> Qing Dynasty photos of commoners

SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 09:15 AM, updated 8y ago

67 posts

We've been misled by the extravagant costumes of Chinese dramas whether Taiwan, HK or mainland productions, where even the beggars are fat n wear clean new clothes.

Let's look at some real photos of commoners in those days. Of course where the photos are posed the people dressed up for the photos as it's not as easy as today to hv photos taken. And such photos are of relatively well off commoners.

Poor folks

Mixed

This post has been edited by EdBaaBaa: Aug 26 2018, 09:21 AM
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 09:20 AM

67 posts

Sorry fixing
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 09:23 AM

67 posts

Ya, black v trendy last time. smile.gif

Hides dirt - the poor dun mandi

Apologies

# Salah 7

This post has been edited by EdBaaBaa: Aug 26 2018, 09:25 AM
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 09:30 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Aug 26 2018, 09:23 AM)
teeth also sure black black coz no brush teeth
Aiyah dun say liddat la, it's not true.

Poor hv no dental hygiene where got teeth to be black?

SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 09:35 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Aug 26 2018, 09:33 AM)
No beautiful lady and handsome young man last time. Maybe the geographical (yunnan and northern people), diet, etc. Pic from 1930/ww2 era is different, can see beauty and handsome lad.
It's just the styling that makes the difference.

SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 09:38 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(Xumu @ Aug 26 2018, 09:27 AM)
OK la looks more civilised than Europe during those times. At least the streets in the videos are clean.

London used to be filled with shit on the road, people walk and drive carts on shit and piss
V clean hor

SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 09:41 AM

67 posts

Must be 10 bags (high rank) mbr of famous Beggar Sect

Cleaner beggar

This post has been edited by EdBaaBaa: Aug 26 2018, 09:44 AM
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 09:46 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(big1 @ Aug 26 2018, 09:42 AM)
is that why you are in malaysia?
Apa kaitan?

I dun understand the question.

If you express yr question clearer I will answer

This post has been edited by EdBaaBaa: Aug 26 2018, 09:47 AM
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 09:53 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Aug 26 2018, 09:40 AM)

Nope, not because of styling. I mean I look at their face. Let me know if you spot any beautiful lady / handsome guys. Let's research together.

Also you have pic from Southern china? Maybe there we can see more han people and they might be good looking.
I do think it's just styling difference. And perception of what's beautiful.

No particular region has more beautiful ppl than another. That's just parochial prejudices.

What makes u think all the photos are of non-han ppl?
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 10:02 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(Xumu @ Aug 26 2018, 09:48 AM)
Everywhere have their poor and their rich. What I'm saying is at least they don't have shit all over the road. Europe was so bad until carts and wagons pulled by horses can't even move and got stuck due to how much shit is on the road.
Indeed I hv read of that.

But my guess is that old China must hv areas piled with excrement too except there's no photos of that.

After all the poor n beggars probably pooped in the streets too n the richer had theirs thrown out onto the streets as well.

Old cameras needed quite long exposure time, probably no one wanted to remain in or close to piles of excrement to take photos. Haha

Further, it's harder to see specific details in b&w photos n it's not HD quality. What u see as a shadow or rock on the ground may well be shit.

This post has been edited by EdBaaBaa: Aug 26 2018, 10:06 AM
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 10:03 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Aug 26 2018, 10:02 AM)
Don't know, just from the look. At the first video those who smoke opiym look like han people. And those monarch and soldier is manchu.

I watch many china 1930 video. The facial is clearly very different.
Pls post
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 10:19 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(wanted111who @ Aug 26 2018, 10:12 AM)

Hong Kong 1930. 12 years before ww2
Styling changed so much already.

Just saw this

SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 11:00 AM

67 posts

Accents from different regions

SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 11:04 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(tictac88 @ Aug 26 2018, 10:56 AM)
how does china "beauties" transform from this:

to 1930 shanghai like this:

to now like this:
so mutants are real?
Styling - clothes, makeup, hair - changed.

SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 12:20 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(play05 @ Aug 26 2018, 11:46 AM)
Meanwhile in China only emperor are rich and others are filth poor.
This is Not true.

Below the Emperor u hv the nobles who were either nobles by birth or were granted titles for service to the country, some titles hereditary some not.

Then u hv a class of officials who may be nobles as well. Of course some official appointments are more prestigious n hv more opportunities to make money.

Below that there's the merchant class who may hv lots of money but status is below officials.

You may not be aware but no matter how much money a merchant has, he still had to adhere to the social rules which determined every aspect of life eg how many concubines u can hv, wat material u can wear, how many horses + type+color to draw yr carriage, how many slaves /servants u can hv, wat yr wife + daughters can wear, type of jewellery + gemstones etc.

So status was v important n anyone can try to improve one's status by education. It was the only way one can elevate oneself n family. This is a major reason Chinese emphasize heavily on education.

If you are educated u are respected; more so than if you only hv money.

Of course the world has changed even for Chinese, many now think money is more important than anything else.

Title of this vid is "kids of prosperous families"

This post has been edited by EdBaaBaa: Aug 26 2018, 12:24 PM
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 01:03 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(haroldz123 @ Aug 26 2018, 12:53 PM)
Tersembur my mee kolo merah 😁
I'm glad my error is a source of amusement to ktards.

Btw, I hope u picked up or slurped up the mee kolo - waste no want not biggrin.gif
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 01:05 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(GnomeMage @ Aug 26 2018, 01:01 PM)
This is not surprising as qing dynasty was one of those extreme corrupted period where the arustocrats are rich but the common people are poor.

The jurchens did not fully adopt chinese way of running a country causing extreme inequality.
Pls ref post #51
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 01:11 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(GnomeMage @ Aug 26 2018, 01:07 PM)
Seems to be agreeing with me. Thank you.
Comprehension FAIL
SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 01:36 PM

67 posts

Colour photographs!!

Woooo

SUSEdBaaBaa
post Aug 26 2018, 01:47 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(GnomeMage @ Aug 26 2018, 01:01 PM)
This is not surprising as qing dynasty was one of those extreme corrupted period where the arustocrats are rich but the common people are poor.

QUOTE(EdBaaBaa @ Aug 26 2018, 01:11 PM)
Comprehension FAIL
QUOTE(GnomeMage @ Aug 26 2018, 01:14 PM)
Tbh i dont know how is it even relevant to me. But i made mention of aristocracy and you made mention of nobles.

So you are agreeing with me that only a small group of people is rich and the rest is poor.

Thank you again.
U said "the common people are poor" which if u had read n understood #51, u would know is not necessarily true.

Merchants could be very rich n they are not classed as "arustocrats" or nobles but as commoners.

The underlined statement is not the same as what u said abt "arustocrats".

QUOTE(play05 @ Aug 26 2018, 01:19 PM)
The noble and rich ppl are Manchu ppl and the rest Han ppl are dirt poor.Yes the minority are rich and majority are poor
There were poor manchus n rich hans as well.

2 Pages  1 2 >

0.0207sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:51 AM