[WTA] Exhaust Fan Ventialting for Bathroom

TSWaCKy-Angel
post Jun 14 2018, 10:08 AM, updated 5y ago

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

Currently bathroom window is slightly opened 24/7 because its stuffy during shower time.
Bathroom is having plaster ceiling.
If want to install exhaust fan at the plaster ceiling must need ducting out thru windows?

Coz ppl say if just put exhaust fan to suck the hot air up to plaster ceiling in the long run will have mold, is that true?
And its not really convenient to put ducting out thru windows unless cut hole thru window and will be ugly seeing the ducting coming out from plaster ceiling to window.
cherroy
post Jun 14 2018, 10:41 AM

25,802 posts

It is useless to install a ventilation fan without an air outlet.
It doesn't solve much problem.
The air will be still "stagnant" without an outlet.

The fan push the air to upwards to plaster ceiling, then the air has nowhere to go, airflow stop.

Alternative, can install ventilation fan that directly mounted on the window one, better than the ducting ugly view.
SUSslimey
post Jun 14 2018, 10:51 AM

6,914 posts

Install wall type or glass mounted type.
TSWaCKy-Angel
post Jun 14 2018, 11:04 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 14 2018, 10:41 AM)

The fan push the air to upwards to plaster ceiling, then the air has nowhere to go, airflow stop.

Alternative, can install ventilation fan that directly mounted on the window one, better than the ducting ugly view.
but atleast bathroom wont be stuffy during shower right?

glass mounted scared ppl peep lol tongue.gif
Just thought if plaster ceiling i can self cut hole and install. if glass mounted need to get installer otherwise break the glass jialat
cherroy
post Jun 14 2018, 11:22 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 14 2018, 11:04 AM)
but atleast bathroom wont be stuffy during shower right?

glass mounted scared ppl peep lol tongue.gif
Just thought if plaster ceiling i can self cut hole and install. if glass mounted need to get installer otherwise break the glass jialat
You might as well get rid of the plaster ceiling... laugh.gif no different.
Air is not going to "move" without an outlet as mentioned earlier.

The ventilation is not going to "ventilate" any air, and only induce mold problem due to trapped moisture (especially with hot shower), and trapped moisture may pose potential hazard risk as normally there is wiring for lighting above the plaster ceiling.

wailam
post Jun 14 2018, 11:24 AM

Apa benda ini?
976 posts

put aircon inside bathroom
Richard
post Jun 14 2018, 12:16 PM

1,083 posts

General recommendation for toilets to have above 10x (ten times) volume air changes an hour to prevent mold/fungus build up as a health cleanliness precaution.

If the toilet window cannot achieve the air change required then the exhaust fan must be installed. Thus just remove the glass window and install an exhaust fan in place. Either way the toilet must be vented.
spreeeee
post Jun 14 2018, 05:02 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

your stuffy toilet is downstair or upstair? if upstair and if toilet with plaster ceiling, try peep above the ceiling and usually it should be your roof.. then you can simply install ventilation fan (currently i'm using Khind VF102).

if u r condo type.. then glass mounted one is the best choice..
MakNok
post Jun 14 2018, 05:05 PM

5,713 posts

QUOTE(wailam @ Jun 14 2018, 11:24 AM)
put aircon inside bathroom
yes yes..
the best!!!!

air circulate is much better.
rclxms.gif
empire
post Jun 25 2018, 02:56 AM

2,549 posts

dont take shower is the best
billyboy
post Jun 26 2018, 04:22 PM

2,220 posts

Upstairs; kdk ceiling fan. Moist air escape through roof

Downstairs; kdk wall fan. Put high up then only peep your beautiful face
ericne
post Jun 26 2018, 04:44 PM

51 posts

If you have sufficient space above plasterboard, need to install ducting directed outdoors. Should't just terminate in roof space as it can get moldy over time.
billyboy
post Jun 27 2018, 11:18 AM

2,220 posts

i installed exhaust fan in my attic - above the plasterboard and below the tiles. Helps a lot to keep the upstairs cool.....

QUOTE(ericne @ Jun 26 2018, 04:44 PM)
If you have sufficient space above plasterboard, need to install ducting directed outdoors. Should't just terminate in roof space as it can get moldy over time.
alexander3133
post Jun 27 2018, 06:15 PM

1,716 posts

TSWaCKy-Angel
post Jun 29 2018, 01:46 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Jun 27 2018, 06:15 PM)
fugly lol whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif

I guess no choice have to do this.

Did u DIY or installer do?
alexander3133
post Jun 29 2018, 01:49 PM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 29 2018, 01:46 PM)
fugly lol whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif

I guess no choice have to do this.

Did u DIY or installer do?
I don't care, as long as it does the job.
Get installer to do, especially the glass cutting.
alexander3133
post Jun 29 2018, 02:00 PM

1,716 posts

If you want to looks neat, with plaster ceiling, you can have this.

ozak
post Jun 29 2018, 02:59 PM

17,024 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Jun 27 2018, 06:15 PM)
Why don't use the plaster ceiling and bore hole? That look neatly.
alexander3133
post Jun 29 2018, 03:08 PM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 29 2018, 02:59 PM)
Why don't use the plaster ceiling and bore hole? That look neatly.
Cost was a concern for me at that time.
Also there is a manhole directly above the ventilation fan, if possible I don't want to cut the plaster ceiling.
For me this solution works and I don't really mind about the looks that much.
MeToo
post Mar 9 2021, 12:23 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 14 2018, 10:41 AM)

Necro abit.

The air will still flow, I'm doing this for my store room to reduce the heat (no moisture), sucking air directly into the plaster ceiling and distributing it to the entire ground floor. As our plaster ceiling will have downlights etc, its not air tight air will definitely flow down thru these holes..

I cant really use a vent hose as i would need to core a hole in my RC wall and i really dont like to do that (also the entire exercise would cost me around 1k (coring, hose, vent cap, repairing plaster ceiling etc).

0.0290sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:08 AM