fully synthetic

unitron
post May 19 2018, 07:33 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ May 19 2018, 06:43 PM)
I am gonna drive the car for next 10++ yrs, so I think I should take good care of the engine... I know the wear and tear of the suspension is unavoidable.. I just want to make sure that the engine is in good condition..  The price of fully synthetic of liqui moly is not much diffrent from the price of shell fully, I am thinking of getting liqui moly instead. Coz I heard that there are many fake shell eo in the market...
Bro the engine is the least of your worries, the engine is normally the most robust part of the car... just use any good oil and follow proper maintenance is ok already.
It's the other parts connected to the engine which most likely kaput first.

To me the cooling system is more important than the engine oil.. engine can run even if oil leaking... but coolant leaking, bye-bye engine.

My cars are 13 years and 8 years old respectively, no worries on the engine.. other parts hard to say, see luck.
unitron
post May 19 2018, 08:21 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(delsoo @ May 19 2018, 07:36 PM)
Regarding with the coolant part, should I change the coolant? I am not sure it's 100% coolant inside the radiator..... I heard that using the water will cause the radiator to rust.....?
If not sure, please change. Do not, I repeat, do not/never use only water in the cooling system despite what many unqualified mechanics tell you.
A mix of water and coolant is a must, the coolant has anti rust properties and prevent rust.

But you don't need to use 100% coolant lah... I know some manufacturer sell pre-mix, which are basically coolant already mix with water at correct ratio (can get expensive if you need many bottles)
Anyway i use 2-3 bottles of coolant and the rest i top up with water. But even 1 bottle of coolant i found good enough to prevent rust, normally i add extra 1 bottle to be sure.
unitron
post May 19 2018, 08:21 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

delete.. double post

This post has been edited by unitron: May 19 2018, 08:21 PM

0.3016sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:52 PM