Owning a 2nd hand 2008 Swift Sport, 2nd hand fun car

wkc5657
post Aug 15 2018, 10:47 AM

513 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Aug 14 2018, 11:56 PM)
It is that much fun!  laugh.gif  What surprised me the most after buying this car is the handling, didn't expect it to be as sharp and neutral. Then the response/acceleration is quick enough to surprise bigger cars. It basically lives up the term pocket rocket.

I've been driving it every day now while on certain days I teach my son to drive it. After driving my other AT car for so long, driving this manual SSS is really enjoyable for me and at least fulfills my craving to drive a manual car again. Now my other car is just sleeping for a over a month now!  laugh.gif
It's becoming a very rare car also nowadays. So few manual cars available on sale.
Dem......i feel like robbing a bank now (my bank account number too small tongue.gif )

My wife also talking about manual transmission....dem......can't find other solid excuses to get a SSS....
6UE5T
post Aug 15 2018, 11:19 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Aug 15 2018, 10:47 AM)
Dem......i feel like robbing a bank now (my bank account number too small  tongue.gif )

My wife also talking about manual transmission....dem......can't find other solid excuses to get a SSS....
Wife wants a manual car?? That's a rarity so you should take advantage of that! laugh.gif Previous owner of my car was also a female though. smile.gif

I just checked there are only 4 manual ZC31S on sale now in Mudah and only 1 seems in good condition but the price is a bit high! And I know for sure there's already someone eyeing on it too. smile.gif
https://www.mudah.my/2008+Suzuki+Swift+Spor...M+-68140796.htm

I had previously also checked out this unit before but decided not to buy it because the rear boot somehow was so wet/filled with water until the rear carpet got a lot of fungus! sweat.gif
https://www.mudah.my/Suzuki+Swift+1+6+M+5+s...ec-66620529.htm

Then there's this one in Penang from Carlist, seems pretty cheap but not sure if ori ZC31S or converted one from ZC21. https://www.carlist.my/used-cars/2007-suzuk...tchback/5125061
I encountered one unit whereby full conversion had been done and the car is in good condition too asking only rm26k, but found out from the chassis/engines stamping on the passenger door frame that it's actually converted unit.

Maybe for you get the newer 2013-2014 ZC32S so can still easily get loan, but the price is steep and also still very rare, like this one below.
https://www.mudah.my/2013+Suzuki+SWIFT+1+6+...M+-65137615.htm
Last time for just about 3 weeks got 1 white unit on sale for just around rm56k but now gone already so maybe sold out.
wkc5657
post Aug 15 2018, 11:28 AM

513 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Aug 15 2018, 11:19 AM)
Wife wants a manual car?? That's a rarity so you should take advantage of that!  laugh.gif  Previous owner of my car was also a female though.  smile.gif

I just checked there are only 4 manual ZC31S on sale now in Mudah and only 1 seems in good condition but the price is a bit high! And I know for sure there's already someone eyeing on it too.  smile.gif
https://www.mudah.my/2008+Suzuki+Swift+Spor...M+-68140796.htm

I had previously also checked out this unit before but decided not to buy it because the rear boot somehow was so wet/filled with water until the rear carpet got a lot of fungus!  sweat.gif
https://www.mudah.my/Suzuki+Swift+1+6+M+5+s...ec-66620529.htm

Then there's this one in Penang from Carlist, seems pretty cheap but not sure if ori ZC31S or converted one from ZC21. https://www.carlist.my/used-cars/2007-suzuk...tchback/5125061
I encountered one unit whereby full conversion had been done and the car is in good condition too asking only rm26k, but found out from the chassis/engines stamping on the passenger door frame that it's actually converted unit.

Maybe for you get the newer 2013-2014 ZC32S so can still easily get loan, but the price is steep and also still very rare, like this one below.
https://www.mudah.my/2013+Suzuki+SWIFT+1+6+...M+-65137615.htm
Last time for just about 3 weeks got 1 white unit on sale for just around rm56k but now gone already so maybe sold out.
She kinda harp about learning her driving with manual but after that, only driving automatic cars, so.....

I would err more towards the ZC32S don't have much resources to really restore the faithful older ZC31S....

Dem....decisions decisions decisions.... hmm.gif hmm.gif

But if ZC32S, my wife will harp that she's the only manual with 6 speed in the whole office laugh.gif

Anyway, can you manage to find the official spec list for local ZC32S?
6UE5T
post Aug 15 2018, 12:12 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Aug 15 2018, 11:28 AM)
She kinda harp about learning her driving with manual but after that, only driving automatic cars, so.....

I would err more towards the ZC32S don't have much resources to really restore the faithful older ZC31S....

Dem....decisions decisions decisions.... hmm.gif  hmm.gif

But if ZC32S, my wife will harp that she's the only manual with 6 speed in the whole office  laugh.gif

Well if you get a good and relatively stock ZC31S like mine then not much to restore actually.

6 speed is good leh, I wish mine has 6th gear!

General spec can see here:
https://swiftclubbrunei.blogspot.com/2012/0...c32s-specs.html
Plus at least 8 airbags, not sure if got VSC/TRC or not though.
wkc5657
post Aug 15 2018, 01:44 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Aug 15 2018, 12:12 PM)
Well if you get a good and relatively stock ZC31S like mine then not much to restore actually.

6 speed is good leh, I wish mine has 6th gear!

General spec can see here:
https://swiftclubbrunei.blogspot.com/2012/0...c32s-specs.html
Plus at least 8 airbags, not sure if got VSC/TRC or not though.
I believe there surely is a way to sway de...... brows.gif brows.gif

There is a will, there is definitely a way.

Found out one of the website managed by paultan has malaysia specifications :
https://www.carbase.my/suzuki/swift-sport/zc32s/1.6-mt-2013

Not 8 airbag, but still got 7 left tongue.gif

And that weird tyre sizing.....195/50/R16.....
6UE5T
post Aug 15 2018, 04:41 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Aug 15 2018, 01:44 PM)
I believe there surely is a way to sway de...... brows.gif  brows.gif

There is a will, there is definitely a way.

Found out one of the website managed by paultan has malaysia specifications :
https://www.carbase.my/suzuki/swift-sport/zc32s/1.6-mt-2013

Not 8 airbag, but still got 7 left tongue.gif

And that weird tyre sizing.....195/50/R16.....
Yeah, odd tire size, not many choices of good UHP tires, only those stupid Toyos! That's why I downsize to 15' which I think is the perfect size for this small car.
TSKosumaledoko
post Aug 15 2018, 11:56 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Aug 15 2018, 11:28 AM)

Dem....decisions decisions decisions.... hmm.gif  hmm.gif

But if ZC32S, my wife will harp that she's the only manual with 6 speed in the whole office  laugh.gif

There's really nothing much to restore, unless the car you get is in very bad shape like body dent, rust, paint fade, serious engine problem... all easily noticeable when viewing the car.

Your wife is a gem, not many women appreciate manual tranny car. Go get one! You can also consider fun manual car below:

Proton Satria Neo CPS - if can get the limited R3 version with the 145hp engine.
Proton Gen2 CPS - More practical, 0-100km/h in 10.6 seconds, 0.1 second slower than Neo CPS.
Honda CR-Z - Sweet 6 speed manual, but rear seat is a joke! Slightly larger kid also uncomfortable.

Above are the cars I considered before settle with ZC31S. You decide.
wkc5657
post Aug 16 2018, 01:46 PM

513 posts

QUOTE(Kosumaledoko @ Aug 15 2018, 11:56 PM)
There's really nothing much to restore, unless the car you get is in very bad shape like body dent, rust, paint fade, serious engine problem... all easily noticeable when viewing the car.

Your wife is a gem, not many women appreciate manual tranny car. Go get one! You can also consider fun manual car below:

Proton Satria Neo CPS - if can get the limited R3 version with the 145hp engine.
Proton Gen2 CPS - More practical, 0-100km/h in 10.6 seconds, 0.1 second slower than Neo CPS.
Honda CR-Z - Sweet 6 speed manual, but rear seat is a joke! Slightly larger kid also uncomfortable.

Thank you for the compliments and recommendations biggrin.gif

6UE5T
post Aug 17 2018, 10:08 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Kosumaledoko @ Aug 15 2018, 11:56 PM)

CPS engine is not good. The only Proton I'd remotely consider is the old Satria GTI with the Mitsubishi 4G93 engine coz that is basically a rebadged Mitsubishi Mirage and it's a pretty fast car.
CRZ is more complicated coz of the hybrid system.
Anyway all those above don't have as many airbags and they are 2 doors so not as practical. So IMHO, our ZC31S as a whole package is clearly the better car.
incon4koda
post Sep 11 2018, 10:49 PM

hello plan to get a suzuki sport zc31s sport soon,may i know which year does zc31s end production on malaysia?is it still possible to get loan for these swift sport?thank you
TSKosumaledoko
post Sep 11 2018, 11:48 PM

65 posts

I guess the last ZC31S sold here should be in year 2010 or 2011. I'm not sure on the loan though.
6UE5T
post Sep 11 2018, 11:56 PM

1,704 posts

As long as the age is still within 10yrs old then still can get loan. Public Bank may even still give up to 12 yrs old car. Not sure of the interest rates though.
incon4koda
post Sep 12 2018, 12:03 AM

Alright thanks for the advice will try to find a good unit first,seems like not much selling on mudah that i saw,guess have to wait for the right one hehehe
kaichiat82
post Sep 12 2018, 12:10 AM

254 posts

there is so much i'd learnt from one single thread

thumb ups and thanks to all

6UE5T
post Sep 12 2018, 12:55 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(incon4koda @ Sep 12 2018, 12:03 AM)
Alright thanks for the advice will try to find a good unit first,seems like not much selling on mudah that i saw,guess have to wait for the right one hehehe
Yeah, its a very rare car now, in total seems only 6 genuine ZC31S in mudah now for both manual and auto versions in the whole Malaysia! Good luck and happy hunting. thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(kaichiat82 @ Sep 12 2018, 12:10 AM)
there is so much i'd learnt from one single thread

thumb ups and thanks to all
Welcome. smile.gif Are you also an owner or looking for one?
wba1889
post Sep 12 2018, 07:53 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Sep 12 2018, 12:55 AM)
Yeah, its a very rare car now, in total seems only 6 genuine ZC31S in mudah now for both manual and auto versions in the whole Malaysia! Good luck and happy hunting.  thumbsup.gif
Welcome.  smile.gif  Are you also an owner or looking for one?
Hi

PM me. I can recommend one manual 2007 unit for sale if price is right . Individual owner

6UE5T
post Sep 12 2018, 06:28 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(wba1889 @ Sep 12 2018, 07:53 AM)
Hi

PM me.  I can recommend  one manual 2007 unit for sale if price is right . Individual owner
It's not me who are looking to buy coz I already own one now. smile.gif
TSKosumaledoko
post Sep 14 2018, 12:13 AM

65 posts

I've just replace the stock ZC31S wheel for an aftermarket wheel. The stock wheel are nice but kinda heavy. Below are the spec of the stock alloy wheel.

Size: 16 inch x 6J
Lug pattern: 5 x PCD 114.3
Lug type: Conical (or acorn)
Offset: +50
Center bore: 60.1mm
Weight: 8.4kg

This post has been edited by Kosumaledoko: Sep 14 2018, 12:28 AM
incon4koda
post Oct 8 2018, 10:27 PM

still looking for 1,any Individual owner selling their zc31s manual ?budget around 30-35 k ,prefer 2008 year and above as it still can be loan,any owner selling can whatsapp me at 0168309341 fai thank you very much
6UE5T
post Oct 8 2018, 11:02 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Kosumaledoko @ Sep 14 2018, 12:13 AM)
I've just replace the stock ZC31S wheel for an aftermarket wheel. The stock wheel are nice but kinda heavy. Below are the spec of the stock alloy wheel.

Size: 16 inch x 6J
Lug pattern: 5 x PCD 114.3
Lug type: Conical (or acorn)
Offset: +50
Center bore: 60.1mm
Weight: 8.4kg
Yeah, stock rims most of the time are heavy to be strong. That is typical weight for stock 16' rims. My Mark X 16x7 rims are heavier at over 9kg. For my son's ZC31S, the 15x7 5Zigen is about 7kg, still heavy for 15' but at least quite a bit lighter than stock.

So what's the new wheel? This ones are pretty nice:
https://www.mudah.my/Rim+15inci+ORI+LENSO+P...K9-69216067.htm
https://www.mudah.my/Sport+rim+ORIGINAL+LEN...a+-68732261.htm

QUOTE(incon4koda @ Oct 8 2018, 10:27 PM)
still looking for 1,any Individual owner selling their zc31s manual ?budget around 30-35 k ,prefer 2008 year and above as it still can be loan,any owner selling can whatsapp me at 0168309341 fai thank you very much
Susah dapat. smile.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:44 AM