FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early, Share your experience

aspartame
post Nov 23 2019, 12:41 AM

3,165 posts

[quote=Dd2318,Nov 22 2019, 08:21 PM]

[/quote]
No medical specialist so free in the morning to respond a forumer from a nobody marginalised B40 person lah. He'll be making rounds, seeing patients, etc.

The language used, the defence in the response all suggests otherwise, hardly reflect a successful person with estimated sgd 15-20million, to generate a sgd500k annualised passive income. He couldn't be getting 10% dividend, more likely 3-5% dividend.

You really think a high calibre medical professionals, need to seek inputs from this Malaysia forum... To get acceptance from B40s, retirees, small time players, Malaysian millionaires, that he shud retire...Or a fake try to glorify his fantasies? Siao le!!!

Fake lah!!! Take whole packet of salt lah,.. A pinch not enuf.

[/quote]

Huh? Why u so skeptical? Why can’t a successful person visit forum? Even a billionaire is not some super human being.. I can tell u some seemingly very successful ppl are pretty lacking either in financial skills or general knowledge ... from the way he answered some posts, he is quite a legit medical specialist ... of course I might be wrong ,, who cares? You answer and assume it is real to get into the gist of the discussion Mah... so skeptical.. adui.. even if it’s fake .. what do u lose ?

Being a medical specialist for so long in Singapore, sgd30mil net worth is not unreasonable ..
aspartame
post Nov 23 2019, 12:05 PM

3,165 posts

[quote=Bora Prisoner,Nov 23 2019, 08:09 AM]
Your calculation could be right,... 20mil, could generate 500K per year at 2.5% return. That's why I need to see his portfolio too, observes how he segregates his instruments and how he diversifies.

If he does not reply,... then too bad,.. maybe 'unreal' then.

[/quote]

you all still layan ka?

[/quote]

What’s wrong here? Dun understand ....
aspartame
post Nov 23 2019, 12:46 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 23 2019, 12:06 PM)
Yeah bro,... quite agreeable with your first sentence.

To your second sentence, I think if a person works hard all his life to earn a lot from his profession or his work, he will have not much time to work on his investing life. He will not be able to focus. There will always be things 'pulling him away' when he tries to, literally.. sit down to study his instruments. Then his family commitments will 'pull him away' too.

Hence, this doc may be able to accumulate 30mil in his career till today, but he must also know how to save this 30mil and not spend it all away, for he may not have learnt how to 'reproduce' more money from this 30mil. If he is to stop working, then his decumulation phase starts.

Under decumulation phase, he will have to be extra careful.

Otherwise, he can NEVER stop working. For he has never learnt to invest on his own.
Bro Hansel, I know you take pride in your investing prowess but my opinion is if one has a large enough capital a.k.a brute force.. he need not depend on return percentage to generate enough income to sustain his lifestyle ..

A simple conservative rental/bonds/stocks is sufficient to generate 3% yield which he can use up all as his underlying assets are hedged against inflation (except bonds )...

And, for many people , it is actually better to take a conservative/passive approach including indexing because most people including the bulk of fund managers AND hedge fund managers cannot outperform the market ...

This post has been edited by aspartame: Nov 23 2019, 12:46 PM
aspartame
post Nov 23 2019, 01:39 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 23 2019, 01:06 PM)
Sure bro,... if yuo reach the level of 'brute force', then no need to talk further,... then we are talking abt someone with the likes of Temasek's or JLow's assets. NO need to even know abt investing perhaps,...

I was talking more abt a doc with sgd30mil earlier.

biggrin.gif Tq bro,...

I worked hard to learn all these,... pushing-pulling and pulling-pushing all my life in my work, family, and friends,... today, reached a level whereby I just need to read the headlines and I can do a guesstimate of what is happening outside there.

I think I outperformed many index benchmarks for many years,... but well,... I have not accumulated any documentation to provide evidence here,...
Bro, I think I believe u do outperform the market as can be seen from your words ... dun worry this is a forum , there is no need to prove anything to anybody unless one wants to.... one filters what he believes and not believe himself...from what ppl write.. u more or less know
aspartame
post Nov 23 2019, 01:44 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 23 2019, 01:08 PM)
There are many schools of thought. Some contented with $1m, $4m, $10m, $30m, $100m or never ending wealth.

If one has a trustworthy r.m at private bank, yield could be consistently higher than normal f.d rate; don't need to learn how to invest.

If one has been thrifty, is likely remain thrifty and unlikely to consume excessively.
With excessive commission paid, it is a tall order for RM to consistently outperform the market .. yr RM is just on a winning streak:)
aspartame
post Nov 23 2019, 02:08 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 23 2019, 01:59 PM)
High yield bonds yield better than f.d.

Depending on banks and products; certain banks r.m don't earn commission; etf is available from some.
High yield bonds can become total loss bonds...

Don’t be silly... not all products charge explicitly ... some products are charged hideously by packaging it in different ways ...but make no mistake , nothing is free
aspartame
post Nov 23 2019, 02:38 PM

3,165 posts

[quote=Bora Prisoner,Nov 23 2019, 02:28 PM]
What’s wrong here? Dun understand ....

[/quote]

Its ok bro, didnt expect everyone to get it

Carry on then

[/quote]

Huh? Just say la....I don’t understand really...
aspartame
post Nov 23 2019, 03:04 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Nov 23 2019, 02:56 PM)
A Sept'19 account that knows "/k's 20k/month". That's 108% a /k dupe & most likely just a kuda.

But there's quite a number of those kinda people here too; blow water kuda. Throw in some high quality bait, kopi pasta materials, plucked some statistic from thin air & kuda all over. Then new users calls them sifu/master. When the account finally ripen, it's ready for aromachong round 2.
I know what u mean but he could be following this forum for a while and know of all these lingos.... even it’s a dupe account, it does not mean anything at all...

He has medical knowledge .. what’s the point of kudaing so much? He seems to be asking genuinely la... anyway, it’s anybody guess but I just take it as it’s real and answer from there ... whether it is really real or not , who cares ? It’s not as if my life depended on it ...
aspartame
post Nov 23 2019, 03:24 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Nov 23 2019, 03:11 PM)
Well like you said, just answer sincerely assuming it's real. There's nothing much to lose anyway.

When you said that you don't understand, i thought you don't understand the underlying meaning. But if you're referring to don't understand as in what's wrong, then there's nothing wrong to answer or not. Just personal preference.
Ya, I was referring to not caring whether it’s real or not.. just take it as a real scenario and then discuss on it lo.. thx
aspartame
post Nov 23 2019, 03:37 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Nov 23 2019, 03:34 PM)
You're a kind soul, keep it up as this place needs more people like yourself. There quality here has been dropping over the years.
Thx for compliment ya.. but I not really a kind soul.. I just say truth as it is and sometimes I also agitate quite a number of ppl cause they talk nonsense or have what I believe are wrong convictions/ statements ...
aspartame
post Nov 30 2019, 11:43 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(iqlas @ Nov 30 2019, 10:36 AM)
I had been reading and watching alot of personal finance articles/videos lately. Just a question, when people(from usa) said save 20%-30% of your income. If i were to translate to malaysia situation, that means our employer and employee contribution already include in the 20% consideration correct? Because seems like usa 401k/roth ira is an optional rather then mandotary unlike our epf unless of course im misunderstanding of the situation.
I personally disregard the 20% to EPF as

1. If everyone is doing it, then there is no extra effort on your part.
2. Money locked up in EPF cannot be touched till 55.. and could be extended in the future. Money that you cannot access now is , strictly speaking, not your money ..yet.

This post has been edited by aspartame: Nov 30 2019, 11:44 AM
aspartame
post Dec 2 2019, 09:46 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Dec 2 2019, 09:35 AM)
Its the same conundrum everytime. High earners would not quit earning. Most people will always say they planned to retire at a certain age but when the time comes, and they realised the income they have been earning, there will be lots of excuses.
QUOTE(hksgmy @ Dec 2 2019, 11:55 AM)
I know what you mean. I tried to semi-retire 5 years ago after I passed 45y of age, and failed because I thought it was premature to cut short my professional and financial potential. This time, I'm super determined not to make the same mistake.

Hopefully, in 2 years' time, my plan will be executed and I'll be posting to this forum from Sydney.
This is very true. The opportunity cost of high income earners retiring is high. Perhaps lower income earners can take solace in knowing they did not give up much. The “worst” ones are profitable business with ongoing debtors ... if they can’t find buyers for their businesses (not easy), then they have to continue to slog it out...I think for professionals, it is slightly easier in that you can reduce your consultation time, and there is no uncollected debt...still, to really fully give up 100% is not easy too, I think.. more often than not, will not be early retirement
aspartame
post Dec 2 2019, 10:17 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 2 2019, 10:06 PM)
Another major factor to retire early or not is have children or child less.
QUOTE(hksgmy @ Dec 2 2019, 10:07 PM)
Agree. Wife and I have no children - one less variable to consider.
Yes. Kids can cause parents to delay retirement significantly , both in terms of ongoing educational expenses and also to earn as much as possible to pass on to kids. Not likely to retire if income is high in that case.
aspartame
post Dec 3 2019, 05:08 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 3 2019, 04:19 PM)
That's me.   smile.gif

But having said that, i am pretty much on track and schedule to retire when all has been fulfilled.
Your “when all has been fulfilled” is considered normal or early retirement?? 😅

This post has been edited by aspartame: Dec 3 2019, 05:08 PM
aspartame
post Dec 4 2019, 02:00 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Dec 4 2019, 01:47 PM)
Most forumers discuss about FI/RE but what about living life after it. In general most lump it in travelling and social work . In reality there is more to it as everyday life consists of 24hours daily, so what is the routine consist of ? Its also why some dread of retirement as they are really unsure of things that could captivate their daily life interestingly. In our lifelong career spanning many decades, things that occupy most of our waking moment will consist of work, family and some period of recreation. But upon retirement, career which for some people filled nearly 50% of their daily life is suddenly missing. A friend of mine , a former University professor upon retirement, felled into depression. As most people suggested  he travelled to quite a number of countries and even climb to the peak of a mountain. Its sort of trying to complete his bucket list. In reality, retirement is how we occupy the periods in our daily life that is the most important .
Fill up time by taking up hobbies.. cooking, language classes, Pilates...reading itself can take up a lot of time .. mix in some exercise routines both indoor/outdoor.... working to pass time is actually quite sad come to think of it ... it means you can’t find things to do other than work

aspartame
post Dec 5 2019, 06:18 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Dec 4 2019, 03:57 PM)
More than that, try to living below your means.

That means while you always to improve your source of income, be it active or passive, it is meaningless if you also increase your expenses.

Actively trying to reduce your expenses means you will be able to stretch every dollar you earn thus contributes significantly towards FI/RE.
Living below means is also subjective. How much below means? Some cut down expenses so much that I do not know whether to call it frugal or miserly. I mean, you can’t only plan for the future. You have to live in the present too. You must also enjoy the journey to FIRE. At least it should not be like a torture to reach there.
aspartame
post Dec 5 2019, 10:45 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Dec 5 2019, 09:23 AM)
Agreed, people confuses frugality with miserly so often it frustrates me.

To me, living below means or frugality is a mindset to adopt, that if one have those mindset, we are always evaluating how we are spending our resources and if it 'brings joy' to borrow a cliché.

That enables us to free up more resources as we go on this journey.
I think the economics terminology is “marginal utility”. What is the extra satisfaction we get per extra unit of money we spent. To give an example: take a person with income of 10k and he spends 3k only with saving rate of 70%. If he increases his expenses to 6k. The extra 3k will provide a lot of utility/satisfaction because he can now enjoy air cond, high speed Internet, once a while outings with friends for drink or cafes . In such a case, the savings of 3k over the long run is in my opinion not wise. If his income later increases to 20k, then a case can be made for him to maintain his expenses at 6k because, once the most basic needs/wants are covered, additional spending provides lesser and lesser utility . So, ya, it’s a constant evaluation of “how much more happy am I going to be by spending this money” . If you are driving a Myvi, probably spending more on a Vios does not provide much added utility.. but going from taking bus to driving Axia is a huge increase in utility .

QUOTE(Jordy @ Dec 5 2019, 10:19 AM)
As long as the expenses can cover basic living needs, not something extra that we do not need to have, that is frugal.

Basic living needs:
- 3x meals a day. Do not have to overspend in this category, just eat economical food.
- Car can buy older used car, preferably with cash if enough saved up. Try avoid loans especially for brand new cars.
- If salary below 5k, try avoid buying a house. Renting is cheaper than buying especially if it's a single person. Unless really necessary, keep the monthly installment to below the 30% monthly salary threshold.
- Can opt for local travels, not necessary to go abroad. One year can travel 2-3 times locally instead of just 1 time abroad. Many people just want to be instagramable by going abroad. That one can be done when achieve FI/RE, the country won't run away.

I cannot comment on other discretionary expenses such as shopping, social life and entertainment as everybody will view that differently. But to me, all these discretionary expenses can be avoided totally without affecting the quality of present life. Those who just want to live the present life or adapt to YOLO lifestyle can forget about FI/RE as they don't emphasise on the future.
Yes.

QUOTE(Selectt @ Dec 5 2019, 01:34 PM)
I may stray abit from your topic. FIRE is great achievement that not many can reach. Happy and congrats to those that can. However, end of the day with all the money we gather, we spending it to create memories and experience for ownself at later life. Some will contribute to family and community, kudos to people that contribute/donate to others, obviously they are one level above. But why not do it now? Is theres so called perfect life? Why we gather so much wealth that we dont use, you know you will never use.

Sometimes even the places we visited, we forget until we look at the pictures we took. Sometimes you wake up asking whats the point of life. Somehow it is hilarious, this is life. Lol
The problem is, unless you have way way more than needed, we don’t know really know whether we need the extra money/buffer in the future ... if only we know when and how we will die, then yes, we can spend the “extra”
QUOTE(cynthusc @ Dec 5 2019, 02:04 PM)
I think he is talking about private medical costs which is not covered by medical card because those above 70 usually cannot get medical card. My mum at 74 broke her arm and we kids paid for her surgery. Costs us close to 80K including metal plate, surgery and stays at the hospital.

Is there complication? 80k is a lot right for arm surgery ?

QUOTE(zstan @ Dec 5 2019, 02:11 PM)
this. my grandfather kena ruptured appendicitis, stayed in ICU and operation also more thaan 80k. No insurance coverage.
Is the bulk of charges from ICU? Even bypass does not cost that much right?
aspartame
post Dec 6 2019, 12:45 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Dec 6 2019, 11:52 AM)
Disclosure: I'm a doctor in private practice in Singapore.

Having said that, I agree 100% with what l4nc3k said above. I am still a visiting consultant to the "restructured" (ie. fancy term for government-funded) hospitals in Singapore, simply because the facilities there are equivalent and sometimes/often more advanced than private ones.

I'm fully covered with comprehensive medical insurance (bought with riders) which means I don't even have to fork out the excess, and I can choose either government or private hospitals.

However, if push ever came to shove, and I find myself needing tertiary care, the choice wouldn't be determined on the basis of government vs private hospital. I'd be more inclined to go with a good doctor that I can trust - and if that doctor happens to be in the government hospital, I'm happy to be under his care there.

Just because I'm covered 100% for all medical illnesses doesn't mean I have to max out and squeeze my policy dry. It doesn't benefit anyone - least of all honest premium payers.

Yes, very much agree. Just because a colonoscopy or a CT scan, chemo or angioplasty is covered under our medical policies doesn’t mean it is in our best interest to utilise it...medical evaluation must be done independently...
aspartame
post Dec 6 2019, 10:01 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(vanitas @ Dec 5 2019, 08:16 PM)
Just like some will wonder what's the point of FIRE.

While many will think life is more enjoyable after FIRE, but there will be always some people feeling emptiness.
IMO, if one enjoy the current job or work, I think it is unnecessary to consider FIRE. Finding meaningful thing (everyday) to occupy your life after retirement can be quite challenging.
I think the biggest reward for achieving FIRE is mental relief instead of actual retirement from job (which is optional because FIRE gives us the option)....the feeling that u never have to work again if u don’t feel like it is, to me, the ultimate reward of FIRE....it’s a huge burden off the shoulder ...the feeling itself is worth FIREing..
aspartame
post Dec 6 2019, 10:13 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 6 2019, 09:09 PM)
Knowing patients have insurance coverage, many local private hospital perform unnecessary elective procedure e.g colonoscopy, etc.

Major government hospitals have more advanced equipment and their specialist/consultant are more trained than most private hospital.

Those insisted on private hospital, seeking non emergency medical treatment in Thailand, India or even Germany could be cheaper than the bolehland is a option.
Government hospital need to queue .. otherwise, ppl no need private hospitals....

Never ever cross my mind to seek treatment in other countries ... Malaysia have enough world class uni grads as specialists at reasonable prices (still), and covered by insurance ...consultation with specialist almost always within 2 hours and less than RM200...

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0223sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:22 AM