Mazda CX5 Gen 2 Owners Club V2, Kodo: Soul of Motion

ZeneticX
post Jan 13 2025, 07:14 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jan 13 2025, 01:38 PM)
thanks this is how I am checking for now, just want to confirm that the behaviour is normal when resetting the head unit. My previous car won't reset the maintenance reminder .
No biggie, probably can just enter the information again if it was reset
ZeneticX
post Jun 8 2025, 04:29 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jun 8 2025, 11:11 AM)
Correct. Kasi tape left right front then problem solved.
Your door didn't feel harder to open or close after this?

I tried the same on my CX30, end up my door can't really close or open properly. Need to pull harder when closing and push harder to open. Maybe I wrapped too thick
ZeneticX
post Jul 3 2025, 12:21 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

https://www.mazda.com.au/mazda-news/all-new...da-cx-5-teaser/

A NEW CHAPTER BEGINS FOR THE MAZDA CX-5

Sharper design that evolves the Mazda CX-5’s distinctive character – paired with a more spacious, uncluttered cabin

Advanced, human-centric technology and safety systems for confident, connected driving on every journey.

On Thursday the 10th of July 2025 at 18:00 AEST, Mazda will unveil the All-New Mazda CX-5 - opening an exciting new chapter for one of Australia's most popular medium SUVs.

Designed to fit a wide range of lifestyles, this third-generation CX-5 delivers even more of what matters most - offering a more confident design, enhanced comfort, and greater everyday usability - all while staying true to the joy of driving that defines every Mazda.

ZeneticX
post Jul 3 2025, 01:33 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jul 3 2025, 12:50 PM)
Wonder how much they will be selling...plus any interior change?
Confirm will have change. It's considered a new gen instead of facelift. I just hope they retain some physical controls instead of putting every control in screen

Will consider upgrading from my CX30 if Bermaz can spec and price it right. Since they are selling CX60 CBU for 198k now, I expect CX5 to be priced lower, with the highest spec maybe overlapping the CX60

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jul 3 2025, 01:33 PM
ZeneticX
post Jul 3 2025, 01:56 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jul 3 2025, 01:39 PM)
Given how they retain physical buttons in CX-60 I assume they will do so in this new CX-5. I've seen the exterior pictures shared in FB group (not sure if it's legit)...doesn't suit my taste  hmm.gif

I predict they will sell this new CX-5 around 150k to 170k?
Those are unofficial renders. Wait for the official images to release. But from what I can see in the teaser, it's a safe design that will age well just like the current CX5 unlike some Chinese brands with over the top design.

This video will show some details when the teaser images are brightened

ZeneticX
post Jul 5 2025, 02:14 AM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ Jul 4 2025, 08:59 PM)
looks like still the same KF chassis. I wonder if they upgraded/revised the suspension design to resolve the squeaking
Squeaking still happening on the facelift?
ZeneticX
post Jul 10 2025, 04:27 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

Quite nice design wise. Interior a bit Chinese car inspired.... why the letters on the steering wheel and why airconds controls in the screen..... but at least it's using Google Automotive now

ZeneticX
post Jul 10 2025, 04:55 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jul 10 2025, 04:38 PM)
Personal opinion, the side and rear looks ok but the front looks ugly as hell. Interior looks okay but no more physical button..feels like EV car already.
I think the front needs certain angle to look nicer

Not like the current model where it just works

I guess they have to try something new but not change too much that it loses their brand identity

I actually prefer if they just copy the EZ6 or EZ60 design
ZeneticX
post Jul 10 2025, 04:57 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jul 10 2025, 04:50 PM)
The rear design looks similar to Honda Civic - the executive look. The front memang cannot weh...
actually some say looks like BMW XM. Cannot unsee now lol

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jul 10 2025, 05:01 PM
ZeneticX
post Jul 10 2025, 06:07 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

More videos.... I think the more I look at it its starting to grow on me

ZeneticX
post Jul 10 2025, 06:36 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Jul 10 2025, 06:11 PM)
Do you think the new Mazda CX60 look better or this one?
Exterior wise CX60 more classy and rugged, looks more catered to the matured crowd

CX5 looks sharper and sportier

Interior wise CX60 hands down. But I guess younger generation would prefer the more modern CX5 interior

Personally I would choose CX5 anyway because CX60 too big for me

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jul 10 2025, 06:52 PM
ZeneticX
post Jul 11 2025, 01:42 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jul 11 2025, 11:23 AM)
ID / exterior design wise I think nothing wrong at all with the new CX-5.
Here at my nitpicks.
1. Longer - I'm not sure it solves much for existing, I felt its already long enough. I would dearly like it to be wider. It is NARROWEST in the class. Just 1inch will help a lot, not sure why they went for 4 inch longer instead.

Here is the biggest problem.
What the nature is happening with NO AC buttons and dials. I've seen Protons and BYDs owners literally cursing when going through the air cond settings via touch screen. Come on, in Malaysia we are baking in the sun.

In USA for example in winter, you DO NOT want to take off the gloves in -20C to access the heater controls. (Which may not work at such cold temps anyway). With gloves a touch screen doesnt even work.

So this car works well in moderate climate when you don't even need AC, ok.

Whatever happen to "touch screens are dangerous" - to quote Mazda themselves. Weird.

This is coming from a guy who went to great lengths to hack the current infotainment to enable touch screen. Somethings are better with knobs and dials and buttons man. Just 2 knobs, 1 for temperature and 1 for fan speed is that too much.
because most people only complaint about the lack of leg space in the rear seats

as for the touch screens not sure why Mazda went this route but I guess they want the CX5 to appeal to the general population considering it's their best selling and most well known SUV model. The Internet can hate on this direction, but it seems the general population doesn't seem to care much about touch screens, infact they find it more modern and cool. I've got people who sat in my CX30 and say the interior is nice but looks outdated because the screen is so small and its not touch screen doh.gif

and this is only my theory or assumption, but I also would assume Mazda designed the CX5 interior to be more 'typical', perhaps it will make the CX60 or above appeal more to people who care about physical buttons

for me personally, I dn wn judge yet because I've yet to live with a car with only touch screen. For AC controls in my current CX30, usually I only set it to 24c, 23c if really hot, and I adjust the fan speed accordingly when needed but once the cabin is cool enough I seldom touched the controls again

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jul 11 2025, 01:53 PM
ZeneticX
post Jul 11 2025, 03:29 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

ZeneticX
post Jul 11 2025, 04:30 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jul 11 2025, 04:25 PM)
If the Google assistant is done correctly using voice commands is not difficult but it remains to be seen. There is another set of whole new ball game with that, I am somewhat qualified to discuss this but whether people end up liking it or not is another thing as well. I do know that touch panels are absolutely no go for climate controls.

I drive to work early and set it to low fan and 23.

At lunch time I set it quite high and at 20, and then immediately slow down once it cools.

Back to work depends also. These days one cannot know how hot it will be at 5-6pm. End up I twist those knobs every few time I start
btw the new CX5 is indeed wider as well but not significant

old CX5 - 1845mm

new CX5 - 1860mm
ZeneticX
post Jul 11 2025, 07:33 PM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(kobanpro @ Jul 11 2025, 04:53 PM)
Really don't understand why don't Mazda remain the physical button but also adding touch control via screen. This will be much safer move by attracting 'new gen' and retaining existing follower. Google assistant is good but I bet people who like Mazda is quiet and dont like open mouth to voice command lol.

Practical Physical button is one of Mazda 'speciality', but now they removed it. Dont know what is the Mazda's target customer now when other competitors have the same thing and its so much cheaper.
Mazda is not stupid for going this approach (we all hope), they must've done enough market research

Even Toyota and Lexus is going down this path (Rav4 and Lexus ES)

Just can wait for sales report few years down the road to see if they are right

If the CX5 ended selling well, I hope it elevates their financial position to bring out the new MX5 and rumoured RX7 successor

Anyway people who usually buy Mazda is just because they really like it and the way it drives. Otherwise they would've gone Toyota or Honda which usually provides more for slightly less

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jul 11 2025, 07:37 PM
ZeneticX
post Oct 21 2025, 11:17 AM

stars for what
12,409 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Oct 20 2025, 06:38 PM)
Noted. BTW is there a way to permanently disable the I-stop? Other than using the physical push button...
Since car is after warranty already...
got OBD tool to disable istop. try searching shopee or lazada

QUOTE(Maple66 @ Oct 20 2025, 07:52 PM)
Hi sifu, I’d like to ask about the CX-5 2.0 High. Are the car tints security or break-proof?
Also, does the dash cam installed by Mazda include both front and rear cameras? What’s the maximum microSD card capacity it supports?

Can anyone share their fuel consumption and reviews?
the stock window tint is not security tint iinm

0.0273sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:26 PM