How to Marry a Rich Man, for ladies

cc980024
post Jul 19 2018, 03:49 PM

492 posts

TS knows what she want, she have her own 'feel-good' factor. Most important she think what she did right, that's about it. But it is all for herself.

I actually do hope that ppl don't take it seriously as everyone have their own personality and hopefully guys don't generalize all ladies have similar character.

I don't marry rich guy, but an ordinary guy with no family inheritance, yet we need to bear our parents' expenses. We don't plan big for future and never have planning when we were younger. But now at 40, we have done pay for a landed property, and another 1 coming up. We drive decent car, with my son happily growing up. We went Malacca for our honeymoon at age near 30. But for the last decade, Phuket is our annual trip as my son wanted to practice his sea-swim. Annual vacation to overseas (no need to mention place) is a norm, as we are fond for winter holidays. All this are not hard to achieve, we just take 1 step at a time being ppl of under employment. I did lost my job before, but soon enough back on normal track. We don't need to marry rich, as long as we found someone who can walk hand-in-hand, thru good and bad... everything will be in order.

As my son is the only child in both family (all our siblings are old-single), and he is expected to inherit quite a fat amount from them. I actually hope he won't bump into such an ambitious gal like TS. A simple, obedient girl will be a better candidate as DIL. smile.gif

And I want to stress that, we (include siblings) are ppl under employment, not professional. And I can say both myself and hubby are not ambitious and we are not risk taker at all. Our income is common figure and may consider low for our age if compare to some ppl. But we still live comfortable life, all based on taking 1 step at a time.

This post has been edited by cc980024: Jul 19 2018, 03:56 PM
cc980024
post Jul 19 2018, 04:11 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Jul 19 2018, 04:03 PM)
Because you never experienced hardcore poor like TS

People who had never starved before will not appreciate the precious of food, for instance

Being raised under extremely unfavorable environment can really drive a person to the extreme end.
That's y I said is for her.
But advising girls the way to marry rich guy (as per title).. sound generalizing girls are materialistic. Being a lady myself, I would prefer one who can advise how to live life beautifully instead.

And in fact, you don't need to teach a person how to marry a rich guy. If the girl really wanted to marry rich guy (as if that is her ambition), they actually have their way already. Those girls who always verbal it that they wanted or envy someone having rich bf/hubby, usually they end up with common guys. Coz they actually see/love a guy more than dollar and cent he can bring.
cc980024
post Jul 20 2018, 11:44 AM

492 posts

What I couldn't understand is .. TS being still young, already share her experience as in already successful Being in a relationship with the current bf of 2years, already deem as "forever" good and the catch is with her forever? Another thing is, in her context, I don't understand what is consider rich. Get a rich husband, but is her fiance consider rich (already?) If he is rich, tell me if I read wrongly that she actually get SGDxxx sponsor from him since she quit her job.

Like someone said, there is no checklist when it come to relationship. You may be able to hit it for a start, but down the road.. maintaining it and managing your partner is an art. You can attract a person and get him to marry you, but you won't know when your winning point will become a boring figure for him. There are things that you think you can do it, maintain it.. such as take good care of his parents. But when come to real situation, who knows? If a guy really can foresee his potential wife will not 101% click with his mom, he won't marry her in the first place. And there won't be any story of DIL and MIL fighting ya.

For me, the term rich is subjective. Looking at income vs basic expenses and needs. If someone who are debt free with enough cash to spend comfortable vs someone who driving Ferrari, staying bungalow under bank loan.. and continously need to find $ to maintain such lifestyle.. I prefer not to be the "rich". Even business man carry big loans behind their luxury outlook.. poor thing, is a man with debt.
cc980024
post Jul 20 2018, 03:28 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(Ralna @ Jul 20 2018, 12:34 PM)
You sound like someone who's insecure in relationship and with negative outlook in life. It's common among many people.

Anyway, insecurity is a major problem that most people face in relationship, mostly felt by girls. Worried that their bf/husband will leave her, betray her, then become paranoid and start controlling him.

Not me.

Just 1 small advise. Not me being insecure, is you being over confident.

Am lucky of being a girl grown up without a single pimple problem, standard figure and a quiet girl who were never proactive in making friends. With that itself, I have gone thru 3 relationships (minimally crossed 1 year anniversary for each of them). There are quite a fair bit of guys approached me, those from the same uni, their seniors, friends of a friend. But my time, there was no social media, and we don't simply go on a date with guy. No offence, and sorry to say that it never crosses my mind that there is a need to do something to let ppl notice or attracted to us. Really don't wish to say so, but just wish to tell you, one doesn't need to tell how great they are to show their confidence. And am lucky that I have no issue, that needed to boost my own confidence.

I dated my hubby for 5years and have been married over a decade. There are up and down, and it take years to understand each other, as both growing up and growing old.. this stages changed a person mindset. What you see now, may not be the same as what he see in future. Relationship is a something unique. Being a spouse, there is a need to continously learn to love him in every different age stage and channel of life.

I have seen attractive smart people married with their same kind of spouse too, with beautiful kids. Just like Princess Diana & Prince Charles. But we at the sweet moment of our own relationship, will not understand what have gone wrong with those divorce couple. We can simply say we can totally control the whole situation ourselves, but when one have not been through those situation, who are they to show such confident?

Just my 2cent. Hope everything is well for you, but you are still too young, there are lot more to learn in terms of understanding relationship and man, moreover keeping a man forever.
cc980024
post Jul 20 2018, 05:22 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(Ralna @ Jul 20 2018, 04:31 PM)
Thirdly, I might be young physically in age, but I went through a lot and accomplished a lot for my age. Have you heard of anyone who did a pioneering research in Malaysia, at age 24 that have high commercial value? Or, becoming a lecturer at age 25? Or, owning a property at age 23? You haven't come across people like this, and judging them by their age & dismissing their claims as "You're still young, so your opinion is flawed" is a logical fallacy.
Good that you have your own feel good factor. Anyway, being a lecturer at 25 is not surprising at all, as there are many ppl achieve PHD younger, so it is not surprising if someone started to be a lecturer at mid 20s, if they wanted to be a lecturer.
Owning a property at age 23.. I assume that is pay by cash.. salute you having it pay off, debt free at such a young age. I only manage to get my 2nd house done now. Am ady 40 now. As I am not as ambitious as you. (Apologize to those youngster who are still looking for affordable property, .. you will get yours when time come)

I am not trying to judge you, just very rare case seeing someone highly excited to talk bout her achievement, which actually just .. nevermind, as long as you feel successful, that's matter most to you. It is you who first judge me by saying I feel insecure when started to hit out your post. And now advising you that there are lot more to learn in life, you accuse me judging you by age. By far, I only see humble successful people.. even you read bout those international figures, they are very humble.. but you are just too special. Proud and broadcast til the extend I hardly gel all the stories together. Probably other forumers follow this very well, only me can't gel it up.

cc980024
post Jul 23 2018, 09:22 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(Selectt @ Jul 22 2018, 11:13 AM)
wah where? this thread is still continuing debating in her "world".

hahaha.
Haha.. she should just stay in her own sweet world feeling great about it, no point sharing it. But I really salute her for seeing anyone challenging her as envy/jealous about her. I wish I can have such attitude of shiok sendiri. smile.gif

Yes, we have lots of forumer speaking out their problem, behaving like a loser. But all they need is some useful advise on how to move on, and I never see any ladies asking ways to marry rich man here. And another post advising how to secure a date (kind of title), is more suitable to be how to win her as a date or how to date her, to be specific.

I am not good in debate at all, but I hope guys won't have any wrong perception that all ladies are born with this mindset. And I wish good luck to those ladies who looking into behaving this way, wish you could hook up a man just like her fiance. As it needs another set of luck to bump into the right guy.

This post has been edited by cc980024: Jul 23 2018, 10:41 AM
cc980024
post Jul 24 2018, 10:19 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Jul 23 2018, 07:03 PM)
https://mothership.sg/2018/07/louis-vuitton...g-relationship/

What do you girls or women think about this man who bought the LV bag for his GF, a modern day Prince Charming.

Someone who is willing to go the extra mile for his partner.

He is not rich but has drive and ambition influence by his GF.
Buy LV for GF consider as modern day Prince Charming? Then lots of old Prince Charming in town.. and any girl can claim an LV bag, as long as she willing to let the man claim her tongue.gif
Actually it is really not hard for a girl to get guys who are capable enough to spend on her. Those born "not bad" but easy going enough will get rich guy attention, those born with a bit "lack of" but if she willing to behave like a tiny loveable empress can still get into some rich folks wallet. But is just the matter of how the upbringing of the girl, what are the places she hangout, whether there is exposure to those rich and famous group. Though some ppl keep mentioning youngster nowadays are very open in making friends, but I still believe there are many good girls with good family upbringing that they avoided places that are not for their status, trying to hook up with rich and famous.

This post has been edited by cc980024: Jul 24 2018, 10:23 AM
cc980024
post Jul 26 2018, 04:58 PM

492 posts

Just a mere 2-3 years relationship, really is not at the right position to give advise of how to manage or win a man.

cc980024
post Jul 28 2018, 09:40 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(pml_318 @ Jul 28 2018, 12:37 AM)
Hi readers,

I think we usually refer to rich ppl as millionaire (with net worth >= 1M) but not how much he earns within a period of time, cus someone who spend as much as he earns without accumulating any wealth by any means can never be rich, agree?

So is TS' fiancé a rich guy? Well it all depends on how much he inherited from his parents.

So is TS a gold digger? Only TS would know, EG if her fiancé failed in biz later and could never maintain TS upper social lifestyle anymore, will TS marries him ?
Agree. By the way, millionaire nowadays probably just upper-mid class, looking at the property value, plenty selling about 1M and that shows the demand and a big pool of ppl who can afford it. Don't think this grp will claim they are rich, probably may just say they are at a financially comfortable grp.

From beginning of the post, I already started to doubt how rich is rich that 1 need to happily share her experience like she have got a catch that are tough to find. I dare not say much as not good in debate with my English std far behind than most of the forumers here. But when i notice how she mention 5figures as in the value superb. I think the title of this topic irrelevant. Should just put "how to marry a man when time clocking is running out" as she somehow succesfully to find a man and willing to marry her within 2 yrs before its too late.

And T20 for household or individual consider high income? If is household, gosh...our country soon into poverty.

By the way, lawyer is just a professional, what so great to tell.
cc980024
post Jul 29 2018, 12:06 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Jul 29 2018, 12:02 AM)
To be honest, no women do not prefer average income, if she has better looking, such as Instagram girls, every day eat good foods with wearing a good dress for show off on daily basis... Also, go travel around the world.
I don't think TS was not a gold digger, she has her standard required for a future husband.
Money is secured for women.
Travel to HK, Japan, Taiwan needs to spend more on more money.
If just pass by only not shiok at all.
Yes, especially apply to girls who too fancy about spending more than she can afford. Hence such ideas of getting a man to pay for gf/ wife maintenance come in. But ladies who are highly capable won't even put "rich" as the key criteria to look for spouse. As $ is the least of their concern since they can earn it themselves, there is no need to downgrade ourselves to ask for $ from man to buy us stuff. We are more into finding a compatible partner, mainly on mindset. But no doubt, even $ rich is not the main concern, but definitely capable women minimally want their spouse to be financially independent, not those useless jobless parasite that we feed him.

cc980024
post Jul 29 2018, 09:11 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Jul 29 2018, 03:58 PM)
In my 7 sense, you're female.
You have a diff point of view.
Yes. As when I was a child, my mom told me that she want all her daughters to study hard and be capable independent ladies, as she don't want us to live life like her (a housewife being ctrl by my typical chinese dad). My mom did bbsitting and tailoring to help up ease household expenses, but due to uneducated..she was easily shut up by my dad (pity).

Now, I am 50-50 everything with my hubby, not because he can't afford. It is because I want to be fair and earn my fair share of 50% decision making. I earn my self respect too. He never bought me branded stuff except just a watch for a special day, I bought the stuff that I fancy by myself, as he have his own huge hobby that he is financing. I don't see y I need to burden him enjoying his own hard earn $ by sponsoring stuff that I enjoy (not his), whereas let my cash sits in the bank. And of coz, whatever I spend..I told my family that is from hubby, as I don't want ppl finger pointing behind him as nobody can understand tat is my thoughts of the right way a woman should claim themselves being equal to their opposite kind.
cc980024
post Jul 30 2018, 08:27 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(justified @ Jul 29 2018, 11:49 PM)
what hobby ur hubby has? collecting branded watch?
Audio System, where normal ppl buy a set and there it is sit at home til it is spoilt. But those into hobby will get their Speakers, Amplifier, Players, etc.. continuously upgrade. His hobby need maintenance, not the wife tongue.gif. As for collection, of coz CDs and Vinyl Disk.
cc980024
post Jul 30 2018, 10:42 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Jul 30 2018, 08:35 AM)
Hmm hmm, waste a place to collection huge stuff..

What about collecting all those old money notes.
Not into that. But he have a small collection of pipe (those use for pipe smoking). And we have quite an amount of Chinese teapots (those meant for Kungfu tea). Aiks.. this is not hobby section. Don't ask anymore tongue.gif

QUOTE(wct @ Jul 30 2018, 09:48 AM)
Look for what's within reach. Not being funny though.
Many short guys marry tall pretty girls. In fact, handsome tall guys may end up with plump short girl tongue.gif
As long as the person is kind, humble, honest, lovely, ... he/she will be the best life companion compare those rich guy / hot gals.
cc980024
post Aug 1 2018, 09:09 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(Simply_Ed @ Jul 31 2018, 08:58 PM)
Interesting thread to read.

First and most importantly, congrats to TS for getting engaged!

Next,

IMO I think TS is being crucified because she's improving herself not for it's - the activity - own sake but rather as a means to something else i.e. to attract rich men.

Quoted from the first post:

1) She reads finance and investment topics not for her own benefit but rather so that she "knows what to chat with them, and impress them";
2) Cooking and singing not because she enjoys it but again to not be an "empty vase".
3) Having high earning power not for herself but because "Men find rich/high-earning women attractive too, so be one."
Then she ended it with "
Lastly, love a man not for his money, but for his personality, his character, dreams and ambitions, and earning potential. The truly rich man is one who can lose everything, smile and start all over again, and earn the same pot of gold in a decade or two. Now that is what I call true wealth. thumbsup.gif"

Thing is her underlying motive is already attracting "rich men" (however defined whether T20, M40), everything else is secondary so she literally just contradicted that entire conclusion.

All the guys she's listed are rich firstly. Once they've cleared that threshold then only does she looks at the personality, which is why she didn't settle for the the first couple of guys despite them being rich.

Because she identified being an over achieving strong independent woman, I would assume she wouldn't undermine herself by making money her primary concern when seeking a relationship. Also, since we're living in times of gender equality where it's not uncommon for females to earn considerably more than their male counterparts. So why can't the female become the main breadwinner instead of the male and the male becoming the househusband?

She isn't the typical gold digger with all the negative connotation that is attached to the label but she's undoubtedly looking for a man with money making the relationship contractual and transactional fundamentally. Of course, there is nothing wrong with that because she's entitled to her choice.

What people find off-putting, IMO is her stance of marrying someone primarily because of his riches let alone writing a "how to guide". From her tone of writing, I would agree she's an alpha female (being assertive). So why marry for riches if she herself can attain those riches and marry any man she wants, for example someone with a more noble goal who's poorer?

As many has pointed out, a compassionate, hardworking and genuine person won't necessarily be rich.

And I being a single male in my mid 20s hope that her stance isn't representative of the general female population. Although sometimes it does seem the case hence spawning the ever popular saying " Ada Wang Ada Amoi."

I strongly feel that if she worded her title " How to Marry your IDEAL Man" rather than rich, she wouldn't have gotten nearly as much shit.

Totally agree. You've said out what's in my mind. By the way, it sounds like she doesn't choose the earlier few guys, but the fact could be.. ppl have not decided to choose her either. Guys can pursue many girls, but that doesn't mean they see you as the right choice yet, as it take time to develop feeling and to understand a person.

By the way, I have a relative who is a PHD holder (with scholarship) in the same uni as hers. She was all along looks obedient and good girl until she have a bf (who work abroad and rich family in Malaysia). She started to use SK II and fragrance. It catches us by surprise as due to family having nose allergy history, fragrance never appear at home. She told us since bf offer to pay for her shopping, she wanted to start using it. And in 1 year, she suddenly own a few burberry, LV, etc... And of coz everytime trying to show off, will shut off by the rest of us by saying "Cheh! ppl's gift.. not buying it yourself.. no big deal"
She told us, she is the 1st choice of her MIL but later I found out her MIL actually did alot of tactics chase away her eldest son's gf, until finally he married a PHD scholar and then become uni lecturer, same as my relative. My relative's bf (now hubby) is 2nd son of the family, and he never bring any gf home other than my relative. For sure, his motive is to bring home a candidate that his mom want. Now after got married and have a baby (weak all time sick baby), the husband who used to promise that he will quit his job (overseas) after married, end up work in a local based company but require him to travel 75% of his time. And her MIL who used to promise to help her babysitting and suggest her to have 3 kids (as that time they don't have any grandchild and keep giving her all sort of guarantee, as the eldest DIL delay having bb). But once the news that they are going to get married, the eldest DIL immediately conceive (another smart 1). So the MIL actually happily bbsitting the eldest grandson, and rejecting to care for my relative's son. What I can say.. insincere ppl will bump into insincere ppl as well. You marry them with a motive, they will also have their motive.
cc980024
post Aug 1 2018, 04:33 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(Ash muhammad 28 @ Aug 1 2018, 02:46 PM)
Just want to ask you on this point. Let say if someone was to work in a public sector due to his believe that he can do more good for the country rather then working in the private sector where he can earn 5x more then his current earnings. Would his principles stands out for for women like yourseld ? Its not like working in the public sector means you are poor but to achieve a satisfactory lifestyle would take ages, usually only in the 50's (before that its more of just "cukup makan"). So do you see young people who are sacrificing their income to contribute to their country or for their principle as something that women like yourself can be attracted to or even willing to sacrifice to be with?
This was asked by PhakFuhZai, and the following is how she see our fighters as well as those great ppl who serve the nation first before family wealth.

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Jul 23 2018, 10:59 AM)
there are many people who willingly relinquish their high earning job and chose to serve the community, need no look further, just look at our MP/DUNs in PH, eg Tony Pua and Rafizi, both are capable to earn more than 5 digits, had they not chose to join the then opposition, but chose to be exposed to risks from getting imprisoned, exposed to the tear gas, went to lockups during previous administration. There are also many capable doctors/engineers/lawyers which chose to serve in public sector, instead of accepting the otherwise lucrative offer in private sector. What are your view on these people?
QUOTE(Ralna @ Jul 24 2018, 12:49 PM)
What are your view on these people?
It is their personal choice.

But, IMO, if you pursue your personal ambition and aspiration without much consideration for your own family needs (and expose them to danger), you are a failure no matter how successful you are outside.

What's the point of having a father who, for example, is an international medical doctor who volunteers his service FT to war-torn countries, when his own wife and children are suffering in the home country? Will you respect such a man?
This post has been edited by cc980024: Aug 1 2018, 04:36 PM
cc980024
post Aug 2 2018, 07:50 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(sojurn @ Aug 2 2018, 07:08 AM)
Err... define rich first. 5 figures is not that difficult nowadays. Can mean anywhere from 10k to 99k. My last year annual was 200+k. Some people say I'm rich but I don't agree. I think I'm average at best.
I feel you. That's why the whole post don't make me feel that she already successfully being rich, probably in the process to go in only (probably toward upper mid level). As the way she commented some post that involve 5figures, sounds like that is a high amount for her.

Yes, if you feel you are rich. You are. If you feel you are not, you are not. It all depends on your lifestyle and how you fund it.
But if 1 night you suddenly feel like flying to somewhere just to have a breakfast, and holaa.. without 2nd thought, you are there next morning. And fly back right after that. Some ppl may see this is crazy, but I see this is just rich. Rich to the extend that you can do crazy stuff. I have an ex-colleague did that. She was my Finance Manager who married a rich man. I did that too.. but under the expense of company.. when boss say "lets have breakfast tomorrow.." I'll just have to fly over .. and my work for tat day other than fly + breakfast with boss.. zero production tongue.gif. That's the pain of being someone who domicile in a country that different from your peers.

Looking at your annual (probably include bonus, right). Happy for you as this is consider a very (still) comfortable amount in Malaysia, provided that you don't spend lavish holidays. And how many ppl are under your care that they actually have to share your hard earn money (i.e. family). My household is small (just 3), and blessed that my hubby bring nett pay home as his car, mobile, and most of the time even his lunch being paid. When zero expense vs income.. he is rich. Especially his wife is self-finance and we already done paid our properties. Problem is.. similar like you.. we don't feel rich. I only feel blessed as we started early that come to this days.. everything already in order.. nothing to be proud of at all.

This post has been edited by cc980024: Aug 2 2018, 07:56 AM
cc980024
post Aug 20 2018, 09:11 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(GHEY @ Aug 18 2018, 03:59 PM)
How high value do you think she can be? Stop putting women a bove your head.
Agree. If read through properly, it seems that she doesn't know the market or the reality of $ value.
The rich that she refer at times is just about 5 figure.
And the sugarbaby that she value is just about RM400 - RM5000? Come on... 15+years back, when I was just out of school.. have already heard a few of my ex-schoolmates being offer RM8K-10K. Yeah... the cheapest get RM5K and she actually was my junior and deem as ugly and we laugh knowing she got offered. But probably it's her fate.. almost all her bf are married man... hmm.
We are from all-girls school. And so far didn't hear anyone take up the offer as their decision are answerable to their parents. And of coz decade back, girls are not tat daring. Only have 1 girl who actually demand her bf (ppl's husband) to get her a job before she agree to move to KL (before that she work in Spore). She actually dated him without knowing he already married. But been in love with him only to find out he cheated, he end up offer her this package (undisclosed amount of $, condo & car) to keep the relationship going. She wanted to be with him (love la), but she demanded him to get her a job (rejecting that package).. probably have a little sense of dignity? But he can't provide what she want, so that's the end.

If a sugarbaby now cost RM5K? That is the cheapo cheap range.. I don't have group of girl friends cost this low. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by cc980024: Aug 20 2018, 09:12 AM

0.0195sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:32 PM