5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Tyre Shops Camber Screw Scam Alerts

1tanmee
post Aug 26 2018, 01:18 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Aug 26 2018, 11:01 AM)
depend on situation.if your tyre wear uneven or easily pull one side it can solve the issue.my forte used to always pull 1 side after alignment done at many place and also in service centre.the problem can be solved by adjusting the cam degree.and also solved my left hand side tyre always wear outside.
So in your case, just changing the cam degree enough, and no need to replace?
leehernandez
post Aug 27 2018, 06:03 PM

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Aug 26 2018, 01:18 PM)
So in your case, just changing the cam degree enough, and no need to replace?
first time u have to replace the adjustable one first.if your existing one is adjustable then dont have to replace.
for some case, certain absorbers come with the adjustable offset.or even some use the adjustable arm.so they can use that to adjust
1tanmee
post Aug 27 2018, 11:13 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Aug 27 2018, 06:03 PM)
first time u have to replace the adjustable one first.if your existing one is adjustable then dont have to replace.
for some case, certain absorbers come with the adjustable offset.or even some use the adjustable arm.so they can use that to adjust
Noted, i now understand it better. For adjustables, how much is reasonable price for them to do the adjustment?
Irzani
post Dec 23 2019, 02:38 PM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

When I went to one shop in Taman Sri Andalas Klang to change one tyre, the Boss said that all the chamber of the hyundai matrix need to be adjusted ... but they only knock2 a little bit .. then finish liao .. each side around RM 20-30 .. forgot d. Excluded alignment and balancing .. that separate price

I kena scam one? sad.gif
kurangak
post Dec 23 2019, 02:42 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Dec 23 2019, 02:38 PM)
When I went to one shop in Taman Sri Andalas Klang to change one tyre, the Boss said that all the chamber of the hyundai matrix need to be adjusted ... but they only knock2 a little bit .. then finish liao .. each side around RM 20-30 .. forgot d. Excluded alignment and balancing .. that separate price

I kena scam one?  sad.gif
depends. ur thread pattern last time how? botak sebelah? did they use any tool to set the degree of the chamber?

chamber adjustment mmg not that much to do. just loosen the nut and turn the bolt.

This post has been edited by kurangak: Dec 23 2019, 02:43 PM
Irzani
post Dec 23 2019, 02:59 PM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Dec 23 2019, 02:42 PM)
depends. ur thread pattern last time how? botak sebelah? did they use any tool to set the degree of the chamber?

chamber adjustment mmg not that much to do. just loosen the nut and turn the bolt.
Only 1 side of tyre botak sebelah. another 3 is okay

They are using the same tool for alignment.

I see ... so normal to charge 20-30 per tyre .. in my case, they are in the midst of changing both of front tyres and after that they told me to adjust the chamber

RM 20~30 for chamber adjustment + alignment = 50 per tyre
kurangak
post Dec 23 2019, 03:32 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Dec 23 2019, 02:59 PM)
Only 1 side of tyre botak sebelah. another 3 is okay

They are using the same tool for alignment.
I see ... so normal to charge 20-30 per tyre .. in my case, they are in the midst of changing both of front tyres and after that they told me to adjust the chamber

RM 20~30 for chamber adjustment + alignment = 50 per tyre
that... is quite steep indeed... i tot rm30 for all 4 tyre... sweat.gif

mind if i ask what car ure driving?
Irzani
post Dec 23 2019, 03:58 PM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Dec 23 2019, 03:32 PM)
that... is quite steep indeed... i tot rm30 for all 4 tyre... sweat.gif

mind if i ask what car ure driving?
Hyundai matrix .. so kena scammed liao?
kurangak
post Dec 23 2019, 04:15 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Dec 23 2019, 03:58 PM)
Hyundai matrix .. so kena scammed liao?
idk. im not sure about the price myself, coz ive never done chamber adjustment before.

quick search says rm30/tyre is the average fee for chamber adjustment in malaysia.
Irzani
post Dec 23 2019, 05:09 PM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Dec 23 2019, 04:15 PM)
idk. im not sure about the price myself, coz ive never done chamber adjustment before.

quick search says rm30/tyre is the average fee for chamber adjustment in malaysia.
I see ... then its normal. My complaint is only they knock something behind the tyre for few minutes/seconds, look at the alignment machine and its complete.

Thank you for the feedback.
taiko8148
post Dec 24 2019, 08:30 PM

179 posts

Got 1 workshop doing aligment and very famous at Inanam Kota Kinabalu. I done my car 1 time and can last for 4 years till i sold my car.

The mechanic will ask you how many year usage of your car and last aligment done.

If car used 1 year above, he must change the chamber nut to get most accurate aligment. Of couse it will more expensive abit but you will safe time, tyre and safety.

This post has been edited by taiko8148: Dec 24 2019, 08:31 PM
kurangak
post Dec 24 2019, 08:55 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(taiko8148 @ Dec 24 2019, 08:30 PM)
Got 1 workshop doing aligment and very famous at Inanam Kota Kinabalu. I done my car 1 time and can last for 4 years till i sold my car.

The mechanic will ask you how many year usage of your car and last aligment done.

If car used 1 year above, he must change the chamber nut to get most accurate aligment. Of couse it will more expensive abit but you will safe time, tyre and safety.
sounds like a scam.

this is how most camber bolt n nut looks like

this is how u adjust camber on most vehicle. u loosen the nut, turn the bolt until u get the desired camber degree u want, and tighten the nut again while holding the bolt in the same position.

unless the camber nut is fully rusted out, i dont see the need of changing the camber bolt n nut.
taiko8148
post Dec 24 2019, 10:44 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Dec 24 2019, 08:55 PM)
sounds like a scam.

this is how most camber bolt n nut looks like

this is how u adjust camber on most vehicle. u loosen the nut, turn the bolt until u get the desired camber degree u want, and tighten the nut again while holding the bolt in the same position.

unless the camber nut is fully rusted out, i dont see the need of changing the camber bolt n nut.
Not really a scam, my myvi camber nut quality crap and you will notice it bend abit.

The mechanic will not change if insist by car owner but he will ask other mechanic to do the work.

You want quality aligment, then let the sifu handle the job.
andrekua2
post Jan 17 2020, 07:58 AM

13,468 posts

Well, camber screw pricing is definitely a scam. I got a customer who machine these for his clients. Its dirt cheap.

As for the screw themselves, well, you cant say it is a total scam. It is about how much does it bothers you. I think many people already seen video about cars' mass manufacturing and how manufacturers have been cutting corners to increase production speed. You can kinda see how all 4 of your tyres are wearing differently one from another. I think manufacturers learned all about this from their endless test drive all these years and considered them acceptable.
DanialTan1990
post Jan 17 2020, 10:23 PM

223 posts

Exactly sound like my 2 of office mate case on kemuning Tyre shop also

Victim 1: Spent rm720 hankook set plus this scam on axia
Victim 2: Spent rm890 hankook set plus this scam on Myvi

End up same price with other shop despite cheap tyre price

SleeplessEyes
post May 29 2020, 04:16 PM

2,429 posts

Friend baru do camber acrew and alignment for her old NHC City.

2 tyres - Rm 210 each = Rm 420 (Hankook)
2 camber screws = Rm RM 120
alignment = Rm 40

Total Rm 580.
She do at Top Speed Car Care, Taipan Usj.

I told her.. I baru do my alignment at Bdr baru Klang, Rm 20 nia. CMCO price okay.
Foreman just adjust camber screw and that's it. No changing screws.

I also told her why not you try this tyre shop behind Usj19 Mall / Rytheme Avenue.

Kian Hoe Tyre & Battery Services Sdn Bhd
No. 1, Jalan USJ 19/4, Taman Perindustrian Uep, 47630 Subang Jaya, Selangor
03-8024 7308
https://maps.app.goo.gl/cmjA8KMoJuhVgxmK6
joe8489
post Aug 5 2020, 01:14 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(jas_on_off @ Jun 15 2020, 05:10 PM)
i only go to my regular, or friend recommend. safer
even if i need to change other brand, i'll ask people for recommendation
which shop boss?
Icehart
post Aug 6 2020, 12:13 PM

14,899 posts

Klang/Kota Kemuning shop famous for these little money sucking tricks.

What I do is change tyre and go SC for alignment & balancing. At least they won't pull stunts in front of you. Secondly, you know SC do a proper job here.

This post has been edited by Icehart: Aug 6 2020, 12:13 PM
Oldskolboyz
post Aug 8 2020, 03:40 PM

1,422 posts

This shop know how to use adjustable chamber screw very well.. others shop just add side income..
https://www.facebook.com/HusaienTraction/

This shop doesn't need adjustable chamber screw, factory chamber screw will do for them..
https://ah-man-tyre-centre-ml-sdn-bhd.business.site/
akatsukea
post Aug 27 2020, 09:52 AM

35 posts

Just changed 2 pair tyre. When do the alignment the tyreman said meed to adjust chamber bcoz 'lari' about 30° as shown below. Do i need to adjust chamber?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0297sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:09 PM