What to buy with 1.5M?

TSbeleebala
post Jul 31 2018, 02:46 PM, updated 8y ago

125 posts

Dear all,
I am planning to move to KL with my wife in a couple of years. I can afford RM 1.5M for getting a property. What projects would you guys recommend for:

1. Investment: good rental return + capital gain

or

2. Living: 2 persons without kids; semi-retired life

notworthy.gif New to KL. Your suggestions and info would be much appreciated.

This post has been edited by beleebala: Jul 31 2018, 04:08 PM
TSbeleebala
post Jul 31 2018, 03:09 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(jAsOs @ Jul 31 2018, 01:55 PM)
Depends on whether your RM 1.5m is expendable or not.
Expendable. It is meant to be long term investment or a long term living place. Thanks.
TSbeleebala
post Jul 31 2018, 03:28 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(toiletwater @ Jul 31 2018, 02:23 PM)
Assuming that if you were to purchase said real estate and that it wouldn't constitute a big portion of your portfolio (less than 20%), I would just look for a landed property (new development projects) for investment.

And for staying I would ask myself if I like gardening or the urban lifestyle first.
For landed properties, do you mean houses? For investment, are they better than condos?

No gardening... hate gardening... LOL

TSbeleebala
post Jul 31 2018, 03:31 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(empatTan @ Jul 31 2018, 01:56 PM)
Top up another $500k, I stret away sell u something good. No bull.
Nothing good below 1.5M? Trying to limit the risk of my first investment in Malaysia.
TSbeleebala
post Jul 31 2018, 03:39 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(jAsOs @ Jul 31 2018, 02:32 PM)
My personal opinion would be, spend 3 quarters of it for your long term home, put the rest into FD or other higher returns investments and take annual trips with the returns.
If I was semi-retired, I would be spending my remaining time travelling the world before I get too old and crumpled to enjoy them.
Hi jAsOs, good ideas. 1.5M is budgeted for the property. I have set aside some money for other expenses and other investments.
TSbeleebala
post Jul 31 2018, 03:40 PM

125 posts

I also read some people saying that term deposit could be a better option as the rate could be as high as 4%.
TSbeleebala
post Jul 31 2018, 03:56 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(jAsOs @ Jul 31 2018, 02:48 PM)
If 1.5M is solely for a property purchase, I would highly recommend getting one for your own stay with half the sum and renovating it with the rest of the money.
And if there is a surplus, then more to spend later.
Either way, it's still adding value to your current portfolio.

Term Deposit and Fixed Deposit are the same product and yes the returns ranges from 4.0% to 4.5% for 12 months deposits.
You may refer to this thread for more information.

IIRC, there is a minimum RM 2mil entry for expats looking to purchase a property here.
Thanks for the link!
TSbeleebala
post Jul 31 2018, 03:57 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(StarFalls~* @ Jul 31 2018, 02:52 PM)
TS not malaysian?
No. I am planning to move to KL from Hong Kong.
TSbeleebala
post Jul 31 2018, 05:55 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(sunami @ Jul 31 2018, 04:39 PM)
no commitment?
1.5mil for living fee only?
there is a reason i asked about your age
do you have insurance?
do you have prop?
do you have car?
if 1.5M to cover all above and your living fee..and you are semi retired..is a joke man...
Sorry, my original post was not well written and misleading. I have set aside money for living, insurance, car, traveling, etc.

1.5M is purely for buying a property for investment or living. As I am not sure when exactly I will move here, I am open to places for investment or living.
TSbeleebala
post Jul 31 2018, 06:00 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(JustForCheonging @ Jul 31 2018, 03:44 PM)
Assume u're pure hongki chinese descendent, aim landed property. Something you would never be and ever to get in HK. U can stay at Kajang/Cheras/Sunway/USJ for higher concentration of chinese area.

Btw what makes u think of retiring in Msia if i may ask?
Comparing with HK, Malaysia is a very good place for retirement to HK people:
1. cheaper living cost and housng
2. Cantonese or English speaking
3. Easy MM2H requirements
4. Close to HK
5. British systems
6. Warm weather

Of course, there are disadvantages. However, there are disadvantages in all places. The key disadvantages to HK people are:
1. Crime
2. Race-biased government policy

TSbeleebala
post Aug 1 2018, 09:49 AM

125 posts

Thanks guys for your advice.

Unfortunately, as a foreigner, I cannot buy any properties less than RM 1M (2M for Selangor). So, the good idea of splitting the 1.5M into two or more properties is not an option to me.

The message "it is a buyer's market" is everywhere on the internet. However, at my recent visit to KL, I did not see big discounts in new off plan developments. Maybe I was looking at the wrong places (MK, Bukit Bintang, Desa Parkcity). You guys are right that I should spend more time looking and studying the market in KL before diving in. I have mixed feeling about Mont Kiara. It is modern and nice. However, the area and roads there are as crowded as in Hong Kong.

Regarding whether the "race-biased" government policy, you might be surprised that this often is the most discouraging factor when HK people consider moving to Malaysia. We have this negative impression about Malaysia for decades and while it does not really affect foreigners, HK people generally have very negative feeling about this, especially after all the anti-government movement in HK making them more sensitive to politics. Many also do not want their children (I don't have any) to grow under such policy.

This post has been edited by beleebala: Aug 1 2018, 09:52 AM
TSbeleebala
post Aug 1 2018, 11:22 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Aug 1 2018, 08:58 AM)
there is NO ONE perfect haven in this world. you give some and gain some. Not in Malaysia, not Singapore, not Australia and definitely not in NZL.
I believe Hong Kong has another 23 years (or 33 years??) left before the one country two systems will reverse back to ONE CHINA policy.
The race based policy is more towards protecting the malay race and its religion then anti Chinese. As the local Chinese population is dwelling in the future, expect local Chinese losses more strong grip on politic and economics.

but having said so, nobody is born equally. having lived in such diverse country, you will appreciate there is much more than 'race biased' policy. your children likely to be trilinqual (as Chinese), more tolerance of other faiths and races and will be able to adapt different places better. it will do more good than harm to one child. Also remember, we are now living in a global village.

am very glad that I was born here, and needless to say, also very glad that there is race biased policy. It made me work harder towards my goal, think outside the box and outside the country. I wouldn't change this for the world.
Hi BEACOUNTER, please don't get me wrong. The government policy is Malaysia's own choice / business. As foreigners coming to Malaysia, we should accept the status quo. Otherwise, we should not come. I was basically saying if you don't have such policy in Malaysia, HK people will be rushing in crazy!
TSbeleebala
post Aug 1 2018, 12:11 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Aug 1 2018, 10:36 AM)
Close one eye buy any freehold, fully gated and guarded (beware: real ones...not those boom gates type) in Klang Vallley lah..won't go wrong...no need come to see also....
What are the good areas for gated and guarded? Any project names? Thanks.
TSbeleebala
post Aug 1 2018, 01:38 PM

125 posts

Great advice! let me check what TTDI is.

A 30 years old 900 sft DSL house in a remote area in HK now probably starts at RM 6M.

Most of the land lease in HK expired in 1997. We have been paying land rents to the government since then. You still own the land, just need to pay land rent.

This post has been edited by beleebala: Aug 1 2018, 01:39 PM
TSbeleebala
post Aug 1 2018, 05:14 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(Mrkoala @ Aug 1 2018, 02:23 PM)

If you got a few days of free time read through as much threads in the property talk section and you will slowly getting the picture ( i knew i did but i spent almost a year as a silent reader). But some of the short hands they use will really annoy you.

Thanks for your advice. Is there a crash course for the short hands? bangwall.gif

QUOTE(kbandito @ Aug 1 2018, 03:56 PM)
However if you really mind about security, you can get a 1,300 sf condo in One Central Park @ Desa ParkCity with RM1.5 mil, overlooking the beautiful lake.
I also like the Desa Parkcity. They will have two new projects right next to the lake next year.
TSbeleebala
post Aug 2 2018, 02:45 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(sosobear @ Aug 1 2018, 09:10 PM)
Hi beleebala,

If you enjoy golfing, maybe can consider Bukit Jalil or TTDI. There is a golf course in Bukit Jalil itself.
Nearest golf course to TTDI would be KLGCC (forgot new name) Tropicana golf course. Both about 15mins drive maybe.

Other area in my mind would be Taman Desa or Seputeh. It’s not too distant from Bangsar actually. Driving to Mid Valley takes about 5mins.

For city living, klcc area. I find the price of bukit bintang development absurd, make klcc secondary market a bargain. Many hk expat live around Hampshire (5 mins walk to klcc). For new development - Aria@KLCC which is next to Singapore embassy.

Desa Parkcity. Slow pace and many green. You can check some unsold unit for Westside 3 at developer sales office.
Good ideas. I have already visited the sales office for Westside. They are currently selling South Brook and some remaining units at the Westside 3.

What do you guys think about Bangsar South?
TSbeleebala
post Sep 1 2018, 09:41 AM

125 posts

What do you guys think about Kenny Hills? I note that it is very low density, good location but the price per square feet is rather low comparing with all the other hot locations. Why is it not hot?
TSbeleebala
post Sep 1 2018, 09:50 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Aug 2 2018, 06:50 PM)
TS is from hong kong.

Born with living in concrete jungle lah....

Perhaps TS should let us know

1. What environment you are looking for.
2. How you would like to drive for groceries food and etc
3. How important is public transporr system
4. How you like to live within the city, kuala lumpur
5. Is walking distance to chinese eateries a must or non important
Good questions. I am asking myself these questions as well.

1. Close to city but not as crowded as MK.
2. Driving no problem
3. This one I don't know as I don't know KL well enough. Can you live with just public transportation in KL? We can (have to) do that in HK.
4. I am ok with city but again, just not as dense as in MK.
5. Driving is OK

I am looking into semi-retirement, but I am still in my 40's so I still want to do a lot of activities.

Thanks guys for your advice.

0.0200sec    0.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:54 PM