Hardware CCTV recorder keep rebooting, HELP!!
Jul 17 2018, 09:33 AM, updated 8y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
3 posts Joined: Jul 2018 |
I have 8 channel DVR. The unit is currently suffering from a rebooting issue. Approx. every 5 minutes its rebooting. I have pulled all of the connection from the back of the DVR as well as unplugged the HD with no result. There no error msg Model : HT4208-II SATA HD HELP!!! thank you!!! |
Jul 17 2018, 09:36 AM
7,938 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
I think it is the hardware failure. How old is it? Like laptop, rebooting can be caused by CPU getting too hot due to dust prevent heatsink fail to cool off the CPU
Jul 17 2018, 10:04 AM
527 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
QUOTE(Clsiang @ Jul 17 2018, 09:33 AM) I have 8 channel DVR. The unit is currently suffering from a rebooting issue. Approx. every 5 minutes its rebooting. did still booting every 5 minutes after unplugged?I have pulled all of the connection from the back of the DVR as well as unplugged the HD with no result. There no error msg Model : HT4208-II SATA HD HELP!!! thank you!!! |
Jul 19 2018, 11:01 AM
Jul 19 2018, 11:03 AM
Aug 3 2020, 10:17 AM
1,961 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
QUOTE(Clsiang @ Jul 19 2018, 11:03 AM) Facing the same issue here.I notice it will reboot after some period of times, roughly 3-4 days CCTV running. Suspect the decoder is heating up cause the reboot. Tried putting a fan to cool down the heat, but it doesn't help. |
Aug 11 2020, 04:41 AM
785 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Rebooting could be due to :
1. Overheat or under power - power adapter or overheat 2. Software hang - due to wrong setting (normally network, p2p issue) |
Aug 11 2020, 09:29 AM
14,909 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(alandhw @ Aug 3 2020, 10:17 AM) Facing the same issue here. Try replacing the AC adapterI notice it will reboot after some period of times, roughly 3-4 days CCTV running. Suspect the decoder is heating up cause the reboot. Tried putting a fan to cool down the heat, but it doesn't help. Find an AC adapter that provides the same voltage, same polarity, but with higher amps Don't use those universal AC adapter where you can change the voltage, those are crap |
Aug 11 2020, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Aug 11 2020, 09:29 AM) Try replacing the AC adapter Thanks for the suggestion.Find an AC adapter that provides the same voltage, same polarity, but with higher amps Don't use those universal AC adapter where you can change the voltage, those are crap The installer help me to format the hardisk. According to him, the hardisk need to format after some period of times to keep the performance. For my case, I have using it nearly 3 years but never format it. Lets monitor it after this. |
Aug 11 2020, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(alandhw @ Aug 11 2020, 09:49 AM) According to him, the hardisk need to format after some period of times to keep the performance. Absolute nonsense |
Aug 11 2020, 10:52 AM
Probation
23 posts Joined: Mar 2019 |
QUOTE(alandhw @ Aug 11 2020, 09:49 AM) Thanks for the suggestion. if it keeps rebooting, most likelyThe installer help me to format the hardisk. According to him, the hardisk need to format after some period of times to keep the performance. For my case, I have using it nearly 3 years but never format it. Lets monitor it after this. 1. adaptor issue (power supplied from adaptor is not enough to boot both the mobo + hdd) 2. mobo fan/casing fan issue (if your place is dusty, the fan bearing most likely gave up dy. Open up the casing, if your fan is not spinning, confirm sure your mobo overheat over time) 3. hdd issue (especially if you're not using surveillance HDD eg: skyhawk from SG, purple from WD) 4. mobo issue 5. Sata power/data cable faulty (very very VERY slim chance but kena before) Occurrence frequency from 1 > 5 |
Aug 11 2020, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(CDSecurity @ Aug 11 2020, 10:52 AM) if it keeps rebooting, most likely mobo stand for?1. adaptor issue (power supplied from adaptor is not enough to boot both the mobo + hdd) 2. mobo fan/casing fan issue (if your place is dusty, the fan bearing most likely gave up dy. Open up the casing, if your fan is not spinning, confirm sure your mobo overheat over time) 3. hdd issue (especially if you're not using surveillance HDD eg: skyhawk from SG, purple from WD) 4. mobo issue 5. Sata power/data cable faulty (very very VERY slim chance but kena before) Occurrence frequency from 1 > 5 My DVR without fan. I did suspect the adapter as well but yet to be try out. I do shutdown the DVR for several days and start again to observe the rebooting pattern. First 3 days the DVR just working fine without rebooting. Day 4 the DVR start rebooting itself. Once it go into rebooting mode, it will keep rebooting non stop until I need to shutdown the DVR. |
Aug 11 2020, 11:10 AM
Probation
QUOTE(alandhw @ Aug 11 2020, 10:59 AM) mobo stand for? mobo = motherboard/main boardMy DVR without fan. I did suspect the adapter as well but yet to be try out. I do shutdown the DVR for several days and start again to observe the rebooting pattern. First 3 days the DVR just working fine without rebooting. Day 4 the DVR start rebooting itself. Once it go into rebooting mode, it will keep rebooting non stop until I need to shutdown the DVR. It'd help us to understand better if you can take a picture of the recorder, front panel and preferably the sticker (model) usually underneath the belly of the recorder. Recorders without fan tend to have a higher warranty return rate for us. Chances are if your recorder is more than 1 year old, most likely it's the adaptor issue. Just double check if the adaptor is 12V 2A, also if the connector is proprietary like HIK recorders or just normal DC plug. |
Aug 13 2020, 02:36 PM
785 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I hate this type of question without providing model or any pictures or your setting screen. Wish you luck
Aug 18 2020, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(CDSecurity @ Aug 11 2020, 11:10 AM) mobo = motherboard/main board Decoder Model: Alma-ED9308H5NV-8PIt'd help us to understand better if you can take a picture of the recorder, front panel and preferably the sticker (model) usually underneath the belly of the recorder. Recorders without fan tend to have a higher warranty return rate for us. Chances are if your recorder is more than 1 year old, most likely it's the adaptor issue. Just double check if the adaptor is 12V 2A, also if the connector is proprietary like HIK recorders or just normal DC plug. AC Adapter Model: 2ABU120R, input: 100-240V, output: +48V Hardisk: Toshiba DT01ABA100V ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Aug 18 2020, 10:14 AM
Aug 18 2020, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(alandhw @ Aug 18 2020, 10:14 AM) You are right as formatting the disk doesn't help. That's why I said it's absolutely nonsense. Formatting the system doesn't helpAfter a week, the rebooting issue still exist. The installer just trying to run from his responsibility You need to find a power supply with higher amp. Voltage & polarity needs to stay the same, just the amp need to be higher |
Aug 18 2020, 02:16 PM
Probation
QUOTE(alandhw @ Aug 18 2020, 10:12 AM) Decoder Model: Alma-ED9308H5NV-8P I'm assuming you're using IP cameras? 48V should be an adaptor for built-in PoE switch iinm.AC Adapter Model: 2ABU120R, input: 100-240V, output: +48V Hardisk: Toshiba DT01ABA100V |
Aug 18 2020, 02:23 PM
411 posts Joined: Jan 2018 |
Aug 18 2020, 03:29 PM