Which car insurance cheapest

TSberrycoo~
post Jul 22 2018, 11:19 PM, updated 8y ago

320 posts

Hi all, my car insurance need to be renewed soon. Currently on Zurich but damn expensive doh.gif

Any suggestion on other insurance company with cheaper rates? I heard takaful is cheap. Ok to go with this one?
GymBoi
post Jul 22 2018, 11:32 PM

1,401 posts

Cheap no good .... good no cheap ... heard b4?
TSberrycoo~
post Jul 23 2018, 12:00 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jul 22 2018, 11:32 PM)
Cheap no good .... good no cheap ... heard b4?
Anything wrong with takaful?
tekoo
post Jul 23 2018, 07:56 AM

176 posts

Pm car make model years cc.
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 23 2018, 08:05 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

afaik car insurance more or less are the same for all companies.
probably varies between 10-20% depending whether got any loading or other factors.

if cheapest imo is takaful malaysia that gives 15% cashback for no claim
dudester
post Jul 23 2018, 08:11 AM

1,229 posts

Previously posted on
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4617458&hl=

My comparison took me to Etiqa.
Takaful maybe cheaper in long run with 15% more cashback after maturity

This post has been edited by dudester: Jul 23 2018, 08:12 AM
hafizhans
post Jul 23 2018, 08:18 AM

haa..ahnn..ahnn..aduii
1,484 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 23 2018, 08:05 AM)
afaik car insurance more or less are the same for all companies.
probably varies between 10-20% depending whether got any loading or other factors.

if cheapest imo is takaful malaysia that gives 15% cashback for no claim
agreed, can do online summore.
past 3 years i use etiqa motortakaful online, but this year i changed takaful malaysia coz got online n cheaper.
this month i try motortakaful for my sis, website changed n no more 10% online rebate hmm.gif .
want to use takaful online instead but the NCD data stil not updated doh.gif

EDIT:
etiqa got rebate 10%, ady inclusive.
NCD data updated. for axia G (27k, NCD 33%)
etiqa = 766
takaful = 698

This post has been edited by hafizhans: Jul 23 2018, 09:07 AM
gonzalo20
post Jul 23 2018, 08:26 AM

Cuckoo Agent
927 posts

Etiqa all the time. now very good. they automatically insured based on agreed value. And no need to named second driver as they will cover all drivers now.
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 23 2018, 08:30 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(hafizhans @ Jul 23 2018, 08:18 AM)
past 3 years i use etiqa motortakaful online, but this year i changed takaful malaysia coz got online n cheaper.
this month i try motortakaful for my sis, website changed n no more 10% online rebate  hmm.gif .
want to use takaful online instead but the NCD data stil not updated  doh.gif
motortakaful is another different company iinm.
Zot
post Jul 23 2018, 08:37 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Jul 23 2018, 08:11 AM)
Previously posted on
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4617458&hl=

My comparison took me to Etiqa.
Takaful maybe cheaper in long run with 15% more cashback after maturity
I believe Etiqa has two different unit. Normal Etiqa and Etiqa Takaful.

Takaful is not the insurance that use Islamic way of doing business. If the insurance makes money, hey will distribute back profit after deducting all other expenses. That is why you get you money back after insurance cycle complete. Takaful is provided by other insurances also.
dudester
post Jul 23 2018, 08:37 AM

1,229 posts

QUOTE(hafizhans @ Jul 23 2018, 08:18 AM)
this month i try motortakaful for my sis, website changed n no more 10% online rebate  hmm.gif .
want to use takaful online instead but the NCD data stil not updated  doh.gif
Last time on other car, I picked Takaful as it was cheapest if you include the 15% rebate if no claim.
This time i ended up with Etiqa as it allow a lower agreed value then Takaful. With no GST now, a lot more cheaper.

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Jul 23 2018, 08:26 AM)
Etiqa all the time. now very good. they automatically insured based on agreed value. And no need to named second driver as they will cover all drivers now.
This is true, 2nd driver info is redundant, should just default cover.
dudester
post Jul 23 2018, 08:42 AM

1,229 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 23 2018, 08:37 AM)
I believe Etiqa has two different unit. Normal Etiqa and Etiqa Takaful.

Takaful is not the insurance that use Islamic way of doing business. If the insurance makes money, hey will distribute back profit after deducting all other expenses. That is why you get you money back after insurance cycle complete. Takaful is provided by other insurances also.
Whatever. A vs B below.

A. https://online.takaful-malaysia.com.my/Motor

B. https://www.etiqa.com.my/getonline/motor-insurance

Zot
post Jul 23 2018, 08:44 AM

7,938 posts

Just like WaCKy-Angel said, all insurances are about the same because it is governed by rules from BNM on minimum coverage. The difference are on additional coverage provided, which is to attract possible customers. The 10% doscount that you usually through online application is basically the commission to insurance agent.

For my Perodua, I just get it from Perodua because the rate given is cheaper than any other insurance. This is because the special rate is given to Perdua customer only. If you buy same insurance for other car, the rate is no more special. Probably your car dealer can have the same scheme. So, it worth to check them out.
Zot
post Jul 23 2018, 08:49 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Jul 23 2018, 08:42 AM)
The confusion is because the insurance use the name Takaful Malaysia. I was confused as well in the beginning. Last time when I want to apply or renew my Etiqa, I have to choose either Etiqa or Takaful. I think I tried both and end up the same. SO, I chose Takaful and get refund after a year.

Probably now they streamline both, I'm not sure. I'm using different one now smile.gif
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 23 2018, 08:51 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 23 2018, 08:44 AM)
Just like WaCKy-Angel said, all insurances are about the same because it is governed by rules from BNM on minimum coverage. The difference are on additional coverage provided, which is to attract possible customers. The 10% doscount that you usually through online application is basically the commission to insurance agent.

For my Perodua, I just get it from Perodua because the rate given is cheaper than any other insurance. This is because the special rate is given to Perdua customer only. If you buy same insurance for other car, the rate is no more special. Probably your car dealer can have the same scheme. So, it worth to check them out.
Ur car still within warranty period?
I checked b4 renew at Perodua is not cheaper compared to outside but they do provide no betterment charges.
dudester
post Jul 23 2018, 08:55 AM

1,229 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 23 2018, 08:44 AM)

I was expecting this to be true but like i did in my reference post, with same vehicle value, all kinds of prices come out with different insurers.
Zot
post Jul 23 2018, 08:58 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 23 2018, 08:51 AM)
Ur car still within warranty period?
I checked b4 renew at Perodua is not cheaper compared to outside but they do provide no betterment charges.
Still under warranty. I compared to several online insurances like Etiqa and even the same insurance provided by Perodua online. They are more expensive for same coverage. I asked the agent in Perodua about it. I was told this was special for Perodua customer. Probably it is not Perodua throughout Malaysia. Just between this insurance agent and that branch laugh.gif
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 23 2018, 08:59 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Jul 23 2018, 08:42 AM)
Your 1st link is Takaful Malaysia

This is the correct link for Etiqa Takaful
https://www.motortakaful.com/getonline/motor-takaful
https://www.etiqa.com.my/getonline/motor-insurance

QUOTE(dudester @ Jul 23 2018, 08:55 AM)
I was expecting this to be true but like i did in my reference post, with same vehicle value, all kinds of prices come out with different insurers.
As mentioned the base insurance (just insure vehicle excluding other stuffs) are usually more or less same price coz its governed by BNM.
Other stuffs such as passenger liability and/or windscreen although also governed but diff companies may have much different price.

Last but not least, does Etiqa gives 15% cashback? This really changes the "price" alot after cashback.
I cant find it in their website.
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 23 2018, 09:01 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 23 2018, 08:58 AM)
Still under warranty. I compared to several online insurances like Etiqa and even the same insurance provided by Perodua online. They are more expensive for same coverage. I asked the agent in Perodua about it. I was told this was special for Perodua customer. Probably it is not Perodua throughout Malaysia. Just between this insurance agent and that branch  laugh.gif
Thats why its cheaper. coz under warranty usually they expect less issue thus lower premium.
Try check again after warranty expired.
Zot
post Jul 23 2018, 09:01 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Jul 23 2018, 08:55 AM)
If you read the term and coverage, they are slightly different, last time I looked at it. It is just that their standard package are different. Some think they are well known and customer will come to them even if slightly higher. So, they are thing things that are optional with other insurance are included as standard.
dudester
post Jul 23 2018, 09:03 AM

1,229 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 23 2018, 08:59 AM)
Your 1st link is Takaful Malaysia

This is the correct link for Etiqa Takaful
https://www.motortakaful.com/getonline/motor-takaful
https://www.etiqa.com.my/getonline/motor-insurance
As mentioned the base insurance (just insure vehicle excluding other stuffs) are usually more or less same price coz its governed by BNM.
Other stuffs such as passenger liability and/or windscreen although also governed but diff companies may have much different price.

Last but not least, does Etiqa gives 15% cashback? This really changes the "price" alot after cashback.
I cant find it in their website.
Why you guys dont believe what other people tell you and like to correct bangwall.gif

https://online.takaful-malaysia.com.my/Motor
hafizhans
post Jul 23 2018, 09:14 AM

haa..ahnn..ahnn..aduii
1,484 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Jul 23 2018, 08:37 AM)
Last time on other car, I picked Takaful as it was cheapest if you include the 15% rebate if no claim.
This time i ended up with Etiqa as it allow a lower agreed value then Takaful. With no GST now, a lot more cheaper.
from my experience, takaful M has lower agreed value than etiqa biggrin.gif
WaCKy-Angel
post Jul 23 2018, 09:30 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Jul 23 2018, 09:03 AM)
Why you guys dont believe what other people tell you and like to correct  bangwall.gif

https://online.takaful-malaysia.com.my/Motor
I think u misunderstood what Zot means.
He was telling u Etiqa has 2 plan.. normal general insurance and takaful general insurance.

That 2 links i provided is both from Etiqa meanwhile the link u provided is Takaful Malaysia

dudester
post Jul 23 2018, 09:34 AM

1,229 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jul 23 2018, 09:30 AM)
I think u misunderstood what Zot means.
He was telling u Etiqa has 2 plan.. normal general insurance and takaful general insurance.

That 2 links i provided is both from Etiqa meanwhile the link u provided is Takaful Malaysia
Ahsoh!

So if you compare Etiqa Takaful vs Takaful Malaysia, which is cheaper? Big difference?
TSberrycoo~
post Jul 23 2018, 11:58 AM

320 posts

Waow so many replies sweat.gif

Actually I am abit confused about this etiqa and takaful thing. Can anyone break it down? So far what i understand is got etiqa, etiqa takaful and takaful right? So whats the main difference between these 3?
pinotnoir
post Jul 24 2018, 07:42 PM

141 posts

What about lonpac? Easy claim?
lznce2679
post Jul 25 2018, 01:37 PM

230 posts

u may renew online or via an agent.
i hav alwaiz consulted an agent coz i asked for the lowest premium aka lowest amount to renew da insurance..so far..no claims made for both cars.
btw..i alwaiz renew wif etiqa..
ketiak_masyam
post Jul 25 2018, 05:28 PM

142 posts

aig agreed value lower than etiqa for civic ketam
ahwai
post Feb 23 2019, 07:20 PM

449 posts

PM 019-3399039 (WhatsApp only) for online car insurance renewal.
kino318
post May 5 2020, 06:15 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(viper707 @ May 4 2020, 03:26 PM)
Hi There,

My car insurance is due soon and I'm getting quotes from various companies and came across a product called Promilej from P&O Insurance.

The premium is based on the kilometer driven and the discount is upfront not like another product by Tune insurance.

Since this is my 2nd car, I used it less (below 6,000 km a year). Promilej offers 40% discount on the basic premium (before NCD and other rebates) if my mileage is less than 5,000. Thats a huge savings. They have 3 plans (5000, 10000 & 15000 KM) per year and discount varies accordingly.

Anyone ever purchase this product, please advise.

https://www.poi2u.com/car-insurance/policy/promilej

They also have an app called POI2U to get online quotes as well.

how they track yr milleages?

kino318
post May 5 2020, 06:17 PM

671 posts

Hi all, I notice car insurance premium increase compare last year, do u guys notice?
eg i pay my premium for abt rm571 last year with rm44k insured but this year, insured value is 36K but premium is RM600.
Anyone know why?
mushigen
post May 5 2020, 06:22 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(kino318 @ May 5 2020, 06:17 PM)
Hi all, I notice car insurance premium increase compare last year, do u guys notice?
eg i pay my premium for abt rm571 last year with rm44k insured but this year, insured value is 36K but premium is RM600.
Anyone know why?
Because you didn't shop around for better quotations.
kino318
post May 5 2020, 06:25 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ May 5 2020, 06:22 PM)
Because you didn't shop around for better quotations.
i did check a few and compare. all up.
Axa 600, p&O 599
ry8128
post May 5 2020, 06:26 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,645 posts

QUOTE(kino318 @ May 5 2020, 06:17 PM)
Anyone know why?
Same thing here, my premium is more expensive in 2019 compare to 2018, same insurance company. But lazy to find out why. I just pay and forget bout it.
culain99
post May 16 2020, 08:25 PM

-----
765 posts

Flood coverage who give cheapest? Nowadays every day heavyrain few hours.....
heavensea
post Jun 11 2020, 03:45 PM

9,616 posts

Tune insurance maciam cheaper than Etiqa
Any comments?
synical
post Jun 12 2020, 10:46 AM

658 posts

QUOTE(culain99 @ May 16 2020, 08:25 PM)
Flood coverage who give cheapest? Nowadays every day heavyrain few hours.....
It still kind of depends on your car details and where you live, I think. But this year I went with AXA cos their special peril was cheaper than others for me and my car...

Bejaya Sompo's special perils is included, but only up to RM10,000.

QUOTE(heavensea @ Jun 11 2020, 03:45 PM)
Any comments?
You try lah, let us know how it is brows.gif
il0ve51
post Sep 4 2020, 11:49 AM

1,054 posts

Hi guys, anyone know where can i register 3rd party insurance via online for my 7 years old, debt free car?

GreenSamurai
post Sep 4 2020, 11:54 AM

The Green One
2,150 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Sep 4 2020, 11:49 AM)
Hi guys, anyone know where can i register 3rd party insurance via online for my 7 years old, debt free car?
Myeg
il0ve51
post Sep 4 2020, 11:59 AM

1,054 posts

QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Sep 4 2020, 12:54 PM)
Myeg
can choose third party? only show comprehensive.
GreenSamurai
post Sep 4 2020, 12:40 PM

The Green One
2,150 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Sep 4 2020, 11:59 AM)
can choose third party? only show comprehensive.
Yes I renewed for my mother’s old car previously. Maybe you can’t select third party because your car can still buy comprehensive insurance?
il0ve51
post Sep 7 2020, 12:08 AM

1,054 posts

QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Sep 4 2020, 01:40 PM)
Yes I renewed for my mother’s old car previously. Maybe you can’t select third party because your car can still buy comprehensive insurance?
yes currently still comprehensive, but for September renewal i want to use 3rd party. 8 years car finish loan cannot change to 3rd party?
GreenSamurai
post Sep 7 2020, 12:30 AM

The Green One
2,150 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Sep 7 2020, 12:08 AM)
yes currently still comprehensive, but for September renewal i want to use 3rd party. 8 years car finish loan cannot change to 3rd party?
I think it’s possible? From what I got when I google you can choose third party when the car is not under loan anymore.
il0ve51
post Sep 7 2020, 12:03 PM

1,054 posts

QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Sep 7 2020, 01:30 AM)
I think it’s possible? From what I got when I google you can choose third party when the car is not under loan anymore.
ya lor but online payment seem not available only comprehensive quote available.
dickybird
post Sep 7 2020, 07:27 PM

2,093 posts

I clicked both etiqa and takaful with similar agreed value and options selected, price is not much different from my SC quotation.
tom8
post Sep 7 2020, 09:31 PM

You may want to try Pacific & Orient Insurance. They just introduce a new way of insuring your vehicle i.e. insure your vehicle by mileage. Understand that some developed countries already adopted this approach. Save you a substantial amount on your annual premium. More info at youtube channel below

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E-V3wCMSg5o
Refuzed
post Sep 10 2020, 09:42 PM

265 posts

I compared mine with Etiqa and Takaful Malaysia and for some reason, Takaful was higher about RM200 despite all the options and value being the same.

End up I chose Etiqa.
Arsenal21
post Sep 14 2020, 03:39 PM

720 posts

tokiomarine
halofujima
post Sep 19 2020, 11:27 AM

166 posts

Anyone want do my car insurance renewal? Allianz .
crusher
post Sep 19 2020, 12:18 PM

1,345 posts

Pricing are varies for different companies nowadays, same goes how they market their product thru enhancing the coverage. Things you should take note when you purchase car insurance :-

1) Market Value or Agreed Value?
2) Any FOC additional coverage? Is there any LIMIT to claim for the additional coverage?
3) Towing assistance services. How far it can tow? By km or $? Any towing truck or must be designated by insurer towing guys to do it?
4) Comprehensive or Third Party Fire and Theft cover? Would highly suggest to take only Comprehensive unless your car is super old but there are still ways to get Comprehensive through agents.
5) Claim process experience, eg, do you need to go "appointed" panels with their recommendation or you can go to any authorised workshop in their panel listing to do it? How fast the claim?
6) Lastly, it would be the premium. But if do not have much difference better put priority based on above criteria.

Well, u can ignore 1 to 5 if your main concern is $. But again cheap doesnt mean good.

Just my 2 cent based on research.
lancelyod
post Sep 20 2020, 08:01 PM

294 posts

try bijak, a website where you can get quotes from different insurance company, you may choose to add on additional policy such as car windscreen protection, natural disaster protection
Wolgie
post Nov 30 2020, 12:07 PM

2,644 posts

My car insurance going to renew soon.
I wan to ask about this Smart Key Shield.
Now my car key only left 1. another 1 spare lose long time ago.
Can i take this plan and then summit said missing or rosak, so can claim a new one?
By the way, my car is Axia AV. Do you know replace 1 car key how much?

ken431256
post Nov 30 2020, 04:33 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(lancelyod @ Sep 20 2020, 08:01 PM)
try bijak, a website where you can get quotes from different insurance company, you may choose to add on additional policy such as car windscreen protection, natural disaster protection
what about FatBerry? Same concept kan, i see all over fb
ken431256
post Nov 30 2020, 04:35 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Jun 11 2020, 03:45 PM)
Any comments?
Been using tune for this year, so far so good, gonna expire soon next year April. No claims yet, but definitely cheaper than what I got from Allianz
culain99
post Nov 30 2020, 04:44 PM

-----
765 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Nov 30 2020, 12:07 PM)
My car insurance going to renew soon.
I wan to ask about this Smart Key Shield.
Now my car key only left 1. another 1 spare lose long time ago.
Can i take this plan and then summit said missing or rosak, so can claim a new one?
By the way, my car is Axia AV. Do you know replace 1 car key how much?
Also looking for this answer. Smart key lost claim lose NCD or not??
al_madd
post Nov 30 2020, 05:49 PM

1,382 posts

takaful malaysia is okay
blmse92
post Nov 30 2020, 10:31 PM

603 posts

wanted to try promilej, because can renew online. But wonder how about roadtax renewal? Normally agent will do everything and pass me new road tax altogether.
professor47
post Nov 30 2020, 10:44 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(blmse92 @ Nov 30 2020, 10:31 PM)
wanted to try promilej, because can renew online. But wonder how about roadtax renewal? Normally agent will do everything and pass me new road tax altogether.
I bought promilej. Just renewed your roadtax separately at Pejabat Post. Give IC only. Easy.
heavensea
post Nov 30 2020, 11:09 PM

9,616 posts

QUOTE(ken431256 @ Nov 30 2020, 04:35 PM)
Been using tune for this year, so far so good, gonna expire soon next year April. No claims yet, but definitely cheaper than what I got from Allianz
I use Etiqa eventually.
Wolgie
post Dec 1 2020, 09:04 AM

2,644 posts

QUOTE(blmse92 @ Nov 30 2020, 10:31 PM)
Now most can do online
MYEG one of them. (use before)
Delivery to ur house with small fee.
i think bjak also same (never use before)
SleeplessEyes
post Jan 23 2021, 05:33 PM

2,429 posts

Fking useless Etiqa, wanted to get quotation for my car, I saw the quotation, before I could click further, this fking message appear. ranting.gif

Anyhow, its not the cheapest I've been quoted. hmm.gif

Takaful is cheaper for my car. Me just want the cheapest insurance - just for the sake of making it road worthy and can renew my roadtax.
frank0725
post Jan 24 2021, 12:01 AM

124 posts

halo, Sifu, Is etiqa.com same with motorkaful.com. I saw their website content are all same.
csting87
post Jan 25 2021, 02:34 PM

501 posts

hi, anyone need insurance quotation can pm me.

0.0420sec    1.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:44 AM