[UPDATE] Maxis fiber 30m keep on diconnected, internet lost/dc randomly

TSwatashigundamu
post Aug 28 2018, 05:55 AM, updated 7y ago

[UPDATE] :
this issue solve after change to another router which i bought my self (asus brand).
suggest if anyone is facing similar issue, swap the router and test.
mine is confirm router issue. bought a asus router and issue gone.

Maxis provided router is confirm rubbish tier hardware.

BUT STILL, a customer should not have to go through all these : back & forth calling Maxis support + self research + self buy router, seriously, are Maxis expecting everyone to go and buy their own router???

TLDR:

# Maxis fiber internet connection keep on disconnected randomly for no reason.
# this internet dc issue can be notice on both WIFI and LAN connected device.
# when change back to unifi router and modem, all is good.
# tried every thing to solve maxis random dc issue, no result.
# suspect ISP (maxis) or their provided hardware is the root cause.

Long ver:

hi all ,anyone experiencing random internet lost when using Maxis Fiber broadband ?

i switch from unifi 30m to maxis 30m, initially some hiccups happen but was fixed after calling the Maxis tech (thanks maxis tech guys). but then i notice the internet is not stable at all since it will lost internet randomly.

this is frustrating since even thou it happen randomly, but it happen in a very consistent fasion.

this kind of internet lost is very noticeable, especially during online game session. the entire game session will lost when this happen, and for most cases not able to reconnect.

same thing when browsing website. when click to open a site, you will notice the site is not loading at all, and at that moment, when check the task bar at the lower right, you will notice the red "X" at the network icon which indicate the internet is lost. the internet will recover after a few second.

initially suspect the LAN cable or Network adapter is at fault, but this is not the case for my side because when the internet is lost, it happen at both devices that connect to WIFI and LAN device. i know the internet is lost at the device that connect to wifi as well cuz i install app to do ping at my android device.

when the internet is lost, both LAN and WIFI connected device will get ping error "General failure." or "Request timed out.", this will happen for like a few second, then the internet will be back again.

These never happen when using Unifi provided hardware.

true enough, when revert back to Unifi hardware, all is good and not a single "General failure" or time out error from the ping result (LAN connected PC), WiFi wise very little packet lost, way lesser when compare to the time connected to Maxis. hence the entire issue pointing back to either the ISP (Maxis) which i have no idea what happen over there, or their provided hardware (modem or router) have some kind of serious issue.

i fully aware that my area's intra is not that great(old flat), hence im not even expecting full 30mbps speed. But heck, constant internet disconnect is a big no no for me, even if Im not using the internet for gaming.

anyone have any kind of solution on this ? i seriously doubt change to a better router will help.
do let me know if any of you have solution for this. thanks in advance.

i did call the Maxis SC and get some tech support for this but their solution not really solving the internet lost issue. will keep this maxis for another few day for testing purpose, mostly might end up returning it due to the constant random internet lost, which is a shame since Maxis offer better download and upload speed at a lower price.

This post has been edited by watashigundamu: Feb 27 2019, 03:00 PM
wild_card_my
post Aug 28 2018, 10:19 AM

6,562 posts

hurm I was considering to change my parents unifi to Maxis, but will hold it off till we get a solution to this.

internet stability is more important than speed, and to some extent, prices
YoungMan
post Aug 28 2018, 07:57 PM

6,785 posts

But you mentioned when switching to UniFI hardware, no disconnection. So you swap the router with your previous UniFi router? If yes, better use that router. For Maxis subscriber, better to use your own router as the one they provide sucks.
TSwatashigundamu
post Aug 29 2018, 12:56 AM

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Aug 28 2018, 10:19 AM)
hurm I was considering to change my parents unifi to Maxis, but will hold it off till we get a solution to this.

internet stability is more important than speed, and to some extent, prices
yeah man, im totally with you on the stability part.
called twice yesterday (tuesday), one during day and one during night.
the last guys is super helpful and informative, but unfortunately the issue still happen after the last troubleshooting session.

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Aug 28 2018, 07:57 PM)
But you mentioned when switching to UniFI hardware, no disconnection. So you swap the router with your previous UniFi router? If yes, better use that router. For Maxis subscriber, better to use your own router as the one they provide sucks.
no i did not swap just the router, i swap back both modem and router from unifi, then ok no intermittent internet disconnect.

i no dare swap the unifi router with the maxis router and use Maxis modem with unifi router, since i scare it will mess up the setting in the unifi router.

so for testing purpose i plug in back all the hardware from unifi, modem and router, all ok and good.

but with maxis provided hardware, constant internet disconnect without fail. here's the latest result from ping when i notice my game session is diconnected, ping to gateway and google.com show same "general failure" and timeout error. when this happen , all game session will disconnect, which is very frustrating.

i check back again after i reply here, getting more "General failure." error, and many line of it.

This post has been edited by watashigundamu: Aug 29 2018, 01:02 AM
alexander3133
post Aug 30 2018, 06:10 AM

1,716 posts

Since you are on 30Mbps, I presume your plan has MAXPERTS support included, just call them to solve your problem.
stark4321
post Sep 2 2018, 06:54 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(watashigundamu @ Aug 28 2018, 05:55 AM)
[UPDATE] :
this issue solve after change to another router which i bought my self (asus brand).

BUT STILL, a customer should not have to go through all these : back & forth calling Maxis support + self research + self buy router, seriously, are Maxis expecting everyone to go and buy their own router???
TLDR:

Long ver:

hi all ,anyone experiencing random internet lost when using Maxis Fiber broadband ?

i switch from unifi 30m to maxis 30m, initially some hiccups happen but was fixed after calling the Maxis tech (thanks maxis tech guys). but then i notice the internet is not stable at all since it will lost internet randomly.

this is frustrating since even thou it happen randomly, but it happen in a very consistent fasion.

this kind of internet lost is very noticeable, especially during online game session. the entire game session will lost when this happen, and for most cases not able to reconnect.

same thing when browsing website. when click to open a site, you will notice the site is not loading at all, and at that moment, when check the task bar at the lower right, you will notice the red "X" at the network icon which indicate the internet is lost. the internet will recover after a few second.

initially suspect the LAN cable or Network adapter is at fault, but this is not the case for my side because when the internet is lost, it happen at both devices that connect to WIFI and LAN device. i know the internet is lost at the device that connect to wifi as well cuz i install app to do ping at my android device.

when the internet is lost, both LAN and WIFI connected device will get ping error "General failure." or "Request timed out.", this will happen for like a few second, then the internet will be back again.

true enough, when revert back to Unifi hardware, all is good and not a single "General failure" or time out error from the ping result (LAN connected PC), WiFi wise very little packet lost, way lesser when compare to the time connected to Maxis. hence the entire issue pointing back to either the ISP (Maxis) which i have no idea what happen over there, or their provided hardware (modem or router) have some kind of serious issue.

i fully aware that my area's intra is not that great(old flat), hence im not even expecting full 30mbps speed. But heck, constant internet disconnect is a big no no for me, even if Im not using the internet for gaming.

anyone have any kind of solution on this ? i seriously doubt change to a better router will help.

i did call the Maxis SC and get some tech support for this but their solution not really solving the internet lost issue. will keep this maxis for another few day for testing purpose, mostly might end up returning it due to the constant random internet lost, which is a shame since Maxis offer better download and upload speed at a lower price. 

where's the so called "maxpert" team?
TSwatashigundamu
post Sep 2 2018, 10:56 PM

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Aug 30 2018, 06:10 AM)
Since you are on 30Mbps, I presume your plan has MAXPERTS support included, just call them to solve your problem.
QUOTE(stark4321 @ Sep 2 2018, 06:54 PM)
where's the so called "maxpert" team?
never heard of this maxpert but i did call to maxis, and they patch me to some tech support line...

for the pass two week, ive been through at least 5 calls with these tech guys/girls.
some of them really know what are they doing, really know and understand about network stuff.
some just .... well, ok-ish support guys/girls...
really depend who you're getting at that moment.

i have a feeling they know their provided router sxxks, and many is calling them for similar problem.
but obviously they the maxis tech support cannot admit that....
shinkawa
post Sep 25 2018, 12:25 PM

parttime otaku
855 posts

previously which maxis router u using? AC1200 tplink?
jssl
post Oct 5 2018, 09:27 PM

462 posts

Hi, may I know what is the router that Maxis give u? And also is there and special setting need to perform on the new Asia router? Thanks in advance smile.gif
boygenetic
post Oct 8 2018, 10:09 AM

129 posts

dear all,

i subscribed to the the new maxis fibernation back in september and facing page loading issue. sometimes it does not load at all and gave timeout.
watching youtube gave me lower resolution and when i set to higher resolution, it started to buffer.
Does maxis throttle all downloads and streaming? oing quite high also.
im using their provided TP-link AC1200.

is there any setting that i need to configure.
Please advise.

thank you greatly in advance.

TSwatashigundamu
post Oct 17 2018, 09:07 PM

QUOTE(boygenetic @ Oct 8 2018, 10:09 AM)
dear all,

i subscribed to the the new maxis fibernation back in september and facing page loading issue. sometimes it does not load at all and gave timeout.
watching youtube gave me lower resolution and when i set to higher resolution, it started to buffer.
Does maxis throttle all downloads and streaming? oing quite high also.
im using their provided TP-link AC1200.

is there any setting that i need to configure.
Please advise.

thank you greatly in advance.

hi there , and yes, the issue / symptom you describe above is exactly the same as what i face before this.
for my case, i change to another router, and with that router, no more random disconnect issue happen ever again.

the Maxis provided TP-link AC1200 router is bullshxt.

Clearly something is very wrong with the provided router but Maxis take no action and pretend like nothing wrong with the default router.

boygenetic
post Oct 19 2018, 10:02 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(watashigundamu @ Oct 17 2018, 09:07 PM)
hi there , and yes, the issue / symptom you describe above is exactly the same as what i face before this.
for my case, i change to another router, and with that router, no more random disconnect issue happen ever again.

the Maxis provided TP-link AC1200 router is bullshxt.

Clearly something is very wrong with the provided router but Maxis take no action and pretend like nothing wrong with the default router.
thank you again for the feedback. maybe the next firmware update on the router will fix it.

your assistance is much appreciated. rclxms.gif
winson8585
post Oct 20 2018, 11:13 AM

I facing same problem. But call maxis difficult to get pick up call & answer.
I m from maxis 30MB upgrate to maxis 100MB.
TM have come change new modem.
Maxis have come change router from (tg784n v3) old router to (tp-link 1200AC) new router.
Starting 1 week everything is find and good.
But now will random disconnect when night (7pm-12am)
1day will disconnect around 100++time.

If i switch back previous router (tgn784n v3) it will work for maxis 100MB plan or not?
kwai_83
post Oct 20 2018, 12:42 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(winson8585 @ Oct 20 2018, 11:13 AM)
I facing same problem. But call maxis difficult to get pick up call & answer.
I m from maxis 30MB upgrate to maxis 100MB.
TM have come change new modem.
Maxis have come change router from (tg784n v3) old router to (tp-link 1200AC) new router.
Starting  1 week everything is find and good.
But now will random disconnect when night (7pm-12am)
1day will disconnect around 100++time.

If i switch back previous router (tgn784n v3) it will work for maxis 100MB plan or not?
still work
winson8585
post Oct 23 2018, 02:02 PM

QUOTE(juneong @ Oct 21 2018, 01:35 PM)
problem is maxis lines, not router d.
Recently i try to off router around 1 hour and on back.
Everything is fine and good back. Is it “tp-link archer c5v” low quality?
kwai_83
post Oct 24 2018, 08:59 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(winson8585 @ Oct 23 2018, 02:02 PM)
Recently i try to off router around 1 hour and on back.
Everything is fine and good back. Is it “tp-link archer c5v” low quality?
This tplink really not stable.problem maybe is the custom firmware. now i using my backup Tg389ac so far never disconnect..until now since swap back last week
ck_boon
post Oct 24 2018, 09:05 AM

1,894 posts

i think all over maxis line is shit
my company uses maxis fibre
really sampah, i browse to touch and go website or banking website halfway page no responding
use my own data lagi bagus
peri peri
post Nov 7 2018, 11:40 AM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

after i disabled the ipv6 in my router, i felt the disconnection and lagging issue no more.

anyone experience the same?

could this be the culprit for the fibernation upgrade?
SilentVampire
post Nov 8 2018, 11:04 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Nov 7 2018, 11:40 AM)
after i disabled the ipv6 in my router, i felt the disconnection and lagging issue no more.

IPv6 is not implemented well in this country, so no surprises that you are getting issues when using IPv6.

QUOTE(juneong @ Nov 8 2018, 10:59 PM)
Honest maxis fiber is really bad
Yes, I agree with you, and Unifi is still the better out of the two.
peri peri
post Nov 9 2018, 03:18 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(juneong @ Nov 8 2018, 10:59 PM)
Honest maxis fiber is really bad
i agreed, currently, im stuck with only option of 30mbps speed due to my house is using copper. Because for unifi only viable if 100mbps and above. hence, i have to choose maxis again for cheaper price tag but have to suffer the bad connection unless i fork rm400 for better router
Hobbez
post Nov 13 2018, 01:30 AM

1,227 posts

Maxis really sucks. The connection to Malaysia (or maybe the Maxis connection) also sometimes suffer from brown-outs and you will find cannot access certain sites...

Right now, I CANNOT access the Ookla site to TEST INTERNET SPEED.....even. How stupid is that?

That shows how BAD this Maxis fiber connection is.

This post has been edited by Hobbez: Nov 13 2018, 01:30 AM
Hobbez
post Nov 13 2018, 01:32 AM

1,227 posts

QUOTE(juneong @ Nov 9 2018, 04:33 PM)
yup this is worst part, my maxis router is crap been complaint since day one and they never fix, until I bought my own router n maxis update they fix the issue.
They use CHEAP and LOUSY TP Link router which is typical China Crap.

Alex@
post Nov 14 2018, 09:41 AM

QUOTE(Hobbez @ Nov 13 2018, 01:30 AM)
Maxis really sucks. The connection to Malaysia (or maybe the Maxis connection) also sometimes suffer from brown-outs and you will find cannot access certain sites...

Right now, I CANNOT access the Ookla site to TEST INTERNET SPEED.....even. How stupid is that?

That shows how BAD this Maxis fiber connection is.
I have similar problem, random time disconnected from online game and certain sites i.e Ookla speed test. Strange enough I can still refresh fb feed and watch YouTube. When this happens, my modem and router status light is normal, my PC show normal LAN connection and no sign of disconnection. Same goes for another device connected via wifi.

My ipv6 is disabled, restarted modem and router is just the same. Such random disconnection will take 10 to 30 minutes then all suddenly ok, I can connect back to online game.

Any sifu can advise is this the router problem or is it Maxis issue?
kelvin_lee
post Nov 15 2018, 09:07 PM

25 posts

So what maxis do for your complain since is the modem issue?

My having the same issue as well. Always disconnect after midnight.

barista
post Nov 16 2018, 08:39 AM

I want to retire
883 posts

Where can I buy a router which already set for maxis usage? I am fed up with the c5v.
kwai_83
post Nov 16 2018, 08:42 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(barista @ Nov 16 2018, 08:39 AM)
Where can I buy a router which already set for maxis usage? I am fed up with the c5v.
depends your budget..recommended asus
numbertwo
post Nov 20 2018, 05:14 PM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Nov 7 2018, 11:40 AM)

Thanks for this tips. I will try this one a week later. I'm now testing the 'DHCP lease time setting, changing it from 60 (default) to 600 mins. No obvious disconnections so far..
numbertwo
post Nov 20 2018, 05:19 PM

1,784 posts

btw.. ipv6 is not supported yet by Maxis , is this right? this test fails the ipv6 test.. If so, then there is no reason to switch on the ipv6 lan in Maxis router i guess?

jamejam
post Nov 20 2018, 11:28 PM

My Maxis Fiber Home down since last Thursday, i called CS, they give me a case no. till today still not solve, i called CS daily or online chat to follow up, they said waiting for their Vendor feedback which mean TM. Did anyone know how the Nokia G-240g-E ONU setting like, i believe my TP link route is working

peri peri
post Nov 21 2018, 12:17 AM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Nov 20 2018, 05:14 PM)
Thanks for this tips.  I will try this one a week later.  I'm now testing the 'DHCP lease time setting, changing it from 60 (default) to 600 mins.  No obvious disconnections so far..
im not sure how ipv6 works but im suspecting it keeps filtering webpage access which will causing imminent internet connection
lalachong
post Nov 26 2018, 05:21 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Nov 21 2018, 12:17 AM)
im not sure how ipv6 works but im suspecting it keeps filtering webpage access which will causing imminent internet connection
followed the guideline to disable ipv6 and also set DHCP lease to 1200 mins... so far no connections from devices.

peri peri
post Nov 28 2018, 04:17 PM

11,943 posts

QUOTE(lalachong @ Nov 26 2018, 05:21 PM)
followed the guideline to disable ipv6 and also set DHCP lease to 1200 mins... so far no connections from devices.
ok, will try set the DHCP thing. thx
celee
post Feb 10 2019, 09:01 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Nov 28 2018, 04:17 PM)
ok, will try set the DHCP thing. thx
hi may i know where to set the DHCP lease? i went to 192.168.1.254 and access the router but couldnt find any settings for DHCP lease.
numbertwo
post Feb 11 2019, 09:19 AM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(celee @ Feb 10 2019, 09:01 PM)
hi may i know where to set the DHCP lease? i went to 192.168.1.254 and access the router but couldnt find any settings for DHCP lease.
Is in the 'DHCP Server' menu option ->> LAN Settings.. you will be able to find it unless you are not using the same router...
celee
post Feb 12 2019, 02:06 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Feb 11 2019, 09:19 AM)
Is in the 'DHCP Server' menu option ->> LAN Settings.. you will be able to find it unless you are not using the same router...
it only shows DHCP Client List. need admin access or something?
numbertwo
post Feb 13 2019, 12:45 PM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(celee @ Feb 12 2019, 02:06 PM)
it only shows DHCP Client List. need admin access or something?
may refer to this thread and post for more Maxis FTTH discussion
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=91729300

Hexlord
post Mar 2 2019, 09:05 PM

991 posts

Hmmm having this problem now lol.
ashburn98
post Mar 19 2019, 02:36 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

I am trying these setting too right now. Hope it will work.
JSern
post Mar 29 2019, 05:07 PM

191 posts

Any specific Router brand and model to replace Maxis' shitty router? Also does 3rd party router provide phone port?
poringkien
post Apr 4 2019, 05:04 PM

181 posts

my MAxis TP link rosak every month ... changed 4 times already -.-

complaint to MCMC also no action from MCMC..
anakkk
post Apr 10 2019, 11:31 AM

2,111 posts

[UPDATE] :

TLDR:

Long ver:

Hi my office maxis always disconnecting randomly also, I suspect is their router problem as well, wanted to buy my own router, how to get my maxis password? the administrator account cannot access the password.

grandlethal
post Apr 20 2019, 11:42 AM

just installed maxis fibre 30mbps yesterday, but when i run ping test the ping lost consistently, the router model is tp link 1200, confirm is router issue? any chance if i call maxis to replace other model for me?
alfredhow78
post Apr 20 2019, 09:01 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(grandlethal @ Apr 20 2019, 11:42 AM)
just installed maxis fibre 30mbps yesterday, but when i run ping test the ping lost consistently, the router model is tp link 1200, confirm is router issue? any chance if i call maxis to replace other model for me?
It can be router problem. When router is faulty, the respond is very slow.

Suggest that you replace with your own router

When you call maxis they will first reconfigure your router

And even when they found that your router is faulty, the chance of the maxpert come and replace back the same model is very high smile.gif

grandlethal
post Apr 21 2019, 10:43 PM

QUOTE(alfredhow78 @ Apr 20 2019, 10:01 PM)
It can be router problem. When router is faulty, the respond is very slow.

Suggest that you replace with your own router

When you call maxis they will first reconfigure your router

And even when they found that your router is faulty, the chance of the maxpert come and replace back the same model is very high smile.gif

this is the result i ping google, terrible connection zzzz
anorexia62
post May 24 2019, 10:00 AM

Hi, I also have the same issue, but what I discover is every 2,3 day the public ip address always change automatically..during the changes your connection will be lost and up again after a minute or 2.. so frustrated when you in online game suddenly lost connection.. always at midnight time..last time using unifi the public ip never change unless you reboot the router, is there any other solution for this?

This post has been edited by anorexia62: May 24 2019, 10:01 AM
dest9116
post May 25 2019, 05:24 PM

495 posts

[UPDATE] :

Can i know what model asus router you used?
lcw4896 P
post Nov 27 2019, 05:16 PM

Probation

i facing same issue, it's not router problem, it block the connection if you keep connecting more than few hours especially online game, then i had to disconnect and get a new ip manually...
your post is year 2018, now 2019, this isp still very cheap
limkent24
post Dec 15 2019, 02:30 AM

[UPDATE] :

TLDR:

Long ver:

ed0gawa
post Dec 26 2019, 01:57 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

QUOTE(lcw4896 @ Nov 27 2019, 05:16 PM)
i facing same issue, it's not router problem, it block the connection if you keep connecting more than few hours especially online game, then i had to disconnect and get a new ip manually...
your post is year 2018, now 2019, this isp still very cheap
You sure is this problem?

Yes, i facing this problem. Maxis sent technician to my house, technician say MAXIS stingy, change to this pariah router from the old unicolor which has no such problem.

Maxis
SOLVE THIS PROBLEM LA..... KEEP ASKING PPL COME OVER FROM UNIFI THEN U GIVE THIS THIS ASS PROBLEM.

This post has been edited by ed0gawa: Dec 26 2019, 01:59 PM
harrishkrishna1
post Dec 26 2019, 06:55 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(kwai_83 @ Nov 16 2018, 09:42 AM)
depends your budget..recommended asus
If I have a unifi router, should I change to that? Also, can I do this router switching manually? If yes, how?
yiidonger
post Dec 28 2019, 12:52 PM

17 posts

Now my online games disconnects for 5 minutes for every 20 minutes, best la, didnt know they also provide unlimited disconnection aside from unlimited quota
pltan
post Jan 9 2020, 12:40 PM

499 posts

Hmmm very interesting, I am a new Maxis 800 subscriber, and I've been experiencing these frequent disconnects. On all devices wired and wifi.

Maxis tech support claims they do not always detect the disconnects on their end.

So looks like the free TP Link router is crap and I have to change it?
izzudin
post Jan 10 2020, 06:19 PM

93 posts

I experienced the same problem (LAN & WiFi unresponsive from day 1) and I can confirm it’s the tp-link router (likely the custom firmware problem) that maxis provides are the culprit. After changing to my own router, I haven’t had any disconnection problem anymore. Maxis give cheap router with half baked firmware to us and it’s suck big time! I don’t even rant about maxis ‘cukai’ about 10% of our subscribed speed...

QUOTE(pltan @ Jan 9 2020, 12:40 PM)
Hmmm very interesting, I am a new Maxis 800 subscriber, and I've been experiencing these frequent disconnects. On all devices wired and wifi.

Maxis tech support claims they do not always detect the disconnects on their end.

juzme
post Jan 15 2020, 03:05 PM

My office have been using Maxis for more than 6 months, but for the last 1 month, been getting internet disconnection intermittently. Maxis technician came and changed the router, still happened... Then TM technician came and said their line is tested ok up till the modem.

Then I just noticed today when it happened that the lan port LED indicator where we had cable connected devices still blinking after i disconnected the cable. This implies that the router hanged, causing the internet disconnection....

pltan
post Jan 17 2020, 11:06 AM

499 posts

QUOTE(izzudin @ Jan 10 2020, 06:19 PM)
I experienced the same problem (LAN & WiFi unresponsive from day 1) and I can confirm it’s the tp-link router (likely the custom firmware problem) that maxis provides are the culprit. After changing to my own router, I haven’t had any disconnection problem anymore. Maxis give cheap router with half baked firmware to us and it’s suck big time! I don’t even rant about maxis ‘cukai’ about 10% of our subscribed speed...
Thank you, looks like I should start looking for a new router. I've noticed that whenever the internet goes down, I can't access the router's menu directly through it's IP either.

ed0gawa
post Feb 8 2020, 03:32 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

Anyone with this issue complained to MCMC before?
I not willing to buy a new router on my own cost due to problem that caused by the operator..
numbertwo
post Feb 10 2020, 05:58 PM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Feb 8 2020, 03:32 PM)
Anyone with this issue complained to MCMC before?
I not willing to buy a new router on my own cost due to problem that caused by the operator..
i guess unless there is a class action, else expect nothing to be done.
pltan
post Feb 12 2020, 07:40 PM

499 posts

Astro tech told me that as an Astro IPTV- Maxis subscriber, if I change the router Astro IPTV will not work? Can anyone confirm this as true or not?
dest9116
post Feb 17 2020, 10:24 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(izzudin @ Jan 10 2020, 06:19 PM)
Which router u used?
kennyzai84 P
post Feb 23 2020, 11:09 PM

Probation

I think it's depend on area.
Like mine area Puchong landed house, currently using fiber 300mbps plan
Previously upgrade from maxis ADSL become 10mbps --> 100 mbps --> to currently 300mbps
so far happen few times server down ( like whole puchong kena within a day or 2 fix )
kennyzai84 P
post Feb 23 2020, 11:23 PM

Probation

QUOTE(pltan @ Jan 9 2020, 12:40 PM)

Yes, please change the original maxis provided router to better one
Since my wife keep on complain mobile legend keep on disconnecting or unstable example suddenly high ping that after like 5~10 sec go back normal
but hero die already lol
So after like few months research that online check, talk to maxis technician few times on different person, TP-link router is SUCKS!

End up im using ASUS RT-AC86U router ( china version ) lol
You may refer below link if u decided to change
China version actually no different with local one in term of router, only issue is on warranty part
china version need to send back to seller that takes time maybe longer than you send back local manufacturer for warranty
but price different around 200+ so u can decide by urself
https://shopee.com.my/product/53714761/1359873119

This is the additional fan for cooling router as after research some people comment that after few hours will get hot, thats not a good thing so just add on another RM31
https://shopee.com.my/product/147376949/2338458207

after changed my router, speed stable, as fast as the speed show like speed net cause before that tp-link even i check speed net for my internet it can goes up to 4xx mbps but due to lousy router you will feel unstable network when u go on gaming and so on internet stuff

hope this can help u guys
sevendogz
post Feb 25 2020, 10:54 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(kennyzai84 @ Feb 23 2020, 11:23 PM)
Yes, please change the original maxis provided router to better one
Since my wife keep on complain mobile legend keep on disconnecting or unstable example suddenly high ping that after like 5~10 sec go back normal
but hero die already lol
So after like few months research that online check, talk to maxis technician few times on different person, TP-link router is SUCKS!

End up im using ASUS RT-AC86U router ( china version ) lol
You may refer below link if u decided to change
China version actually no different with local one in term of router, only issue is on warranty part
china version need to send back to seller that takes time maybe longer than you send back local manufacturer for warranty
but price different around 200+ so u can decide by urself
https://shopee.com.my/product/53714761/1359873119

This is the additional fan for cooling router as after research some people comment that after few hours will get hot, thats not a good thing so just add on another RM31
https://shopee.com.my/product/147376949/2338458207

after changed my router, speed stable, as fast as the speed show like speed net cause before that tp-link even i check speed net for my internet it can goes up to 4xx mbps but due to lousy router you will feel unstable network when u go on gaming and so on internet stuff

hope this can help u guys
Do you able to use VOIP phone after switching to Asus router? I just bought a AC66U but now I am thinking of how to use my phone
mayhammer
post Nov 14 2020, 09:38 AM

124 posts

just read this thread... shit i am also having dc multi times a day uwaaa
kelvinjohn
post Nov 26 2020, 08:59 PM

107 posts

i m getting disconnection a few times an hour...changed VDSL and router, same issue.
sonofthestage_x
post Nov 28 2020, 08:26 PM

69 posts

Bloody hell so irritating this frequent disconnections! Can’t watch TV or do work meetings properly.
dest9116
post Jul 7 2021, 06:09 PM

495 posts

Hi sharing my exp,

I went and complain /pm to maxis listens on Twitter and the same day they called and ask me for more details and router serial number lights etc then escalate and then the next day called to confirm when I'm available and then next day (today) both tm and maxis guy came to check, tm guy came and replace their tm modem but they inform the copper cable is bad based on the SNR, but after TM changed their modem (from black huawei to white tp link) the Snr dropped from 7 to 4, so now I'm monitoring so far torrent max speed 30mbps no issue, usually will DC after awhile.

This is the cheapest and fastest route, they come and check within 2 days from complaint

On changing router, I did change to Tenda router, but it still disconnect, so sometimes it's not the router fault, is either the TM Modem or the copper cable

All these while it was disconnecting few times a day but recently I was disconnecting nearly every hour, so affected my work from home and have to complain haha

This post has been edited by dest9116: Jul 7 2021, 06:12 PM
gjohn
post Jul 13 2021, 11:18 AM

388 posts

Dang..always disconnected using maxis home fibre
what is going on!!!!
wilson1149
post Sep 6 2021, 12:44 AM

508 posts

This happen to me also. Router will disconnected randomly, time around 8-10pm. Suspected is their changing IP and reconnecting.

Feedback to CS many times but never solve the problem.
prosibu
post Sep 15 2021, 10:52 AM

2,428 posts

[UPDATE] :

TLDR:

Long ver:

This happen to me right now. What should i need from customer service if i buy router myself?

Pppoe password? Or others?
PRSXFENG
post Sep 15 2021, 11:34 AM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Sep 15 2021, 10:52 AM)
This happen to me right now. What should i need from customer service if i buy router myself?

Pppoe password? Or others?
Just PPPoE ID and Password

Usually can look around in router and extra it from there
prosibu
post Sep 15 2021, 02:43 PM

2,428 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Sep 15 2021, 11:34 AM)
Just PPPoE ID and Password

Usually can look around in router and extra it from there
thanks. managed to get the PPPoE credential.
now waiting off work to buy router. mad.gif
hope the issue can be solved

0.0495sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:24 AM