[2018/2019] MacBook Pro User Thread

willi_chs
post Jul 16 2019, 08:11 AM

202 posts

I'm considering base MBP since my older MBA 2014's display got some whitening issue...
What is the best storage option i can get? 128 or 256 or beyond?

I'm not that hardcore video / image editor and only used for web surfing, Netflix, U tubing, etc.

I like to use Windows with Boot Camp, last time i've used was Macbook Aluminium 2008 (due to massive 500GB HDD)... but I chose MBA due to portability. I deciding wan to use Boot Camp once more for newer model (aka base MBP 2019)

Sadly, 128GB MBA wasn't enuf... due to my few iOS backups took away most of d storage...

N also, I'm occasional PC gamer (still Console Gamer at heart)

So TL:DR, which storage option is best for me? 128 or 256 or beyond...

This post has been edited by willi_chs: Jul 16 2019, 08:12 AM
willi_chs
post Jul 16 2019, 10:12 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 16 2019, 08:56 AM)
Since u need to run bootcamp, 128gb is totally out of questions.

256gb is the ‘bare’ minimum but u are likely to rely a lot on cloud storage or external storage still. If u are on Budget constraint, this is the bare minimum that u can go for.

best option should be 512gb which will give u enough ‘working space’ for long run. my ‘working space’ refers to the storage size that can allow u to work on daily basis without regularly move ur files to external storage or cloud storage and enjoy the maximum data transfer rate of the built-in ssd of macbook.

I always see people asking for advices here for storage options, whether 128gb or 256gb enough. When they are advised for going for higher, they will find all sort of ‘reasons’ to ‘justify’ why they can survive with the Low storage option. Some of the reasons they gave will be they can work on cloud storage, they can buy external hardisks etc. Seriously, if u need to find so many ‘reasons’ to convince itself that the Low option can work, it already means that the storage option does not fit u but u just find ‘reasons’ to justify for ur Budget.

Some of them after less than a year, want to find replacement ssd for bigger storage, end up they actually spent more money due to the labour costs, harder to find parts, even can find the storage speed is way way behind the Apple ssd also.

I always believe the theory of “buy cheap and pay twice”. I understand that some may really have Budget constraints, but if that’s the case, u might end up better to go with cheaper options instead of Apple which u can get cheap and big.

Buying something right at the start is important for Apple products since they are not upgradable. Do be warned that new macbook 2019 has soldered storage. Even u want to upgrade the ssd next time, u cannot do so even. Think carefully before u proceed.
I truly agree with u bro

Soldered SSD will be greater pain to swallow if wan to upgrade...

With current MBA, i've away got restricted with "low storage" message many times while download things...

So yea, best to fork out more for higher SSD, i guess 256GB is enuf for me

Thanks for d advice yo!
willi_chs
post Jul 16 2019, 11:36 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 16 2019, 11:05 AM)
no prob. happy purchasing.  tongue.gif
Only prob now is when is it comin' over here... lol :X
willi_chs
post Jul 16 2019, 04:06 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 16 2019, 12:44 PM)
just wait for it. haha. should be here soon.

dun go for MBA just becos of this. haha.
Yea. I've done enuf wit MBA d

Time to spec / rev up to MBP
willi_chs
post Jul 22 2019, 03:41 PM

202 posts

I checked with the Machines staff.

According to them, when Macbook launches in US, it will take about one to two months to reach to our shores... (talking about the long waiting period... *gulp*)

That's not the case for the newly launch Macbook Air (with True Tone) - one week after initial launch in US

So what is, one month? Still long geh...
willi_chs
post Jul 31 2019, 08:05 AM

202 posts

I'm in d dilemma of choosing between 8GB RAM or 16GB RAM...

What are the requirements of choosing 16GB RAM over 8GB RAM?

Keep looking over the U tube video reviews doesn't much help...

O.o

This post has been edited by willi_chs: Jul 31 2019, 08:06 AM
willi_chs
post Jul 31 2019, 12:02 PM

202 posts

How about casual gaming?
willi_chs
post Aug 1 2019, 08:46 PM

202 posts

I wan to consider installment plan for a MBP...

I'm considering dis as a long term investment

Is there any Mac shop can order the spec up MBP?

Based on u guys feedbacks on upgraded RAM...
willi_chs
post Aug 7 2019, 08:37 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Aug 7 2019, 03:02 AM)
Currency rate standardization?
Dun think so... as the price has been officially stated in Apple website

Perhaps due to awaiting SIRIM approval, as per last post here...
willi_chs
post Aug 7 2019, 08:38 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(babyCincau @ Aug 6 2019, 09:56 PM)
Anyone know why the new 13 inch STILL NOT available in Malaysia???
Nobody knows

Still shaking legs

But least good amount of time now to decide d machine of ur dreams

willi_chs
post Aug 7 2019, 09:31 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(samkian @ Aug 7 2019, 09:11 AM)
I think is available to purchase now
Sugoi!!! FINALLY
willi_chs
post Aug 9 2019, 08:48 AM

202 posts

Just my concern...

Will 8GB RAM to b obsolete in the next 5 years?

Let's say la...

Advise pls
willi_chs
post Aug 19 2019, 02:21 PM

202 posts

Bought 13 inch 1.4Ghz 8GB 256Gb SSD Space Grey instead from Machines on Friday...

At first I was skeptical whether to upgrade SSD or RAM for d past week prior to launch, but overall I feel very satisfied of the specs in the long run...

I played some Steam games, tested YouTube vids and running few programs that is not power taxing, all ran well

Perfect laptop for me in the long run smile.gif
willi_chs
post Dec 23 2019, 11:13 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(SolId SnaKe @ Dec 23 2019, 01:27 AM)
hi sifus,

jz wanna ask, i bought macbook 13inch in september and have been using it quite satisfactory..however sometimes while jz doing normal browsing and spotifying, the laptop fan runs quite loud for a period of time before stop.. is it normal?
I have these issues occasionally, probably mayb becuz of Spolight index running in the background (it only happens once after every software updates)...

Which model r u referring at bro? 2019 13-inch base model?
willi_chs
post Dec 23 2019, 11:31 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(SolId SnaKe @ Dec 23 2019, 11:27 AM)
2019, 13 inch base model ya..256gb... jz recently out in august model.
Oic...

Based on my observation, it's normal when the fan (single fan fyi) run below 2000 rpm and slightly warm at ard 40-50 C.

The only time the fan ran at higher speed and super hot was when i opened GPU-based gaming apps like Steam, Epic Games Store, etc... (i do not use productivity apps at all tongue.gif)

0.4566sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:53 PM