7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

StashAway MY, New instrument for Malaysian?

Krv23490
post Jan 17 2019, 04:12 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Jan 17 2019, 04:10 PM)
How often is the returns updated? Once everyday at noon?
If not mistaken like 10+am already updated.
Krv23490
post Jan 17 2019, 11:54 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jan 17 2019, 10:38 PM)
At first there was no gold at all in all portfolios, but yea I don't like the presence of gold, they are the least productive asset vs bonds and equities, and they are supposed to be protective.  dry.gif
I don't mind abit of gold, 4% weightage and its the highest performer in the basket. +7.73 %.

Total returns +2.8%
Krv23490
post Jan 18 2019, 12:42 AM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(w3sley @ Jan 18 2019, 12:28 AM)
Hi, Any review on Autowealth?
Edit:P/s: Sorry for the deviation from main topic.Thinking of comparing the outcome since their presence
May I know what is your risk profile?
Risk index 36
Krv23490
post Jan 18 2019, 11:23 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jan 18 2019, 11:08 PM)
Yes. My USD result is profitable ++. But you are right. Exchange rate conversion kill everything...
Exchange rate is okay actually, because think about it, you are earning in RM, a portion should be in USD so it will be hedge.. because technically, USD is the safest currency, much more compared to RM. If RM strengthen, you are earning in RM anyways and all malaysians will rejoice. Let me ask you, which would you rather, USD keep increasing or MYR keep increasing...

So in long term investing, it is a good hedge as well
Krv23490
post Jan 22 2019, 05:29 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 22 2019, 05:06 PM)
is 18 Jan, US holiday?

Why my SA based on 18 Jan, not 19 Jan?

And I know today US there holiday. But not sure on Friday. Last friday market is working
Market open on 18th, mine is based on yesterday's prices
Krv23490
post Jan 26 2019, 04:50 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jan 26 2019, 04:17 PM)
Typical mutual funds sold by local banks charge 1.5% p.a. StashAway actual cost is 0.8% p.a. + 0.3% - 0.5% p.a.by underlying ETF fund managers.
And add additional sales charge
Krv23490
post Jan 26 2019, 05:40 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 26 2019, 05:20 PM)
SA is indeed a very good platform.

but for us MYR people not that good lo...
Why wor? If myr is increasing , it's good cause my main income is RM, if it's decreasing, at least USD will offset and offer better protection. There's a reason why all central banks holds USD
Krv23490
post Jan 26 2019, 05:42 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jan 26 2019, 05:27 PM)
lol...betul juga...

itu -0.5% what lai de? dividend?
No, 0.3 and 0.5 he meant is the expense ratio of the underlying ETF. For example, SPY expense ratio is 0.09 % per annum . Charged by SPDR which is the ETF provider
Krv23490
post Jan 26 2019, 06:28 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jan 26 2019, 06:06 PM)
Yea, my expense ratio range was confusing. BTW a lot of them are far lower than 0.3%, those bond funds charge only 0.15%, which is far lower than those index funds you find in Singapore market.
Yea man, the vanguard ETFs I buy in HK also 0.18-0.2 % per annum
Krv23490
post Jan 26 2019, 07:36 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 26 2019, 07:30 PM)
it's a blade with 2 sharp end lor...

BTW hor.... now only I realize US rally time is the time US government shut down.....
Yes, works to your advantage both ways.. as long as you earn in RM.. Thats why alot of older people like to keep foreign currencies, 'just in case RM devalue until no tmr' (words of the older generation)

Krv23490
post Jan 27 2019, 09:36 AM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 27 2019, 08:48 AM)
Where to see the current regime is on which area?
They should publish this
Meaning?
Krv23490
post Jan 27 2019, 01:03 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jan 27 2019, 11:09 AM)
Back in Dec. I got an email for invitations on testing their new system. I suppose it is regarding depositing directly.
Anyone joined?

I dint because I was too busy that time.
Not me , that's good ! At least they are aware that we want faster deposits !
Krv23490
post Jan 27 2019, 02:01 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 27 2019, 01:53 PM)
that the problem when we let them dominate the space.
we need challenger to challenge them so that at the end consumer will be the one benefited
I agree competition is always good but you make it sound that they are taking advantage of us or ripping us off

For what its worth, with them starting in Malaysia, its already quite a cheap entry into US ETFS for quite a low fee.. and a decent forex rate as well from MYR to USD. You can do most of you research on the etfs they allocate for you anyways.

What did you mean though when they should be more transparent with us ?
Krv23490
post Jan 28 2019, 11:56 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(jay @ Jan 28 2019, 10:46 PM)
as compare to FD the return are higher?
sry financial noobs here
Can be higher, but can also be much lower(capital depreciation). Very very different from FD. layman terms = high risk high reward.
Krv23490
post Jan 31 2019, 10:39 AM

2,175 posts

USD 8.2 % / MYR 5.5 %

Risk Index 36..

Expect further rally if AMZN reports good earnings tomorrow morning but will ultimately depend on how the talks between US and China which should be concluding today(31/1)
Krv23490
post Jan 31 2019, 01:13 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jan 31 2019, 12:34 PM)
Moving forward, let's not mention MYR returns. That is just forex component and not a real test for how good StashAway's model is.

We just talk about return in term of USD from now on.
Agreed !
Krv23490
post Feb 1 2019, 09:42 AM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Feb 1 2019, 08:39 AM)
Most people probably signed up without using one, my colleagues and I didn’t way back then.
Me too! Didn't know about it till like few days after I deposited.
Krv23490
post Feb 4 2019, 12:52 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(blackseed202 @ Feb 4 2019, 12:43 PM)
Meaning no funds with shariah compliant?
I think that's what 'No' means..hahaha
Krv23490
post Feb 4 2019, 04:51 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Feb 4 2019, 03:54 PM)
Too bad they follow MY and US holiday.

If MY holiday, US stock open = stashaway will not working

If MY working, US holiday = stashaway will not working.
What's bad about it ? NYSE is only closed 9 days besides weekends.. Malaysia got how many already hahaha

Funds still running most of the time so money is working eventhough we are on holiday

This post has been edited by Krv23490: Feb 4 2019, 04:56 PM
Krv23490
post Feb 5 2019, 01:19 PM

2,175 posts

QUOTE(blackseed202 @ Feb 5 2019, 06:31 AM)
So thats their only etf available?

Interesting. Not much choice is it? Other international funds not available?

Where did you get the list?
I think you misunderstood the concept of Stashaway. The choice of ETFs are quite inclusive of everything already at least for the highest risk index.

If you want more ETFs, you should consider opening a foreign broking account so you can buy all the ETFs you want

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0562sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:44 PM