2013 |
Hi to all Sifu, anyone knows how to maximize the amex cash back now that we cannot get the 5% for utilities fees or any government link companies?
May 29 2019, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(#Victor @ May 28 2019, 07:21 PM) Yup doing that paying off my Unifi, Digi bills as well as filling up petrol but still left hundreds. Was thinking if there is any other way to maximize the usage. Boost seems to accept amex but then the usage is limited and we can only pay for Syabas. Other than that the outlet mentioned do not seem to be useful to me and most people. So is there any avenue that we can maximize the cash back? of course use it for necessity not just to get the RM50/month. |
May 29 2019, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(TongCN @ May 29 2019, 10:11 AM) Boost can pay Unifi/Streamyx FYI Thanks. Didn't know about this and it seems just recently implemented in Apr'19. But Shell petrol for its ron95 seems got issue with jerking whereby the combustion occur earlier or later after acceleration pedal is depressed. Not frequently but occasionally which i believe is not so good if continue to use it. Petron gives better mileage and the point collected is better RM1=1.5points, where you can exchange it with petrol later on when it reaches 2k.You can also use for Shell Pump Please refer boost thread for more info Sorry out of topic This post has been edited by CoffeeMiloTea: May 29 2019, 10:57 AM |
May 29 2019, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 29 2019, 10:26 AM) maximizing cashback = reload all to boost app and grappay app. definitely max out the cashback. Yup that's what i was trying to find out what others use it for so that i can somehow follow if it's applicable. Someone may find it useful just like the update given earlier where we can use Boost app to pay for stuff we buy in Shell petrol station. Even though i don't use Shell but probably and occasionally i can use it cause the advantage is that I don't need to purposely wait till the weekend to fill up petrol. Though for my car full tank can last for a week. Estimated driving about 400km/week. So it's a useful information, I would say.maximize the spending, that's another story altogether. we dont know WHAT you want to pay using amex, HOW MUCH is your spending using amex, WHERE you usually spend with amex. your question is too general and only applies to you specifically. different people has different spending behavior and arrangement. |
May 29 2019, 11:16 AM
Just to share another thing is you can maximize through converting to cash voucher like the one offer by Jusco to maximize the cash back per month. If you frequently buy grocery in Jusco then yeah it works otherwise it's a bit difficult.
May 29 2019, 03:55 PM
Mar 9 2024, 06:22 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Mar 9 2024, 06:06 PM) Use SPaylater (Shopee Pay Later) to spend at offline merchants (Guardian, Big Pharmacy, Econsave, 99speedmart, NSK, Mydin, Giant, Cold Storage, Village Grocer, Mr DIY, Ecoshop, Ninso, HeroMarket, Lotus's, Shell, BHPetrol, Petron, Burger King, Secret Recipe, Marrybrown, A&W, Sushi King, KFC, PizzaHut, SenQ, Starbucks, Coffee Bean, Zus, emart24, CU, Mynews, Baskin Robbins, Domino's Pizza, KK Super Mart, FamilyMart etc). Anytime not limited to weekend. But Spaylater has 1.5% processing fee. It’s not free.The use AMEX to settle SPaylater debt on Sat/Sun. Easily RM1000/month. |
Mar 10 2024, 01:58 PM
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Mar 9 2024, 07:31 PM) think of it this way Ok good point. Meaning we only pay the price for the item right? No additional fee to shopee? use spaylater 0% to delay immediate payment temporarily, so that you can strategize to repay during weekend with m2c amex. by doing so, you won't be burden by spending urge/needs (eg 1.1, 2.2, 3.3, etc special day promos) vs utilizing m2c amex cb. Next question I have is, I have just activated spaylater but apparently your suggestion above only work on special spaylater. The activation only applies to seller. How about buyer like us? We just pay using the spaylater method? And if I understood correctly it only work if the seller scan our barcode right? This is based on my observation when I play around with the app. Scanning seller barcode does not entitle for the 0% processing or whatever fees. Pls do correct me if I’m wrong. Thank you 🙏 This post has been edited by CoffeeMiloTea: Mar 10 2024, 01:59 PM |
Mar 10 2024, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(cybpsych @ Mar 10 2024, 03:35 PM) don't understand what u trying to say about activation. Sorry, what do you mean by offline merchant? You mean pumping petrol at the station and use spaylater? We cannot pay for petrol probably except for voucher.spaylater is a credit offer to you. subject to approval and certain credit limit. for seller, up to them to enrol spaylater or not. I haven't explored spaylater for offline merchants. only within shopee merchants. last I tried with bhp x spaylater offer, I show qrcode for bhp to scan. then I can switch my payment option to spaylater. |
Mar 10 2024, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Mar 10 2024, 04:23 PM) Most of the SPayLater/ShopeePay merchants: The cashiers scan your SPayLater/ShopeePay QR. If SPayLater, you need to confirm the number of instalments to complete the payment (FOC only if no instalment). Eg Mr DIY, Econsave, Ecoshop, Guardian. I can select spaylater when seller scan my barcode but not the other way round when I scan seller barcode. At least for the latter I don’t see the option available. So you’re saying that regardless of I scan seller or seller scan mine both have option for spaylater right? If the seller does not sign up for special spaylater we won’t get the zero processing fee. That is what Shopee CS told me just now. We will know when the invoice is shown and we can choose to proceed or not.There are some merchants you need to scan their Duitnow QR and pay. Eg Big Pharmacy. There was 7 pages of SPayLater merchant list (>100 merchants) at Shopee App a few months ago (not available now). Mostly F&B and pharmacy. --- 👆You can now choose Pay Next Month, 0 Fees with SPayLater! Pay & purchase for your needs in the Shopee App or in-stores today! 🛍 Check out more deals & vouchers with SPayLater here 👉https://shopee.com.my/m/spaylater *Terms & Conditions Apply. #SPayLaterMY #ShopeeMY |
Mar 10 2024, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Mar 10 2024, 04:45 PM) You need to scan the merchant's QR that allows SPayLater. Ok you mean so long that the spaylater is selected or tick regardless of who scans whose QR code, it will use use spaylater. Unless the merchant does not sign up for then we have to pay with Shopeepay. Got it. Initially I thought spaylater only works on seller scanning my QR code because my QR code is shown in that screen when I can select spaylater but not on the screen where I am supposed to scan seller QR code.Most of the merchant Duitnow QR that you scan won't allow SPayLater/ Grab Pay later / credit cards. e.g. at Petrol station, the cashier use their E-wallet device to scan your ShopeePay/SPayLater code, it should work. If you scan the Duitnow QR plate, SPayLater will fail, then you need to use ShopeePay (wallet balance). P/S: I can select SPayLater to scan merchant Duitnow QR to pay. If fails, then I choose Wallet Balance to proceed (ShopeePay). |
| Change to: | 0.0380sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:34 PM |