-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona IAFM Owners Club V55-+♠+-, The besi buruk counting it's days.
Steponlego
Mar 7 2021, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(looqsonline @ Feb 15 2021, 08:04 PM) would u happen to have ur old headlights? i wanna buy ur retainer clip for the h4 bulbs as well as the rubber cover for the bulbs sorry for late reply. i think i'm gonna hold on to these old thing for a while, considering how bad the quality of the aftermarket part are. for small retainer and clips, you can try asking at Trimas Auto. they have almost everything.
Steponlego
Mar 7 2021, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(potatocam @ Mar 7 2021, 01:13 PM) My front brake pads are screaming ... What brand of brake pads suitable for our old persona? Before this I use cheap RM50 TRW brand. The brake pad makes a lot of noise in the morning, especially if the rotors are wet after rain. Brake dust is horrible. 3 hour drive, my sport rim will looked like it haven't been washed for weeks. Now I try using Proton brand brake pad, made by Mintye. The brake pads makes less noise compared to TRW and brake dust is a lot better. Costs me about RM50 on shopee. The downside is this brake pad doesn't comes with the metal shims. Theoretically the shims are to make your brake quieter, but I think right now my car doesn't use any brake pad shims, just put a good amount of grease at the important points. It squeaks a little in slow moving traffic jam, but not a big deal. Definitely better when compared to TRW brand. Stopping power, I can't really tell because I'm not kaki racing type of person. I prefer to slowly brake before come to a stop. I think the best value for your money brake pad is Brembo brand because it comes with full set brake caliper metal clip and 2 new 13mm brake caliper bolt. The brake pad metal clip if you buy per unit from after market brand will cost you RM7 - RM9 per clip. One side of front brake needs 4.
Steponlego
Mar 12 2021, 05:18 PM
Anyone have experience dealing with P0325 knock sensor problem? If I rev the engine too high, exceeds 3000RPM the CEL will turn on.
Steponlego
Mar 16 2021, 10:23 PM
A bit of sharing with fellow Persona drivers.
My car usually will show check engine light when revving past 3000RPM. First time got this error was back in 2015 I think. Send to my usual mechanic, he said nothing wrong, just some wiring error. So I take his word for it. Didn't know what is a trouble code at that time.
Fast forward to 2020, decided to fix this annoying check engine light. After asking around, found that it's probably error P0501 V-signal not plausible. The only fix for this is to either get the dashboard speedometer fixed or replace the speedometer.
Last week I found a car meter repair guy. He fixed my meter by resoldering weak connectors and removing rusts on the meter PCB. But somehow the check engine light still pops out after 3000RPM. Meter repair guy sends me to his friend with a scan tool. Found there is another one error code: P0325. On the positive side, the P0501 was fixed.
P0325 is an error code for knock sensor malfunction. It can be either the fault in the sensor itself, the wiring to the sensor or the ECU. In Campro engine, the knock sensor is located under the intake manifold. The knock sensor functions to detect pre-ignition or knocks inside the engine. In all engine, there is a specific RPM in which the ECU will request signal from the knock sensor, at which if the ECU didn't get any signal, error P0325 will happens.
Send my car to new workshop after hearing from my friend that the owner used to work with Proton, they took 3 days to finally resolve my P0325 problem (it's a quite packed workshop, plus sensor and wiring issue is always a fickle). Found out that the culprit is the connector to the sensor, the wire was disconnected internally or something. They changed the knock sensor just to be safe. I was charged only RM100 for part and labor, which I was quite surprised because it took a lot of time.
Can you drive with a bad knock sensor? Absolutely yes, yes you can. But the performance of the engine is severely affected especially if you rev the engine hard. After test drive with a working knock sensor, I can tell you that the engine is now a lot more quieter and there is less hard shifting. Usually before this the steering wheels will vibrate when I drive at 100km/h and above (even with new engine mounts). Now there is almost none vibration. The overall acceleration and cabin noise is reduced.
Thank you for reading.
Steponlego
Mar 22 2021, 06:54 PM
Anyone who rajin DIY maintenance on the car, what's the size of the washer ring for the auto gearbox drain plug? Is it 16mm internal diameter (M16x24) or bigger?
Steponlego
Mar 31 2021, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(chin89 @ Mar 29 2021, 10:42 PM) Hi guys, my car was vibrating when reversing. Got one time it vibrate till the engine die. The rpm was unstable during reversing. Any causes of this ? quick googling says it might be caused by bad idle control valve, o2 sensor or clogged fuel injector. it happens when you reverse because when you reverse, you will always hit the brakes, putting a load on the engine. try put in drive and brake while aircond is on, probably engine will turn off too. i'd start looking at the throttle body first, see if it full of gunk and dirt. easy diy job, a lot of videos on youtube shows how to clean campro throttle body.
Steponlego
Apr 22 2021, 04:40 AM
QUOTE(Sphenix @ Apr 15 2021, 01:50 PM)  anyone got this issue?? Now front and rear floor is wet, know what the cause? just google around, it seems is door sheet issue, but if 1 side then reasonable, but now all 4 carpet wet.   *update anyone know where to get this plastic sheet? saw too many people got this problem in Gen2 club group on FB. the problem lies in your weatherstrip seal or the rubber thingy at the edge of the door. it will eventually become cracked and will let rain water into the cabin. get it replaced before you got any water damage. your door plastic looks fine. but if you need to replace it, any plastic would do. i saw someone use black rubbish plastic bag, some even use plastic bag that comes with 10kg rice. don't use UHU glue. what you need is some black butyl rubber tape. This post has been edited by Steponlego: Apr 22 2021, 04:40 AM
Steponlego
May 12 2021, 02:43 AM
QUOTE(kelvin988 @ May 4 2021, 03:07 PM) i just changed a new Intake manifold for around RM 800, am i kena chopped already? Or its normal price macam kena chopped. i swear that i saw people on FB offer to change intake manifold + trade in for RM200.
Steponlego
Oct 19 2021, 08:35 PM
Fan belt 6PK1669 or 6PK1677 ??
My tensioner bearing now vibrating when the A/C compressor is engaged. Last year changed new tensioner bearing, fan belt 6PK1677 but it still vibrating - then I changed alternator pulley: vibration gone.
Now the vibration is back but not as bad when the alternator pulley was faulty.
Steponlego
Nov 11 2021, 06:15 PM
Is there a reason why my car drives better after send for AC major service? Before this my car have slight jerk when coming to a stop. Going downhill also dont feel the usual gear down shift jerk.
And anyone have problem with their brakes make knocking sounds? I suspect it might be a seized caliper pin.
Steponlego
Jun 17 2022, 04:13 PM
Hi. Car is 15 years old this year at 200,000KM. Worth it to replace the rear suspension? Can you feel the difference? I'm thinking getting new rear arms and replace all the rubber bushings including the trailing arm bushing. Shock absorber still okay, not making any knocking sound or have oil leaking not sure if I should change that too.
Steponlego
Jun 17 2022, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ Jun 17 2022, 08:49 PM) If you doing it, time it to the time of tyre rotation as you'll need to do alignment after replacing lower arms/ bushings. To change what or not maybe you'll need proper inspection. Of course you can change everything but will it overkill or not that is not sure. yeah i'm thinking either to buy the whole thing from shopee and let mechanic handle the rest. whole no name aftermarket set is just under RM300, include short and long upper arm, lower arm, stabilizer link and bushings. branded part local made like Saiko costs a bit more and then Proton original part is even more expensive. they're non moving part nowhere near the engine, so i guess it's safe to go for cheaper option here? rough inspection, i can see that the rubber on stabilizer link is already reduced to some dry black rotted stuff. other parts looks okay, but it has been 15 years, who knows what it does to the other bushings. i wonder if the rear suspension will effect my daily drive, will it make driving the car feel better?
Steponlego
Jun 18 2022, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ Jun 17 2022, 09:54 PM) Stabilizer link bushing is 5 ringgit a piece item. Whole set 20 ringgit only. If you change that first and it gave you good feedback, then it's not too late for you to proceed also right? Also on inspection outcome, "boleh pakai" is not the same with "still good" hahahha Edit: Please don't get me wrong. From my perspective driving comfort definitely will improve after suspension set change. The question is how much and is it worth it. Your money your call. Guess I just replace everything then to save time and cost. I'll report back how the driving feels after the replacement in a few weeks.
Steponlego
Jun 18 2022, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(propusers @ Jun 18 2022, 02:21 PM) Anybody know the fair price to refill aircon gas for Persona? About RM80 or RM70 not including tax. Better if you ask the aircond guy to find any leaks first.
Steponlego
Jun 18 2022, 05:22 PM
 Does this driveshaft/ inner CV joint look okay or need replacing?
Steponlego
Jun 19 2022, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(inferno_17_85 @ Jun 19 2022, 11:39 AM) Need to open the boot to check. If it's still okay, the leak probably is from damaged boot. They can regrease and change a new boot for you. Last time left side I got charged almost 100. Couple more buck can get brand new drive shaft.  will put this on to do list after rear overhaul.
Steponlego
Jun 19 2022, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(diversity @ Apr 5 2022, 12:52 AM) Pls don't buy mitsubishi brand. These are fake as mitsubishi doesn't manufacture other brand car parts For your info I changed mitsubishi brand suspension components and they just don't last. Within 1 year my rear upper arms all making noise, in the end have to re-do everything with additional labour charges some more. Another brand to avoid is mounting King Thanks for the feedback. I ended up buying branded local made aftermarket from Zenwa. Costs double than these 'mitsubishi' parts, but bit cheaper than original proton. I always wondered how they can sell these part way cheaper than other. What did they do to cut cost of production? Reject items? Low quality rubber? And where is their factory?
Steponlego
Jun 24 2022, 10:19 AM
How much is the cost to replace the exhaust muffler? Apparently mine has gone bad due to inner rust. It sounded like a tin can with bunch of nails and stones inside.
Steponlego
Jun 25 2022, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(McFcker @ Jun 24 2022, 03:06 PM) Just a quick question, my passenger windows are all having issues going down on its own, need to push it down while pressing the button. Driver side no issue (rarely use passenger windows cause i drive alone) do you know what part to fix for this? Driver side lock doesn't pop up fully so have to manually unlock the car, is this the door centre lock issue? Sounds like weak motor on the passenger side. Just search for power window motor persona on shopee. But always recommended change the regulator/bracket too. If center lock issue, none of the locks will work when you use remote and you can hear a click coming from under the dashboard on passenger side. This sounds like sticky lock issue. I think some silicon grease spray will fix it.
Steponlego
Jun 25 2022, 12:39 PM
Just changed the whole rear suspension. Here's what it cost me: 1. Absorber bush kit = RM46 2. Rear struts set (original Proton) = RM206 3. Rear lower arms (should be original Proton)= RM155 4. Rear trailing arm bush (full rubber) = RM65 5. Tulang anjing small and large, local made Zenwa = RM150 6. Stabilizer bar bush = RM10 7. Stabilizer link (don't think it's original but seller said it is) = RM70
Labour and charges including charge to install trailing arm bush = RM350 Camber and alignment = RM130 (I think the shop charge RM40 per rear camber, RM40 for front alignment and stuff)
Total = RM1200
Is it worth it? Absolutely yes. Now the old car no longer bounces when going through bumpy road.