9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona IAFM Owners Club V55-+♠+-, The besi buruk counting it's days.

Steponlego
post Nov 6 2020, 02:43 PM

936 posts

QUOTE(NAX3383 @ Oct 25 2020, 02:22 PM)
Dear all,

Anyone have facing car jerking (when car stop with gearbox in D mode and full pressed brake pedal) and air compressor kick in time?
Normal driving time no jerking but on car stop time only sad.gif  is my gear box problem ?  because i found after clean throttle body happen this car jerking.
Jerking when stopping could be the front lower control arm. The rubber bushing probably already busted or no longer can absorb movement and shocks. Buy from shopee, one pair about RM150.

Could also be the driveshaft/CV axle, so go under your car and check if the rubber boot is still intact or leaking grease.
Steponlego
post Nov 6 2020, 02:49 PM

936 posts

QUOTE(wklow28 @ Nov 5 2020, 02:30 PM)
Recently after stop engine, the fan suddenly turn on again.
(Very short distance road, go out makan)

Guys, any faulty part to look into?
Sounds like the radiator is leaking or there's an air bubble inside the cooling system. Check your coolant level. Happened to me once: went to mamak at 2am, radiator won't stop spinning after engine off. Decided to ignore it and then stranded middle of nowhere. After that I always have a bottle of tap water ready inside the car.
Steponlego
post Nov 6 2020, 03:08 PM

936 posts

Guys, is it worth keeping a 2008 Persona? Replaced the engine 5 years ago because the timing belt snapped. Now I replaced almost all the front suspension parts, costs me almost 2K already. It still drives wonderfully, sometimes the engine makes some funny noises, but other than that it's still okay with aircond sejuk gila.
Steponlego
post Nov 9 2020, 07:19 PM

936 posts

QUOTE(wklow28 @ Nov 9 2020, 03:16 PM)
Thanks for your advice.
I checked on the radiator really less of water;
Really don't know whether it's leaking or not.  cry.gif
Go to a trusted mechanic, get them figure it out for you. Must be leaking somewhere: radiator, tubings, bad radiator cap etc. I change my radiator last year, my car guy said the radiator "reput", the radiator fins simply turns to dust on touch. They said it was a cheap china radiator so it was kinda a hit or miss, either can be good or stupid bad.
Steponlego
post Nov 16 2020, 11:54 AM

936 posts

Need help. Which type of power steering rack Persona 2007 uses? Looks different from the IAFM, Elegance, SV model. Looks similar to Gen2. Some shop say use the same steering rack as old Waja, Wira and even Satria. Some say cannot use.

Edit: can confirm, can use same as Waja MMC and Wira.

This post has been edited by Steponlego: Dec 4 2020, 02:44 PM
Steponlego
post Dec 4 2020, 02:43 PM

936 posts

QUOTE(wklow28 @ Dec 4 2020, 11:01 AM)
Mine is 2009.
Due to overheat problem, chg almost everything of the engine parts.
I will keep it for few years more probably.
Auto 4-speed for our car is far more better is drive than the current CVT~ thumbup.gif
blown head gasket?
Steponlego
post Dec 5 2020, 12:25 AM

936 posts

QUOTE(wklow28 @ Dec 4 2020, 04:07 PM)
Haha, ya....
U got it right~ bangwall.gif
Oof. That probably costs about RM1k at least? I got lucky last year when engine overheat, quickly went to workshop. Only need to replace radiator. A year before that blown head gasket... the feeling when I see exhaust air shooting out from the radiator cap is just horrifying. After that I always make sure to check coolant condition and level.
Steponlego
post Dec 12 2020, 03:01 AM

936 posts

QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ Dec 11 2020, 03:42 PM)
Any brand of heavy duty shock absorbers to recommend? My July 2019 installed left front Excel-G leaking oil.
what happened, hit a pot hole ke? i thought that KYB brand good and will last for some time?

I just recently changed my front absorber. The workshop replaced it with Tokico when I ask for quality part that will last long. Costs about RM400 for a pair I think. Unfortunately I can't say if it feels good or not because I've been driving around with a bad shock absorber for too long that I forgot what it supposed to feel to drive with good shocks.
Steponlego
post Dec 13 2020, 04:11 AM

936 posts

QUOTE(NAX3383 @ Dec 13 2020, 01:18 AM)
Thanks for your advised.
I need check my lower control arm condition again. You mean rubber bushing attach lower arm or power steering bush ?

The lower control arm bushing I mean. Just replace the whole thing, I doubt that any workshop would want to spend time replacing only the bushings.

I replaced mine few months ago, it certainly reduces the jerking when the car comes to stop. However, I think the jerking comes mostly from the transmission hard shifting to gear 1. I've found that slowly pressing the brakes helps to reduce the jerking. In other words, it's not really a problem unless you found that the lower arm bushing is completely torn - it's just one of the many quirks of driving Persona/Gen.2. Same like the rough engine braking during coasting downhill. You might feel the jerking as a driver, but as a passenger, the jerking is surprisingly hardly noticeable.

This post has been edited by Steponlego: Dec 13 2020, 04:12 AM
Steponlego
post Dec 18 2020, 01:01 AM

936 posts

QUOTE(ashangel39 @ Dec 17 2020, 05:56 PM)
Hi everyone. I have a 2010 Persona (Auto) with about 130k mileage. Lately, the gears aren't shifting as smoothly as before. The workshop that I take it to check says that it's the gearbox problem and I'll have to overhaul my gearbox. They say by overhauling it I'll have about another 100-200k to go

Cost of it will be RM 3k plus. Is that normal? Some advise is greatly appreciated. Thank you!
Nearing 19k here with 2007 Auto, shifts fine for most of the time. Please describe your auto transmission problem, I'm interested to hear from another user. If it's a serious issue, might be time to junk the car..

You can try Lucas Transmission Fix, about RM100 on shopee per bottle. Proven to fix auto transmission problems. Then there's a local product too called JV Lube Auto Transmission Fix by a quite famous transmission specialist workshop in Shah Alam. Same price as Lucas. Had a friend use that one, said that it helps the gears to shift better, but it won't make the transmission feel like new.

Steponlego
post Dec 18 2020, 11:31 AM

936 posts

QUOTE(ashangel39 @ Dec 18 2020, 08:12 AM)
It has been driving fine all this while. Just that lately while driving, you'll feel that the gear doesn't shift as smoothly anymore. And when you're on a stop/go situation it will take a moment for the gear to kick in when you let go of the brake pedal.

Once had the engine cut off while going up a parking ramp because the gear failed to engaged.

Think the irregular change of gear oil is the main culprit because I don't really have a regular workshop that I take my car to and I'm not very well verse with cars though my car is service regularly but the gear oil might be one of the thing that was overlooked so now I have to pay for it.  cry.gif
That does sounds like a major issue. When was the last time you changed the transmission fluid?

Try asking around at main fast & furious forum or FB proton persona groups for more users opinion. Nobody stops here anymore. For me I will maybe try the cheap and easy fix first with Lucas Transmission Fix + new transmission fluid. If that didn't work, I'll probably junk the car. I'm a bit skeptical about rebuilding/overhauling transmission because you never know the extent of the damaged parts until they take the transmission apart. Replacing the gearbox would be an option too.
Steponlego
post Dec 18 2020, 12:20 PM

936 posts

QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ Dec 18 2020, 11:33 AM)
Our car model want to sell also no price... Hahahahaha...
don't say like that la makes me sad... cry.gif i love my old junker. should can sell easy for RM7k if no problem.

Steponlego
post Dec 18 2020, 03:53 PM

936 posts

QUOTE(ashangel39 @ Dec 18 2020, 02:52 PM)
Hmmm...might be a while ago. I don't remember.  blink.gif Will try asking around. Thanks!
Oof. That can't be good. I only started to take serious care of my car this year thanks to PKP and have nothing to do. Next time if you do any repair or maintenance on the car, have it written down in a book, keep it in the glove box. Keep track the date and the mileage during each repair job. The maintenance reminder sticker on windshield not too reliable as I've found them to fade with time especially if you park your car under the sun.
Steponlego
post Dec 23 2020, 11:49 AM

936 posts

What's the average gas mileage for persona auto? Before this I always see my odometer around 7.6-8L/100km city drive. This year I did a few DIY, cleaned throttle body, cleaned MAP sensor, change engine oil to 10w40 semi synthetic, and I'm seeing that the fuel consumption has increased to 8.8L/100km.
Steponlego
post Dec 26 2020, 12:42 AM

936 posts

QUOTE(dannyw @ Oct 5 2020, 09:44 AM)
My 9 years Persona come back the 'tuk tuk' sound when turning the steering. I remember this is common issue during that time, and i have change the Power steering pipe & Orifice Valve that time.

Any idea how to solve this irritating sound?
Have you solved the issue? I accidentally did a full front suspension restoration because of a noise issue.

Basically, you need to make sure the nature of the noise. If it's rhythmic that changes depending on your speed, it can be 3 things: wheel bearing, tire and drive shaft/cv axle, the thing that rotates in the car. IF not, it can be other things.
Steponlego
post Dec 26 2020, 03:29 PM

936 posts

QUOTE(dannyw @ Dec 26 2020, 03:04 PM)
Nope. Recently just service at Proton SC. After they check, suspect is drive shaft. My is only when turn the steering while moving. The noise not relate to speed. As long steering turn the 'tak' plastic or metal sound is there. When turn back also same.

End up, technician say as long no leaking just use it. As replace it will be more than 1k.
ah i see, it's the outer cv axle. you can get new aftermarket one for 150-250 on shopee depending on what brand + have ABS or not. anything proton original one sure mahal double price compared to aftermarket. changed my left driveshaft few months ago with brand Gaido RM210 plus pay labor charge RM40.

anyhow, Proton SC can just walk in or need to make appointment?
Steponlego
post Dec 27 2020, 11:29 AM

936 posts

QUOTE(dannyw @ Dec 27 2020, 09:16 AM)
Yours noise relate to speed or not? How's the result after change? So you buy at Shopee? Labour RM40 should be ok.

About Proton SC, i service at Melaka. Normally if no appointment, just wait longer if lot of car. Not sure KL can walk-in or not? Depends on branch also...
my car noise is a mix of different parts gone bad, sounds like wub wub wub when i take a right corner at around 40km/h and if faster it will sound like tire gone bad (shock absorber, absorber mount, bearings both sides, and driveshaft). but my driveshaft doesn't make any noise, i sometime lose control when driving on highway, the only clue that i have it has gone bad is the torn rubber boot and leaking grease everywhere.

labour RM40 is the usual mechanic under tree price, may vary different workshop.
Steponlego
post Dec 30 2020, 01:18 PM

936 posts

QUOTE(Holyjolly @ Dec 30 2020, 11:27 AM)
Hi, I have a 2008 Proton Persona AT1.6. I read this "Problem 1: Knocking sound when cornering on uneven surface coming from Front RHS" from the general tips.
After 12 years, am I able to claim it? Anyone has the photo comparison? sweat.gif
I doubt that they will still honor the warranty after 12 years...

I've found out that weird noise complaint is one of the least favorite things for a car mechanic to diagnose. To save money, better find out where the noise coming from by yourself, or else they will throw spare parts at your car until it eventually fixed.

For starter, how is the nature of the noise? Rhythmic that increases in frequency when you drive faster? Noise gone when you hit the brakes? Don't trust where the noise come from when in the car, it can easily be very deceptive. Sometimes left noise can be heard as if it comes from right side and vice versa.

Noise when cornering usually can be two things: wheel bearings and driveshaft/CV axle. If only happen on uneven road, maybe try check the condition of your stabilizer link/sway bar links and bushings. See if your absorber is in good condition too.
Steponlego
post Dec 30 2020, 01:25 PM

936 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ Dec 28 2020, 02:03 PM)

gave my ironhorse a makeover after 122 months

repainted whole car RM1.7k
paint inside and outside including engine bay?
Steponlego
post Dec 30 2020, 11:19 PM

936 posts

QUOTE(Holyjolly @ Dec 30 2020, 10:12 PM)

I also hearing many sounds coming from all 4 wheels when passing repetitive uneven road. it sounds louder when reaching certain vibrate frequency / amplitude

I assume the mechanic already looked under the car see if anything looked need replacing? Might be wheel bearings because you can't see the bearings, you can only feel it and hear it knocks/whines. Or could be just a case of old shock absorber. You can look for how to video on how to confirm if it is a case of bad bearings. It's easy for the rear wheels because you can freely spin them when you jack the car, but for the front it will be a bit tricky.

Car already past 10 years, might be a good idea to replace all the suspension parts. Change everything on the front: 1.lower arm (RM140 pair), 2. shock absorber (RM400 pair) 3. absorber mount (RM100 pair) 4.sway bar link (RM80-100 pair), 5.wheel bearings (RM100 pair) 6.sway bar bushing (RM10) 7.steering rack bushing (RM10) 8.engine mounts (RM150) 9.Rod end and tie rod end.

You can bring your own part, just ask your trusted workshop to install them for you. I just recently change everything on the front, cost me 2k I think including labor. Cost might be lower if you do everything in one swoop. Planning to replace the rear suspension next year.

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:22 AM