Hardware Help with wiring a AC motor + capacitor, Any electricians around

Zot
post May 25 2018, 12:11 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ May 25 2018, 12:05 PM)
agree on this.
if buy from china some of them dun even follow standard wire color code.
i hate guessing and is lazy to back trace the wiring. mad.gif
Wait until you look into wire colors in telecom cable. You have to have lighting with good CRI (Color Rendering Index) to differentiate those colors laugh.gif
TSgarethlye
post May 25 2018, 12:42 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ May 25 2018, 12:03 PM)
Seems similar except for wire color. The problem is the wire color is for internal wiring is not the same. Even within same company  rclxub.gif

Looks like the the video is using the US color coding because N is white.

This is good site for reference:

https://www.allaboutcircuits.com/textbook/r...ng-color-codes/

There are many Hindi youtube video. You just need to watch Kuch Kuch Hota Hai  laugh.gif
QUOTE(COOLPINK @ May 25 2018, 12:05 PM)
agree on this.
if buy from china some of them dun even follow standard wire color code.
i hate guessing and is lazy to back trace the wiring. mad.gif
So we're all in agreement for Zot's diagram yeah?
Ill test it tonight and let you guys know biggrin.gif
Much love guys. wub.gif
COOLPINK
post May 25 2018, 02:02 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ May 25 2018, 12:11 PM)
Wait until you look into wire colors in telecom cable. You have to have lighting with good CRI (Color Rendering Index) to differentiate those colors  laugh.gif
nooooooooooooooo! laugh.gif
COOLPINK
post May 25 2018, 02:05 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(garethlye @ May 25 2018, 12:42 PM)
So we're all in agreement for Zot's diagram yeah?
Ill test it tonight and let you guys know biggrin.gif
Much love guys.  wub.gif
well zots explanation is sound.

keep us updated. thumbsup.gif .
TSgarethlye
post May 26 2018, 10:21 AM

207 posts

It workkssssss! Ahhhhh!
Thanks a huge bunch guys!
Wish I could upvote you guys like in Reddit xD
Zot
post May 26 2018, 12:59 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(garethlye @ May 26 2018, 10:21 AM)
It workkssssss! Ahhhhh!
Thanks a huge bunch guys!
Wish I could upvote you guys like in Reddit xD
Did you know that I could understand what that Indian boy talk about in Youtube video laugh.gif

Good to hear that you get it worked thumbsup.gif
Richard
post May 28 2018, 06:03 AM

1,083 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ May 25 2018, 08:22 AM)
This should be the wiring from my understanding.

[attachmentid=9822787]

I believe this should work. Don't worry, it will not explode  laugh.gif , but prepare to switch off if anything unexpected happened. Just for precaution.  tongue.gif

I re-read your thread. You were saying that this is for your project to pull something. I think the fan motor does not have enough torque to do this kind of job.
Correct wiring

Red connect to one side of capacitor

Connect the live wire to the thermal fuse, blue wire and the opposite side of the capacitor

Black is always the neutral in an electric schematic

The motor runs only because it is an ac voltage

Zot
post May 28 2018, 08:09 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Richard @ May 28 2018, 06:03 AM)
Correct wiring

Red connect to one side of capacitor

Connect the live wire to the thermal fuse, blue wire and the opposite side of the capacitor

Black is always the neutral in an electric schematic

The motor runs only because it is an ac voltage
This is the problem with electrical color coding.

In DC circuit, Black is always negative side. In the AC, Black was used as Neutral on the UK before until early 2004, but now uses new standard used in Europe now Blue as Neutral. The the US, Black is Live and White as Neutral. Malaysia follows Europe with Brown as Live and Blue as Neutral. Old color coding I think is still reserved as alternative; Red for Live and Black for Neutral.

Since the diagram belongs to Daikin (Japan presumably), Black came to my mind because Japan usually follows the US, but the thermal fuse I think suppose t be on Live I think. However, I've seen the diagram with thermal fuse on the Neutral side. However, since it is an AC, then it will still work like you said.

Richard
post May 29 2018, 12:07 AM

1,083 posts

Yes but since Malaysia uses Red, Yellow, Blue as phase colours meaning the live, Black for neutral and Green earth.

Thus to conform to the same colour code it's better to have black as neutral so as not to be confuse at a later date.

That is the intention and not meaning your waym is incorrect.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0163sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:04 AM