Mazda CX5 Gen 2 Owners Club V2, Kodo: Soul of Motion

lee82gx
post Nov 9 2024, 03:08 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

I honestly made a mistake to buy Civic, low sedan really make me headache with 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Even the extra space in the seats cannot be used to carry 1 more person as the car will squat and scrape the ground.
Perhaps next phase in life I can re-consider a sedan or even CX-30 style. But, CX-30 really expensive for what it offers....CX-5 still you can drag a bit the comparison to CR-V and close one eye.

I hope when the time comes I can directly jump to hot hatch style, my heart is pinned on Golf GTI. Or a Mini. Hopes hopes hopes.

If Mazda 3 comes to malaysia on the 2.5T 4WD system, under the GTI pricing I will jump at it!
lee82gx
post Nov 10 2024, 09:03 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(David_78 @ Nov 9 2024, 10:29 PM)
Guy is this truth ? i plan to get a unit 2.2D AWD 2018 80K km in the odor ?

2.2D engine problem does not occur at 50k-60k. Only a handful of cases happen and mileage above 100k, but for peace of mind this is covered with unlimited mileage warranty from Mazda until August 2030.

I plan to bring in bermas to check as part of the deal if not good just pay the fees n return...

What should i look for sign of trouble ? i will bring odb2 scanner also. any advice ?
Its like you are going to genting and asking, really, bet on 1 is only 1/6?
My friend sold his 2.2D 2018 2 years ago to avoid this. So risk tolerance is really relative.

THe other thing is dirty diesel, you its not easy to check if the previous owner used legit clean euro5+ diesel. Even in the market there are many bad stations just simply sell. Or if the owner put B10.
lee82gx
post Nov 11 2024, 09:40 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Nov 7 2024, 08:27 PM)

I think you can refer the part number.
update on this. The rubber run channel is squeaking again. I cannot tahan, pulled it out and applied a lot of grease and now its silent....
lee82gx
post Jan 5 2025, 11:05 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(xboxrockers @ Dec 21 2024, 02:59 AM)
I've just booked a Mazda CX-5 2.5 Turbo (2023 model)! I didn’t mind that it’s not the latest model since the car hasn’t gone through major changes recently.

However, I noticed a few features that might be lacking compared to newer models:

- Mazda Dashcam – It seems to be missing, so I might need to look at aftermarket options.
- USB-C Ports and Wireless Charging – Not included
- I also forgot to confirm if it comes with Mazda Radar Cruise Control (MRCC).

For those who are more familiar with the CX-5, are there any other significant features I might be missing out on by going for the 2023 model instead of for a newer one? Any tips or feedback would be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance!
Since you already book, I dont suppose you can return the car like Shopee change of mind…
Paul tan Attached Image

Here says the pre 2024 does NOT have MRCC. IINM the lane keep assist pre 2024 is more of a pingpong mode and is only doing work when your car drift to the edge of the lane and touch the marking. Then it will turn to the opposite side of the lane and ping pong again.

With 2024 you have cruising and traffic support it can do lane centering. This works by actively keeping your car in the middle of the lane.
CTS also can do low speed follow and follow the car in front (including turning the steering to follow heading) if the car in front turns, down to a almost zero km/h. Useful in traffic jams I guess.

One thing I learn recently, comparison is the robber of joy. If it’s enough, just live with it.

As for the rest of the items they are easily overcome with a few bucks in Lazada.

lee82gx
post Jan 13 2025, 08:55 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Is there any way to check the upcoming service in the car dashboard or infotainment, if I already did a reset of the head unit?

I was checking my next service and it doesn't show up on the head unit / dashboard. I know I had to reset everything due to carplay issues recently.

I probably not due for service until march or april 25. but no reminder in the car is a bit worrying
lee82gx
post Jan 13 2025, 09:44 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jan 13 2025, 09:01 AM)
Mileage in odometer also reseted?

Set reminder in your phone calendar la.
Mileage was not reset, but time based one I can’t remember too well exactly when was the previous service.
lee82gx
post Jan 13 2025, 01:38 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jan 13 2025, 10:13 AM)
contact your previous sc? pretty sure they have the record. or did you keep the service request form? they should hand a copy to you before each service

or just login to Mazda portal, under your Vehicle info, you can find when you last had your service with the mileage

thanks this is how I am checking for now, just want to confirm that the behaviour is normal when resetting the head unit. My previous car won't reset the maintenance reminder .
lee82gx
post Feb 27 2025, 09:09 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

2.5 NA - petrol consumption is pretty heavy. TBH I tot I was a torque head until I paid for petrol.
Especially for urban and heavy traffic.

In the highway 2.5 is fun, it’s got bottom end to go.
In town you will also suffer the harshness of accelerating hard to 5k rpm and above if you want it, it’s there.

I’ve tried the 2.2D and it’s really nicely done but if you stamp the pedal beware that 2wd does not have enough traction to avoid wheelspin.

Only 2.5T has 4wd and won’t wheelspin so easily.

Anyway the 2.5 is a good choice if you have any desires or plans to zoom about, and it’s good to know some form of zoom is always on tap.

Just know that you WILL pay 20-30% more fuel in almost any situation compared to 2.0. And RM800 of road tax no matter what.

Then the 2.5T will satisfy 95% of power needs except racing. And it will have even greater power bill. And tyre wear.
lee82gx
post Feb 28 2025, 11:51 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(buffa @ Feb 28 2025, 11:31 AM)

Mine is 2wd only, wheelspin happen when turning out junction from stop + full pedal.
Rainy day or sands on the road + full pedal will wheelspin too. Other than that, it is very safe.
Stop to start acceleration straight line will not wheelspin.
End of the day, if you are on straight line the torque is deliver at 200Nm per wheel. That is a LOT I say this as a good thing haha
lee82gx
post May 9 2025, 08:09 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Spawnster @ May 9 2025, 06:42 AM)
Thanks bro... Just took my cx5 yesterday. So far so good...

Guys... Can recommend budget friendly suv tyres? I'm looking at Toyo Proxes CR1... Any review on this?
you are replacing the 0 day tyres?
lee82gx
post May 12 2025, 08:36 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Spawnster @ May 9 2025, 08:34 AM)
The car is 4.5 years old. The rear tyre nearly touching the markers already.. Asked dealer to change they say it haven't reach their minimum thickness... The front tyre still ok... Viking tyres.

Things planning to do...

1. Change rear tyres
2. Change gearbox oil
3. Tinted
4. Dashcam front and back

Another thing.. At idle... Is it normal for the rpm to drop a bit then up again? I could be wrong maybe it's when the AC compressor kick in that's causing this? I remember reading somewhere that can ask SC to reset system to solve this?
For me it’s normal that the engine rpm is hunting a bit when idle due to air con.
I don’t like the stock Toyo tyres, very noisy. I will try and explore something else, when time comes.
Honestly I heard many good things about Viking / china tyres but I will never use it. Tyres and brakes never leave to chinaman.
lee82gx
post May 19 2025, 11:06 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(youloke @ May 18 2025, 12:51 AM)
Hi all, I have a 2019 KF GL model.

Looking at upgrading it, few things in my mind:
1) Wireless CarPlay
2) Walk away, sensor lock/unlock
3) Upgrade to 18” rims- latest ori mazda
4) leather seats

Any sifu got good contact to do all these? And any other thing can do? Thinking wanna change speedometer too
1) I use carlinkit boxes, you can get pure wireless carplay, or android based carplay that has sim card and full standalone OS.
1.1 there is a few sellers on FB Mazda groups that can change the whole system to newer wireless carplay for about RM500 or so. But that changes the ICE Control module in your arm rest.
lee82gx
post May 19 2025, 11:21 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

double post.

This post has been edited by lee82gx: May 20 2025, 09:15 AM
lee82gx
post Jul 11 2025, 11:23 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

ID / exterior design wise I think nothing wrong at all with the new CX-5.
Here at my nitpicks.
1. Longer - I'm not sure it solves much for existing, I felt its already long enough. I would dearly like it to be wider. It is NARROWEST in the class. Just 1inch will help a lot, not sure why they went for 4 inch longer instead.

Here is the biggest problem.
What the nature is happening with NO AC buttons and dials. I've seen Protons and BYDs owners literally cursing when going through the air cond settings via touch screen. Come on, in Malaysia we are baking in the sun.

In USA for example in winter, you DO NOT want to take off the gloves in -20C to access the heater controls. (Which may not work at such cold temps anyway). With gloves a touch screen doesnt even work.

So this car works well in moderate climate when you don't even need AC, ok.

Whatever happen to "touch screens are dangerous" - to quote Mazda themselves. Weird.

This is coming from a guy who went to great lengths to hack the current infotainment to enable touch screen. Somethings are better with knobs and dials and buttons man. Just 2 knobs, 1 for temperature and 1 for fan speed is that too much.

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Jul 11 2025, 11:24 AM
lee82gx
post Jul 11 2025, 04:25 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

If the Google assistant is done correctly using voice commands is not difficult but it remains to be seen. There is another set of whole new ball game with that, I am somewhat qualified to discuss this but whether people end up liking it or not is another thing as well. I do know that touch panels are absolutely no go for climate controls.

I drive to work early and set it to low fan and 23.

At lunch time I set it quite high and at 20, and then immediately slow down once it cools.

Back to work depends also. These days one cannot know how hot it will be at 5-6pm. End up I twist those knobs every few time I start
lee82gx
post Oct 29 2025, 02:27 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Maple66 @ Oct 20 2025, 07:52 PM)
Hi sifu, I’d like to ask about the CX-5 2.0 High. Are the car tints security or break-proof?
Also, does the dash cam installed by Mazda include both front and rear cameras? What’s the maximum microSD card capacity it supports?

Can anyone share their fuel consumption and reviews?
front two driver and passenger, should have security tint.

0.0302sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:23 AM