How to buy cheap ASUS RT-AC68U router, come have a look

ulala2
post Oct 31 2018, 04:51 PM

245 posts

just found out with Asus store 999 but free 2 fan, another shop 899 without free gift. However mentioned if buy now with 899, in the event 11.11 drop till 850, they will rebate the diff, i.e. 49 back to u.
ulala2
post Oct 31 2018, 05:22 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(junclj @ Oct 30 2018, 12:43 PM)
I was flashed to merlin firmware, then flash back again to asus stock firmware because do not have aimesh in merlin custom firmware.
What is the purpose to use merlin firmware instead of using Asus firmware?
ulala2
post Nov 2 2018, 01:08 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(thunderbird @ Nov 2 2018, 09:58 AM)
Based on the hints given by Taobao, i am guessing the price for this router on 11.11 will be RMB799 or RMB749.
Asus own voucher if 699 discount 10
TMall voucher if 400 discount 50
Angpow 8

so if all voucher is 68
Let say if 799, then become 731 = RM 441... drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
ulala2
post Nov 7 2018, 11:35 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Nov 6 2018, 07:12 PM)
btw i'm using this taobao forwarder warehouse..
https://elogisticscn.com/index.php?route=common/home

in case anyone wanted to find 1..
it has malaysia's bank account easier to send money (maybank)
the CS can communicate in english quite well.. so for me chinese banana.. this website works great.. and it's in english too..

if u guys got other cheaper than this website.. can share to me? thanks
For those got problem with taobao direct shipment, yo may try this china third party warehouse

www.rapidmy.com

I has been using for this for many years, so far not much issue.
For the router must select sensitive item where the charges is Normal fee + sensitive fee.

This post has been edited by ulala2: Nov 7 2018, 11:41 AM

ulala2
post Nov 7 2018, 04:07 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Nov 7 2018, 03:42 PM)
Crazy Sales on TMall during 11.11

RT-AC86U : RMB 789 (1st 100 units)
RT-AC5300 : RMB 1199 (1st 100 units)
GT-AC5300 : RMB 1799 (1st 100 units)

For those who interested with the RT-AC5300, can try your luck during 08.11, they are offering at RMB 799, but only LIMITED to 1 unit!!!
Just wondering will their system able to handle the traffic? Cause is my 1st time buying there during such event. A bit worry it will be like some of our local promo time, their website load like snail from booking till payment...
Just checked with their customer service, the price still subject to change.
Need to refer to the price on that day itself.
ulala2
post Nov 7 2018, 04:19 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Nov 7 2018, 04:16 PM)
Are you checking with the Official Asus Tmall store?

I did refer to few other tmall store which sell Asus router too, for GT-AC5300 this model all is pricing it at RMB 1799. Some store even gurantee to return the price difference if you happen to find cheaper price compare to them.

So I guess mostly will be the final price liao. But of course if they manage to lower it on that day, it would be even better...

Hopefully my 1st 11.11 purchase will have a pleasant experience....
Checked with ASUS official shop.
Other shop also got the price gurantee, mean if now u buy with 799, on 11.11, sell 750, they will return 49 to u.
ulala2
post Nov 8 2018, 11:22 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(window0722 @ Nov 8 2018, 09:51 AM)
Hey bro.I have read many commend but still not sure , somebody say taobao direct or wherehouse forward will reject from custom because is sensitive item.Somebody say is ok no any blocking.So can you comfirm with me your by experiense.Thanks
For those sensitive items, confirmed Taobao direct shipment cannot, if can u are super lucky.

u need to get a local agent, where the items u purchased will delivery to China local agent warehouse with no cost.
And u need to ship the items from that third party warehouse to Malaysia either through Air or Sea. for sensitive item, Air will need about 5-7 days while Sea normally 25 days.

The charges is normal shipment charges + sensitive charges.

U can try the agent i used for many year at "www.rapidmy.com". Bought tone of sensitive products before and no issue to delivery to Malaysia.

ulala2
post Nov 9 2018, 02:43 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(willaw @ Nov 9 2018, 01:13 PM)
Says here no warranty. According to reviews, about 1 to 2 weeks.

Yeah. The cheapest I found in this forum is RM615 not including shipping and agent fees.
Current Offer at Taobao will be RMB 789
With 1st coupon from Asus show -RMB10
With coupon from Taobao, > RMB400 - RMB50

So the revised price may RMB 789 - 10 - 50 = RMB 729

Assuming the total weight for the router is 1.5kg, so the air shipment cost by using skynet will be

1) 1st KG = RMB 21
2) Balance 0.5kg = RMB 20
3) Sensitive 1st KG= RMB 30
4) Sensitive balance 0.5kg = RMB 0.5

So total air shipment cost = 21 + 20 +30 + 0.5 = 71.5

Total cost incurred will be RMB 729 + 71.5 = RMB 800.5

With exchange rate 1 RMB = RM 0.60

Total cost in RM = RM480.83.

This post has been edited by ulala2: Nov 9 2018, 02:43 PM

ulala2
post Nov 9 2018, 04:12 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Nov 9 2018, 03:34 PM)
where to get that special voucher rmb50 discount?

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
ulala2
post Nov 12 2018, 01:04 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(thunderbird @ Nov 11 2018, 01:06 AM)
taobao system ok pun, all went smoothly... bought with RMB768 after all ang pow deduction.

Like i said before, this year is the 10th anniversary, they know how to do it.
Due to want to place order and make payment earlier for free gift, forgot to use all my voucher, only managed to buy with RMB 753.

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

But now still not send out yet, customer service say queuing
ulala2
post Nov 12 2018, 02:09 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Nov 12 2018, 01:27 PM)
holy shiet. why I didn't see this price? demmit. Lucky you bro.
This is 789 minus angpow become 753
If not mistaken, 1st 200 customer to buy with 789
ulala2
post Nov 12 2018, 06:58 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Nov 12 2018, 06:20 PM)
Just check my router is ready to be ship out... Luckily no need to wait till 20th Nov~
mine one also shipped out, expected tomorrow reach my warehouse
ulala2
post Nov 13 2018, 02:19 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(kwai_83 @ Nov 13 2018, 08:51 AM)
whos router have been send out from ware house
Shipped to my warehouse just now, weight 1.9kg.

Still waiting for my other item to pack together.

ulala2
post Nov 13 2018, 02:40 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Nov 13 2018, 02:30 PM)
Just receive update from my taobao app, my router is at the warehouse ady...

Now still left 1 more item to arrive, then it can be ship back to Malaysia...
Yaya, this is my 1st shopping during 11.11 with taobao. Before this I heard a lot of negative feedback during such event. But to my surprise, things went smooth after all...
If you compared their tracking system on the parcel delivery, our local courier company no way near them.

D't know when Malaysia can have such tracking system.....
ulala2
post Nov 13 2018, 06:19 PM

245 posts

I also bought the network adapter for my PC. My current on board Lan not sure what happen always stuck at 100mbps and not 1Gbps.

Hope when both installed, can achieved high download speed.

ulala2
post Nov 14 2018, 10:33 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(LOLmama @ Nov 13 2018, 08:39 PM)
Shipped out from forwarder warehouse already.
Actual weight 1.84kg
Packing weight 1.86kg
Packing size 37*25*24
Packing material (volumetric) weight 3.7kg
Total delivery fee RM36
So cheap the delivery fee??
U shipped out using normal item shipment or sensitive.

air shipment or sea shipment?
ulala2
post Nov 28 2018, 04:37 PM

245 posts

OMG, the first 500 purchased AC86U completed the transaction within 55 sec, no wonder i do not receive any free gift.

https://asus.tmall.com/p/rd465845.htm?spm=a...ene=taobao_shop
ulala2
post Nov 28 2018, 05:31 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Nov 28 2018, 05:17 PM)
i only received a free Gamers Republic backpack...which is kinda cool but not really useful for the router haha
My payment is stuck and keep loading within the 1st minutes.. only manage to make payment few minutes later.

Lucky u.
ulala2
post Nov 30 2018, 09:04 AM

245 posts

Just got time to install my AC86U yesterday, the speed is slightly better than AC55u, not sure what is the problem or any setting i miss out.

My unifi Package : 800mbps
Speed Test : 480-510 mbps (both Lan and Wifi)
Direct link download : 11mpbs max
BT download : 21mbps max

the download load speed not sure is it capped at 11mbps due to the source server or not. Try few file also like that. Is there any1 can get higher than this?

This post has been edited by ulala2: Nov 30 2018, 09:04 AM
ulala2
post Nov 30 2018, 12:57 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 30 2018, 10:31 AM)
Something wrong there
RT-AC86U is more than capable of handling 800Mb/s speed

Did you by any chance enabled the QOS? If you did, disable it and run the speedtest through LAN cable again

Also, try to differentiate between Mb & MB
b - bit
B - Byte

8 bits equals to 1 byte
100Mb/s ÷ 8 = 12.8MB/s
800Mb/s ÷ 8 = 100MB/s

I'm using UniFi 500Mb/s and I can reach 62.5MB/s just fine using direct download
mind to share lino for any large file u download with that kind of download rate.
Coz suspected something the source server capped the download rate.

Contacted TM, they ask to screen shot and monitor for further, if still same, they will reset the port and try again.

0.0496sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:09 PM