Xiaomi Pocophone F1, Flagship Killer with Killer Price

attw
post Aug 23 2018, 06:56 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 22 2018, 10:33 PM)
Plastic Fantastique No Oleophobic Layer F1? Naaaah I'll pass. Not that I'm rocking a #papan9 myself anyway lol.

I'm actually kinda anxious just thinking of the internal compromises that Xiaomi has had to take to produce a phone with those specs, being sold for that kinda money lol. I mean, OEMs are many things but needlessly generous they have never really been.
QUOTE(zhlo @ Aug 22 2018, 10:51 PM)
Can consider as secondary phone...
Tagged you guys in this thread instead coz it didn’t exist yet last night when I posted, haha. Yeah, this reminds me of OnePlus when they first started. Maybe that’s their strategy, start with low price then gradually increase coz it’s clear they are going after OnePlus with this range of phones. That said, they’ll kill the Zenfone 5z (and probably their own Mi 8) if the prices launched in India is indicative of what we will get here.
attw
post Aug 23 2018, 07:50 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 23 2018, 07:22 AM)
Or they might just kill, you know, Honor lol. Imma thinking OP has already carved enough of a niche for themselves already as a "premium sub-flagship" (yeah, lol I know), but that's prolly just me.

BUT Honor? Yeah tough luck justifying the purchase of anything remotely on the higher price range from those folks now, though looking at their seemingly humongous Ad budgets, the main brand Huawei seems pretty safe... for now.
Yeah, the OP developer community is pretty strong so maybe Poco hopes to achieve this too by starting with low prices. I personally feel the Honor range is a little overpriced for what it offers, and the gap of the flagship Honor and Mate series tends to close pretty fast. Anyways, interesting to see how disruptive the Poco series will be to the premium segment especially after Customs just proposed a sales tax on smartphones.

attw
post Aug 23 2018, 09:01 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Aug 23 2018, 07:53 AM)
How long does it normally take for Poco to reach msia, after such announcement in india, based on other models previously launched? Just roughly..
It's already listed in Sirim's database, so maybe a month or two

https://www.lowyat.net/2018/167802/xiaomi-p...o-malaysia-too/
attw
post Aug 25 2018, 10:29 AM

32,468 posts

Incoming, folks

https://www.soyacincau.com/2018/08/25/you-m...ysia-next-week/
attw
post Aug 25 2018, 11:15 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Aug 25 2018, 10:47 AM)
before sst, haiz my wallet hurts...

btw xiaomi might not bring in the highest spec,
those who wait for 8gb might disappointed.
they hv history with it... rn5ai 6gb...
It'll hurt more after SST laugh.gif

I'm kinda looking forward to see the Kevlar one though. That one would certainly be unique.
attw
post Aug 25 2018, 05:44 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Aug 25 2018, 11:50 AM)
i own rn5ai, even it hv better camera... tat all
compare to asus max pro, i think it is better to choose asus

btw azhar75 can sell u better, he is da expert
As a user of the Max Pro M1 (and also the TS, hehe), I can tell you without hesitation that the only two good points of that phone is the price (if you managed to buy it at RM599 for the 3/32 version during flash sale) and the battery life. In all other aspects, I would recommend the RN5 over it.
attw
post Aug 25 2018, 05:45 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(hirota @ Aug 25 2018, 05:41 PM)
Seven mobile start preorder
Rm1599

https://shopee.com.my/sevenmobilesdnbhd/1439881463
Might as well get the Mi 8 at that price laugh.gif
attw
post Aug 25 2018, 06:07 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Aug 25 2018, 05:49 PM)
overpriced 😡

but came from directd expected lo...
every new product they sell higher, target those early adopter.

i think better wait for official store
Fully agree thumbup.gif
attw
post Aug 26 2018, 12:07 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Aug 25 2018, 11:50 PM)
What he meant was the premium feeling of glass la, which is true based on its history in phone construction and what manufacturers trying to make us perceive that way.

Before glass, they used aluminium due to the rigid feeling in hand. Glass and ceramic could give the same feeling + wireless charging (this is what sets high end flagship phones apart from budget flagships) + better signal reception. However, both of these are brittle and obviously do not have the same durability as aluminium or even plastic.
Actually the older Lumia phones had a very nice feel even though they were made of plastic (PC). Felt sturdy and more solid compared to the plastic of Samsung phones back in the day.
attw
post Aug 26 2018, 03:59 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Aug 26 2018, 02:41 PM)
Eh... Nokia's polycarbonate was actually different than Samsung's plastic. It's more practical in the sense that we don't need a case.
Ya, so if the Poco comes with the same PC at 1,199, I won't complain smile.gif
attw
post Aug 27 2018, 08:20 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(idemo @ Aug 27 2018, 03:54 AM)
Hopefully we get the base variant at RM1,199.
Yup, that's the price we're all gunning for smile.gif
attw
post Aug 27 2018, 09:02 PM

32,468 posts

I think this just about kills the Mi A2.

Would anyone pick pure Android over a SD845 device with 4000mAh battery AND a headphone jack? smile.gif
attw
post Aug 27 2018, 09:05 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Aug 27 2018, 09:04 PM)
I'm pretty hardcore pure Android fan, but if I have to pick, POCO F1 for sure.
Hehe, yeah, my point exactly biggrin.gif
attw
post Aug 28 2018, 06:50 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Emo_Boy @ Aug 27 2018, 10:10 PM)
GGWP who bought mi a2 sure cry hard....

zzzz Mi malaysia just killing mi a2 market
Yeah, exactly. Especially those who worked out 1199 for the 128GB Mi A2. Mi just killed the second hand value of the A2 smile.gif

QUOTE(PenzoilGuy @ Aug 27 2018, 11:53 PM)
Hell yeah...my kind of phone....dont care much about camera...as i use camera for occasion only...sd845, 4,000mah 6" screen ips...ultra on pubg...8gb ram 256gb multi tabs tasking, frequent travel with dual sims...and most important lte-a cat16...what more u wanna ask....try search in gsmarena in "advanced searching" minimum battery 4,000mah with highest sd845 available...see the result then tell me price vs spec which is better...😉
Btw with people asking how good is this phone with gps lock n signal....i believe any phone equip with snapdragon chipset wont have this kind of issue, i say the fastest and more than 15 sat lock...i'm previously a user of kirin & especially mediatek ...really suck on lockin gps even with the help of gps locking apps...
Really hope Mi malaysia bring in 8GB ram poco...and it a bonus with kevlar version 😀
The other thing to be aware of is that Mi is notoriously slow on updates, but as another user here aptly put it, Android updates are a little over-rated. Yeah, I'm waiting to see the Kevlar version as well.
attw
post Aug 28 2018, 08:17 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Aug 28 2018, 08:12 AM)
No worries about update
Unlock BL, kastem rom all the wayyy
Ya, I think that's also one of the sub objective of Mi with the Poco - to have a large developer community like the OnePlus smile.gif
attw
post Aug 28 2018, 08:32 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(sitescope @ Aug 28 2018, 08:25 AM)
Dun be like huawei
Killing themselves slowly coz of below

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amanz.my/2018177650/amp/
Huawei can only wish to have any semblance of developer support, ha ha...

attw
post Aug 28 2018, 10:15 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Emo_Boy @ Aug 28 2018, 10:08 AM)
fulamak bro....so rich.... get 2nd phone ??  biggrin.gif
Beli guna installment on Lazada RM103.08 x 12 months laugh.gif
attw
post Aug 28 2018, 02:10 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TreyLey @ Aug 28 2018, 02:09 PM)
U have any idea how to apply fr installment?
There's an automatic choice for it in Lazada if you use a MBB credit card.
attw
post Aug 28 2018, 03:49 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(popopi @ Aug 28 2018, 03:42 PM)
The carbon fiber design price will be different? Anyone can advice?
Yes, it will be more expensive but no indication that Mi will bring it to Malaysia yet.
attw
post Aug 28 2018, 04:05 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(asrin @ Aug 28 2018, 04:01 PM)
Get a carbon like casing maybe..
Or a skin, haha.

But that's an interesting point though. How easy do you guys think it'll be to get third party accessories like cases and screen protectors for Poco locally?

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1633sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:47 AM