Prepaid Cards BigPay - Prepaid MasterCard (with Mobile Apps) V2, CashBack, BigPoint & Remittance

jasontoh
post Apr 1 2020, 11:05 AM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Mar 30 2020, 05:27 PM)
They (BP) use the phrase called "fair usage (use) policy" like your broadband usage.
I don't see why it is called fair usage policy. If they limit 5K per month top up using credit card, everyone will eventually move back to credit cards. It doesn't make sense to top up using bank account and then spend it oversea. Would rather jz charge all to credit cards.
jasontoh
post Apr 1 2020, 03:30 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 1 2020, 12:35 PM)
Plan way ahead before you travel. RM5k = RM60k in a year.

You are still limit to 10K in BigPay each time. A 2 weeks trip to the US easily ~20-30K
jasontoh
post Apr 1 2020, 03:31 PM

8,425 posts

I would say fair policy is no limit, but say 2% charge for those withdrawal. Anyway locally I hardly use. Guess it's best to switch back to WMC
jasontoh
post Apr 17 2020, 11:24 AM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 17 2020, 11:20 AM)
I'm sure you are aware they are not asking you to donate to save them right?
I think they might run dry after the restrictions. Realistically speaking, in crunch times, what BigPay suppose to do is encourage more top up (limit the monthly withdrawal instead). So they get to hold ppl's money
jasontoh
post Apr 17 2020, 11:34 AM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Apr 17 2020, 11:28 AM)
keep money in BP for what?
Spending. Not everyone pump in and withdraw out. It can still be use like normal cards with the additional BigPoints. Even if people are withdrawing the money, if the limit for monthly withdrawal, it is definitely better than limiting the credit card top up. The real users can still continue to use the card, although I must say with all the limitation to top up Boost etc, eventually BigPay is killing own.
jasontoh
post Jun 2 2020, 12:03 AM

8,425 posts

jasontoh
post Jun 2 2020, 12:06 AM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(pwlow @ Jun 2 2020, 12:05 AM)
We are changing our fair usage policy for top-ups using credit cards. From June 2nd, we will be reducing the monthly limit for credit card top-ups to RM 2,500.
Topping up via debit cards and online banking will remain unlimited and we encourage you to continue using these sources. We’re also working to introduce new top-up methods in the coming weeks so you can have more choice when topping up your BigPay.
At BigPay, we’re committed to offering you fair financial services. We do this by keeping our costs low and passing the savings onto you. However, credit card companies charge us fees - that we absorb - so that our customers can have more options for top-ups. We will continue to do this to make it fair for all our customers to use our basic products and services at low / no fees.
Thank you for your support.
Team BigPay
=> they need to pay for credit card company also, no wonder want to control
I would think without credit card top up, who in this country will be using ewallet? Most of us have credit cards

jasontoh
post Jun 22 2020, 07:39 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jun 21 2020, 01:59 AM)
Depends... I just started to use e-wallet only and cancelled all my credit cards. Bigpay is still necessary for ewallet auto reload and for others that dont accept ewallet.

Feels like CC is getting more useless since the abuse on ewallet reloads started. Previously can easily get over 1-2k in cashback annually but now I dont even bother whether it has cashback or not since its so low.
What benefits or advantage BigPay has over other credit cards? hmm.gif
jasontoh
post Jun 22 2020, 08:27 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jun 22 2020, 08:04 PM)
LoL... you still need to pay whether its debit or credit card.
Nothing. It's just that my annual sst is incoming plus on the end of the 3rd year for Citibank. I didn't get anything back from the card apart from the signup RM500 lazada voucher for both card.

BP is just to avoid entering my debit card into my ewallet since I'm using auto reload.
I see.

jasontoh
post Jun 23 2020, 01:54 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Jun 23 2020, 09:07 AM)
Of course need to pay lah~~ There is no free lunch in this world. cool2.gif
Just the only need to "follow up yourself" while another not need.

For credit card, you need follow up yourself every month and then need to settle before due date. (Else need to pay include interest fees)
But for debit card, no issued.. Swipe until you empty.. At the end, you can't use the card..

Normally those premium ppl sometimes overlook or forget (due to don't have time to check it) to pay back to the credit card..
And then causing overdue date, then GG...
I tend to believe that "premium" ppl will not have to do it most of the time since it's SI and thus, they always get better credit score than the rest of us.
jasontoh
post Jun 29 2020, 10:56 AM

8,425 posts

RM0 Your BigPay OTP is 202-823. DON'T SHARE IT WITH ANYONE, even to BigPay
TYEKMlECX73

The above message seems like phishing or scam message right?
jasontoh
post Jun 29 2020, 11:01 AM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Jun 29 2020, 10:57 AM)
What is the SMS sender number?
62000. Basically same number as BigPay but I have never requested and I notice someone trying to request money from my account.
jasontoh
post Jun 29 2020, 01:54 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Jun 29 2020, 01:17 PM)
so you proceed to post the TAC on a public forum? lol
Better freeze your card first, then call for a replacement card
No, I did not requested that and I do not think that is a TAC. Just want to see whether any of you receive similar message from BigPay. It is trying to "Whatsapp Call" me saying that I win some prize, and then send the above message while at the same time trying to request money from my account. I'm not sure whether all the incidents are linked, but post here just in case someone else seeing similar message before.
jasontoh
post Jun 29 2020, 04:58 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Jun 29 2020, 03:38 PM)
Someone trying to login to your bigpay account on another phone.
But if you see the message is slightly different. Can I like screenshot the guy who is trying to request money from my account and report that to BigPay?
jasontoh
post Jun 29 2020, 05:23 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 29 2020, 05:21 PM)
1) the sms is legit from bigpay. you try logout yourself and login again. the same SMS template from 62000 is used.

2) yes, you can report the guy who tried to scam you for login OTP.
this is a 2 part issue.

a) someone trying to scam you to provide the OTP ('yay, you won something!')

b) you are unsure the legitimacy of the SMS itself
I don't remember the real OTP that I generated come with the following extra
TYEKMlECX73
jasontoh
post Jun 29 2020, 05:30 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jun 29 2020, 05:26 PM)
i just tried mine. same template.

I see. Thanks for trying out as whenever I requested OTP it is not coming with the bottom text. So probably I have more than 1 issues.
jasontoh
post Oct 9 2020, 11:54 PM

8,425 posts

With the 1K limit, it's almost no reason or motivation to use already, at least for me. When banks starting to remove the benefit of topping up ewallets + BigPay, my usage of ewallets + BigPay also dropped, mainly because the reward system is worse than credit cards. So if most ewallets and BigPay no longer accept CC top up, I think I'll use credit card alone. With SamsungPay, basically I don't need to bring most of the cards out, except for maybe petrol or >250 purchases.
jasontoh
post Oct 12 2020, 10:14 AM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(anonymous552235 @ Oct 11 2020, 07:34 PM)
May I add that no matter withdrawal is or not available, it will not plug the hole for bigpay. Debit card fees which bigpay made vs credit card fees Alone excluding other cost fees its paying is never going to be profitable, they were just hoping that when the funding from other means surpass cc topup then they can brealeven or even make money, like boost n tngo, but tbh does boost n tngo actually make money yet? I would say they r still burning money to gain market dominance before any actual profit to be seen, whoever cant sustain will be out and sadly it looks like bigpay burned 29mil in last quarter report ...so figure out urself if disabling withdrawal and blaming those who did so will make much dif as the whole cost revolve within using CC to reload and not the withdrawal part, even if u dun withdraw they theoritically still LOSE money because cc fees is higher than debit card fees!
If I can only use debit card to top up, honestly speaking it would really defer me from using. If they were to challenge the banking, they should collaborate with others like what GoPayz do for FSM. My point is only with the card itself is basically useless because the reward system is not exciting. Even with withdrawal is allowed and CC top up increases, but with more collaboration to entice user to spend using the card, eventually it can break even. Just disabling the withdrawal and lowering CC top up will not bring BigPay anyway. There are still way many other credit cards that give competitive FX rate.
jasontoh
post Oct 13 2020, 12:11 PM

8,425 posts

My thought is unlimited top up with CC, limit the cash withdrawal to up to 50% of the deposit and charge like Cash Advance fee. So the more user top up the more money BigPay can hold and force user to spend the money via BigPay. Win win.
jasontoh
post Aug 28 2023, 01:44 PM

8,425 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Aug 28 2023, 12:37 PM)
request for account termination too

this is to prevent unauthorized visa or account usage/fees later.
Can it be done via app? Or there is a specific number to call. I'm planning to cancel it since it comes with 3% charges to top up with credit card and oversea transaction with 0.5%. I think BigPay essentially committing suicide with this move.

0.0613sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:24 PM