Xiaomi Pocophone F1, Flagship Killer with Killer Price
Racerx
Aug 29 2018, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(jonuslee @ Aug 29 2018, 02:30 PM) What do you guys think in term of the software update and support for poco?Will it like be getting update as fast as the Android one phone like MI A2?Android one phone seems to get the OS update at least for 2 years.Not sure about poco how well the software updates and support. Xiaomi still updates their older devices, but it may or may not be as fast as their Android One devices. Personally I won't worry about updates too much since I'm going to use a custom ROM anyway
Racerx
Aug 30 2018, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(xisan @ Aug 30 2018, 11:04 AM) Got my Pocoyo Phone [attachmentid=9998274] Midvalley? Do we need to line up there?
Racerx
Aug 30 2018, 02:33 PM
Any ideas which shop still have stock?
Racerx
Aug 30 2018, 03:37 PM
QUOTE(sbd @ Aug 30 2018, 02:39 PM) a few posts up said 1 utama Just got one there, freebie was a generic game pad. They still had a few in stock when I was there
Racerx
Aug 30 2018, 08:44 PM
Here's my first impressions after playing around with my unit for an hour - The back material is the same as what they used for the Redmi Note 2 and feels not as nice as the one used on past Lumia phones - Still, the built quality is good imo. Phone is solid, nothing rattles or creaks, buttons are clicky - Screen in Standard mode has quite accurate colors. The glass itself has oleophobic coating. Notch is too big imo, no notification icons can be seen, also no space for battery percentage due to the notch. - Speakers are loud - Animations look as if on fast forward,kinda like what OnePlus does to their phones - Apps open near instantly, even when not in RAM - The back is cool to the touch even when downloading and installing a lot of apps
This post has been edited by Racerx: Aug 30 2018, 08:44 PM
Racerx
Aug 30 2018, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(merpatinoob @ Aug 30 2018, 09:00 PM) Tried the pocophone at 1U mi store. The phone is fast, but animations felt rush like on fast fwd. Cant really feel the weight and build properly as the phone is tied to the cable. The screen edges below is too curved for my liking, and not the same with the top edges which kind of bothered me. Poco owners, does that bother you guys or grown to live with it after some time with the phone already? Yeah, the corners have different ratios, looks not uniform.
Racerx
Aug 30 2018, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(sitescope @ Aug 30 2018, 09:04 PM) Got selpie pic sample Or foto taken with front camera Unfortunately no, haven't tried yet. For the back camera, a Mi A1 using Google Camera (HDR+ Enhanced) takes a better picture indoors.
Racerx
Aug 30 2018, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 30 2018, 10:04 PM) Funny because it WAS on that list. Or at least the XDA news story about it. I'm pretty sure because I clearly remember being all jelly about it lol. Hmm XDA y u planted false hope? IIRC xda said that Camera2 API is already enabled so the Gcam port should work,not that it will work
Racerx
Sep 1 2018, 01:52 PM
Here's a partially working Google Camera mod for the F1 https://forum.xda-developers.com/mi-8/theme...ra-mod-t3803984Only HDR+ Enhanced pictures work right now, but the quality imo is much better than stock To remove the green tint go to settings>advanced>fix Camera2 API>remove green tint
Racerx
Sep 1 2018, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Sep 1 2018, 02:27 PM) can u include qualcomm snapdragon camera in the test I can't find one that works, any links that you might want me to try?
Racerx
Sep 1 2018, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(nas @ Sep 1 2018, 07:45 PM) you can set double two to wake in conjunction with face unlock. so you needn't have to press the power to button. the phone is good. only lacking screen protector. the free case is ok for now. do share if anyone knows where to get the screen protector. For tempered glass the ones for the Mi 8 should work. I just got mine from Ninjaz and it fits perfectly
Racerx
Sep 1 2018, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Sep 1 2018, 10:14 PM) Mine to show me which particular model? Link please?  Looks like HDR+ Enhanced is much better. Hmmm...Maybe I should re-test. Ninjaz is a chain of mobile accessories shop. I just chose the basic tempered glass they had for the Mi 8. It's foc btw, they're running a promo until 2nd September The tg itself doesn't have oleophobic coating so I'll only use it until I can get something better from Nillkin
Racerx
Sep 2 2018, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(blibala @ Sep 2 2018, 12:12 PM) The cutout dimension exactly the same as poco f1? Yes, exactly the same
Racerx
Sep 2 2018, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 2 2018, 07:30 PM) To begin with, does the Poco even have a 2.5D edge to NEED black bordered TGSPs? I don't have one so someone please reconfirm? Because if it's flat glass just get a full clear flat protector lor. But again, I don't have a Poco so I can't confirm this. The bezels are ever so slightly curved. That said the actual screen area is flat.
Racerx
Sep 2 2018, 07:40 PM
Unlocked my bootloader and installed the available MIUI 10 rom + Magisk Finally I can see my battery percentage which was not viewable in MIUI 9.6 Attached thumbnail(s)
Racerx
Sep 2 2018, 08:26 PM
QUOTE(hirota @ Sep 2 2018, 08:10 PM) This miui 10 from official site? Have u flashed the twrp? Both the rom and twrp from xda
Racerx
Sep 2 2018, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Sep 2 2018, 08:34 PM) xiaomi so fast unlock, i tot need 360hrs My Xiaomi account is pretty old, back from the Mi 3 days. Unlocking was instant
Racerx
Sep 3 2018, 08:22 PM
QUOTE(deblyrie @ Sep 3 2018, 01:39 PM) How is it bro? can you give us a review if compare to miui9.6? appreciate that So far so good, it's smooth and battery life is also good QUOTE(sitescope @ Sep 3 2018, 07:24 PM) Dun think xiaomi will invest with qc3.0 coz need to pay lesen to qualcom to use it This hp is cost cutting It is 3.0. Mi 8 is QC 4.0 but comes with 3.0 charger. Charging from 4% to 80% took me an hour yesterday using the given charger