Simmy's Gallery, Conceptual-PG 4 & 5

TSsimmytan
post May 20 2007, 09:22 PM, updated 19y ago

115 posts

Finally *berani* to open a thread here.

I have only very recently started venturing more into photography so i'm going to need all the feedbacks/advices/criticism i can get.

Just click on the images for bigger size

My Gear (basic stuff only)
Canon EOS 400D
18-55mm standard kit lens
28-200mm zoom lens

Minor adjustment in PS included.

Let's start with Nature first.

My Garden Series

This post has been edited by simmytan: May 26 2007, 07:56 AM
TSsimmytan
post May 20 2007, 09:37 PM

115 posts

This post has been edited by simmytan: May 20 2007, 09:47 PM
TSsimmytan
post May 20 2007, 09:48 PM

115 posts

Exploring HDR images

Bracketed 3 differently exposed images and merged them together using Photomatix

goldfries
post May 20 2007, 10:01 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i thought you mentioned somewhere you're using prosumer. smile.gif anyway i like the last of the flower shot.

others were kinda dim. good try.
kjin
post May 20 2007, 10:07 PM

227 posts

don't you feel your orchids are all underexposed? and the last of the flower series, before hdr, i think remove dead flowers would be better smile.gif
TSsimmytan
post May 20 2007, 10:13 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 20 2007, 10:01 PM)
i thought you mentioned somewhere you're using prosumer. smile.gif anyway i like the last of the flower shot.

You're right, before venturing into DSLR i was using prosumer all along. Now i still use both laugh.gif

QUOTE(kjin @ May 20 2007, 10:07 PM)
don't you feel your orchids are all underexposed? and the last of the flower series, before hdr, i think remove dead flowers would be better smile.gif
I agree with the underexposed part, but funny thing is, i often shoot in different exposure, then compare side by side to see which one i like best wink.gif and i like this one.

And 'bout the dead flower, i wanted it to be there ! lolz..(contrast between the blooming lively one and the dead one, recycle of life)

Peisqo
post May 20 2007, 10:23 PM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

Hi there simmy smile.gif I'm soon gonna be like you ... getting a dslr soon ... still researching alot ... hope you don't mind me coming in here to disturb u tongue.gif Good luck in the journey ~~ And i personally feel your pics are cool smile.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 20 2007, 10:01 PM)

should she be using flash then ? or adjust the brightness to +1 or something ?
TSsimmytan
post May 20 2007, 10:26 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Peisqo @ May 20 2007, 10:23 PM)
Hi there simmy smile.gif I'm soon gonna be like you ... getting a dslr soon ... still researching alot ... hope you don't mind me coming in here to disturb u tongue.gif Good luck in the journey ~~ And i personally feel your pics are cool smile.gif
hey there, thanks for looking, brows.gif got any model in your mind yet?

I think he meant slightly higher exposed images, (i do take each picture in atleast 2 different exposure but i don't know why i always end up chooing the darker one)

Feel like the contrast and the mood is better
goldfries
post May 20 2007, 10:29 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Peisqo @ May 20 2007, 10:23 PM)

not necesarily use flash. take a look at the pictures in my gallery, none of it uses flash. smile.gif

the thing one needs to understand are ISO settings, Shutter speed and Aperture. after that it's a matter of playing around with all these settings.

for her orchids, a few ways you could go about
1. lower the shutter speed.
2. go for highest aperture available
3. ISO? well yeah, technically you can but i'd seriously avoid going anywhere above ISO 400 unless i'm shooting some place that lacks decent lighting. my Petronas Twin Tower shots were done using ISO 1600.

in fact there's more ways than the above, if you are willing to make effort you could
1. time it at a brighter day and better light angle.
2. use a shiny / reflective surface to reflect light. it's hard for me to explain, if only i can translate what's on my magazine to explain this.
TSsimmytan
post May 20 2007, 10:39 PM

115 posts

My Incredibly *Need alot of Guidance* low light pictures / night scenes

Added on May 20, 2007, 10:41 pm
QUOTE(goldfries @ May 20 2007, 10:29 PM)
not necesarily use flash. take a look at the pictures in my gallery, none of it uses flash. smile.gif

the thing one needs to understand are ISO settings, Shutter speed and Aperture. after that it's a matter of playing around with all these settings.

for her orchids, a few ways you could go about
1. lower the shutter speed.
2. go for highest aperture available
3. ISO? well yeah, technically you can but i'd seriously avoid going anywhere above ISO 400 unless i'm shooting some place that lacks decent lighting. my Petronas Twin Tower shots were done using ISO 1600.

in fact there's more ways than the above, if you are willing to make effort you could
1. time it at a brighter day and better light angle.
2. use a shiny / reflective surface to reflect light. it's hard for me to explain, if only i can translate what's on my magazine to explain this.
Most of the flower picture taken were after rain, so the weather was slightly darker and gloomier as usual, so you have a suggestion as on what timing are suitable for this kind of shot?

This post has been edited by simmytan: May 21 2007, 08:02 AM
goldfries
post May 20 2007, 10:47 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(simmytan @ May 20 2007, 10:39 PM)
Most of the flower picture taken were after rain, so the weather was slightly darker and gloomier as usual, so you have a suggestion as on what timing are suitable for this kind of shot?

depends on your place la. sometimes lunch hour (noon) or late afternoon it can be nice.

noon might be too bright some times. smile.gif as a photographer you have to learn to judge for yourself already.
diwant
post May 20 2007, 11:00 PM

295 posts

i quite like the landscape sets.. overcast skies gives different mood, and underexposure adds more punch..

btw, how do u attach a picture from flickr and post here? mind sharing?
TSsimmytan
post May 20 2007, 11:12 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(diwant @ May 20 2007, 11:00 PM)
i quite like the landscape sets.. overcast skies gives different mood, and underexposure adds more punch..

btw, how do u attach a picture from flickr and post here? mind sharing?
haha, mr diwant ar...i didn't attach from flickr and post it here one lar..i do manually 1, attach from photobucket and then link to my flickr lar
diwant
post May 20 2007, 11:27 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(simmytan @ May 20 2007, 11:12 PM)
haha, mr diwant ar...i didn't attach from flickr and post it here one lar..i do manually 1, attach from photobucket  and then link to my flickr lar
oic, tq very much.. (still having trouble with uploading!)
wlcling
post May 21 2007, 12:14 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

very nice pics... i only felt a few points was lacking...

the flower series has quite a lot of clutter in the background. Kind of distracting, making it hard for the subject to stand out other than the obvious DOV. Unfortunately some of the background clutter takes the focus away from the subject. For example, the red flowers in the background of picture 2 & the first picture of your second post.

I like the HDR series as don't come across it much... wink.gif The second shot with moddy skies are really nice. Its a pity the telephone lines seem to spoil the picture for me. I would prefer a lower shooting point to get more horizon and at the same time still capture the sky as well. (I might also just convert to B&W,and add a grain effect, but of course that's just my preference) whistling.gif laugh.gif

Night scenes are handheld? but that aside, the composition doesn't seem to work well for me...

Added on May 21, 2007, 12:20 am
QUOTE(simmytan @ May 20 2007, 10:39 PM)
i think overcast days are best for flowers. In direct sunlight, the lighting could be too harsh and create shadows.

This post has been edited by wlcling: May 21 2007, 12:23 AM
TSsimmytan
post May 21 2007, 07:34 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ May 21 2007, 12:14 AM)
very nice pics... i only felt a few points was lacking...

the flower series has quite a lot of clutter in the background. Kind of distracting, making it hard for the subject to stand out other than the obvious DOV. Unfortunately some of the background clutter takes the focus away from the subject. For example, the red flowers in the background of picture 2 & the first picture of your second post.

I like the HDR series as don't come across it much...  wink.gif The second shot with moddy skies are really nice. Its a pity the telephone lines seem to spoil the picture for me. I would prefer a lower shooting point to get more horizon and at the same time still capture the sky as well. (I might also just convert to B&W,and add a grain effect, but of course that's just my preference) whistling.gif  laugh.gif

Night scenes are handheld? but that aside, the composition doesn't seem to work well for me...

Added on May 21, 2007, 12:20 am

i think overcast days are best for flowers. In direct sunlight, the lighting could be too harsh and create shadows.
Hello, thanks for looking and dropping by comments for me

As for the background of the flowers, i try to fully utilize what was there already (natural setting), but i will keep that in mind next time

The different shades of blue, white, and the bright yellow light of that sky picture makes the picture more intense compare wtih B&W (yes, this aspect has already been considered)

The night scene pictueres i've posted here are NOT handheld. All are taken with tripod wink.gif As for the composition wise, i really love how they were composed, so do you mind telling me more specifically what was wrong for the composition of the images? Will be glad to know it hmm.gif

clemong_888
post May 21 2007, 07:37 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

for flowers, i do hafta agree that its somewhat underexposed. i prefer to take mine early in the morning before harsh sunlight sets in. use spot metering and meter the flower, for bright flowers usually with a +1-2EV. reflectors,wireless flash or as goldfries said, a good lighting angle(which is usually in the morning o evening imho) try a tighter composition as well. dont centre everything. very static approach.

for the hdr pic, watch out for wires!

welcome to lyn photo galleries and do post more!
TSsimmytan
post May 21 2007, 07:56 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ May 21 2007, 07:37 AM)
for flowers, i do hafta agree that its somewhat underexposed. i prefer to take mine early in the morning before harsh sunlight sets in. use spot metering and meter the flower, for bright flowers usually with a +1-2EV. reflectors,wireless flash or as goldfries said, a good lighting angle(which is usually in the morning o evening imho) try a tighter composition as well. dont centre everything. very static approach.

for the hdr pic, watch out for wires!

welcome to lyn photo galleries and do post more!
Thank you ! been taking alot and starts to wonder what people think about them so came here and post liao

Thank you for such specific guidance too ! Will keep that in mind on my next shoot
nairud
post May 21 2007, 09:10 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

If you can shoot the flowers with highlights and shadows, it's nicer. Like clemong said, i'd still prefer morning
shinchan^^
post May 21 2007, 09:23 AM

K66
21,256 posts

Nice Avatars laugh.gif

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:09 AM