How to Marry a Rich Man, for ladies

justified
post Jul 20 2018, 09:40 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Ralna @ Jul 20 2018, 04:31 PM)
Thanks for your comment/advice.

Firstly, your advice, while holds true for your generation, maybe difficult to apply now in this modern generation when ways of meeting of people and dating have changed. Social media, gadgets, technology etc have changed the way we work, study, date, and many other things. You have no idea how the younger generation find it so tough to secure jobs and get the ideal partners they want, now. & I believe it will be way more challenging in the future, be it during the dating phase or after marriage. At work, it's also the same; more and more challenging.

Secondly, I rather have over-confidence than the lack of it. While I'm "over-confident" ( & I wasn't born with it; I built it up year after year), I'm also strategic in my thinking and action. People like this, are called "assertive" -- having or showing a confident and forceful personality, not being frightened to say what they want or believe.

Thirdly, I might be young physically in age, but I went through a lot and accomplished a lot for my age. Have you heard of anyone who did a pioneering research in Malaysia, at age 24 that have high commercial value? Or, becoming a lecturer at age 25? Or, owning a property at age 23? You haven't come across people like this, and judging them by their age & dismissing their claims as "You're still young, so your opinion is flawed" is a logical fallacy.

Apart from these three points, I agree with the rest you shared. After all, there are things that only time can teach us, in the journey of life.
The more i read about what you wrote, the more geram i feel.. LOL not sure if i am the only one. First, pardon me if it sounds bit offensive to you, but I really need to smack some reality into you as you are way too delusional about ownself.

1st. Owning a property at age of 23 is OK (assuming with financial assistance, eg. Loan). Owning a property at age of 23 debt free is another level of achievement.

2nd. Conducting the so-called pioneering research (description bit vague though) that has high commercial value in Malaysia is decent. Conducting a pioneering research resulting in hundreds thousands of revenue with patent protection, companies after companies jostling after that piece of lion's share of yours, is another level of achievement.

3rd. being a lecturer at age of 25 at a local college with a master degree, is OK at best (I don't see anyone bragging on becoming an engineer at age of 23??). Being a full fledge professor at age 30 with a PhD at a university is another level of achievement.

Not trying to downplay your achievements, but just knock some sense into you that, your definition of being successful is bit tad off. Maybe wait for another 10 years, and then we talk about your success (if there is any).

and for god sake, why are you so free ?? you have been lowyat-ing non stop (?) since yesterday morning !?

edit: like seriously, where did you get that sort of confidence ??? not pun intended, if only I had that small fraction of urs...my life would be wonderful

This post has been edited by justified: Jul 20 2018, 09:47 PM
justified
post Jul 21 2018, 12:01 AM

121 posts

sorry to hear about the horrible things u gotta go through. i think i rest my case for now and best of luck to u
justified
post Jul 29 2018, 11:49 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(cc980024 @ Jul 29 2018, 09:11 PM)
Yes. As when I was a child, my mom told me that she want all her daughters to study hard and be capable independent ladies, as she don't want us to live life like her (a housewife being ctrl by my typical chinese dad). My mom did bbsitting and tailoring to help up ease household expenses, but due to uneducated..she was easily shut up by my dad (pity).

Now, I am 50-50 everything with my hubby, not because he can't afford. It is because I want to be fair and earn my fair share of 50% decision making. I earn my self respect too. He never bought me branded stuff except just a watch for a special day, I bought the stuff that I fancy by myself, as he have his own huge hobby that he is financing. I don't see y I need to burden him enjoying his own hard earn $ by sponsoring stuff that I enjoy (not his), whereas let my cash sits in the bank. And of coz, whatever I spend..I told my family that is from hubby, as I don't want ppl finger pointing behind him as nobody can understand tat is my thoughts of the right way a woman should claim themselves being equal to their opposite kind.
what hobby ur hubby has? collecting branded watch?
justified
post Aug 1 2018, 05:21 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Ralna @ Aug 1 2018, 04:17 PM)
I used to hate the previous gov a lot, to be honest. I saw it as a corrupted regime, but the only ministry that I would like to work for was Ministry of Foreign Affairs. My ambition was to be a diplomat and be based in overseas embassy. However, I didn't apply for it in the end, coz I was browsing Institute of Diplomacy and Foreign Relations (IDFR) website and also read lots of news about becoming a diplomat, ah yeah, the standard has dropped a lot plus some other racial issues, not to mention the rampant terrorist attacks.

That was my ambition, 10 years ago. Now that we have a new PH gov, I thought about it again. I discussed with my fiance about serving the nation, and then I realised that, if I were to join the gov and work my way up (which is difficult esp. if you're non-bumi), why not I start up a social enterprise myself?

FYI,

I don't see that the only way to contribute to nation is just by working in the public sector, more esp. if the position is of lower rank/ bottom level of the hierarchy... what difference can that make to the nation? A little, but not much.

There are many valuable experience and skills that the private sector can teach to the ones working in public sector, which is why there's this gov policy to "corporatize" and privatize public services.

Btw,

I don't see this as doing good for the nation.

Malaysia is very "poor" now, laden with huge debt coz of the previous gov. IMO, it's more effective to start own biz & pay more corporate tax to gov, rather than to join the civil service and increase gov expenditure. Just a different POV, not that joining civil service is a sin, but looking at the current circumstance, which one can truly mean well for the nation?
foreign affair ministry didnt headhunt you ?

0.0155sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:55 AM