QUOTE(xemoboyx @ Jun 10 2018, 02:21 AM)
QUOTE(dares @ Jun 10 2018, 03:26 AM)
Er...would like some enlightenment on why hissing absorber sound is an issue. My car less than 40k also have this sound and the handling still the same.Vento 1.6 how the review?
Jun 13 2018, 01:58 PM
573 posts Joined: Aug 2015 |
QUOTE(xemoboyx @ Jun 10 2018, 02:21 AM) QUOTE(dares @ Jun 10 2018, 03:26 AM) Er...would like some enlightenment on why hissing absorber sound is an issue. My car less than 40k also have this sound and the handling still the same. |
Jun 13 2018, 02:05 PM
1,032 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
QUOTE(krixko @ Jun 10 2018, 01:53 AM) Hello anyone can give me some review regarding this car? Just get a Jazz, City or Mazda 2. Unless your wife is a car person there is no advantage to get a Vento and suffer the high maintenance, high depreciation and low reliability. Even if she is a car person there is no advantage either unless you think there is value in a VW badge.im planning to get this for my wife but not sure whether the maintenance cost is high or not or is it worth it for normal daily usage |
Jun 13 2018, 02:06 PM
834 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Jun 13 2018, 01:42 PM) Hi dares. I did PM you six months ago before I bought the car, if you still remember haha. Oh so you went with the TSI Vento? How is it?Last month, I was loaned a courtesy car, a beaten up Polo Sedan 1.6 MPI which was an ex demo car. Guess what? It wasn't as sluggish as our Vento. In fact I could drive all the way with D mode. I suspect there are more than one ECU firmware versions out there. You got loaned a courtesy car so am I correct to assume it got tersadai in SC? |
Jun 13 2018, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jun 13 2018, 01:58 PM) Er...would like some enlightenment on why hissing absorber sound is an issue. My car less than 40k also have this sound and the handling still the same. Oh did I mention that was a problem...I was agreeing with MOST of what xemoboyx said My cars have the hissing sound too, I thought it's normal for gas shocks. |
Jun 13 2018, 02:08 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
5,650 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
1.6 no ESC
1.2 sked DSG choose your poison |
Jun 13 2018, 02:08 PM
1,534 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(xemoboyx @ Jun 10 2018, 03:21 AM) Here is some review, i have driven vw polo for 1 month while my polo gti in service center. this is not a pro..consider standard accessories...even axia got it..Pros: 1)more solid than jap car 2) quite spacious for 4 people 3) automatic window for all 4 door 4) cruise control cons: 1)high service cost for this segment 2) roof still sound like milo tin 3) engine quite sluggish. If put S mode, it should be better. This is caused by too long gearing, for too small cc car.. 4) Parts not long lasting. Proven by my colleague 1.6 polo. His ecu bracket broken & arm rest broken. Suspension, 60k km already got hissing sound. All not covered by warranty. VW said it is wear and tear part. depends what u consider high cost? normal service at service center, minimum rm600-700. Major service, can reach 1xxx. Service interval is 15,000km or 1 year.. VW is worth for daily usage if u dont mind cost of service and depreciation. The comfort and safety quite good ... 1 bad thing is warranty claim procedure, their process is very slow.. and some service center have reputation of being irresponsible. |
Jun 13 2018, 02:14 PM
10,859 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
Jun 13 2018, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(sunami @ Jun 13 2018, 02:08 PM) Axia all four doors got one-touch up and down?The VW you can also control the power windows using your remote (opening/closing all windows using remote), useful if you want to ventilate your car before entering it. |
Jun 13 2018, 03:25 PM
573 posts Joined: Aug 2015 |
Jun 13 2018, 03:33 PM
1,534 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jun 13 2018, 03:14 PM) ahh..mixed up with power window and auto window...btw...i dun owned axia..QUOTE(dares @ Jun 13 2018, 03:17 PM) Axia all four doors got one-touch up and down? ok..my bad...The VW you can also control the power windows using your remote (opening/closing all windows using remote), useful if you want to ventilate your car before entering it. |
Jun 13 2018, 04:13 PM
4,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jun 13 2018, 01:58 PM) Er...would like some enlightenment on why hissing absorber sound is an issue. My car less than 40k also have this sound and the handling still the same. Mine less than 5k km already hissing haha. But only during cold weather/temperature. Handling still ok.QUOTE(dares @ Jun 13 2018, 02:06 PM) Oh so you went with the TSI Vento? How is it? No. I went for the MPI. Tersadai once because of broken CD player. Yes, you heard it right. VW SC's SOP for RMA is #(*$(*@(*@(. Need to diagnose once, second time to confirm which part, then only wait for parts and install. Three times at least for simple stuff like that. Seriously, even Proton is better in this front.You got loaned a courtesy car so am I correct to assume it got tersadai in SC? Basically, most Indian sourced wear and tear parts have very short lifespan and not covered by warranty. Another common issue is the disc brake material, would wrap easily when drastic change in temp. Again, worse than Proton here. |
Jun 13 2018, 04:38 PM
406 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(krixko @ Jun 10 2018, 01:53 AM) Hello anyone can give me some review regarding this car? If you buy a vento now, your loan is 5/7/9 @ 0.88/1.28/1.68% im planning to get this for my wife but not sure whether the maintenance cost is high or not or is it worth it for normal daily usage 3 years FREE maintenance @ 15/30/45k 5 years warranty (standard) on the paper , rebates 10k off the paper, simply can ask 12-15k provided on how you nego with the salesperson Comes to review 1) driving experience surely > jap + kimchi car on the same segment , try it on vios/city/jazz/rio , the differences is incomparable, the only one come close is Mazda 2 2) interior is typical minimalist feel, if you love sporty or likes to furnish with plenty of features, this model not suits you, go for mazda2/city 3) maintenance wise you only need to think about 60/75k to fulfill its warranty unless you drive a lot then different story. Non-authorize workshop with reasonable price are plenty out there nowadays. For wear and tear parts, just get it elsewhere . 4) warranty wise still the same or improve maybe as vw started to look serious into that since last incident (i assume you know what it is) 5) if depreciation is part of your concern, just forget about it. Today you buy, tomorrow lose 30% at least 6) no keyless, no pushstart, no side mirror auto closeup etc, just an old school euro car sekian |
Jun 13 2018, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Jun 13 2018, 04:13 PM) Mine less than 5k km already hissing haha. But only during cold weather/temperature. Handling still ok. I already warned u in PM right? No. I went for the MPI. Tersadai once because of broken CD player. Yes, you heard it right. VW SC's SOP for RMA is #(*$(*@(*@(. Need to diagnose once, second time to confirm which part, then only wait for parts and install. Three times at least for simple stuff like that. Seriously, even Proton is better in this front. Basically, most Indian sourced wear and tear parts have very short lifespan and not covered by warranty. Another common issue is the disc brake material, would wrap easily when drastic change in temp. Again, worse than Proton here. |
Jun 13 2018, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(dares @ Jun 13 2018, 06:20 PM) Ah well... I like the chassis and ride (vs other mainstream). But too bad the power delivery is lethargic. If given a chance to choose again, I should have bought a 208 Puretech and keep the old car. |
Jun 13 2018, 06:44 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
185 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(skylee18 @ Jun 13 2018, 04:38 PM) If you buy a vento now, your loan is 5/7/9 @ 0.88/1.28/1.68% I guess you’re right, I really could feel the difference of power especially between the Vento 1.2 TSi and a City 1.53 years FREE maintenance @ 15/30/45k 5 years warranty (standard) on the paper , rebates 10k off the paper, simply can ask 12-15k provided on how you nego with the salesperson Comes to review 1) driving experience surely > jap + kimchi car on the same segment , try it on vios/city/jazz/rio , the differences is incomparable, the only one come close is Mazda 2 2) interior is typical minimalist feel, if you love sporty or likes to furnish with plenty of features, this model not suits you, go for mazda2/city 3) maintenance wise you only need to think about 60/75k to fulfill its warranty unless you drive a lot then different story. Non-authorize workshop with reasonable price are plenty out there nowadays. For wear and tear parts, just get it elsewhere . 4) warranty wise still the same or improve maybe as vw started to look serious into that since last incident (i assume you know what it is) 5) if depreciation is part of your concern, just forget about it. Today you buy, tomorrow lose 30% at least 6) no keyless, no pushstart, no side mirror auto closeup etc, just an old school euro car sekian But the thing is, based on my experience during the test drive, the engine needs to be worked hard to feel the power, and it does have power Like during normal driving it feels quite lazy. Honda City or Japs in general is different, it’s very sprightly in town and gentle throttle, but when you floor it bising je lebih, not really powerful Since I mostly drive in town, I went for a Jazz, but I guess if you like driving sportingly the Vento would be more appropriate Depends on your driving patterns And of course if you are always trapped in jams, don’t do it, just don’t |
Jun 13 2018, 06:54 PM
QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Jun 13 2018, 06:40 PM) Ah well... I like the chassis and ride (vs other mainstream). But too bad the power delivery is lethargic. If given a chance to choose again, I should have bought a 208 Puretech and keep the old car. Pijot SC and VW abang adik je lah. Parts also don't last lol.My rule of thumb of owning a European car....keep a spare local or jap car |
Jun 13 2018, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(dares @ Jun 13 2018, 06:54 PM) Pijot SC and VW abang adik je lah. Parts also don't last lol. That's what I mean. Since they both are abang adik, might as well choose the higher tech and better designed one lol. 208 Puretech has a modern engine and much better FC.My rule of thumb of owning a European car....keep a spare local or jap car |
Jun 14 2018, 10:58 AM
406 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(axsatr @ Jun 13 2018, 06:44 PM) I guess you’re right, I really could feel the difference of power especially between the Vento 1.2 TSi and a City 1.5 well , yes you are right because vento body is heavier, so it depends on your driving behaviorBut the thing is, based on my experience during the test drive, the engine needs to be worked hard to feel the power, and it does have power Like during normal driving it feels quite lazy. Honda City or Japs in general is different, it’s very sprightly in town and gentle throttle, but when you floor it bising je lebih, not really powerful Since I mostly drive in town, I went for a Jazz, but I guess if you like driving sportingly the Vento would be more appropriate Depends on your driving patterns And of course if you are always trapped in jams, don’t do it, just don’t if you go for jazz, the close one that can compare to is polo |
Jun 14 2018, 11:09 AM
110 posts Joined: Jul 2016 |
Jun 14 2018, 11:17 AM
2,730 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: In the shadows behind you |
QUOTE(dares @ Jun 13 2018, 11:30 AM) I cannot stand the car in D mode. I almost always slot it into S whenever I drive and give fuel economy the middle finger. Was invited to VW safety driving course for the Vento.If you are not too demanding, it can be abit of a hoot to drive it around corners. The chassis is definitely a cut above the Toyotas and Hondas peers. Yeah, I agree on the chassis... But the power and interior build/features is so meh Can use to beli sayur or for rich man (but not filthy rich) young daughter 1st car so as not to lose face because buy Japs. |
| Change to: | 0.0192sec
5 queries
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:34 PM |