Mov_freak
post May 20 2013, 12:14 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Another Jurassic Park?

Frankly, I only REALLY liked the 1st...

It was fresh, new and really nothing like THAT had been done before (remember, this was 1993, and Digital effects were JUST coming in)

Steven Spielberg who is a big fan of Harry Harryhausen, and the concept art of Wilson O'Brien's Creation, was truly inspired, when he made Jurassic Park.

JP2 & 3 was basically bits and pieces of Michael Crichton's books, Jurassic Park/The Lost World which didn't make it to the 1st Jurassic Park movie...

With Michael Crichton gone, I'm NOT sure if anything original would appear in Jurassic Park 4, if it ever makes it to the silver screen...

Just my opinion
Mov_freak
post Jun 11 2015, 10:15 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Jurassic World (2015)

Imagine, 1993, me in a dark cinema, waiting for the first frame of Jurassic Park (1993) to come on. The anticipation.

Don't get me wrong, months before the movie, I had gotten the comics, read newspaper and magazine articles to glean any information I could about the movie.

And then it happened, the movie starts... and... I was... MESMERISED!!

The Writer, director, cast and sepcial effect people DID THEY VERY BEST for the movie, and it shows.

Originally, Steven Spielberg thought he would used animatronics and stop motion for the effects. ILM (Industrial Light and Magic) managed to persuade him otherwise. They claimed they could produced a photorealistic dinosaurs on a computer and did a "scene test". Steven Spielberg was sold and CGI came of age.

The movie box office was off the chart and after this movie, Hollywood became addicted to CGI!

For about half an hour, your do not see a complete dinosaur. Just alot of innuendos.

And when they show a hear of brontosaurus... A sense of wonderment washed over me!!

The cinema was PACKED, and everyone in the cinema was sold that dinosaur could exist in real life in 1993, just like the people in the car, in the movie.!!

After 2 diminishing sequel. how does the third sequel hold up, compared with the original?

It is DARN close.

The first 45 minutes of the movie, I get the same sense of wonderment I got watching Jurassic Park, in 1993!!

The segment itself is VERY similar to the first movie, just much MUCH bigger!!!

The "amusement park" is bigger and much MUCH "better" compared with the first one!!

Everything "right" about the first movie was squeezed into the 45 minutes, and as stated about bigger. Very much so.

I thought that the character Claire (Bryce Dallas Howard) was the young girl from the first movie and she had "inherit" the company InGen, but, alas, no.

I was stoke, that BD Wong is back but...

Irrfan Khan (Life of Pi (2012) fame) plays the Hammond role!!

I actually like Chris Pratt (the character Owen) here, though truth to be told, he will always be the A-Hole colleague in the movie Wanted (2008)!!

I can actually see him in the Indiana Jones role now.

So who is the baddie here?

Same as in the first movie, namely:

Okay, do I think this is a good movie!

It is a huge movie and it will go on to make AN OBSCENE AMOUNT OF MONEY!

And what I think does not matter, because no matter what I say, you are going to go watch it anyway, right? So, go watch it.

As always.

My Two Sen.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 13 2015, 12:14 AM
Mov_freak
post Jun 12 2015, 11:53 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(naith @ Jun 12 2015, 10:50 AM)
Does anyone know if the Imax version here in Malaysia has the 6 minutes of Ant-Man at the beginning?
I went to Imax yesterday (1Utama) and the answer is no...

Sad cry.gif
Mov_freak
post Jun 13 2015, 12:32 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jun 13 2015, 12:24 AM)
PS : Did anyone notice the book (Chaos Theory perhaps) by Dr. Ian Malcom on board the train ?  laugh.gif
Do you think Jeff Jeff Goldblum get anything for THAT?? laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Jun 13 2015, 09:37 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(naith @ Jun 13 2015, 03:27 PM)
Just saw it, I guess it was ok.

Btw, I saw it at IMax 1U, and they did have the Ant Man featurette before the movie.
NOT ON THURSDAY THEY DIDN'T!!!!!! mad.gif
Mov_freak
post Jun 14 2015, 03:01 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jun 14 2015, 12:52 PM)
Haha... probably not.

I just had this crazy idea that either Dr. Alan Grant (Sam Neil) or Dr. Ian Malcom (Jeff Goldblum) would make a cameo, post credits. The movie ends and then there is a bar, the TV showing the news of the incident, camera zooms out and that iconic shirt+safari hat sitting on a stool watching it. Camera then pans up on him and it's Dr. Alan Grant... "They never learn do they *sips drink*" <blank screen> credits continue to roll.  biggrin.gif  (or swap Dr. Alan with Dr. Ian).
There is a crazy rumor flying around that the Owen character is the kid that Dr Grant scared the shit out of at the beginning of Jurassic Park. You know the annoying kid that said velociraptors are nothing but 6 feet Turkey. laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Jun 16 2015, 05:36 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Jun 16 2015, 02:22 PM)
I'd say the trailers were a fair representation of the final film. The trailers were dumb, cheesy, had loads of CGI dinos and explosions. Same as the final product.
So... You no likey?

The fact that I like it should have been an indication....

laugh.gif rclxms.gif laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Jun 16 2015, 10:10 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jun 16 2015, 09:47 PM)
TLW while was quite bloated and overly done. Sure, there were some tremendously good moments (T-Rex rampaging the streets... that's gold), but the movie never really shines throughout. It bares the signature of a Spielberg film, but this had to be one of his worst movies ever. Blame the source material? I'm not sure, it just didn't make the transition to the big screen too well. And the ending  sweat.gif 
Having read the book, I have to interject here.

I read Michael Crichton's Lost World when it first came out, I have a feeling that he was "harassed" to finished the book!!

Hollywood wanted a sequel to the Big Blockbuster Jurassic Park, and paid him a BIG AMOUNT OF MONEY before he even put pen to paper. Key word here, pronto!!!!

As I said, I have a feeling he was harassed...

He actually took a page off Sir Arthur Conan Doyle The Lost World as a premise and used that it in his the book. And because of the harassment, he consciously or unconsciously made his second book... hard to film.

Which is why about 80% of the book when out the window during the script process

The book was more about conservation rather than a rescue mission (as in the movie). And in the movie, the whole ending was just Steven Spielbery homage to King Kong. Serious, you can see that right!!

My Additional Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Jun 17 2015, 09:43 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(sickx @ Jun 17 2015, 07:24 PM)
I wonder how much it cost to get an admission ticket for the park hmm.gif
Disney World charges USD 305, for one person for a 4 days pass...

I think this would be 10 x that at least and with 20K people visiting per day... That should keep the dinosaurs fed and the care takers paid... What do you think?? laugh.gif

I hope you know I am hypothesizing (eg grabbing things out of my ass) and Jurassic World does not exist...

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 17 2015, 09:44 PM
Mov_freak
post Jun 18 2015, 12:30 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(sickx @ Jun 18 2015, 09:08 AM)
laugh.gif yeah I'm guessing more than USD 1000 for one person inclusive of cruise ship and hotel stay.
Actually, after writing this, I notice that I have not factored in the flight, boat and hotel charges, meaning the ticket price would probably be in the USD 7-8K at least. Not the VIP tickets that allows you to cut Q...
Mov_freak
post Jun 22 2015, 05:00 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(area61 @ Jun 22 2015, 04:58 PM)
Where was the Spinosaurus? demmit they didnt include spinosaurus vs T-rex battle
I was actually hoping to see more of the Dilophosaurus (Acid/Poison spitting dinosaur) laugh.gif But alas, no...
Mov_freak
post Jul 16 2015, 09:06 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Jul 16 2015, 04:40 PM)
Afternoon happy.gif

It was ok.

Chris Pratt always made in impact in a movie.

Bryce...so good to look at happy.gif

The kids were annoying.

Suprising storyline but easily predicted.

Nice ending.
Mosasaurus was awesome.

Nothing special about Indominous (hybrid) other than it's abilities.

Spinosaurus (from 'Jurassic Park III'), now that's a bada$$.
Please don't click if you have not watch the movie.

Mov_freak
post Jun 6 2018, 10:36 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom (2018)

Watched this at IMAX 1Utama, and am glad to report, the Audion/Visual system there is still great!

I really want to like this.

The budget is there, the visual is there the sound is there.

First Act and Second Act are entertaining (not without flaws though)

They got rid of the two kids in the first movie, and the story starts with going back to the island to rescue... wait, did they not do THAT in Jurassic Park 2 already...

Oh, no no wait it is not like Jurassic Park 2. TO begin with this is Jurassic World 2.... really THAT'S the best comeback they have?

The script could have been much better.

I kinda remember the scripts of movies I had watch before, so, for me the movie had a shaky script to begin with

And most of the get out of difficult situation sequences.... had been done before...

Although the third act was really flawed (That is how they choose to end the movie?? Really??) the point they made is actually the gist that Michael Crichton tried to get acrossed in his first novel, should we go down the slippery slope of genetic study?

It is an entertaining movie.

Just seems a little repetitive in some places.

But what do I know, I enjoyed Solo and it is tanking at the box office!! tongue.gif

My Two Sen.
Mov_freak
post Jun 8 2018, 12:57 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Jun 7 2018, 09:14 PM)

A suggestion is to spoiler you observation
Mov_freak
post Jun 9 2022, 01:04 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Jurassic World Dominion (2022)

I wanted to like this movie.

I really did...

So much so that I plunked down a pretty penny to watched this at Imax (Rm33... cry.gif ).

And the result is...

The movie is meh...

The producer and director literally threw everything at it including the kitchen sink and the final product is just okay...

It looks more like a parade of dinosaurs and not much else...

I am.... disappointed.

Maybe my expectation was too high.

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Jun 9 2022, 01:39 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 9 2022, 10:53 AM)
bring kid to experience the 4Dx should be ok ?
I am no longer a kid so...

There are alot of dinosaur in this one, so they should be impressed...
Mov_freak
post Jun 9 2022, 06:41 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 9 2022, 01:46 PM)
ok later I check age minimum
There was one scene where the guy next to me sorta jumpa little.

Reader who read my reviews know i am also a horror freak so a little jade for scare like that scene, hope this helps with your decision with bringing your kids

0.0287sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:35 PM