FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early, Share your experience

Hansel
post Nov 23 2019, 12:10 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 22 2019, 10:15 PM)
Many well known bloggers derived their income from website visit, products/services sold and advertised. Hence, could only take their blogging with a pinch of salt.

Only those wannabe don't believe others could better them and insist others to post evidence/proof.
I agree with your first sentence that bloggers could be marketing stuff too,... yeah, perhaps another objective of a blogger.

I don't take to heart of you hinting that I'm a wannabee. You don't know who I am. And I don't believe you are an economics student.

And you are the one who's foolish for not wanting to learn from the journey of a successful investor. Or to PROUD to learn. Or too jealous to learn.

Instead,... regards people asking for tactics as asking for proof.
Hansel
post Nov 23 2019, 12:16 AM

9,347 posts

[quote=Dd2318,Nov 22 2019, 08:21 PM]

[/quote]
No medical specialist so free in the morning to respond a forumer from a nobody marginalised B40 person lah. He'll be making rounds, seeing patients, etc.

The language used, the defence in the response all suggests otherwise, hardly reflect a successful person with estimated sgd 15-20million, to generate a sgd500k annualised passive income. He couldn't be getting 10% dividend, more likely 3-5% dividend.

You really think a high calibre medical professionals, need to seek inputs from this Malaysia forum... To get acceptance from B40s, retirees, small time players, Malaysian millionaires, that he shud retire...Or a fake try to glorify his fantasies? Siao le!!!

Fake lah!!! Take whole packet of salt lah,.. A pinch not enuf.

[/quote]

Your calculation could be right,... 20mil, could generate 500K per year at 2.5% return. That's why I need to see his portfolio too, observes how he segregates his instruments and how he diversifies.

If he does not reply,... then too bad,.. maybe 'unreal' then.
Hansel
post Nov 23 2019, 11:28 AM

9,347 posts

[quote=Bora Prisoner,Nov 23 2019, 08:09 AM]
Your calculation could be right,... 20mil, could generate 500K per year at 2.5% return. That's why I need to see his portfolio too, observes how he segregates his instruments and how he diversifies.

If he does not reply,... then too bad,.. maybe 'unreal' then.

[/quote]

you all still layan ka?

[/quote]

Hmm,... tks for alerting,...
Hansel
post Nov 23 2019, 11:30 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Nov 23 2019, 12:45 AM)
Retiring early is on my mind when I just started work but after working for others for almost 14 years, I realized that retiring is not what I want. I dont mind working but I want my time to be flexible.

Decided to start my Company recently with existing 100k+ revenue per year. Once revenue double up and hired 2 staff than my mini wealth will be in full flow.

Client, staff or money will come and go but the business will always be there.
I like your spirit, bro,... what business are you in pls ?
Hansel
post Nov 23 2019, 12:06 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Nov 23 2019, 12:41 AM)
You answer and assume it is real to get into the gist of the discussion Mah... so skeptical.. adui.. even if it’s fake .. what do u lose ?

Being a medical specialist for so long in Singapore, sgd30mil net worth is not unreasonable ..
Yeah bro,... quite agreeable with your first sentence.

To your second sentence, I think if a person works hard all his life to earn a lot from his profession or his work, he will have not much time to work on his investing life. He will not be able to focus. There will always be things 'pulling him away' when he tries to, literally.. sit down to study his instruments. Then his family commitments will 'pull him away' too.

Hence, this doc may be able to accumulate 30mil in his career till today, but he must also know how to save this 30mil and not spend it all away, for he may not have learnt how to 'reproduce' more money from this 30mil. If he is to stop working, then his decumulation phase starts.

Under decumulation phase, he will have to be extra careful.

Otherwise, he can NEVER stop working. For he has never learnt to invest on his own.
Hansel
post Nov 23 2019, 01:06 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Nov 23 2019, 12:46 PM)
Bro Hansel, I know you take pride in your investing prowess but my opinion is if one has a large enough capital a.k.a brute force.. he need not depend on return percentage to generate enough income to sustain his lifestyle ..

A simple conservative rental/bonds/stocks is sufficient to generate 3% yield which he can use up all as his underlying assets are hedged against inflation (except bonds )...

And, for many people , it is actually better to take a conservative/passive approach including indexing because most people including the bulk of fund managers AND hedge fund managers cannot outperform the market ...
Sure bro,... if yuo reach the level of 'brute force', then no need to talk further,... then we are talking abt someone with the likes of Temasek's or JLow's assets. NO need to even know abt investing perhaps,...

I was talking more abt a doc with sgd30mil earlier.

biggrin.gif Tq bro,...

I worked hard to learn all these,... pushing-pulling and pulling-pushing all my life in my work, family, and friends,... today, reached a level whereby I just need to read the headlines and I can do a guesstimate of what is happening outside there.

I think I outperformed many index benchmarks for many years,... but well,... I have not accumulated any documentation to provide evidence here,...
Hansel
post Nov 23 2019, 01:16 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 23 2019, 01:08 PM)
There are many schools of thought. Some contented with $1m, $4m, $10m, $30m, $100m or never ending wealth.

If one has a trustworthy r.m at private bank, yield could be consistently higher than normal f.d rate; don't need to learn how to invest.

If one has been thrifty, is likely remain thrifty and unlikely to consume excessively.
I have been unlucky then !!!
Hansel
post Nov 23 2019, 01:52 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 23 2019, 01:39 PM)
Suggest you either request to change the r.m or move to another bank. B.o.s is highly recommended.
QUOTE(aspartame @ Nov 23 2019, 01:44 PM)
With excessive commission paid, it is a tall order for RM to consistently outperform the market .. yr RM is just on a winning streak:)
Yeah bro aspartame,... I think so too,... milking me, that lady,... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif but never mind-lar, she gives 'other things' in return,...

Bro iceman,... Bank-of-Singapore,... unfortunately,... does very close mark-to-mkt actions,... everything is marked-to-mkt,... my secretary told me this when she enquired with BOS earlier, when OCBC first bought over this wealth bank from another institution and renamed it to BOS,... forgot which institution it was.
Hansel
post Nov 23 2019, 01:56 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Nov 23 2019, 01:39 PM)
Bro, I think I believe u do outperform the market as can be seen from your words ... dun worry this is a forum , there is no need to prove anything to anybody unless one wants to.... one filters what he believes and not believe himself...from what ppl write.. u more or less know
Ok bro,....
Hansel
post Nov 23 2019, 02:33 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 23 2019, 01:59 PM)
High yield bonds yield better than f.d.
I would comment on my experiences with HY Bond Funds from Fidelity and Allianz. I never bought single-company HY Bonds,... no confidence to the rating agencies evaluation.

Yields would be better, generally. You can even get mnthly payouts. I don't think there is any FD in the world that will pay out mnthly interest.

BUT;,.... you must look at its returns too,...

If you look at the oerall returns from the performance charts, you will get this :-

1) if you look at the performance charts with dividends reinvested, you may get a rising performance over a certain period. But,..

2) if you look at the performance charts purely on the nav value, the tendency is you will get a falling nav over the same period.

This is what we have to be careful of.
Hansel
post Nov 23 2019, 02:40 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 23 2019, 02:19 PM)
High yield bonds is not capital guaranteed. As said, everyone's risks appetite is different.

Like all financial institutions, banks certainly needs to make money. There are many schools of thought; if one doesn't allow other to share, best to be self employed or self service.
All investments are NOT capital-guaranteed except for pure FDs from licenced banks by the authorities. And this too,... not the full amt is guaranteed.

Frankly,... I would want the bank to make money too,... I recalled one time. three years ago,.. I think ,... Standard Chartered, SG almost moved out of the share trading business because they charged too low and could not sustain. Retail investors lobbied hard over cyberspace and I think MAS read everything.

In the end, SCB, SG decided to 'let go' of their institutional business but retained the retail investors.

I would prefer to follow SCB.

Similarly today,... DBS Vickers is going to 'let go' of their call-in clients to UOB-KH,... BUT has decided to retain us retail investors who buy via net.
Hansel
post Nov 23 2019, 04:56 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Nov 23 2019, 03:37 PM)
Thx for compliment ya.. but I not really a kind soul.. I just say truth as it is and sometimes I also agitate quite a number of ppl cause they talk nonsense or have what I believe are wrong convictions/ statements ...
Well,... I, for one, was ready to believe, and possibly hoping that he was real. I have yet to meet someone with that amt of Passive Income being generated consistently, consciously....

For myself,... everytime I'm able to catch hold of a good income ctr/instrument, after sometime, either that ctr goes bad or another ctr gives problems for which I need to divest, at a profit or by loss-cutting. It's hard to build a consistent Passive income from instruments,...

I'll give a current situation for which I'm experiencing here and now, otherwise,... I might be regarded as a 'blow-water kuda',... biggrin.gif

Today,.. I'm struggling again,... I just divested First REIT which I've been holding for 13 years. FREIT was giving me 11+% of yield vs cost price. Don't know where to put the money.

Then, MNACT started giving me problems. 6.60% vs Cost Price. That day divested a few percent,... got money back also.

I was looking at ec World REIT,... but the hedging technique is really an issue here, the SGD dpu keeps falling.

I bought up SPH REIT for its 'safety' before it acquired Westfield Marion - this was nice timing,... I knew it would make an acquisition soon. Hehe,... but now ? The price fell after halt lifted, as if Westfield Marion was a bad buy.

I'm now averaging UP sad.gif, not down on a ctr, but I can't really say this ctr is very safe,....

This is what I am going through currently. Just sharing....
Hansel
post Nov 23 2019, 09:59 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 23 2019, 06:39 PM)
More likely a large number of scb priority customers have stocks as aum and likely to exit if scb no longer in stocks broking.
There isn't any instrument that is forever green. One needs to rebalance and shift portfolio from time to time.

Given growing online shopping, demand and yield of REITs is expected to drop.
To yr first sentence,... I'm sure the institutional clients (instos, in ASX investment forums) have large assets under mgmt with SCB too,... probably would be larger than retail priority clients. Why would SCB chose to 'push out' the instos to another party ?

To yr fourth sentence, what you said applies to RETAIL REITs only. There are many types of REITs.
Hansel
post Nov 23 2019, 10:16 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Nov 23 2019, 05:25 PM)
Bank Rakyat does. Some other banks also have monthly interest in fd strictly for senior citizens. Also longer term placements of 24 months and above get higher rates. 60 months placements are not unheard of.

The correct performance chart should be on its growth performance. Ignore those charts plotting the nav prices, the nav prices of mutual funds are erratic due its distribution/dividend, it is wrong and meaningless to plot their nav prices as if they are same as gold prices.

P.s. in a large fd placement, one can also ask/negotiate a better rate than the standard board rate.
Tq bro,....

Many years ago, I did consider B Rakyat when I was still investing inside PNB. I knew abt the good dividends there. But, well,... being Non-Bumi did not help, having said that, even Bumis are queueing to be members of this,.. I think it's a Koperasi,... and it has its own set of regulations and mandates. Can't remember,... That was my experience with B Rakyat,...

Hmm,... after that,.. I think I joined another bank or Koperasi that gave higher interest too,... can't remember the name now,....

Been forumming too much today. Pls ignore that I said this : I don't think there is any FD in the world that will pay out mnthly interest.

This is TOTALLY WRONG, forummers,... sorry ! biggrin.gif

What is a growth performance (chart?) for a mutual fund ? Can give an eg ? Perhaps I've been looking at the wrong report,...

I know abt the negotiation advantage for large amts of FDs.

Hansel
post Nov 23 2019, 10:29 PM

9,347 posts

Okay,... I remember now, funny,... after filling in my input into the Msian Taxation thread, my memory got jolted and I immediately recalled this Koperasi that I put my funds into.

It was Bank Pertanian !
Hansel
post Nov 24 2019, 02:03 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 24 2019, 02:38 AM)
Monthly interest has been there since time immemorial to me...
it goes to show even if unsure, you could still use the superlatives  to push your stand without  checking first.
I did correct my statement above without being shy abt it, right ??

Did you read that input ?

Frankly,... if I am to chk EVERYTHING before I say it, then it's not necessary to contribute in this forum anymore. It becomes too tedious. As an experienced investor, I better have my experiences and my knowledge at my finger-tips. If there are things I do not remember, I must be able to state so. You can see from all my posts that I am consistent in this nature if ine.

And,... finally, if I am wrong in my writing,... I say so and I may apologise if it's necessary to do so, which I have done so for this monthly FD payout thing.

So, what's the problem ?

Sure, I did not apologise when I predicted slightly inaccurately abt what the MAS will do past October 14th., but I deemed that 'error' is not something that needs me to apologise on. However, I did correct and point out my inaccuracy as a gentleman.
Hansel
post Nov 24 2019, 02:08 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 23 2019, 10:52 PM)
Institution clients tend to bank with investment bank.
Well, back then, SCB SG took in insto clients too,... this was done directly INSIDE SCB SG and not by an affiliation outside of the bank. Perhaps they charged too low and could not cover, hence, had to give up the insto clients to another insto.
Hansel
post Nov 24 2019, 02:15 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Nov 24 2019, 02:07 AM)
1) if you look at the performance charts with dividends reinvested, you may get a rising performance over a certain period. But,..

2) if you look at the performance charts purely on the nav value, the tendency is you will get a falling nav over the same period.

=========

The right growth chart or performance chart is as what you described in (1), with the income distribution reinvested. With the distribution/dividend included, it shows the actual value of your holdings, and thus its total growth/performance in percentage.

There are some sites showing charts on the nav price as you described in (2). As stated, the chart is based on the daily nav price. It may shows the daily increments of the nav price (which is equivalent to the "performance of the fund"), but this is accurate until the next distribution.

After each distribution, the nav price drops. Over a long period with many distributions, over multiple years, the chart based on the nav price would be relatively flat within a narrow band.

The chart in (2) is only good for a short period until the next distribution and not useable over a long period of several years. Best is to simply ignore and disregard these nav charts.

Do take note that the performance chart as in (1) may show a sudden dip after a distribution, but in the following days, the chart will be adjusted to show the correct daily increment/decrement after the distribution is factored in.
Okay, tq bro for the lengthy explanations,... just to add on my side,... I look at it this way, if I take out the dividends and I reinvest them elsewhere, in theory, if I 'win' in those investments that I put my dividends into, I will still be able to achieve the performance of the chart no 1) !

Secondly,... my investment in the Fidelity Euro HY AMDIST Bond Fund earlier still yielded me a higher nav when I divested on top of taking out the monthly dpu.

PERHAPS FOR THIS FUND, I ENTERED AT A REALLY RIGHT TIME. I sold with capital gain summore,....

Whatever Euro amt that I got back, I ported it over into the SGX to buy Cromwell European REITs in Euros.

Tks again,... thumbsup.gif
Hansel
post Nov 24 2019, 02:46 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 24 2019, 02:37 PM)
Scb had a few troublesome years, they were shredding non core business.
Yeah,... when I look at them, seems similar in pattern to HSBC, in some ways,.... Big, spread-out everywhere and fire-fighting here and there. I am not vested in SCB,... but I'm studying hard now on HSBC listed in HK.

Seems to me like the dpu earned in HKD is not really viable for investing,... unless of course, one intends to invest for long term inside HK.
Hansel
post Nov 25 2019, 12:00 AM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 24 2019, 05:22 PM)
Financially, hsbc fared better than scb.

Hsbc is sizeable in the u.k, other countries and also listed on lse.
Ok, bro.. appreciated the opinion,...

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0950sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:04 AM