MAXIS SCAM ALERT. SMS short code subscription., RM3. You have subscribed to ...

TSezralimm
post Jul 20 2018, 03:07 AM, updated 8y ago

LGBTQQIP2SAA+
2,715 posts

Carrier: Maxis

Unexpected message from 28832:
"RM3. You have subscribed to JukeNow. RM3/wk (Incl. 0% GST). Get new weekly video updates. Enjoy!"

I have a few questions:

1) How can clicking on a link subscribe for a mobile device? There was never any opt-in via a SMS to a short code (five digit number).

2) Can clicking on a link in an ad subscribe to a service?

3) A big company like Maxis does things like this?
According to SKMM, the short code starting with 2 should be from the service provider.
https://www.skmm.gov.my/sectors/celco/faqs/...ext-short-codes

JukeNow is a sub brand of DailyTV, which is a Maxis service.

Regards,
Ezra

This post has been edited by ezralimm: Jul 20 2018, 03:10 AM
moiskyrie
post Jul 20 2018, 03:23 AM

3,217 posts

Old new,
Few year back i also kena when using digi..
That time prepaid wonder why credit so fast finish..
Check sms got this stupid add on that i not subcribe..
Need contact telco as now matter how also cant unscribe...
Need telco do from they side...
But telco maybe will tell you say they cant do anything...
powerwoot
post Jul 20 2018, 06:21 AM

讨厌的 ubuntu
2,930 posts

I am no longer using maxis, but it can be cancel by request to the cs directly, I tweet to them and they deactivate it on the spot. Likely Jukenow is activated automatically without obtaining any consent from the user.
Chrono-Trigger
post Jul 20 2018, 08:39 AM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,308 posts

Unsolicited sms gateway spam is a thing of the past for digi users due to its double verification system implemented last year.

A TAC is required for digi users to subscribe into the third party content services.

Since then, digi has blocked 2 attempts by these 3rd party content providers to siphon money from me.

Most telco providers will give u a standard reply to put the blame on users to subscribe to these services, knowing very well that there might be errant 3rd party providers that illegally auto subscribe the services for you.

My advice to you is, if u can’t get satisfactory refund or answer from maxis , just switch to digi.

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Jul 20 2018, 08:39 AM
soul_gamerz
post Jul 20 2018, 08:42 AM

446 posts

My MIL always get this kind of subscription service without knowing. She wondering why her credit always finished so fast. Unsubscribe everything, then 2,3 month later come back. Told her to change to other telco. Problem solved. Maxis/Hotlink really suck
Chrono-Trigger
post Jul 20 2018, 08:49 AM

4,308 posts

QUOTE(soul_gamerz @ Jul 20 2018, 08:42 AM)
My MIL always get this kind of subscription service without knowing. She wondering why her credit always finished so fast. Unsubscribe everything, then 2,3 month later come back. Told her to change to other telco. Problem solved. Maxis/Hotlink really suck
Digi ?
Chrono-Trigger
post Jul 20 2018, 08:50 AM

4,308 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia69 @ Jul 20 2018, 08:49 AM)
Ayam get conned by Celcom oso last month. SMS from 39254 claimed to be a local game company called Techninier charged RM3.00/week for a stupid game called Game Hero which ayam never subscribed to.
Ayam called Celcom for clarification, Celcom said ayam must be accidentally clicked on the link.
Fuck Celcom. That's the lame excuse by Celcom.
Ironically, Celcom staff on the line said she would be willing to unsubscribe the game on ayam behalf. Puki punya celcom.
Change to digi. 100% no more spam
soul_gamerz
post Jul 20 2018, 11:07 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Jul 20 2018, 08:49 AM)
Digi ?
To Celcom
adiwarna
post Jul 20 2018, 03:14 PM

2,669 posts

For onexox customer, report to customer care. If investigation found no subscriptio made from user, we will refund the amount

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
okuribito
post Jan 5 2019, 10:06 PM

1,021 posts

Should get Gobind Singh to do something about this shit! My TT also got hit 2 times today. Fking bastards

Waste everybody's time complaining case by case. Those who don't complain, scammer quietly steal their money with Telco as accessory to theft

Gobind Singh & MCMC should ban all telco from hosting these bastards

This post has been edited by okuribito: Jan 5 2019, 10:09 PM
Aerobrain
post Feb 15 2019, 05:06 AM

37 posts

Macau hai celcom. I notice bill suddenly have all this "mobile content" subscription rm5 per week. Sms stop to all short code. On 22dec. Quiet a while. Then 18jan another content subcribtion came in tiuuuuu. Last bill rm 16 this bill rm 20 wah hamkaling celcom.

leelazens
post Mar 4 2019, 05:25 PM

59 posts

same, victim here by maxis,

contacted their support for days and still cant resolve. wtf

leelazens
post Mar 4 2019, 05:30 PM

59 posts

it just tip of iceberg, im so piss off now i will spent my energy on this matter.

it seem not just 1 case, maxis keep allow diff 'sdn bhd' that spam charge customer with their scam blank 'service'

and it been done for years. i think polis should be involve at this stage.

check out tons of other victim.

https://www.facebook.com/maxis/posts/maxis-...53671508982986/

This post has been edited by leelazens: Mar 4 2019, 05:30 PM
anudora
post Apr 9 2019, 11:32 AM

208 posts

Also got another one with the name FUNNY.
Never subscribed. Suddenly deducted RM4.
Maxis is running a scam with the scammer.
Definitely going to report SKMM.
fms21
post Apr 9 2019, 11:40 AM

471 posts

because of this, i'm not dare to click any link given in the sms eventhough from telco itself..

i heard some website will release malware that lead to auto subscribe of this services..
I suggest to install this software that can clean that malware..free and not really effect battery performance..

for sure, need to unsubscribe 1st..

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...antivirus&hl=en
Malaysian99
post Apr 9 2019, 08:02 PM

103 posts

My mum hotlink also kena, later I check my father hotlink also kena, call 123 ask the staff to terminate all scam sms.
The issue is my parent don't using sms, they never subscribe any sms service, my parent never realized until since last month, top up RM 10 finish in 4 days but only make 2-3 calls. I ask ppl here then only know stupid maxis cheat customers credit with those scammers. What MCMC is doing let those scammer cheat our money.

This post has been edited by Malaysian99: Apr 9 2019, 08:08 PM
adamw
post Apr 9 2019, 11:58 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,352 posts

QUOTE(Malaysian99 @ Apr 9 2019, 08:02 PM)
My mum hotlink also kena, later I check my father hotlink also kena, call 123 ask the staff to terminate all scam sms. 
The issue is my parent don't using sms, they never subscribe any sms service,  my parent never realized until since last month, top up RM 10 finish in 4 days but only make 2-3 calls.  I ask ppl here then only know stupid maxis cheat customers credit with those scammers. What MCMC is doing let those scammer cheat our money.
MCMC is useless, sent me an email saying Maxshit has resolved my issue but no link for me to reject Maxshit claim. Maxshit CS also called me saying that my mobile number has been unsubscribed but I told her off because my complaint to MCMC is for this act to stop completely. CS keep saying beyond their control.
skyjohn5510 P
post Apr 17 2019, 01:36 PM

Probation

I got same thing from celcom few years ago, got RM10 fly away because subscription from nowhere.

When I make complaint to their CS, they just say "this must be you subscribed by your own, we can only help you to unsubscribe it"

When I say I didn't subscribed to these services at all, their CS says BS like "maybe you clicked on some link on internet", WTF wow their service is so advance that their webpage can automatically know my phone number and subscribe the service without my consent.

I just found a good way to earn money, just become a sms service provider then spam the users with paid sms, when they want to unsubscribe charge another 50 cents some more for sending "STOP" to unsubscribe.
fat16
post Apr 19 2019, 10:13 AM

4,582 posts

QUOTE(skyjohn5510 @ Apr 17 2019, 01:36 PM)
When I say I didn't subscribed to these services at all, their CS says BS like "maybe you clicked on some link on internet", WTF wow their service is so advance that their webpage can automatically know my phone number and subscribe the service without my consent.
actually cs is correct. surfing using mobile device, app and ads know your phone number. click wrong thing or fake close button consider agree subscribe to the service.
Level 60 Wizard
post Apr 19 2019, 11:16 AM

Spiritus Invictus
545 posts

Wow. Good info. Now i need to think if i wanted to port to Maxis..as my intenntion is to get maximum data bandwidth with minimum amount of pay

if secretly have to fork out additional Rm20 or so per month..end up my current Digi better

else want cheaper, become more expensive doh.gif

0.0197sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:50 AM