6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

AMD Ryzen /Threadripper OverClocking V1.1, big or small, share your results here...

nrw
post Jun 6 2020, 09:57 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Jun 6 2020, 09:37 AM)
From my understanding i think its a "safer" all core overclock technique. Could be wrong though.
not necessarily. with both, EDC and all core OC you could be using too much voltage during heavy stress loads.

I personally do it like this. I test how much voltage the cpu is using on stock for small FFTs @Prime95.
For example that's 1.25V (after vdroop) for my 8 core chip. (its slightly different for every chip)

So if I set EDC to 1 I'd be getting ~1.28V and with an all core overclock I'd be seeing whatever voltage I set - vdroop (depending on LLC) which would in most instances still be higher than 1.25V.

So unless you get to know how much of a safety buffer AMD applies to their voltage protection algorithms noone can possibly tell how much additional to 1.25 in this instance is save under those max load states.

nrw
post Jun 6 2020, 10:23 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Jun 6 2020, 10:05 AM)
I tested both stock and edc 1 and the voltage during load is pretty much the same. Surprisingly all edc, tdc, and ppt parameters are well within the 65w tdp specs. Hence i dunno what kinda sorcery is this edc 1 doing. Hahahahha

I actually set my llc to the lowest setting to allow more vdroop. My multicore scores went up due to the slightly lower voltages at load.

But i do agreee with you. Whether this technique is safe or not or will cause degradation, nobody can give a definite answer. But since im already at the bottom of the silicon lottery. I couldnt care less hehehhe. Even more reason to get a new proc if anything fails.
nod.gif
Ye for me EDC is behaving differently then on the boards I tested it with (C7H, X570 Unify) but not really much into figuring why since I am not using it.
That's why others should at least try it before, at least.

Using LLC to low(est) is very good. I think buildzoid had a pretty nice video on this (https://youtu.be/9pa9-wjKQp8)

Ye as long as you don't plan to sell the chip without mentioning that should be fine laugh.gif
After getting such a lemon u'd deserve a better one anyways thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by nrw: Jun 6 2020, 10:24 AM
nrw
post Jun 10 2020, 01:53 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Jun 9 2020, 01:32 AM)
It seems something wrong on my previous system.
I did fresh install windows and install drivers.
Power plan i choose ''Ámd Performance". The benchmark seems ok.
disable PBO. C-state AUTO. windows is latest.
yep, SC seems about right now.
fingers off any software that can mess with bios settings/config, or powerplans then biggrin.gif

nrw
post Jun 12 2020, 04:41 PM

398 posts

If you told any1 that this b350 board would be able to run ram @4.6GHz during Zen or even Zen+ times they would have sent you for psychological check up tongue.gif
If you got the time try dropping SOC VDDG and VDDP. Too high can also get those sticks to run really unstable. Even at these frequencies.

This post has been edited by nrw: Jun 12 2020, 04:53 PM
nrw
post Jun 12 2020, 05:27 PM

398 posts

it's Micron E-dies I suppose?
Then go with
VSoC 1.05-1.075V max 1.1V
VDDG 0.95-0.975V
VDDP 0.855-0.95V
nrw
post Jun 19 2020, 01:13 PM

398 posts

don't trust thaiphoon burner blindly. I've myself seen it more than once giving wrong info on dies.

@k!nex fine kit, haven't tested stability?
I have my doubts its really stable with this tRAS @21 with tCL and tRCDRD at 14 each.
nrw
post Jun 19 2020, 01:49 PM

398 posts

what did the 042 code look like on your tridentz 3600c18?
nrw
post Jun 19 2020, 02:03 PM

398 posts

last 3 digits 10 is samsung, c is c die
nrw
post Jun 19 2020, 02:17 PM

398 posts

Tbh, if you buy at local stores, just check the corsair vengeance 3600 (maybe even 3200) kits.

The version number is visible through the backside of the sealed boxing.
v4.31 would be b-dies.

This post has been edited by nrw: Jun 19 2020, 02:18 PM
nrw
post Jun 19 2020, 04:19 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Jun 19 2020, 04:14 PM)
how can i get the true real information of my dies then?
for some manufacturers the sticker on the ram holds the information needed.
as you can see with corsair and g.skill.
2 posts up you see v4.32, that's always samsung c die for example.
the safest would be to look below the heatspreader/sticker, but that's not always easily possible and could also void warranty.

if you have the sticks already the most convenient way you can confirm is by testing few values and voltage scaling characteristics to figure what dies are on them.
but you probably know that anyways.

This post has been edited by nrw: Jun 19 2020, 04:25 PM
nrw
post Jun 20 2020, 08:46 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Jun 20 2020, 08:28 AM)
Thanks! Shitty dies i have for both ram and cpu. For g.skill what information should i look out for on the sticker?

Adata D60G DDR4 3600 16GB (XPG) (8GB*2) CL14 for rm854. Hmmmm should i get it?
1) G.Skill got that 042 code, most important are the 3 last digits. NNX
NN=10 = Samsung
NN=21 = Hynix
X=The Die

2) What's the other primaries and the voltage for the 3600 profile?

To be frank... you use Zen2, just get a Micron E-Die Kit and adjusting timings yourself.
U'll spend (less than) half of RM854 and will get almost same performance.

This post has been edited by nrw: Jun 20 2020, 09:12 AM
nrw
post Jun 20 2020, 03:45 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Jun 20 2020, 02:33 PM)
Thanks for the info! I tried tightening the timings on my ram again. And surprisingly i manage to get it done. This time i actually disabled xmp profile and manually set the voltages and timings according to dram calculator safe timings.

3600mhz i manage to get 16-21-21-21-42 (aida test shows lower latency but lower throughput)

3733mhz i manage to get 18-22-22-22-42 (aida test shows higher latency but higher throughput)

Which you reckon will have better gaming performance? And what rams are on micron edie?
choose the one with lower voltage (3733). even though worse on paper you hardly gonna notice the difference.
e-dies hard to get as micron not selling the kits that are e-die exclusive in malaysia.
you can get corsair sticks with them but that's a gamble.
best is to order overseas. I can just add a kit to my next order if you want, just send me a pm.

but seeing you managed to oc your ram, just keep it n go with that.

I'll just drop some basic B-Die settings from my record here.
I haven't had a kit that wouldn't run these on zen2.
but actually seeing your numbers above... those might be c-dies

This post has been edited by nrw: Jun 23 2020, 10:30 AM
nrw
post Jun 20 2020, 06:54 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(steven789 @ Jun 20 2020, 06:36 PM)
Stability testing with OCCT.  I find OCCT is very sensitive in detecting instabilty.  30min of testing is equivalent to hours and hours of Prime95.
that one is very debatable laugh.gif

You are being constrained by your cooler biggrin.gif
But a nice chip, shows why they are releasing the XT series soon.

Now you gotta play with voltages to get 1900 fclk working, you can't stop before that.

This post has been edited by nrw: Jun 20 2020, 06:54 PM
nrw
post Jun 21 2020, 06:27 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(crazyfatt @ Jun 21 2020, 03:53 PM)
Play around the RAM overclocking and i would like to ask some questions.

user posted image user posted image

I follow calculator 1.7.3 settings for overclock 3600mhz and 3800 mhz which my ram is 4x8GB.

1. For 3600mhz i folo everything but i need  to set "RTT_WR AUTO" to be able to pass memtestpro. If i set it to OFF it will not boot.
2. For 3800mhz folo everything but need to set 2T and RTT_WR AUTO to be stable.

Would like to ask is the RTT_WR OFF recommend in the calculator must be folo ? I got no error from memtestpro after 1 night run with the RTT_WR AUTO. I'm curious why this off will make me can't boot into windows or error when i restart windows. Hope all sifu can help explain for me notworthy.gif
a)
for 4 sticks rtt write should never be off. keep it on /3 (or 80 for those with other boards but same issue)

don't blindly follow calc if you see or presume it works better otherwise. end of the day, it's just a database which spits out stuff based on your input.
it doesn't exactly calculate anything specifically for your kit.

b)
keep running 3800MHz. If you can't get it to work on CL14 just run it on CL16 with lower voltage, GDM on, and 1T.
You need to share more info (use zentimings for timings + list down used voltages, procodt, cad's, and rtt's

@steven789 for a locally bought chip you got a nice one.
I feel AMD keeps supplying local distributor with quite dated stock.
Mostly I see 2019 production weeks in stores.
My 8c does 4.325 with your voltages (I allow for more vdroop, its good to prevent undershoot after all.), so your's is quite a bit better (on manual OC at least). Especially taking cooling and temps into consideration.

This post has been edited by nrw: Jun 21 2020, 06:30 PM
nrw
post Jun 21 2020, 07:06 PM

398 posts

https://github.com/irusanov/ZenTimings/rele...ings_v1.0.4.zip
nrw
post Jun 21 2020, 08:12 PM

398 posts

I thought u were on 2T CL15? Guess you already changed to 1T CL16 now?
Doesn't look to bad already if that's stable.

I'll just steal 'my' (stole most if it myself tongue.gif ) old 3733 4x8 config, if you got nice sticks it might work on 3800.
try this if you like:

ProcODT 36.9 (should do already)
RTT 7/3/1
CADs 24-20-20-24 (or 24-20-24-24, 24-24-24-24)
Vdimm 1.50V (you have some airflow on the ram, right?)
SOC 1.10V

left ur current settings, right the ones to try

if you don't have airflow just keep it on c16 if that's already stable. good luck.

This post has been edited by nrw: Jun 21 2020, 08:12 PM
nrw
post Jun 21 2020, 08:26 PM

398 posts

ye ofc, gdm can only operate with even numbers. I was just expecting to see your c15 setting in the screenshot biggrin.gif
nrw
post Jun 21 2020, 09:43 PM

398 posts

Read up 🤣 thats what he was asked to set. So he done that.

You can try to raise tRFC to 280 n see if it posts.
You can use the safe boot button btw, no need to clear cmos.

Edit: @k!nex VDDG to 1.05V? hmm.gif poor IMC.
for B-Dies just keep between 0.95V & 1V. Try what suits your chip.

This post has been edited by nrw: Jun 21 2020, 09:47 PM
nrw
post Jun 21 2020, 10:24 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 21 2020, 10:16 PM)
Vddg iod 1.05V is by default on my motherboard if i put FCLK at 1900Mhz. I have read that this voltage safe setting is not to go over 1.1V and it needs to be at least 40mV below Vsoc.
Auto != correct

Good boards will have no issue having it in the range I proposed. He does have a very good board. There are some bad ones where you can increase the range until 1.05V but that's just unnecessary stress and pointless to be done as long as the infinity fabric is stable.
nrw
post Jun 21 2020, 10:32 PM

398 posts

Oh, don't get me wrong btw, I'm not saying its the wrong voltage for you.
But usually when I test fclk stability I start with .95V and almost always get it stable below 1V.
If your IF doesn't run stable below that value ur fine to have it. But if it'd work on a lesser voltage it'd be a waste not to do so.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:18 AM