BENQ S41 FANS CLUB ( new model ), S41 user , register urself here ^ ^

xKAIZERUx
post Jun 30 2007, 08:08 AM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

haha... bought one directly from john_jay2 at his shop at lowyat.

From what i say after 2 days of use, this baby of mine is superb..... no prob whatsoever, i even upgraded the ram to 2GB on the spot. haha.

this monday, gonna get myself xp disc and make dual-boot. hope the driver john gave me works!

p/s - john, i thought this model come with 8600GT, but why is it only 8600GS?
xKAIZERUx
post Jun 30 2007, 08:13 AM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ Jun 30 2007, 08:10 AM)
It always came with a 600GS. Read the specifications page carefully in the website or the first post of this thread.
haha... then it was my fault then for not reading properly....

will post the pics of 2 of my precious baby later, you guys know what image host has excellent service?
xKAIZERUx
post Jul 1 2007, 10:03 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

---double post-----

This post has been edited by xKAIZERUx: Jul 1 2007, 10:09 PM
xKAIZERUx
post Jul 1 2007, 10:08 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

wahaha... some got probs some got beautifull machine like me....

a very happy S41 user.

p/s - ran 3DMark01se trial, got around 15K mark.

pics with my desktop.

This post has been edited by xKAIZERUx: Jul 1 2007, 10:10 PM

xKAIZERUx
post Jul 10 2007, 12:27 AM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

QUOTE(gohcheemeng @ Jul 9 2007, 02:34 PM)
my brother bought this s41 last week and played around with it.

here's my summary after 1 week experimenting

price :  thumbup.gif
design : ok ok  smile.gif
audio : sucks  sad.gif
gaming : so so  sad.gif
office productivity : ok ok  smile.gif
build quality : so so  sad.gif
overall user experience : unsatisfactory  mega_shok.gif
WIR ( will i recommend ) : nope

os used : xp pro and vista ultimate  - try both but experience system hang and keep restarting

just wanna share my experience with you guys....
i dunno what specs are enough for you. if want better, then go buy yourself a desktop. doh.gif

with this S41 price, you can get many better hardware. and ori vista ultimate to boot. brows.gif

----
i never got any blue screen, even photoshop CS2 runs smoothly on vista ultimate. ( i use 2GB ram, you?) icon_rolleyes.gif
xKAIZERUx
post Jul 10 2007, 01:08 AM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ Jul 10 2007, 12:35 AM)
maybe he is the unlucky 1 ^ ^
or perhaps he install the wrong drivers .. ^ ^
maybe so la.

why i don't see other user post their S41 work environment? camon la... post your S41 with all the accessories attached! don't be shy.

here is mine, at my uni. just check in yesterday, New semester starts this morning. haha.

List:
BenQ JoyBook S41
Edifier M3310
Acrox Wireless Mouse
HP Deskjet D1360
xKAIZERUx
post Jul 10 2007, 01:26 AM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

QUOTE(nebousuke @ Jul 10 2007, 01:16 AM)
Looks like xKAIZERUx is sitting like a boss on a sofa... i am just using plastic chair. sad.gif
not quite boss la, i got that mini sofa FOC when my parents bought a new bed. These warehouse sale owners will do anything to get rid of their old stuff out. drool.gif

the good thing is, the mini sofa just fits nicely with my table size. thus working long hours doesn't feel that tired.
xKAIZERUx
post Jul 12 2007, 04:55 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

okay, for those who want to know, (not it even means anything to me...)

Processor 4.8
Memory 4.8
Graphics 5.9
Gaming graphics 5.3
Primary hard disk 4.3

score : 4.3

its not the score, its how you do the work that counts. some people use ms paint to paste the print screen, but me, i use photoshop. so my proc requirements is higher than the ms paint user.

if you took 3 secs to load a program, if the pc takes 2.5 seconds, would you feel the diff?

look at the score, i think its the same as all the laptops outside because the HDD is the main culprit that takes all laptop to 4.3 state.
xKAIZERUx
post Jul 12 2007, 07:27 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

QUOTE(Aoshi_88 @ Jul 12 2007, 06:17 PM)
The read speed is slower due to the HDD spinning at 5400RPM. You can really feel the difference especially when defragmenting or loading something into RAM.
that it, that is my main point.

no matter how fast your proc is, if they can't get the data fast enough, then its no use. all laptops are using the same old 5400RPM HDDs... no matter it is SATA or IDE disk.....

like Aoshi_88 said, I also have prob defrag my HDD even using O&O Defrag Pro.
xKAIZERUx
post Jul 12 2007, 09:42 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

i heard even the 7200RPM version HDD is selective, it means if it runs on power plug, it uses 7200RPM, then if it uses battery, it slows down to 5400rpm....

but if not, if they use 7200rpm all the time, how about the battery life?
xKAIZERUx
post Jul 13 2007, 03:08 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

QUOTE(Jeffery @ Jul 12 2007, 10:55 PM)
wow got such thing? then it'll be great for laptop, but sadly it's not in malaysian version s41 ^^
not only s41 malaysian version, but all laptop in malaysia does not use it.... its for only 'negara kaya2' je....

QUOTE(300078 @ Jul 13 2007, 07:19 AM)
2.5 and 3 sec is a big difference for DOTA in stunning ppl, but for the real life i think i can wait that 0.5sec  tongue.gif
aiyo.... in games, 0.1 secs is long u know.... 2 secs i silence ppl vs 3 secs i can silence ppl is not the same liao.... doh.gif
xKAIZERUx
post Jul 17 2007, 06:17 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

my drive seems quit ok, but certain type of dvd or cd can't be read, if it is the case, then i just read the dvd on my friends desktop or my own desktop at home.

not a big prob, but cen be if in emergency and the disk just won't read. really sux that way..... but this is experienced by most laptops...
xKAIZERUx
post Jul 18 2007, 06:33 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

QUOTE(Jeffery @ Jul 18 2007, 11:01 AM)
Anyway, how much is the spare battery cost? and is there compatible 9 cell or higher capacity battery out there for s41?
yeah... an extra high capacity battery would be fine....
xKAIZERUx
post Jul 19 2007, 01:26 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

rm200 is quite cheap.... compared to numbers of other laptops...

P/S - John, care to put my name on the first page?
xKAIZERUx
post Jul 21 2007, 08:07 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ Jul 21 2007, 12:15 PM)
this model battery life is how long ?
i looking for this laptop as recommended by john.
how do u guys think? compare with Dell Inspiron 1520.
wanna buy a laptop soon.
i never got inspiron, but hte battery runs on 2 hours 30 mins, somewhere around that, if plays dvd will considerably reduce the battery time....
xKAIZERUx
post Jul 22 2007, 11:49 AM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

i only get 2 hour 50 mins if only use ms word + winamp at mid vol. brightness set to lowest, wifi+BT off.

i dunno how to get more than 3 hours.... even the 1st page battery mark got 2.5hours rite?
xKAIZERUx
post Aug 7 2007, 02:52 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

QUOTE(freeman1314 @ Aug 7 2007, 02:46 PM)
I'm getting my s41 very soon !
My friend bought it and his brother bought a vaio for him so he wanting to sell away his s41(only aged 1 week)wakakakaka!
Hope to add my name in the user list asap!
So happy !
a really good buy for you indeed.

haha, welcome to the club bro! rclxm9.gif
xKAIZERUx
post Aug 9 2007, 10:04 PM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

QUOTE(Jeffery @ Aug 9 2007, 06:50 PM)
I think it's the third time of answering this question, here's the driver page, http://www.mobile01.com/topicdetail.php?f=...29&last=3060892

john, i think u have include the driver link in the first page  biggrin.gif
I can't understand any chinese either, but looking at the page i think its simple enough...

but why there are TWO GPU driver link? can anyone translate it?
xKAIZERUx
post Aug 18 2007, 09:58 AM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

it is not actually just the S41, but all santa rosa laptop is like that....

it will throttle itself to the current load.....

all will varies according to the load:

Multiplier : 8x ~ 9x
Bus speed: 99Mhz ~ 200Mhz
FSB: 400Mhz ~ 800Mhz
voltage: 0.9v ~ 1.175v

if you want to see the stats above, i suggest u use the latest CPU-Z which is 1.40.5. the version 1.40 doesn't recognize the FSB + Bus speed change.
xKAIZERUx
post Aug 19 2007, 02:10 AM

RAWR!!!!!
822 posts

QUOTE(Jeffery @ Aug 18 2007, 11:52 AM)
i think all newer laptops especially those carry centrino platform name will throttle the system speed automatically....
because almost all new centrino is using Merom Processor....

so it can use this IESS....

0.0444sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:14 PM