Pregnancy Pink Book, Private vs Public Clinic

lowlowc
post Aug 18 2018, 09:05 PM

918 posts

I tried to take up the govt clinic but after 2 times I gave up. The waits are too long, more than 3 hours for whole process. I decided the time will be better to spend on getting enough rest.
Also the KKIA for my area is in the same building as general klinik kesihatan, so there's a lot of people with flu, cough, fever etc, all sitting in the same area as pregnant ladies and new born babies.
lowlowc
post Sep 6 2018, 12:44 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(JoanneWong @ Sep 5 2018, 05:24 PM)
YA! Injection is free but need to take leave every month
sometime they will simply check only since too many patients in a day..lack of patient..
For 2 times I was there, they keep misplacing my book and I ended up waiting for hours and hours until I kick and ask why all the people that came the same time as me are all gone already. They keep thinking that I am from elsewhere KKIA when I have only been to THIS KKIA from the start and THIS is the KKIA assigned to me area. Still ask me to wait and wait, until I said hello... I haven't eaten anything since morning cause you ask me to test sugar, now 12pm already and I am damn starving! "Mana kad merah you?" Then ransack here and there, only to find my pink book with bloody which nurse. Happened 2 times already even though I went as scheduled appt! Then only said "Sorry ah... tak tau nurse itu hold you punya kad merah. Ingat you tak de appt tak pernah datang."

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Sep 6 2018, 12:49 PM
lowlowc
post Sep 6 2018, 07:20 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(quebix @ Sep 6 2018, 05:45 PM)
where is this KKIA?

Mine is good. Eventhough building is old, but service is good.

I live in KL, so KKIA in KL.

We go to both KKIA and private clinic in KL.

Wife gave birth in Kuantan, in a private hospital there, and confinement in Kuantan. Of coz we visit the doctor for follow up as well.

The thing is, the KKIA in KL knows the delivery will be in Kuantan, so they transfer everything to the KKIA nearby my in-laws house there.
Follow up post delivery there.
Baby also check there.
Come to house in Kuantan to check on the mother and baby.

Im quite satisfied.
During checkup, my baby detected jaundice at KKIA.
Advised to go to GH, but we went to private as well.

no issue, everything is smooth.
KKIA Sek 7 Shah Alam
The last time was the worst and made me decided not to go there anymore. I was at the height of my morning sickness so really a very bad experience for me to wait for hours on empty stomach. They couldn't find my pink book (their copy) and just put my book aside when I was actually scheduled for glucose test. I reminded the nurse at counter I am supposed to have the test, they just keep asking me to sit first. After finding my record, only they realized I have to do glucose test (even though I already told them and it's written inside my copy) but it's too late already.

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Sep 6 2018, 07:23 PM
lowlowc
post Sep 7 2018, 04:49 PM

918 posts

For people who went to both private and KKIA, did you get to poke twice for blood at both places? The private had to do blood test too, because there's no official report in my pink book about my blood test results. Just a lot of scribbles so my gynae said the result is not clearly written. So ended up getting poke again.

This post has been edited by lowlowc: Sep 7 2018, 04:50 PM
lowlowc
post Sep 13 2018, 09:36 AM

918 posts

Kkia nurses will appear at our house if we stop going to kkia??
lowlowc
post Sep 24 2018, 11:18 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(idobez @ Sep 24 2018, 03:58 PM)
I went to private clinic for check ups on both of my pregnancies, and delivered both of them at government hospital. It is not a must to do your check up at gov clinic if you plan on giving birth at gov hospital. Just make sure you have all the records in hand from your visits at private clinics.
Does your children also get the injections from govt clinics? I only went there twice and not going anymore, but I wonder if my baby can get his injection there.
lowlowc
post Oct 4 2018, 10:45 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(joEy kUa @ Oct 4 2018, 06:31 PM)
oh my god! the nurse dun allowed my to open account!
she said just go to yr usual check up and then, after giving birth, ask husband to come and inform. Then they will have house visit by nurse...

anyone experienced that? what if another nurse to tell that I dun have an account, No house visiting service 😭
What? They can reject pregnant people from opening account with them? Try to call Jabatan Kesihatan Negeri and check with them.
lowlowc
post Oct 9 2018, 02:00 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(joEy kUa @ Oct 6 2018, 03:11 PM)
not reject la, just said no need to run 2 places for checking... anyway I didn't insist to open account la. Do u think I should really insist n go to them?
I think you should just open account, have the initial blood tests - hepatitis, etc etc. Then tell the nurse you won't be coming in for further appointments because of time constraint (cause private you can visit on saturday sunday, no need to take leave etc). But promise to inform them once you have given birth.

From what I read you can still go to govt hospital to birth but takes a little time, because die die they will have to fill in and make a pink book for you. I don't want the hassle (especially if unluckily has emergency), so just got the pink book. I have stopped going to KKIA.

0.0193sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:02 AM