tyres need changing afterall, aiming for magic carpet ride

6UE5T
post Jul 5 2018, 12:08 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 4 2018, 05:06 PM)
Yup, changed last weekend at 51,000km. Maybe will write more about it after 1000km when the compound settles/stabalises to normal driving and climate. But initial assessment for my daily use is quite significant improvement.  icon_rolleyes.gif

You fellors in klang/selangor area really can have it cheaper. I changed mine for 400/pcs. Before GST abolishment, got quoted the same price, that means either the seller or the dealer/distributor pocketed the gst savings  bangwall.gif  ranting.gif

In only managed to bargained for free metal tyre valves to make myself feel that little bit better....
Hahaha yeah, in Klang Valley we can get your tires for just a bit over rm300/pc.

I have already suspected that the abolishing of GST would not make much difference in price coz as we all should know, once prices went up it's very hard to come back down! Later in Sept with the intro of SST, it actually might increase again. doh.gif Anyway side tracked a bit...
TSicyd
post Jul 5 2018, 09:29 AM

727 posts

i've been thinking over this too much already. i've decided on 215/55/17. for this size, V12E2 is not available as far as i've researched. So im going with S1noble2 or advan fleva.now it's down to both these 2.appreciate any feedback on noble2 as compared to fleva
wkc5657
post Jul 5 2018, 10:48 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(icyd @ Jul 5 2018, 09:29 AM)
i've been thinking over this too much already. i've decided on 215/55/17. for this size, V12E2 is not available as far as i've researched. So im going with S1noble2 or advan fleva.now it's down to both these 2.appreciate any feedback on noble2 as compared to fleva
maybe you also consider the new michelin primacy 4, a really good touring tyre :
https://www.michelin.com.my/MY/en/tires/pro.../primacy-4.html
TSicyd
post Jul 5 2018, 11:01 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 5 2018, 10:48 AM)
maybe you also consider the new michelin primacy 4, a really good touring tyre :
https://www.michelin.com.my/MY/en/tires/pro.../primacy-4.html
too expensive.my budget around 350/pc only
wkc5657
post Jul 5 2018, 11:03 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jul 5 2018, 12:08 AM)
Hahaha yeah, in Klang Valley we can get your tires for just a bit over rm300/pc.

I have already suspected that the abolishing of GST would not make much difference in price coz as we all should know, once prices went up it's very hard to come back down! Later in Sept with the intro of SST, it actually might increase again.  doh.gif  Anyway side tracked a bit...
Businesses very pandai crying foul when price increase, and very snappy in making upward pricing adjustments. But, the best part is when price decrease, cry foul even louder to justify to maintain the higher price level.

I thought can save about RM50 during my change, but i guess the boss relented give in a bit to bundle with metal valves for me...

But during the change, at least i know v12evo2 really selling like hot cakes at the moment. My tyre set birthday at week 10 2018. So considering that it was made in korea and the logistics involved to get it to the workshop, the tyre didn't stay idle in the warehouse very long....so your "marketing" of the product very effective lor tongue.gif
6UE5T
post Jul 5 2018, 11:13 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(icyd @ Jul 5 2018, 09:29 AM)
Still within tolerance from your ori size but starting to get a bit too big in diameter. It may give you a bit sluggishness but comfort wise would be even better than 225/50/17.

S1 Noble2 is entry level UHP so maybe performance is slightly below Fleva. I suppose should be decent enough compared to your XM2, and it will last forever coz TW rating is a very high 500! laugh.gif
TSicyd
post Jul 5 2018, 12:05 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Jul 5 2018, 11:13 AM)
...and it will last forever coz TW rating is a very high 500!  laugh.gif
with my low annual mileage it might last me 15 years lol
TSicyd
post Jul 9 2018, 08:57 AM

727 posts

so i went to 3 shops, 2 didn't carry hankook, and 1 didn't have stock for my size. Most shops only carry crap brands or outdated contis. Ended up with fleva as the safest option. Though i felt i was being slightly overcharged for at RM370 a piece for 215/50/17.

That aside, i have to say that i'm impressed with fleva. after buying them again for my other car, it has reinforced my good impression of it. Noise was slightly lower than the XM2s but where XMs transmit rough higher frequency noise, the fleva is more of low hum which is more pleasing. only on some road surfaces it feels like they were completely muted. What it excels most though is in comfort. despite having thinner sidewall, the suppleness is amazing. either its that good or my previous XM2s were in very2 bad state. anyhow, if my wife can notice it, that means the difference is pretty significant. as for grip and handling, being UHP, it's more than enough for me. cornering is flatter and faster with much confidence while with the XM2 i always felt like i was on the limit.

Rolling resistance is good too. at the elmina toll plaza, i tested it by letting off the throttle from 110km/h at the 500m signboard and it just rolls right up to the toll gate still some speed which i shaved off by applying some light braking.

I recommend this tyre as a very good all rounder while rightfully being in UHP category. it does everything for me pretty well
leehernandez
post Jul 9 2018, 12:41 PM

QUOTE(icyd @ Jul 9 2018, 08:57 AM)
so i went to 3 shops, 2 didn't carry hankook, and 1 didn't have stock for my size. Most shops only carry crap brands or outdated contis. Ended up with fleva as the safest option. Though i felt i was being slightly overcharged for at RM370 a piece for 215/50/17.

That aside, i have to say that i'm impressed with fleva. after buying them again for my other car, it has reinforced my good impression of it. Noise was slightly lower than the XM2s but where XMs transmit rough higher frequency noise, the fleva is more of low hum which is more pleasing. only on some road surfaces it feels like they were completely muted. What it excels most though is in comfort. despite having thinner sidewall, the suppleness is amazing. either its that good or my previous XM2s were in very2 bad state. anyhow, if my wife can notice it, that means the difference is pretty significant. as for grip and handling, being UHP, it's more than enough for me. cornering is flatter and faster with much confidence while with the XM2 i always felt like i was on the limit.

Rolling resistance is good too. at the elmina toll plaza, i tested it by letting off the throttle from 110km/h at the 500m signboard and it just rolls right up to the toll gate still some speed which i shaved off by applying some light braking.

I recommend this tyre as a very good all rounder while rightfully being in UHP category. it does everything for me pretty well
manage to find fleva for 215/50/17?my friend have been looking for sometime.which place have the tyres?he found in h20 jalan kapar rm350 but tyre year is 2016.until now he still waiting for the new stock to arrive.
TSicyd
post Jul 9 2018, 03:34 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Jul 9 2018, 12:41 PM)
manage to find fleva for 215/50/17?my friend have been looking for sometime.which place have the tyres?he found in h20 jalan kapar rm350 but tyre year is 2016.until now he still waiting for the new stock to arrive.
the first set i bought in sg buloh. the latest i bought from that famous rim shop in shah alam
leehernandez
post Jul 24 2018, 11:07 AM

QUOTE(icyd @ Jul 9 2018, 03:34 PM)
the first set i bought in sg buloh. the latest i bought from that famous rim shop in shah alam
which shop?king of rims?
TSicyd
post Jul 24 2018, 06:01 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Jul 24 2018, 11:07 AM)
which shop?king of rims?
Yup
1tanmee
post Sep 6 2018, 07:33 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jul 4 2018, 05:06 PM)
Yup, changed last weekend at 51,000km. Maybe will write more about it after 1000km when the compound settles/stabalises to normal driving and climate. But initial assessment for my daily use is quite significant improvement.  icon_rolleyes.gif

You fellors in klang/selangor area really can have it cheaper. I changed mine for 400/pcs. Before GST abolishment, got quoted the same price, that means either the seller or the dealer/distributor pocketed the gst savings  bangwall.gif  ranting.gif

In only managed to bargained for free metal tyre valves to make myself feel that little bit better....
How's your impression on the tyre, now possibly you have driven it >1000km?
wkc5657
post Sep 7 2018, 11:23 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Sep 6 2018, 07:33 PM)
How's your impression on the tyre, now possibly you have driven it >1000km?
I wrote the impression on other thread.

Approaching 3000km now. this set of tyre noise level is just slightly lower than what i had previously, just that the irritating high pitch roar from the previous set is no longer present. But this part depending on different car and preference.

Pretty good grip, feels quite progressive when pushed hard, not harsh as sidewall isn't hard. Got sum resonance hum at certain speed range, just not that prominent.

0.0209sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:22 AM