Prepaid Cards BigPay - Prepaid MasterCard (with Mobile Apps) V2, CashBack, BigPoint & Remittance

john123x
post Oct 31 2018, 10:09 PM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(jessc111 @ Oct 31 2018, 10:05 PM)
On the day I used the card the rate was 37.10 then when it settled today it's 37.37 wor..I of course know it flactuates but this is like 0.27 not 0.03

I checked klmoneychanger online aso highest is 37.35..the outlet in midvalley is 37.30..this is higher than money changer already no?
Currency Conversion Fee

(Applied when the purchase is effected in currencies other than Malaysian Ringgit)

1% + network charges

(NOTE: Only charges by the network will be applied until further notice)

got extra 1% + network charges

https://www.bigpayme.com/fees-charges
john123x
post Nov 1 2018, 12:01 AM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(Lingohal @ Nov 1 2018, 12:00 AM)
There is no 1% charge at the moment, until further notice. The network charges will be the mastercard conversion rate. https://www.mastercard.us/en-us/consumers/g...t-currency.html
noted.

btw, i want to share, i topup BigPay with BIG Prepaid, and surprisingly , it works....
john123x
post Nov 1 2018, 10:10 AM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(coo|dude @ Nov 1 2018, 09:46 AM)
bigPay doesn't has a "lock in" rate mechanism as it doesn't store the foreign currency values. So everything is on "real time" and it's unfortunate to hear from your experience on the forex during your usage. Btw, can you let us know the date of your "MV forex change" and your "bigPay settlement"? Perhaps some good chaps here may know what actually happened on the Japan vs Msia economy on those period.
I guess this is the part where BigPay regress compared to BIG Prepaid.

BIG Prepaid allows you to convert MYR to foreign currency. Therefore you can convert earlier when the rate is nicer
john123x
post Nov 1 2018, 11:47 AM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Nov 1 2018, 10:29 AM)
Still won't have any effect as this would depends on when the settlement happens. You are exposed to forex movement. Countries with forex bonds/borrowings are exposed to this risk let alone a single individual.

Even if the member uses a normal credit card, he/she is privy to the up/downs of settlement exposure. In this case, the member "loses" as the forex rate increases at the point of settlement (supposed BP's failure to lock in forex rates during transaction point of time), complains and saying it is a rip off.

Should the member cry "rip off" too when the currency rate decreases as BP failed to lock in rates ?

If one is spending not in the currency that they are earning, it is inevitable to have some gains/losses due to daily forex movement and the fact you are converting your money into another currency.
Sry, thats not what i mean.

I mean BIG Prepaid has multi currency wallet. Therefore, you can lock in when the rate is nice.
john123x
post Nov 1 2018, 12:02 PM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(unknown_2 @ Nov 1 2018, 11:48 AM)
so no tax i guess since it's a prepaid (debit) card.

a bit potong stim cuz i initially tot after sign up straight away will get virtual card with physical card coming later.
Its so obvious its a debit prepaid card.

If credit card, bank will ask for salary slips, bank statements, kwsp statement, etc...
john123x
post Nov 2 2018, 09:52 PM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(fairylord @ Nov 2 2018, 09:49 PM)
Meaning I no longer have free channel to top up my Big Prepaid MasterCard , huhuhuhu..I can close my CIMB airaisa saver account always then?
still got FPX, its still free topup

This post has been edited by john123x: Nov 2 2018, 09:52 PM
john123x
post Nov 3 2018, 04:22 PM

3,019 posts

i just activate my card and transferred all my BIG Prepaid balance to my new BigPay
john123x
post Nov 3 2018, 07:12 PM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(fairylord @ Nov 3 2018, 07:07 PM)
So going to terminate the old card?
yea, the old one i already emptied it.

john123x
post Nov 4 2018, 03:20 PM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Nov 4 2018, 12:17 PM)
2 days ago I use BP for petro. Charge me Rm 200 while I only pump rm 60.
They gonna take days to refund me the rm 140?
Another way is to set preset value at petrol pump before you swipe card.

example: yesterday i set preset RM5, to pump petrol RM5 to test the card

This post has been edited by john123x: Nov 4 2018, 03:21 PM
john123x
post Nov 9 2018, 12:28 AM

3,019 posts

just now, i use BigPay at Shopee, it got rejected....

but topping up Boost using BigPay works

This post has been edited by john123x: Nov 9 2018, 12:30 AM
john123x
post Nov 9 2018, 03:34 PM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Nov 9 2018, 03:23 PM)
1st time used?

u no need to go thru the verification process by adding the card first?
Yes, first time use at Shopee.

Of course, adding card to Shopee is a success. After that, I add item to cart, checkout and select BigPay.

It shows error, no Shopee transaction record, money not deducted, seller stock quantity on hold, and my valuable Birthday voucher gone missing.

After 10 minutes, the seller item quantity gone back to normal, and my precious voucher appeared again.

[EDIT] I am using at Shopee App, because the voucher is Apps only

This is just my assumption, maybe "card holder name" have issue. You know BigPay card doesn't print card holder name, only numbers like "0000-0039-XXXX".

This post has been edited by john123x: Nov 9 2018, 03:37 PM
john123x
post Nov 9 2018, 03:39 PM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Nov 9 2018, 03:36 PM)
ohhh, card name is your full ic name.

birthday voucher? so good shopee sent u one. i never encounter such voucher
I received it on my birthday. Maybe you will receive it on your birthday. It's a RM15 discount Minimum RM50

I also would like to mention WeChat Wallet didn't accept BigPay. It stated invalid visa/MasterCard number
john123x
post Nov 9 2018, 03:40 PM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 9 2018, 03:37 PM)
shopee app or web?

my friend also kena for shopee app. then tried on shopee web, working fine.
I tried it on App
john123x
post Nov 9 2018, 03:46 PM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ Nov 9 2018, 03:43 PM)
WeChat only allow debit card top up.
And they are dying anyway
This is where I confused.

Technically, BigPay is a debit card...
john123x
post Nov 9 2018, 03:53 PM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Nov 9 2018, 03:47 PM)
Did you tell Shopee your birthday? Try HBD2018 (RM50-RM15) on your birthday.
I didn't do anything special. I automatically get notification informing me that I got the voucher.
john123x
post Nov 9 2018, 04:38 PM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(BigPayJonathan @ Nov 9 2018, 04:31 PM)
A bigger wallet limit is being lobbied to the authorities smile.gif

Edit: just out of curiosity, who here would be interested in being able to store more than RM10K in their BigPay account?
I think RM10k is overkill already.

I rather request non expiring Big points.

This post has been edited by john123x: Nov 9 2018, 04:42 PM
john123x
post Nov 9 2018, 04:46 PM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 9 2018, 04:42 PM)
If being hacked or card lost, don't know how's the reaction?
😂
john123x
post Nov 9 2018, 04:58 PM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(BigPayJonathan @ Nov 9 2018, 04:31 PM)
A bigger wallet limit is being lobbied to the authorities smile.gif

Edit: just out of curiosity, who here would be interested in being able to store more than RM10K in their BigPay account?
And there is a potential loophole that you might want to look into.

Topup RM50 = one big point + credit card cash back
Topup Boost using BigPay = Don't know got point or not

If credit card rebate > RM2 ( which is Boost withdrawal fee), withdraw from Boost into Saving account.

I think can loop until Max CC topup RM10k per month

This post has been edited by john123x: Nov 9 2018, 04:59 PM
john123x
post Nov 9 2018, 05:02 PM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Nov 9 2018, 05:00 PM)
RM4500/month per Boost Premium account only.  tongue.gif
Aw, I miscalculated.
😫
john123x
post Nov 16 2018, 02:19 PM

3,019 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ Nov 16 2018, 11:44 AM)
good, next time go travel if out of money can direct get loan, now everyone can spend everyone can loan
I prefer giving loan than taking loan.

At least can earn some money

0.0451sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:30 PM