Alipay in Malaysia
Lingohal
Nov 5 2019, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(ubeyou @ Nov 5 2019, 08:02 PM) Tutorial how to get a prepaid card (must have valid Travel Visa) -Search "Tour Pass" from the top of the homepage -Enter your info & upload your travel documents -Set your amount (max 2k RMB) + Credit Card (non-China) -Done & now you can scan or pay like normal eWallet, but must go through the "Tour Pass" mini app. Your alipay balance remain at zero. The minimum top-up for each card is RMB 100 and the balance is capped at RMB 2,000 (around $285). The prepaid card is valid for 90 days. The remaining funds will be automatically refunded when the card expires. I wonder what will happen if I top up the tour pass since I have balance in the wallet. The app will get confused or not? 😅 Edit: Oh, we have to switch region to international in order for payment to be deducted from the prepaid card, right? This post has been edited by Lingohal: Nov 5 2019, 09:36 PM
Lingohal
Nov 5 2019, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Nov 5 2019, 09:45 PM) Ya our fund cannot be kept by Alipay so Alipay find a Chinese bank to issue a virtual prepaid card. Smart! Managed to top up using BigPay. Good!!! ¥100=RM59.31 This post has been edited by Lingohal: Nov 5 2019, 10:14 PM
Lingohal
Nov 5 2019, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(ubeyou @ Nov 5 2019, 08:02 PM) Tutorial how to get a prepaid card (must have valid Travel Visa) -Search "Tour Pass" from the top of the homepage -Enter your info & upload your travel documents -Set your amount (max 2k RMB) + Credit Card (non-China) -Done & now you can scan or pay like normal eWallet, but must go through the "Tour Pass" mini app. Your alipay balance remain at zero. The minimum top-up for each card is RMB 100 and the balance is capped at RMB 2,000 (around $285). The prepaid card is valid for 90 days. The remaining funds will be automatically refunded when the card expires. How do I pin the tour pass on the main page or do shortcut? Do I have to type tour pass every single time to get into the prepaid card page in order to make payment? Coz the Payment QR code and Scan to pay is at the bottom of the page.
Lingohal
Nov 6 2019, 05:52 AM
QUOTE(Lingohal @ Nov 5 2019, 10:32 PM) How do I pin the tour pass on the main page or do shortcut? Do I have to type tour pass every single time to get into the prepaid card page in order to make payment? Coz the Payment QR code and Scan to pay is at the bottom of the page. Just realised I could change the payment to be made from the prepaid card on the main payment code. So it's good. Already used it to buy subway ticket. Fantastic!!!
Lingohal
Nov 6 2019, 05:55 AM
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Nov 6 2019, 05:34 AM) What is the category? Financial Services? Mail and telephone order Attached thumbnail(s)
Lingohal
Nov 6 2019, 06:17 AM
QUOTE(weidasdnbhd @ Nov 6 2019, 06:06 AM) Maximum RMB2000, enough? For Malaysian, cannot use alipay mainland China version in China anymore? I think it means that you can have a maximum of RMB2000 in the card at one time. So you can top up whenever you want. Let's say you have RMB500 left, you can top up RMB1500. I still have alipay china wallet. Still can use. I can select my payment to be made from the prepaid card or my china wallet balance.
Lingohal
Nov 6 2019, 10:00 AM
QUOTE(weidasdnbhd @ Nov 6 2019, 09:18 AM) Sorry bro this one I don't understand. I just found out how to switch between the region but haven't use the tour pass. I already have money in my China wallet balance. If now I use the tour pass and add money to prepaid card, then the money goes to where? Prepaid card? So do you mean your money is in two account, one in China wallet and one in bank card? And you can select between them when making payments? Yes when you make payment you can select. When you open up the payment QR code, below the code will show where the money will be deducted. You can select from there.
Lingohal
Nov 6 2019, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Nov 6 2019, 03:28 PM) Get another Tour Pass. Maybe good only for those holding Chinese Visa > 3 months. Most of us are getting the cheapest Chinese visa - 1 entry with validity of 3 months. Double entry is only RM20 more with 6 months validity. QUOTE(mamamia @ Nov 6 2019, 05:36 PM) Maybe u can try to transfer the money to others' Alipay account, not sure whether it works. Oops.. i thought it is just first time verification only... too bad then, now is difficult to get multiple entry visa.. Transferring didn't work. So far works for all merchants.
Lingohal
Nov 7 2019, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(eagle008 @ Nov 7 2019, 08:29 AM) you did the purchase using it ? QUOTE(leetan33 @ Nov 7 2019, 10:12 AM) Great to hear. Have you tried this Tour Pass in China already? Yes I have finished the first ¥100 and then topped up another ¥500 with BigPay, no OTP. Also finished the ¥500. Didn't encounter any problem using it to make payment here in China.
Lingohal
Nov 7 2019, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(eagle008 @ Nov 7 2019, 01:31 PM) may i know what kind of payment you using the apps ? can it cover the train/ metro / didi ? How to change the credit card that registered before to big pay now ? Used it for metro, food, attraction entrance fee, shopping....basically all scan and pay can be used. So for Didi, you can choose cash as payment method, and make payment by scanning the QR code to pay upon reaching your destination. For this TourPass virtual prepaid card, it seems like once you have put in the card when you first apply, you can't change it. But who knows, probably later update may be able to do so. For example, they have added the feature for us to add TourPass to home screen which wasn't there on the first day it launched.
Lingohal
Nov 9 2019, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(mycroftlee @ Nov 8 2019, 10:13 AM) one more q. do u need the data roaming on when paying using alipay when merchant swipe u? read somewhere that it is not needed, unsure true or not QUOTE(yahiko @ Nov 8 2019, 02:32 PM) u top up in china or in malaysia? since limit is only 2K RMB, so if finish dy any issue to top up in china? Topping up don't need OTP so no roaming is ok, but Internet is needed. Just like you will need internet to use it too, be it data roaming, wifi or using local sim. No issue topping up in China. I actually didn't switch to international version. I'm still using the china version, no problem using the tourpass prepaid card. I can switch between china wallet and prepaid card without any issue.
Lingohal
Nov 27 2019, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(shirleywst19 @ Nov 26 2019, 10:23 PM) yes... generally it can use from supermarket to hawker, but I am failed to use it when ride on bus, after scan the bar code, unable to paid due on failed to register (no China phone number and IC). So beware of those might need to reg & paid... For public buses in general, there is a different set of codes from the normal alipay QR code. And there is a different code for different bus network in different cities too. In the alipay app, there is a section for registration for QR codes for buses, where China IC is required. So we still have to keep small change for buses since no change will be given. So far the bus I have tried with alipay is the airport shuttle bus where they have the QR code for you to scan. Other than that, all city buses we could only use cash.
Lingohal
Dec 4 2019, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(emch3w @ Dec 4 2019, 08:40 PM) Anyone know what wrong with the following screenshot, when my friend try to pay using alipay tour pass... Anyone ecountered before or know how to fix it? Can your friend still pay after pressing ok? I remember that I have encountered popped up messages from some merchants (not many), I can't remember exactly what the message was, but I could still pay after that. I think it's just a warning message for users to be careful when transacting.
Lingohal
Dec 5 2019, 08:25 PM
QUOTE(emch3w @ Dec 5 2019, 10:43 AM) Cannot....from the warning message also clearly state that the transaction had been terminate due to high risk... But, later she was able to pay in other store with terminal by letting the merchant scan the QR.  Therefore, who want to use Alipay in China still better prepare or have some cash with you cause it is not 100% work....I guess Definitely cannot be totally cashless. There are instances when their system is down and alipay cannot be used. There are also places, usually small town, where Alipay cannot be used. To take public buses, we have to use cash too. And I have also come across one particular metro station in a big city like Shanghai where ticket machine can accept cash only.
Lingohal
Feb 3 2020, 10:06 PM
You can now request for refund for the unused balance in TourPass and need not wait till after validity period. Just tap on the three dots on the top right corner next to the words PREPAID CARD.
Lingohal
Feb 10 2020, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Feb 10 2020, 01:53 PM) Requested for refund on 4/2/20 (originally expired on 15/2/20). Got the refund in less than 1 week. Lost a few RM to Bank of Shanghai + Public Bank, RMB 1.719 = RM1.00. 08 FEB 24 NOV TourPass Pudongxinqu CN YUAN RENMINBIS Oh wait.... I requested it on 3 Feb, and I have yet to receive it. I used BigPay. Oh my.... BigPay is slow.
Lingohal
Feb 17 2020, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(xHj09 @ Feb 17 2020, 06:46 PM) have you received it? i made a refund today as well to bigpay. No, I haven't. I checked with BigPay last week about the refund. They checked for me and there was no refund in the process. I think I have to contact Alipay for that. But since it is mentioned that the refund can take up to 15 working days, so I'll just wait a bit before contacting them.
Lingohal
Feb 19 2020, 08:24 PM
QUOTE(xHj09 @ Feb 19 2020, 08:16 PM) I guess amount matters. I received mine in just 2 working days.  You are probably right. For me, I use Alipay China so this TourPass is just more for trying it out. So I used up till ¥3.60. Too little for them to care. Wanted to know the rate. So now that you share, it shows that the refund rate is good too. Oh wait. I just suddenly remember. My friend who had ¥1 left only and got the same srtike out TourPass amount refunded. Just that we didn't understand what that was. Now that I see your screenshot, that must be the refund. Ooh....so they actually left me out! This post has been edited by Lingohal: Feb 19 2020, 08:26 PM
Lingohal
Feb 19 2020, 09:52 PM
Just realised that there is a few ringgit more in my BigPay, then I started with the search TourPass but nothing came up. Then I searched for SH and the old transaction in November when I topped up my TourPass has suddenly changed to a strike with RM2.13 and the transaction is shown as reversed. But the old amount of CNY500 is still stated there. So I guess this must be the ¥3.60 refund. Somehow mine is so different from others. If I did not keep track of my balance, I would have missed this. This post has been edited by Lingohal: Feb 19 2020, 11:08 PM
Lingohal
Feb 19 2020, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(xHj09 @ Feb 19 2020, 10:02 PM) The one crossed out should be a different transaction tho? For mine, the previous one is still there  Gained about RM2 haha. Wanted to buy some wholesale stuff but they were using personal Alipay account, so ended up not using the funds at all. For mine, there is no different transaction stated. They just changed the old transaction to reversed and strike out the new refunded figure. I topped up CNY500, so the value in RM is no longer shown there anymore. Probably I was one of the early adopters, activated it the first day it was launched. So you notice that it is called Sh wallet in BigPay transaction instead of TourPass. I don't have any transaction on TourPass in BigPay. This post has been edited by Lingohal: Feb 19 2020, 11:11 PM