4k tv under RM3k, Sony or Samsung or LG??

she3p
post Dec 20 2018, 07:26 PM

180 posts

wow interesting thread here. DIdn't know Toshiba got sold to HiSense? Seems like the last few comments said that this brand ought to be avoided at all cost?

Looking at a 49" to 50" TV - Looking at the Samsung NU7100 and NU7300, LG UK6300, Toshiba U7750VM and U6750.
Any recommendation or experienced users here?

Not sure how important is the built-in Android TV but i think it's good to have.

Also, are there even Sony models that is within the 2k range with similar features on those quoted above?

would appreciate some feedback. Thanks

she3p
post Dec 20 2018, 08:16 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(ruzaini88 @ Dec 20 2018, 07:39 PM)
For picture quality you can judge by urself at shop. Samsung 7100 and 7300 is VA panel, the rest is IPS.
Toshiba android TV already obsolete, I mean very old ready, if not wrong still in 6.0 android tv OS.
The good thing in android TV is it has built in chromecast. You can easily cast facebook, netflix, youtube videos to TV.

Other smart TV only can cast Youtube video normally.
oh right ok.
but what's really VA and IPS? I presume IPS is more superior?

I have another noob question, if the TV has chromecast, does it work if my device runs on Miracast?
If Toshiba is using old Android TV - then i'm not so eager.....after all, there seems to have been a lot of bad reviews about it crashing...
she3p
post Dec 21 2018, 10:34 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(ruzaini88 @ Dec 20 2018, 08:31 PM)
Miracast is different, it will cast your phone screen exactly to TV. "screen mirroring"
Chromecast works differently, the phone will act like a remote. TV will play video standalone, you only need use phone to cast which video/music you want.

Try google your self how chrome cast works.
thanks for the clarification. I think i know the difference between the 2 now...
she3p
post Dec 21 2018, 10:39 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(szecheng @ Dec 21 2018, 10:35 AM)
i prefer VA than IPS in dark room, more black
led lighting & processor also play a role.
AH just read up something on VA and IPS...

I think VA is good enough for me....I don`t need a wide viewing angle...
she3p
post Dec 21 2018, 11:07 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(szecheng @ Dec 21 2018, 10:53 AM)
ya, so many choices out there depending on individual needs over budget.
if budget allows go for oled lor
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/i4115234...lFlag=true&mp=1

just saw this.......seems like a good model.....any thoughts?

Have read some good reviews on Sony`s screen clarify and performance...
she3p
post Dec 21 2018, 11:08 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(szecheng @ Dec 21 2018, 10:53 AM)
ya, so many choices out there depending on individual needs over budget.
if budget allows go for oled lor
Haha i would love to..but way over my budget...
she3p
post Dec 21 2018, 08:36 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(szecheng @ Dec 21 2018, 02:08 PM)
If you dont mind no android then get 49 x7000f at Harvey Norman for RM1788 now then get https://www.lazada.com.my/-i350778102-s4941...lFlag=true&mp=1
- no android
- 3 hdmi instead of 4
- no bluetooth

Panel

X7000f
55 VA direct led
65 VA direct led

X7500f
55 IPS direct led
65 VA direct led

X8500f
55 IPS edge led
65 IPS edge led

49 size both x70f/x75f panel im not sure, have to go sony klcc to look again
HUh? Harvey NOrman only selling for RM1788? Is it the one in Citta Mall? that`s cheaper than the one i found on Lazada...

Right, i`ll have to dig deeper and find out if it`s IPS or VA for 49`
thanks much for the recommendation...
she3p
post Dec 23 2018, 10:46 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Karen1995 @ Dec 23 2018, 09:35 PM)
Hi sifus,

please help to confirm. If I purchase Sony X7000F, then I purchase another android box and connect to the tv, it will be the same as X7500F???

any other differences?
looking at the same TVs.....where are you getting yours?
she3p
post Dec 24 2018, 07:32 PM

180 posts

just came back from Sony center... x70F for 2699 but have to pay extra for warranty and delivery....
s75F, free 3 years extended sony Malaysia on site warranty.....RM3k....worth it? very tempted with the additional 3 years sony Malaysia`s warranty.....what do y`all think?
she3p
post Dec 24 2018, 07:35 PM

180 posts

btw...felt like i could really tell the difference between Samsung`s and Sony`s picture quality...feels like SOny is better for my eyes....clarity and brightness seems right...

is Sony`s panel in general has much lesser breakdown?

This post has been edited by she3p: Dec 24 2018, 07:36 PM
she3p
post Dec 25 2018, 12:05 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(sidq @ Dec 24 2018, 10:14 PM)
Mind telling us the size of the TV?
2699 is for the 55 x70f
3k is for the 55 x75f
she3p
post Dec 26 2018, 05:49 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(ruzaini88 @ Dec 26 2018, 01:30 PM)
Hi Convael, SoC is same but X1 is a separate IC which means for video DSP.
FYI, I am ex-Sony TV R&D member smile.gif
wow..learned something new today..thanks for the explanation on the motion processing...
she3p
post Jan 1 2019, 09:24 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jan 1 2019, 06:12 PM)
55X7000F is 2299 (total of 5 yrs warranty)at Starling Home fair now , last day being today.  But the price doesn't include installation and bracket (if you need one).
Desa Home offers 2399 with bracket n installation

got myself a 65X7000F 3699 from Desa incl. delivery, installation w/ bracket and 5 years warranty too...  Just to share..
i missed the 5 years warranty from Desa HOme. I need to top up RM500 for additional 3 years warranty by Desa home themselves. And they said their policy doesn't cover one to one change and the extended warranty for them covers market rate of the TV which i find a bit ridiculous for the terms and conditions they shared with me.

Yeah i'm looking at bracket and wall mount installation as well.
she3p
post Jan 3 2019, 10:38 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jan 2 2019, 09:29 AM)
apparently this 2+3 is an offer from Sony directly, both ESH (at the Starling Home fair) and Desa Home said the same.  I'm not sure how difference it is from Desa's own extended insurance coverage (by 3rd party usually)...
Oh Desa Home from Shopee told me a different story though...they said they only offer their own extended warranty.
darn it..i missed the deal..now looking at another deal
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/sony-55-...Xjp23R&search=1

Top-up RM300 for 3 years extended warranty.

I wonder if ESH still has any offers
she3p
post Jan 3 2019, 10:47 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jan 2 2019, 02:58 PM)
chinese new year is coming soon, i guess many people would like to upgrade their tv but still undecided which 1 to go.

let me share how i choose mine and i hope this might help.

*Disclaimers: This guide is f*cking bias towards my personal preference, take with a pinch of salt, thank you.*
1. Budget? I would like have it under RM3k. Remember do a price check on Lazada, those tv RRP is ridiculous, don't get slaughtered. Even online price has quite huge difference, remember sort by price.
2. Size? I would like a 55 inch. Possible within budget? Yes, proceed.
3. Brand? I think this factor plays an important role for all people. Most people will go for same brand with their previous tv brand if no bad experience.
Here are my feel towards these brands, again I must stress that this is purely "feel" from past experience, not fact.

- Sony (good hardware design, not that good in software optimization, basically won't go wrong, Sony always a safe choice for those who lazy to do comparison.)

- Samsung (their culture is to give all the best to their flagship, their entry level spec really "meh", their smart home eco-system is their selling point, so their tv operating system/software is kinda tuned to complete their smart home eco-system, for samsung flagship mobile user you will feel familiar with it.)

- LG (it has became a benchmark brand for me, "you get what you pay for". You want more bells and whistles, go for more expensive range model.)

- Panasonic (i have a Panasonic CRT TV once upon a time, spoilt in 2 years time, repaired and spoilt again within a year, no courage to try their TV any more...after that i stick with Toshiba for very long period, that's why i said brand preference is very important in choosing your next tv. maybe their new tv is good, but just like their air cond, provided that there are other choices, people might tend to go for more popular brand due to review bias or larger user base discussion.)

- Sharp (my only experience on Sharp tv is those terrible Sharp tv put in hotel/homestay room, i don't want to comment on this brand, maybe their 4K tv good price, 60 inch Sharp might around other brands' 55 inch, some models even claims it is "Made in Japan", which is a very good selling point. maybe they need do more in sales and marketing, all the eye level tv display spot in electrical shop are mostly occupied by Sony Samsung LG.)

- Toshiba (always my favourite choice for entry level tv, a working horse, nothing fancy. the 32 inch toshiba lcd tv i bought in 2010 still working perfectly till now since day 1. but in 4k era they seems out of race, worse marketing than Sharp.)

- Philips (this brand always looks good on spec but not really that good in reality. best buy for stock clearance i think.)

- Skyworth (this brand is Toshiba in disguise right? even warranty is by Toshiba.)

- Hisense (they acquired Toshiba and i guess this china brand will success to capture more and more tv market share in coming years, like how midea and gree penetrate malaysia air cond market.)

- Haier (i thought this brand is good in fridge only, no idea on their tv.)

- A&S (seriously i don't know this brand oem from which manufacturer, don't think their 4k tv is competitive, would rather choose Hisense.)
4. Short list the brands and tv models within budget that you are interested with.

Well, I am interested with these 3 brands.

Sony:
55X7000F
55X7500F

Samsung:
55NU7100
55NU7400

LG:
55UK6300PTE
555UK6500PTC
5. List all your requirements and eliminate the model which not met the criteria. (below is mine)

a) internal player must able to play hevc h.265 hdr video with no flaw.
i am not going to fork out extra money to buy a device to play hdr video.
both Samsung definitely out because no dts license if not mistaken. (please correct me if i am wrong)

i am not watching netflix 4k hdr, while hdr movie for download always comes with dts-hd audio track. (piracy issue not part of discussion here, thanks)

u might argue that i can always get a cheap android tv box for hevc h.265 video playback, erm i can tell you android tv box couldn't meet my standard in frame rate issue. maybe you guys can overcome this problem but i tried mine it doesn't play as smooth as my blu-ray player.
Update: after trying numerous setting, finally i could get the frame rate right. refer here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=91412021

however my blu-ray player only good for full hd h.264, therefore i set a criteria in choosing tv: the internal player of tv must be able to handle hevc h.265 hdr and dts core at least.

b) must have 4 hdmi ports.
both 55UK6300PTE and 55X7000F now of out list. 2 choices remaining and that's easy for me to make decision.

c) better gui and remote control.
LG magic remote and WebOS win hands down. The voice recognition of LG is damn good, I set to Cantonese and it can recognize both Cantonese and English. I super like the LG version of youtube, simply awesome. so my choice 55UK6500PTC over 55X7500F.

d) tv feet design.
LG tv feet height and gap suit me. perfectly put a samsung hw-k350 sound bar + external hdd between both feet under the tv.
wait a minute...you didn't see any criteria is regarding picture quality related? where are those jargon like IPS VA local dimming backlight bleeding motionflow wide gamut color bla bla bla...

yes, i don't give a f*ck at all. 55 inch 4K tv under RM3k you can't expect more superior picture quality like their one step higher range in RM4k-5k range.
btw...how you compare picture quality between Sony 55X7500F Samsung 55NU7400 LG 555UK6500PTC, please teach me. all those tv not playing same content, not located side by side, not calibrated in same setting, not getting same environment lighting, not tuned to suit your taste.

there shall not be any huge difference in picture quality for the tv in same size in same price range. i would suggest you to look more on the features of the tv versus your tv usage, and the warranty and after sales service.

last but not least...happy shopping tv...you can't have all boxes ticked if you not willing to pay more.

don't know how to choose? just follow the bandwagon...buy the best sellers in that price range.
kind reminder: if you want to buy tv from online and to be delivered to you before chinese new year...better buy it now. touchwood if any sh*t happens, return, refund or exchange gonna takes time.
6. Should be "where to buy", but i too lazy to write on this already, sorry guys.  laugh.gif
p/s: what is most significant upgrades from entry level 43" full hd tv to 55" UHD tv? (in order)
1. Size. Really huge difference.

2. Motion. I really like the LG TruMotion "Smooth" setting for everything except gaming, must turn it off for gaming.

3. Convenient to access the youtube and my ext. hdd contents.
hey did you get yours online? Where did you get yours eventually?
she3p
post Jan 5 2019, 10:14 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jan 4 2019, 12:08 AM)
RM2699 for 55X7500F ok price. This online seller should be ok.

those free wall bracket and hdmi cable is poor quality.

prefer these easy to install:

NB F350 (don't know why my old box shows support 40" to 55")
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/nb-north...s650277134.html

NB F400
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/nb-north...s100049030.html

Right angle HDMI cable (it does 4K, but don't know support 4K HDR or not since i don't have device to test it out)
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/right-an...-s23225250.html
yeah considering getting from here now actually.....mixed reviews on their stores though..that's why a bit concerned
she3p
post Jan 5 2019, 10:15 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jan 4 2019, 12:08 AM)
RM2699 for 55X7500F ok price. This online seller should be ok.

those free wall bracket and hdmi cable is poor quality.

prefer these easy to install:

NB F350 (don't know why my old box shows support 40" to 55")
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/nb-north...s650277134.html

NB F400
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/nb-north...s100049030.html

Right angle HDMI cable (it does 4K, but don't know support 4K HDR or not since i don't have device to test it out)
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/right-an...-s23225250.html
yeah considering getting from here now actually.....mixed reviews on their stores though..that's why a bit concerned
she3p
post Jan 5 2019, 10:19 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jan 4 2019, 11:56 AM)
may refer to Sony Store's pricing as reference :

yeah i checked SOny centre's too...was in MV..their overall package price now is RM3049. Not bad of an offer.....just still considering..because they do basic installation and will need to get their brackets and wall mount installation which will cost me additional around RM400...because the guy said it's their appointed installer's price
she3p
post Jan 5 2019, 11:51 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jan 5 2019, 11:47 AM)
if your budget not really tight, buy in-store lo...peace of mind.
lol exactly my sentiment...went in to a Sony Centre and bought mine today........still feel a bit wary if seller has bad ratings...
so now waiting for delivery next Saturday
she3p
post Jan 5 2019, 11:53 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(zaimi1983 @ Jan 5 2019, 11:17 PM)
I just bought sony KD-55X7500F for rm2999 on 1st dec 2018 from suria jerai store. 2 days later a guy from senQ which i visited earlier but cancelled due to price at that time was rm3099, whatsapp me promo price rm2699. Not my luck. After a month of using it i'm just happy with this tv and not facing any problem yet. I'm planning to pair with sony HT-S700RF soundbar system.
good to know you are happy with it.....got to wait for mine to be delivered. Bought mine for 3049 with 3 years extended warranty by Sony.

0.0255sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:46 PM