[UPDATE]Maxis fiber 30m internet keep on diconnect, self purchase a router, issue solve

NightHeart
post Aug 28 2018, 08:58 AM

3,991 posts

Happened to me roughly 2 years ago, DC for several seconds only but very consistent. Like every 15 to 20 minutes once.

Changed the Maxis's default modem to my own Asus one. Problem gone.
NightHeart
post Aug 29 2018, 01:42 AM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(watashigundamu @ Aug 29 2018, 12:46 AM)
The tech guy did mention suspect is hardware issue, and looking at the current situation, high chance that's the case.
i actually spend my evening at lowyat and looking at various router over there. any recommendation from your side, or maybe the model you're using now? thanks in advance.
also, do you meant router or modem? cuz from what i know when survey at lowyat, they say they no sell modem only (aside those 2 in 1 type).

I’m using Asus. Bought it from someone here who has a shop in Sunway Geo.
Apparently there’s 2 models only cheap one which is just a few hundred ringgit & the expensive one which is beyond RM1k. I went with the cheap one & it’s been great so far.

Unfortunately I don’t have the model details on my finger tips, maybe there’s even a newer model already too. So maybe you can research about Asus router/modem first.
NightHeart
post Aug 29 2018, 11:09 PM

3,991 posts

QUOTE(watashigundamu @ Aug 29 2018, 10:27 PM)
to both of you, THANK YOU SO MUCH!
i really glad i took you two's advice and go purchase a new router myself, cuz this router actually solve the intermittent internet disconnect issue.

went to lowyat this morning and been ping to gateway and google.com until now, heck, no more those multiple line of request time out or general failure  !!!

at this point i dont even bother with their contractor to come and swap another maxis provide router, since they might provide the same thing and with same issue.
You’re welcome, have fun with your smoother line now laugh.gif

I was told that maxis default router sucks, lotsa people encounter this after a few years. So it’s fine to change it anyway.

0.0154sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:47 PM