Prepaid Cards BigPay - Prepaid MasterCard (with Mobile Apps) V2, CashBack, BigPoint & Remittance

spyrr
post Oct 21 2018, 11:18 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Oct 21 2018, 12:48 AM)
Mine Android.

I have sent money to a friend. After that, on my apps, I now found 3 names belonging to the same person.
1. Contact list name, TAK. I picked this name to send money to.
2. After money sent, it shows Tan Ah Kow on transaction. This must be his IC name.
3. Robert Tan. No idea where that came from, probably from his Facebook?

It is a mess.
No. 3 is the preferred name that your friend set under account setting. I agree with you it's a mess. BigPay app should show contact list name AND IC name right before you confirm the transaction.

QUOTE(mamamia @ Oct 21 2018, 10:57 AM)
Luckily iOS doesn’t have this problem, my app only have TAK (contact name) and Tan Ah Kow (full name). I think android got this issue, coz my friend using Huawei phone, his Boost app contact list all mess up, the phone number belongs to ABC, but suddenly, the app auto create EFG for same phone number in his contact.. so, if he want to send money to ABC, he suddenly dunno which to choose..
The number in contact list is an old number no longer used by my friend. The number is recycled and the new owner register it for Boost app. That's what happen to me, the number tied to my friend in my contact list but Boost shows another name.
spyrr
post Oct 24 2018, 11:38 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(BigPayJonathan @ Oct 24 2018, 06:11 PM)
I honestly don't know how Boost works since I've used like 10 minutes in total... But how does it work exactly? Do you have to select the contact of the person you want to send money to, then key in the amount and press a confirmation button with a reminder of the person's name?
Boost shows your phonebook name AND Boost registered name (presumably name on the IC) side by side when you select the name and then shows the registered name when you key in the amount.
BigPay shows only your phonebook name when you select and key in the amount. BigPay registered name will only appear in the transaction list, AFTER you send the money.

You will see the problem when your friend changed their number and your phone book is not updated.
spyrr
post Oct 25 2018, 12:04 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 24 2018, 11:41 PM)
Shouldn't this also impact upcoming DuitNow too?
It depends on how the banks implement it. We'll see once DuitNow is ready, but I hope no issue.
The current way of Instant Transfer is you select the bank name, key in the account number and the account name will be displayed right before you confirm the transaction.
As I understand it, with DuitNow, you key in phone number or IC number instead of account number. So, you will see the bank name and account name before you confirm. I hope that will be the way.
spyrr
post Jan 25 2019, 10:35 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(BigPayJonathan @ Jan 25 2019, 10:04 AM)
The error message doesn't make sense, as Shopee told us they had changed payment gateway and that their new one didn't accept BigPay lol. Still managed to buy something from them 2 days ago so... Trying to reach out to their payment / tech team to get this miss sorted out.
I deleted BigPay card from Shopee and then add it again. Successful, RM1 charged for authorization.
Try to checkout some item from my cart, selected BigPay for payment, keyed in the TAC and then failed, card declined.

Now, I deleted BigPay again. Then I go to cart for checkout. Instead of selecting an existing payment method, I added a new card (BigPay) during checkout, keyed in the TAC and my payment accepted.

Strange behavior hmm.gif
spyrr
post Jan 25 2019, 06:31 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 25 2019, 03:53 PM)
I followed your way and it is working for me too. Direct payment using existing card was declined by the system.
Now, I'm not sure if second purchase needs to remove and add again? Have you tried for second purchase?
Good question. My guess, it will be declined again.
Unfortunately I don't have anything else to buy from Shopee at the moment.

spyrr
post Feb 23 2021, 04:33 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(kclamtarc @ Feb 23 2021, 04:29 PM)
guys, where do you use your bigpay points, except on buying airasia tickets?
Fave
spyrr
post Apr 13 2022, 12:10 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(svchia78 @ Apr 12 2022, 10:10 PM)
Does BigPay support 'hybrid' Duit Now QR as in I can choose to scan merchant's QR and also let merchant scan my QR instead?

Big merchants usually scan customers' QR. Customers scanning merchant's QR are usually for those small establishments.

I noticed in BigPay app can show my own DuitNow QR (possibly for merchant to scan me when I pay) but the QR is the same everytime (unlike say Boost's QR that changes everytime).
AFAIK, DuitNow QR does not support merchant to scan QR.
spyrr
post Apr 13 2022, 12:45 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(svchia78 @ Apr 13 2022, 12:30 PM)
Then it defeats the purpose of so called unifying QR  laugh.gif

Means if I go to Watsons want to use the DuitNow QR function in BigPay app to pay also cannot. Because Watsons scans customers instead of customers scanning them. Still need to whip out the BP card to pay by wave/ PIN.
Yeah, as of now that's how it is.
BigPay can come out with their own QR for merchants to scan, just like other eWallets.
Or Watsons can display their DuitNow QR for customer to scan (which probably not going to happen).

This post has been edited by spyrr: Apr 13 2022, 12:46 PM

0.2306sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:59 PM