Japanese & Korean Films, Recommended movies - new & old

TSsweet_pez
post Jun 4 2018, 04:10 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Kanan Jarrus @ Jun 4 2018, 02:57 PM)
I really wanna watch The Miracles of Namiya General Store, because the thematic is something that is bizarre yet intriguing for me at that time, but sadly it didn't get allocated in my nearest cinema branch(mmCineplex) sigh sad.gif
i know the tidbits of story based on the trailers in youtube and after reading short snippets of it in wikipedia, but if you don't mind, can you spoil the ending/climax part for me? i'm dying to know because i don't read the novel so yeah i only know what's it about on surface, but i don't know what happens to the characters communicating within the different timeline.. sad.gif
Can't stream the movie or download it...? hmm.gif

If you're sure about it then I'll give you the full compact version cool2.gif

SPOILER

That's the gist of it hahahaha. Hope you enjoyed the story.
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 4 2018, 04:17 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(besthanj @ Jun 4 2018, 03:40 PM)
Yeah I finished watching Miracles of Namiya General Store yesterday... I really like the plot on how they communicate between the present and past...

First time watching this kind of movie... but... yeah although I didn't really cry... but I did feel sad... and you're right... the movie will connect all the dots until the end... marvelously directed and brilliant plot as you mentioned...

But no... my heart ain't no metal... 😁

Anyway tried downloading other movies... seems like it's still too new to be available in the internet...
Yes! It may be a little slow (in terms of pace) but I couldn't stop watching. You know something is gonna happen, just a matter of time biggrin.gif

hahahahahahahaa I was just kidding about the tears. I guess I'm sentimental, many tears came out throughout the show cry.gif

Yes - That Winter, We Parted, Impossibility Defense and Tales of Kamakura is 2018's film (very recent) so probably not available yet huhu.
Kanan Jarrus
post Jun 4 2018, 06:12 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 4 2018, 04:10 PM)
Can't stream the movie or download it...?  hmm.gif

If you're sure about it then I'll give you the full compact version cool2.gif

SPOILER

That's the gist of it hahahaha. Hope you enjoyed the story.
Thank you very much for sharing, that's a wholesome story

in fact now that we're on it, i really wanna watch it even more right now even though i already know the whole thing!! rclxms.gif gonna find a way to get it, by hook or by crook haha!

TSsweet_pez
post Jun 11 2018, 01:27 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Kanan Jarrus @ Jun 4 2018, 06:12 PM)
Thank you very much for sharing, that's a wholesome story

in fact now that we're on it, i really wanna watch it even more right now even though i already know the whole thing!! rclxms.gif  gonna find a way to get it, by hook or by crook haha!
Yes you should, it's wonderful wink.gif

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Jun 11 2018, 01:32 PM
hafizhans
post Jun 11 2018, 01:51 PM

haa..ahnn..ahnn..aduii
1,484 posts

I started to watch korean movies recently and suprisingly they were good.
my top fav are:

1. A taxi driver
2. The wailing
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 11 2018, 01:59 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Korean Films:

The Man from Nowhere (아저씨 / Ajeossi)

Plot from Wiki:
Cha Tae-sik leads a quiet life running a pawnshop. His only friend is a little girl, So-mi, who lives next door. So-mi's mother, Hyo-jeong, is a heroin addict who steals drugs from a feared Korean-Vietnamese organized crime group. She pawns her camera bag to Tae-sik; he does not realize it has the stolen drugs inside. Crime lord Oh Myung-gyu sends his subordinates, brothers Man-Seok and Jong-seok to retrieve the drugs; Jong-seok and his henchman Lum Ramrowan torture Hyo-jeong to find the drugs' location, then kidnap her and So-mi. Two gangsters, Du-chi and "Bear" go to Tae-sik's pawn shop, but Tae-sik easily overpowers them. When he finds that Hyo-jeong and So-mi have been kidnapped, he gives them the bag, and Ramrowan kills Bear to set him up as the fall guy.

Realizing that Tae-sik may serve better as a mule, the gang brothers force Tae-sik to perform a delivery to Oh Myung-gyu, who they have set up. The police arrest Tae-sik and discover Hyo-jeong's body, with her organs harvested, in the back of the car he used to make the delivery. Tae-sik escapes from the police station to search for So-mi, and during his escape, the police are bewildered at Tae-sik's display of power, combat techniques, and agility. On further investigation, they discover that Tae-sik was a former covert operator for the South Korean Army Intelligence, with numerous commendations, but he retired after he was wounded and his pregnant wife was murdered by an assassin.

POV: One of my all-time favourite is The Man from Nowhere. It started off mysteriously but soon, it escalated quickly. So fast that you'd probably hold your breath as you watch on. Extremely awesome action & fight scenes, well-written plot and handsome Won Bin, there's nothing lacking about this film (except I wished he hadn't cut his hair). This is one of the film that got me started exploring other Korean films, as I didn't expect them to be this ichiban.

Hwayi: A Monster Boy

Plot from Wiki:
In the middle of a forest, a notorious five-member crime organization lives together on a deserted farm. One day, following a plan that didn't go as expected, an infant whom they had kidnapped in a blackmailing scheme is left with them. 14 years later, this boy, who is now named Hwa-yi, lives as the son of his five criminal fathers: Seok-tae, the cold but charismatic leader, Ki-tae, a stammering driving expert, Jin-seong, an ideal planner, Beom-soo, a guns expert, and Dong-beom a cold martial artist. Hwa-yi has been brought up in a unique way, learning skills from his five fathers instead of going to school. Though he has adapted to this life, sometimes he longs for the ordinary life of other boys, which seems impossible for him.

The gang plans another crime, which will see Hwa-yi participate for the first time. During a fight, Hwa-yi fires a gun to kill someone. At first, his fingers tremble and the gun shakes but after one shot, he keeps pulling the trigger as though possessed. He finds a picture of a child on the man he shot and soon Hwa-yi starts to uncover a huge secret and his tragic destiny. His life is turned upside down when he learns that the man he killed was his real father. From that moment on, Hwa-yi vows revenge on his gangster fathers, using the devious skills he picked up from a life in crime.

POV: I've known about this film for some time, but always lack the interest to watch it because the plot is so depressing. Yet I finally picked it up and it was as I expected: plenty of blood, shooting and corpse. There were some questions that I wanted answer to, but unfortunately I don't think there will ever be an answer. Good plot twists and Yeo Jin Goo is an amazing actor icon_rolleyes.gif

I Can Speak

Plot from Wiki:

An elderly woman (played by Na Moon-hee) constantly files complaints with the local office about the wrongs that she sees around her each day. Along the way, she forms an unlikely friendship with a junior civil service officer (played by Lee Je-hoon) who begins to teach her English. Being the teacher of the elderly woman, he realizes the genuine reason why she learned English and becomes an important supporter in earnest.

Though the film is a comedy, the genre serves as a vehicle to discuss the deeper topic of Korean "comfort women" during World War II.

POV: I only read Astro's synopsis before the film and they gave so little. Something along the line of how an elderly woman and a young man form an unexpected friendship when she asked him to teach her English. Thought I'll give it a chance and true enough - it started off as witty but slowly turned to something grimmer and serious towards the end. Personally I find it good, but it depends on your preference of genre. One thing for sure, it was certainly not boring.

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Jun 11 2018, 05:45 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 11 2018, 02:03 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(hafizhans @ Jun 11 2018, 01:51 PM)
I started to watch korean movies recently and suprisingly they were good.
my top fav are:

1. A taxi driver
2. The wailing
Ah, I heard of Taxi Driver. Not so much of the Wailing.

Hahahaha yes you're right about them being surprisingly good. There was a period of blank where I hardly watch Korean movies (before they have tvN movies on Astro), but after I have seen The Man from Nowhere on tvN one day, I continued to explore the channel and films. Initially I thought only their drama is good, what a mistake haha.
hafizhans
post Jun 11 2018, 02:59 PM

haa..ahnn..ahnn..aduii
1,484 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 11 2018, 02:03 PM)
Ah, I heard of Taxi Driver. Not so much of the Wailing.

Hahahaha yes you're right about them being surprisingly good. There was a period of blank where I hardly watch Korean movies (before they have tvN movies on Astro), but after I have seen The Man from Nowhere on tvN one day, I continued to explore the channel and films. Initially I thought only their drama is good, what a mistake haha.
after finish the wailing, i still have to google for explanation.
quite confusing but very gooding thumbup.gif
The Man from Nowhere is good also!
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 11 2018, 03:38 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(hafizhans @ Jun 11 2018, 02:59 PM)
after finish the wailing, i still have to google for explanation.
quite confusing but very gooding  thumbup.gif
The Man from Nowhere is good also!
I looked it up just now biggrin.gif macam yes, will look for the show!

Oh wait, just realized you mentioned "Man from Nowhere"!!! Yes it's one of my fav!!!

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Jun 11 2018, 05:55 PM
Omega Z
post Jun 11 2018, 09:05 PM

269 posts

Allow me to share my share of Jap/Korean films that I like

Taiyou No Uta (Midnight Sun)

Synopsis

I watched this due to YUI (who played Kaoru) and I have this soft spots towards movies that has music elements in it. A coming of age kinda movie. Simple love story. Has its own sad moments but not enough to use tissues.

I Saw The Devil

Synopsis

A violent film (obviously), but as usual great (and sick) performance by Choi MIn Sik, (damn I love this guy, you will know him from OLDBOY). Its has blood and torture ( but not that extreme, still acceptable). Sometimes you wonder to what limit will you able to do to avenge for the person you love. Will you cross the line or not? If you are a fan of thriller/crime you will like this movie.

This post has been edited by Omega Z: Jun 11 2018, 09:15 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 12 2018, 09:10 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Omega Z @ Jun 11 2018, 09:05 PM)
Allow me to share my share of  Jap/Korean films that I like

Ahhhhh will try to avoid melodrama if possible, as I tear up easily.

I enjoy thrillers, will probably look for this movie. In fact Lee Byung Hun's films are usually pretty good, a safe bet when you're not sure what to watch.
Thanks for the recommendations biggrin.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 12 2018, 09:59 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

My favourite Korean horror film:

The Priests (검은 사제들/ Geomeun Sajedeul)

Plot from Wiki (this is a synopsis extracted from Wiki with spoiler omitted):

A young girl who belongs to Father Kim's parish becomes comatose after a hit-and-run accident. Father Kim finds out she is possessed by an evil spirit. Father Kim along with a rebellious young seminarian named Choi who is unsure about the spiritual warfare, tries to exorcise the demon and confine it in a piglet. Members of rosicrucianism informs Father Kim that two of their priests were killed by this demon. During the exorcism, manifestations of the demon terrifies, one of them being developing unnatural rashes all over the body, Choi and he runs out, but comes back to finish what they started with determination. When they try to free the girl from the demon's powerful hold, they realized that the demon they are facing is an ancient one named Malphas and is far more dangerous than they ever thought.

POV: A good horror movie is far better than a hundred mediocre ones. This is one creepy movie and yes, it scared the hell out of me. Probably 'coz I watched this at night alone, it was even better lol.gif everyone's tolerance & reaction towards horror is different, but this scares me. Had to watch some cute dog videos before going to bed.

Montage (몽타주 / Mongtajoo)

Plot from Wiki (this is a synopsis extracted from Wiki with spoiler omitted):

A kidnapper disappeared 15 years ago without a trace. Five days before the case's statute of limitations expires, someone is found anonymously leaving a flower at the crime scene. A few days later, another kidnapping takes place using the same method on a similar target. Police team up to solve the case before it's too late as in its previous case. Detective (Kim Sang-kyung) is consulted and he confirms its a similar MO.

POV: It keeps you on edge and probably your mouth gaping open. A thriller with major plot twist - and if this is what you like, it's definitely for you biggrin.gif I had to go out while watching it halfway, so I recorded the 2nd half and the first thing I got home - finish it.
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 14 2018, 01:58 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Japanese

ReLife

Plot from Wiki
The story revolves around a 27-year-old man who becomes unemployed after quitting his job of 3-months, claiming that it is because it "does not fit his highest potential". As a result of this action, he finds it difficult to gain a full-time job at another company and instead he works as a part-timer at a mini market. One day, a mysterious man named Ryō Yoake offers him a job opportunity, but first he needs to become a tester for ReLife: a scientific experiment to rejuvenate him by 10 years and send him back to high school as a student. Apparently, the experiment is supposed to provide a chance to experience youth once again and, in the process, fix whatever is wrong with the subject's life.

POV: It's alright. I read the manga, then watched the anime and subsequently the Live Action. No, not a huge fan sweat.gif but I like the story and I'm always curious what happens next, as well as the ending. Although the manga is still ongoing, the Live Action only had 2 hours to tell its tale. I'm satisfied with the casting for the characters and I think the actors did their job well. However I wish there were more depths to characters like Ryo and Oga in the film. Yet with little time, I think this is the best they can do.

toughgshock
post Jun 18 2018, 01:44 PM

196 posts

Synopsis

I watched this due to YUI (who played Kaoru) and I have this soft spots towards movies that has music elements in it. A coming of age kinda movie. Simple love story. Has its own sad moments but not enough to use tissues.

I Saw The Devil

Synopsis

A violent film (obviously), but as usual great (and sick) performance by Choi MIn Sik, (damn I love this guy, you will know him from OLDBOY). Its has blood and torture ( but not that extreme, still acceptable). Sometimes you wonder to what limit will you able to do to avenge for the person you love. Will you cross the line or not? If you are a fan of thriller/crime you will like this movie.
I just watched "I saw the devil". Sick but good story. Tension. Thanks for recommendation.
recca_act
post Jun 20 2018, 09:41 AM

38 posts

A new Korean movie just came out in the cinema, Champion, not bad.
besthanj
post Jun 20 2018, 09:52 AM

142 posts

Synopsis

I Saw The Devil

Synopsis

Yes I just watched Taiyou No Uta (Midnight Sun). It's really gooooood.

The beginning of the movie was all happy moment until the middle until the end, they found out that she has this sickness (sad moment). Not gonna say more here (not to spoil for those haven't watch it yet)

But overall it's a good movie which I'm glad I watched it. Because. YUI !

I always listened to YUI's Goodbye Days like 10 years ago (during my schooling days), now I know it's from a movie.

Thanks for recommending!
besthanj
post Jun 20 2018, 09:57 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 4 2018, 02:20 PM)
Finally had some time to spare last Saturday evening. Decided to watch Solomon's Perjury which I've downloaded months ago laugh.gif

And so I did. Excellent movie, that's 4.5 hours well spent. The movie is split into Part I (2 hours) and Part II (2.5 hours)

Solomon's Perjury

Solomon's Perjury 1: Suspicion (ソロモンの偽証 前篇・事件/ Solomon no Gisho Zenpen Jiken)
Solomon's Perjury 2: Judgment (ソロモンの偽証 後編・裁判/ Solomon no Gisho Kohen Saiban)

Plot Synopsis by AsianWiki Staff ©

On Christmas morning, Ryoko (Ryoko Fujino) and Kenichi (Koki Maeda) go to school and discover a dead boy covered in snow. The deceased boy is Ryoko's classmate Takuya (Ayumu Mochizuki). The police determine that Takuya committed suicide and his parents agree with the police report. Rumors though quickly spread about Takuya's death. Ryoko and Principle Masao (Fumiyo Kohinata) then receive anonymous notes. The notes claim that the sender witnessed three students, including Shunji (Hiroya Shimizu), throw Takuya off of the rooftop of a school building.

To protect the students, the police and the school hide the anonymous notes, but a reporter receives one of the notes. The situation then becomes uncontrollable. A student dies in a car accident and the other students become increasingly unsettled by the unknown. Ryoko decides to hold a trial by their peers to uncover the truth.

POV: In Part I - you'll witness the beginning of the "tragedy". Part II is where the excitement began - a court trial by the students, for the students. You will see the plot unfolds towards the end.

Typically Japanese film, the pace starts slow and some part of the movie was in fact a little draggy. But as they say, patience bears fruit. I was too absorbed into the film to mind the slow parts. The plot was interesting and you dive into all the characters' emotions and guilt throughout the whole story. Enjoyed the movie thoroughly and looking forward to watch the Korean drama's version.

I recommend this to people who likes mystery thumbup.gif
I've already downloaded both of these movies. But don't have the time to watch it yet, WORLD CUP season now hahaha.

These kind of movies definitely intrigues me as I love mystery/detective movies.

Will give my review once I'm done.

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 14 2018, 01:58 PM)
Japanese

ReLife

Plot from Wiki
The story revolves around a 27-year-old man who becomes unemployed after quitting his job of 3-months, claiming that it is because it "does not fit his highest potential". As a result of this action, he finds it difficult to gain a full-time job at another company and instead he works as a part-timer at a mini market. One day, a mysterious man named Ryō Yoake offers him a job opportunity, but first he needs to become a tester for ReLife: a scientific experiment to rejuvenate him by 10 years and send him back to high school as a student. Apparently, the experiment is supposed to provide a chance to experience youth once again and, in the process, fix whatever is wrong with the subject's life.

POV: It's alright. I read the manga, then watched the anime and subsequently the Live Action. No, not a huge fan sweat.gif but I like the story and I'm always curious what happens next, as well as the ending. Although the manga is still ongoing, the Live Action only had 2 hours to tell its tale. I'm satisfied with the casting for the characters and I think the actors did their job well. However I wish there were more depths to characters like Ryo and Oga in the film. Yet with little time, I think this is the best they can do.
Ah...Did someone said RE:LIFE ?!

Yes this movie I will definitely watch it. I've already watched the anime version of RE:Life.

Now it's in a movie, will try to download it and watch if it's available.

Thankss @sweetypez
besthanj
post Jun 20 2018, 10:13 AM

142 posts

OK, rather than me keep "taking," I will going to have to "give" some in return, haha.

So here's my recommendation, I'm not sure if you guys have watched:

Battle Royale

I really like this kind of movie of survivor series. Synopsis below

Synopsis:
42 9th graders are sent to a deserted island. They are given a map, food, and various weapons. An explosive collar is fitted around their neck. If they break a rule, the collar explodes. Their mission: kill each other and be the last one standing. The last survivor is allowed to leave the island. If there is more than one survivor, the collars explode and kill them all.

Also detective kind of story but gentle kind:

Meitantei Katherine (Detective Katherine)

Again Detective story... which is my personal favorite...

But what's even more special that makes me wanna watch this is that the detective (main actress is an American), and I like her accent speaking in Japanese. It's really funny and cute biggrin.gif

Synopsis:
Katherine Turner is the daughter of the Vice President of the United States, and she had come with her father on his official visit to Japan. Since she runs a flower arrangement business back in the US, Katherine decides to stay on in Japan to learn Ikebana, after her father had returned home at the end of the official visit. Japan's Minister of Foreign Affairs, Hamaguchi Yukio, asks his nephew, Ichiro, to escort Katherine during her extended stay in Japan with the strict instructions that he is not to fall in love with her.

Katherine actually started her flower arrangement business after a chance meeting with a Japanese woman, Ogawa Maiko, who had held an exhibition in the United States. She befriended Maiko, and is now hoping to reunite with her old friend in Japan. Unable to reach Maiko, Katherine is shocked to learn that Maiko is a victim of a homicide. Thus, with the help of Ichiro, Katherine begins to look into her friend's death.

There's also a part 2:

Detective Katherine: Kieta Souzokujin (The Vanished Heiress)

Synopsis:
(They didn't provide the synopsis but it's a continuous from Part 1, and it's also good, just watch it =D)

I will be back for more recommendation if I found anything good.

This post has been edited by besthanj: Jun 20 2018, 10:21 AM
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 20 2018, 11:30 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(besthanj @ Jun 20 2018, 09:57 AM)
I've already downloaded both of these movies. But don't have the time to watch it yet, WORLD CUP season now hahaha.

These kind of movies definitely intrigues me as I love mystery/detective movies.

Will give my review once I'm done.
Wahahaha World Cup aye, supporter of which country? biggrin.gif *waves Argentina flag* Messi messed up tho hahahaha. Also supporting Asian countries - go go South Korea & Japan thumbup.gif

Yes, I enjoy mystery-thriller as well. They can be intriguing. You need to try South Korean films - they're really good. After World Cup you can give Montage a shot, I highly recommend this detective-mystery-thriller.

It's not easy to have access to Japanese film cry.gif

QUOTE(besthanj @ Jun 20 2018, 09:57 AM)
Ah...Did someone said RE:LIFE ?!

Yes this movie I will definitely watch it. I've already watched the anime version of RE:Life.

Now it's in a movie, will try to download it and watch if it's available.

Thankss @sweetypez
RE:LIFE it is! I've kinda stopped following the manga but the movie isn't bad. Casting was done nicely, the characters are a good fit.
lolololl you're another one who improvised my nick other than some of the naughty mods lol.gif lol.gif lol.gif

QUOTE(besthanj @ Jun 20 2018, 10:13 AM)
OK, rather than me keep "taking," I will going to have to "give" some in return, haha.

So here's my recommendation, I'm not sure if you guys have watched:

Battle Royale

I will be back for more recommendation if I found anything good.

BATTLE ROYALE *screams* definitely my favourite when it comes to horror! I had a shock when I watched it, but that didn't stop me from watching it again for the 2nd, 3rd, 4th... time. Even introduced it to my friend over a sleepover and she was so horrified. We still talk about it the show to this day hahahahaha on how the hero survived with just a pot lid! Certainly a good recommendation!

Have not come across Detective Katherine, interesting that it's a westerner playing the lead hmm.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 20 2018, 11:56 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Japanese

What A Wonderful Family! 2 (家族はつらいよ2 / Kazoku wa Tsurai yo 2)

Plot Synopsis by AsianWiki Staff ©
Story takes place several years after Shuzo (Isao Hashizume) and his wife Tomiko (Kazuko Yoshiyuki) nearly divorced.

Shuzo still enjoys driving his own car. His oldest son Konosuke (Masahiko Nishimura) and his wife Fumie (Yui Natsukawa) notice a dent on Shuzo’s car. They worry that Shuzo is now too old to safely drive. They make a plan to have Shuzo return his driver's license. Shuzo's daughter Taizo (Shozo Hayashiya) and her husband Shigeko (Tomoko Nakajima) and Shuzo's youngest son Shota (Satoshi Tsumabuki) and his girlfriend Noriko (Yu Aoi) are also worried about Shuzo’s driving. Yet, Shuzo is too stubborn to quit.

One day, while Shuzo is driving with bar owner Kayo (Jun Fubuki), he happens to meet Ginnpei Maruta (Nenji Kobayashi). They graduated from the same school in their home town of Hiroshima. For the first time in 40 years, Shuzo and Ginnpei drink alcohol together at Kayo’s bar. Shuzo then lets Ginnpei stay at his house. Soon, a new disturbance arises at the Hirata family.

POV: Ok i didn't watch part 1. This was back in 2017 - but even if you missed the prequel, you will not have any problem watching 2. It was easy to know who is who (son or daughter-in-law, or daughter). 10 minutes into the show and you'll understand the Hirata family with no problem. In part 2, the theme is on elderly who drives and death. The latter may appear grim but there's certainly plenty of laughs and dark comedy that comes along. Typical family-drama sort of movie, it is both moving and heart warming. Yes, it makes me want to look for Part 1.

Gantz

Plot Synopsis by Wiki

Gantz (2011)
The film follows two young men, Kei Kurono (Kazunari Ninomiya) and Masaru Kato (Kenichi Matsuyama), who are killed in a train accident. After their deaths they find themselves transported to another world, where there exists a black orb known as Gantz. Inside the Gantz is a bald man on life support.They find the Gantz in an unfurnished Tokyo apartment, and it forces them to take part in missions to hunt and kill aliens. They struggle to figure out if it is a game, or reality. Kei and Masura, and other newly dead people must accumulate points by killing aliens, and when they score one hundred points, they can choose to be resurrected, or bring a person of their choosing back to life.

Another Gantz (2011)
Airing on TV before Gantz: The Perfect Answer, Another Gantz is an alternate version of the first Gantz film. The film follows an investigative journalist during the events of the Gantz: the Perfect Answer.

Gantz: Perfect Answer (2011)
In Part two, Kei has become a warrior for Gantz, seeking to earn 100 points. Kei aims to bring Masaru back to life, who had died in the world of Gantz. He is working at a fast food restaurant, while taking care of his friend's orphaned little brother. In between missions, Kei lives his old life, and has a relationship with Tae (Yuriko Yoshitaka), an artist. He succeeds in bringing Masaru back to life, but Masaru comes back as two people - one good, and the other evil. There is also an investigator, Shigeta (Takayuki Yamada), who is trying to understand the Gantz-related violence, and Eriko Ayukawa (Ayumi Ito), an actress who wakes up with a small Gantz ball in her bed. Soon aliens begin to take on alien form and attack the main characters, and the Gantz begins to experience glitches. The fighting culminates in a battle on a subway with shapeshifting aliens.

POV: Gantz <3 yes, it's from an animation so this is considered Live Action. I'm a skeptic when it comes to Live Actions (to me, not all animation can be turned to LA) but I'll sing high praises to Gantz. Very well made props, action scenes coupled with excellent casts, it's wonderful. I have no complain, except that there are 3 films and as usual, the first is usually the best. And, I absolutely hate films where they make best friends turn against each other /flips table

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Jun 20 2018, 12:12 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0219sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:42 AM