WTA - How to install REAR dash cam?, plan to install my self

TSRichardN
post Jun 6 2018, 06:35 PM, updated 8y ago

26 posts

Hi FnF LYN,

I have been thinking to buy a dash cam. I know many ppl do record only front side and some rear side as well.

Installing a front dash cam is not a problem since the port is near. I am having a hard time thinking on how to install a rear dash cam.

Because I am planning to buy 2 of this Xiaomi 70mai dash cam

I wanted to install my self, anyone can share how do you guys install your rear dash cam?
mcchin
post Jun 6 2018, 06:40 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

some people tap in the power from the car interior overhead lights

some would run the cable from front to rear
since most prolly the voltage is USB standard, aka 5v
a couple of meter should be no problem
lil_flank
post Jun 6 2018, 07:01 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(RichardN @ Jun 6 2018, 06:35 PM)
Hi FnF LYN,

I have been thinking to buy a dash cam. I know many ppl do record only front side and some rear side as well.

Installing a front dash cam is not a problem since the port is near. I am having a hard time thinking on how to install a rear dash cam.

Because I am planning to buy 2 of this Xiaomi 70mai dash cam

I wanted to install my self, anyone can share how do you guys install your rear dash cam?
Buy Viofo A129 Dual channel will solve your problem.
xemoboyx
post Jun 6 2018, 07:21 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(lil_flank @ Jun 6 2018, 07:01 PM)
Buy Viofo A129 Dual channel will solve your problem.
but 70mai is cheap tho.. icon_idea.gif
therain01
post Jun 7 2018, 12:03 AM

257 posts

I use this China recorder. It use my reverse camera for rear record.

TSRichardN
post Jun 7 2018, 09:15 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(xemoboyx @ Jun 6 2018, 07:21 PM)
but 70mai is cheap tho..  icon_idea.gif
Ya very agree with this. It is cheap and sleek design and packs with features. Can't complain much, it is just that very hard to find the english version here. Got any idea where to source the english version?
TSRichardN
post Jun 7 2018, 09:15 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Jun 7 2018, 12:03 AM)
How you install it?? that is the question. Where you source the power from?
SUSsteven888
post Jun 7 2018, 09:26 AM

65 posts

Buy this :

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/car-char....526b49fbFekqTG

and tap power from fuse box using this :

https://www.lazada.com.my/-i209699097-s2626...lFlag=true&mp=1

Depending on type of your car you will need to find the correct type of fuse before you buy the fuse tap adapter.
TSRichardN
post Jun 7 2018, 10:18 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(steven888 @ Jun 7 2018, 09:26 AM)
Buy this :

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/car-char....526b49fbFekqTG

and tap power from fuse box using this :

https://www.lazada.com.my/-i209699097-s2626...lFlag=true&mp=1

Depending on type of your car you will need to find the correct type of fuse before you buy the fuse tap adapter.
Wow.. Thanks.. I should check this out.
Quazacolt
post Jun 7 2018, 10:40 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

For my car, the provided cable is more than long enough.

If not, you can get usb cable extensions
therain01
post Jun 7 2018, 04:55 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(RichardN @ Jun 7 2018, 09:15 AM)
How you install it?? that is the question. Where you source the power from?
Very easy just plug and play. DIY.
mdziaf
post Jun 8 2018, 07:59 AM

93 posts

You can check this video on youtube. For your case it would be the usb cable that you want to wire to the back to power the second dashcam(you might have to buy an extra long cable). So just remove the rubber seal and put your wire in there..

Just depends when you come to the rear of your car.. If yours is a hatchback its a bit difficult if you want to 100% hide the wire since you may need to open up the trim of your car. But if you don't mind, you can just let the last few meters show a bit and not worry about openning the trim.

killerpigglet
post Jun 8 2018, 11:29 AM

135 posts

Bro I got extra unit 70mai dashcam. U want?

If u want install rear. Just get longer wire pull to front. Or cable extension. Pull up some interior to hide the wiring. It would look nice in the end
TSRichardN
post Jun 8 2018, 11:54 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(mdziaf @ Jun 8 2018, 07:59 AM)
You can check this video on youtube. For your case it would be the usb cable that you want to wire to the back to power the second dashcam(you might have to buy an extra long cable). So just remove the rubber seal and put your wire in there..

Just depends when you come to the rear of your car.. If yours is a hatchback its a bit difficult if you want to 100% hide the wire since you may need to open up the trim of your car. But if you don't mind, you can just let the last few meters show a bit and not worry about openning the trim.
I not yet get my car yet.. still on booking, but it is a saloon so no worries like hatchback. Thanks for sharing the video thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSRichardN
post Jun 8 2018, 11:55 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(killerpigglet @ Jun 8 2018, 11:29 AM)
Bro I got extra unit 70mai dashcam. U want?

If u want install rear. Just get longer wire pull to front. Or cable extension. Pull up some interior to hide the wiring. It would look nice in the end
Is it an English version? Ori?
killerpigglet
post Jun 8 2018, 11:59 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(RichardN @ Jun 8 2018, 11:55 AM)
Is it an English version? Ori?
Ori of course. Never heard of fake one though. It's new

Chinese one. I think I have a link. U can change to English. I don't need cause I know Chinese xD
TSRichardN
post Jun 8 2018, 12:03 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(killerpigglet @ Jun 8 2018, 11:59 AM)
Ori of course. Never heard of fake one though. It's new

Chinese one. I think I have a link. U can change to English. I don't need cause I know Chinese xD
Hahaha.. Ya I know many seller selling the chinese version here (the 1st version). I am looking for the english version (the 2nd and global version).

The chinese version cannot change the language to english, I ady tried at the seller place.
killerpigglet
post Jun 8 2018, 12:06 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(RichardN @ Jun 8 2018, 12:03 PM)
Hahaha.. Ya I know many seller selling the chinese version here (the 1st version). I am looking for the english version (the 2nd and global version).

The chinese version cannot change the language to english, I ady tried at the seller place.
Since u use for back. Can just get Chinese version. Front use English.

I didn't know 2nd version got English. Macam not bad
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 8 2018, 12:07 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Jun 7 2018, 12:03 AM)
would the quality sucks?
therain01
post Jun 8 2018, 12:30 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 8 2018, 12:07 PM)
would the quality sucks?
The front camera has decent quality. It comes with ADAS but I'm seldom use it. The back camera record at low resolution though.

TSRichardN
post Jun 8 2018, 12:34 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 8 2018, 12:07 PM)
would the quality sucks?
China electronic product has been improving a lot for a decent price. Don't go and buy those super cheap item, definitely sucks. Find those are decent price and many ppl uses it globally.

like the say "Quality item doesn't come cheap"

I am amaze when I bought the china vape back when vape craziness trends around. The built quality is there, fine workmanship, good material. After that tried their phone, and yes the quality is quite good and improving as we speak.
redhotpepper
post Dec 12 2021, 11:57 PM

48 posts

I'm interested to install 70mai 1s at the rear of myvi, is the Ori cable sufficient enough?
mcchin
post Dec 13 2021, 12:31 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(redhotpepper @ Dec 12 2021, 11:57 PM)
I'm interested to install 70mai 1s at the rear of myvi, is the Ori cable sufficient enough?
Yes
usual line is above the headliner

Did that on my civic and the cable is routed down A pillar, behind glove box

though my 12V is down there in the front of the mid console

where is yours located?

0.0230sec    1.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:07 PM