Hardware CCTV recorder keep rebooting, HELP!!

CDSecurity P
post Aug 11 2020, 10:52 AM

Probation
23 posts

QUOTE(alandhw @ Aug 11 2020, 09:49 AM)
Thanks for the suggestion.
The installer help me to format the hardisk.
According to him, the hardisk need to format after some period of times to keep the performance.
For my case, I have using it nearly 3 years but never format it.
Lets monitor it after this.
if it keeps rebooting, most likely

1. adaptor issue (power supplied from adaptor is not enough to boot both the mobo + hdd)
2. mobo fan/casing fan issue (if your place is dusty, the fan bearing most likely gave up dy. Open up the casing, if your fan is not spinning, confirm sure your mobo overheat over time)
3. hdd issue (especially if you're not using surveillance HDD eg: skyhawk from SG, purple from WD)
4. mobo issue
5. Sata power/data cable faulty (very very VERY slim chance but kena before)

Occurrence frequency from 1 > 5
CDSecurity P
post Aug 11 2020, 11:10 AM

Probation
23 posts

QUOTE(alandhw @ Aug 11 2020, 10:59 AM)
mobo stand for?
My DVR without fan.
I did suspect the adapter as well but yet to be try out.
I do shutdown the DVR for several days and start again to observe the rebooting pattern.
First 3 days the DVR just working fine without rebooting. Day 4 the DVR start rebooting itself.
Once it go into rebooting mode, it will keep rebooting non stop until I need to shutdown the DVR.
mobo = motherboard/main board

It'd help us to understand better if you can take a picture of the recorder, front panel and preferably the sticker (model) usually underneath the belly of the recorder.
Recorders without fan tend to have a higher warranty return rate for us.

Chances are if your recorder is more than 1 year old, most likely it's the adaptor issue.
Just double check if the adaptor is 12V 2A, also if the connector is proprietary like HIK recorders or just normal DC plug.
CDSecurity P
post Aug 18 2020, 02:16 PM

Probation
23 posts

QUOTE(alandhw @ Aug 18 2020, 10:12 AM)
Decoder Model: Alma-ED9308H5NV-8P
AC Adapter Model: 2ABU120R, input: 100-240V, output: +48V
Hardisk: Toshiba DT01ABA100V
I'm assuming you're using IP cameras? 48V should be an adaptor for built-in PoE switch iinm.

CDSecurity P
post Aug 19 2020, 11:07 AM

Probation
23 posts

TS is using an NVR for his IP Cameras + it's a unit with built-in PoE ports.
RM150 isn't going to cut it.

from experience, 48V adaptors rarely do spoil compared to those 12V ones.

In this case, since TS already showed the Toshiba HDD, suspect most likely the Toshiba HDD is acting up.

Also, that model is not for CCTV use. You can actually call your supplier and tell him you suspect hard disk issue. See if he's willing to bring a spare HDD to come over and help diagnose the issue?

0.0188sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:00 AM