954 posts

QUOTE(ChiaW3n @ Jul 2 2018, 12:17 PM)
bro how to make this works?
I bought one of this:
https://www.lelong.com.my/usb-5v-to-dc-9v-s...8-11-Sale-P.htm

And one of this:
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/9V-Battery-....28ec4c4dPWjiGd

Just make sure the polarity is correct and you can remove the battery and plug this in to the smart tag.

Dangling cables, though. Need to tie them up neatly.
croomaniac
post Jul 2 2018, 04:57 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(vhs1 @ Jul 2 2018, 09:49 AM)
when the device eats power fast. it telling you device is faulty.

happen to mine unit, 1 month eat 1 battery cell.
1 battery rm9.50. 10 months....you do the math.

throw away, i get new one. better
my fat smart tag eat 1 battery every 2-3 years.. definitely not every month once though..
vhs1
post Jul 2 2018, 04:59 PM

2,830 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Jul 2 2018, 04:57 PM)
my fat smart tag eat 1 battery every 2-3 years.. definitely not every month once though..
Then you can continue using it.
xavi5567
post Jul 2 2018, 05:07 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Jul 2 2018, 09:36 AM)
My Smart Tag (first version) consumes battery as fast as a supercar consumes petrol.

Anyone tried usb rechargeable 9v batteries before? I see Lazada and Shopee sell this brand (Doublepow) and customer's ratings macam good but I never hear this brand before. So convenient if can use microusb to charge instead of big bulky chargers.

But safe onot?
beli kat ikea jer.. rm5 kawtim.. last me more than 1.5year... I use tol lane everyday.. pass through 6 tols everyday... okay jer my battery..
bluestolks
post Jul 2 2018, 05:11 PM

386 posts

mine on is the fat one.

eat battery every 2 months.

faulty ? usually use tescogot battery je.
richardss
post Jul 2 2018, 05:57 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jul 2 2018, 04:18 PM)
nice. so how do you make that small hole in the smart tag to make sure the cable can go out?
sakuraboo
post Jul 2 2018, 06:03 PM

thereisnospoon
1,644 posts

My Smart Tag (first version) consumes battery as fast as a supercar consumes petrol.

Anyone tried usb rechargeable 9v batteries before? I see Lazada and Shopee sell this brand (Doublepow) and customer's ratings macam good but I never hear this brand before. So convenient if can use microusb to charge instead of big bulky chargers.

But safe onot?
Used it before

Poor quality

It's very light

You drop it, it's dead

Received one with signs of being dropped during shipping - arrived dead.

I suppose they could put more lithium ion inside, but then it would really put it's name to fame
azbro
post Jul 2 2018, 06:06 PM

4,403 posts

You using pasar malam battery is it?
vhs1
post Jul 2 2018, 06:13 PM

2,830 posts

QUOTE(sdin3269 @ Jul 2 2018, 04:29 PM)
We should renamed as Assholecard. To pay toll but have to pay this nuisance also.

Why not wait for RFID. any news?
Bila ya?
acbc
post Jul 2 2018, 06:26 PM

9,048 posts

Cannot use for device with battery indicators. Once voltage drops to a certain level, the better with shut off the circuits and the device using it will not have power.
andrewhtf
post Jul 2 2018, 07:03 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(richardss @ Jul 2 2018, 05:57 PM)
nice. so how do you make that small hole in the smart tag to make sure the cable can go out?
if u have a battery powered drill, it would be easier.

altenatively you can sacrifice a solder iron to poke thru.

if u dont mind doing it the hard but safe way, get a round file
TSFlamingFox
post Jul 2 2018, 09:27 PM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jul 2 2018, 06:06 PM)
You using pasar malam battery is it?
Nope, used Energizer and it lasted the longest (same as what everyone says). But that is only like 1.5 months. Tried others also like Duracell and Mr DIY/Daiso, only lasted for 3-4 weeks.
ChiaW3n
post Jul 3 2018, 10:28 AM

3,733 posts

QUOTE(thesoothsayer @ Jul 2 2018, 04:54 PM)
I bought one of this:
https://www.lelong.com.my/usb-5v-to-dc-9v-s...8-11-Sale-P.htm

And one of this:
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/9V-Battery-....28ec4c4dPWjiGd

Just make sure the polarity is correct and you can remove the battery and plug this in to the smart tag.

Dangling cables, though. Need to tie them up neatly.
bro your DIY skill notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
vhs1
post Jul 3 2018, 10:31 AM

2,830 posts

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Jul 2 2018, 09:27 PM)
Nope, used Energizer and it lasted the longest (same as what everyone says). But that is only like 1.5 months. Tried others also like Duracell and Mr DIY/Daiso, only lasted for 3-4 weeks.
Device faulty
thesoothsayer
post Jul 3 2018, 10:38 AM

954 posts

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Jul 2 2018, 09:27 PM)
Try Panasonic alkaline, usually last longer for me.

However, my SmartTag's LCD has been dead for ages and I can't find a replacement. Sick of running out of battery too, hence the USB powered SmartTag now.

QUOTE(ChiaW3n @ Jul 3 2018, 10:28 AM)
bro your DIY skill  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Not too hard, actually. Just need to be familiar with voltage levels and polarity.
ChiaW3n
post Jul 3 2018, 02:59 PM

3,733 posts

QUOTE(thesoothsayer @ Jul 3 2018, 10:38 AM)
Try Panasonic alkaline, usually last longer for me.

However, my SmartTag's LCD has been dead for ages and I can't find a replacement. Sick of running out of battery too, hence the USB powered SmartTag now.
Not too hard, actually. Just need to be familiar with voltage levels and polarity.
mine also dead long time ago, dont bother to diy liao.
Zot
post Jul 3 2018, 03:04 PM

7,938 posts

But safe onot?
Your SmartTag is faulty. Perhaps one components is dying. If normal battery can last 1 month, rechargeable battery can last less than 2 weeks. Not good choice. I'd rather go for 12V to 9V adapter.

3 Pages < 1 2 3

0.0918sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:44 PM