I want to learn Mandarin, Language
TS::MaghuL::
May 14 2018, 02:32 PM, updated 8y ago
Hi guys.. Im interested to learn mandarin language Most of my colleagues are chinese so i believe it is better for me to learn the language as well. Maybe in the future im able to communicate with them in Mandarin. I rate myself as beginner but i could understand simple mandarin. My question is ..is there any website that i can train myself to speak in mandarin such as chatroom or something else?
Wo yao xuexi hua yu..
ungka
May 14 2018, 02:46 PM
try discord
Chowda
May 14 2018, 03:22 PM

Download Duolingo. That or just do every exercise book from Standard 1 to 6 in elementary school. That level of Mandarin is more than enough.
Mandarin for conversation purposes is easy. Get the 4 tones down and increase your vocabulary and you can speak without sounding like an idiot.
Chaud
May 14 2018, 07:09 PM
use HelloTalk
CKKwan
May 14 2018, 07:12 PM
Mandarin very few grammar, learn for communication only is very easy.
Teluk Lanun can search for pimsleur mandarin courses. Master in 2 weeks.
GTA5
May 14 2018, 10:06 PM
The best way to improve is to speak Mandarin with your colleagues daily as practice.
Learning to read and write in Mandarin will take you time, but if you are seeking to be verbal in Mandarin, the best way is to make it your everyday language at work if possible.
This post has been edited by GTA5: May 14 2018, 10:07 PM
damnself
May 15 2018, 12:56 PM

QUOTE(::MaghuL:: @ May 14 2018, 02:32 PM) Hi guys.. Im interested to learn mandarin language Most of my colleagues are chinese so i believe it is better for me to learn the language as well. Maybe in the future im able to communicate with them in Mandarin. I rate myself as beginner but i could understand simple mandarin. My question is ..is there any website that i can train myself to speak in mandarin such as chatroom or something else? Wo yao xuexi hua yu.. https://www.mylanguageexchange.comhttps://www.conversationexchange.comhttps://language.exchangeI am currently learning Japanese, Mandarin and Arabic. Feel free to add me so that we can learn together. It is best to learn if you practice speaking.....
zhou.xingxing
May 15 2018, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(damnself @ May 15 2018, 12:56 PM) https://www.mylanguageexchange.comhttps://www.conversationexchange.comhttps://language.exchangeI am currently learning Japanese, Mandarin and Arabic. Feel free to add me so that we can learn together. It is best to learn if you practice speaking..... wa.. japanese. but no need learn how to read?
damnself
May 15 2018, 03:22 PM

QUOTE(zhou.xingxing @ May 15 2018, 02:05 PM) wa.. japanese. but no need learn how to read? In Japanese you got: Hiragana - Japanese words Katakana - Foreign words import to Japanese words Kanji - Chinese character in Japanese words Romaji - Japanese words convert to Roman alphabet So I study romaji so it's easier. As long as I know how to speak is good enough for me. I'm doing this just for thrill and the fun of it ☺️
wild_card_my
May 15 2018, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(::MaghuL:: @ May 14 2018, 02:32 PM) Hi guys.. Im interested to learn mandarin language Most of my colleagues are chinese so i believe it is better for me to learn the language as well. Maybe in the future im able to communicate with them in Mandarin. I rate myself as beginner but i could understand simple mandarin. My question is ..is there any website that i can train myself to speak in mandarin such as chatroom or something else? Wo yao xuexi hua yu.. I learned Mandarin a bit way back.... so to test my limited proficiency, Im guessing you are saying "I want to leran 'hua yu' " Im assuming hua yu is mandarin language?
May 15 2018, 05:17 PM
Hi everyone. Thank you so much for the suggestions. I've tried some of the apps, hello talk is quite interesting but have to wait for them to be online.
May 15 2018, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(damnself @ May 15 2018, 12:56 PM) https://www.mylanguageexchange.comhttps://www.conversationexchange.comhttps://language.exchangeI am currently learning Japanese, Mandarin and Arabic. Feel free to add me so that we can learn together. It is best to learn if you practice speaking..... Wow..this is very useful, thank you..will give it a try.
May 15 2018, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 15 2018, 05:08 PM) I learned Mandarin a bit way back.... so to test my limited proficiency, Im guessing you are saying "I want to leran 'hua yu' " Im assuming hua yu is mandarin language? Yeap. Hua yu as told by my colleague means standard Chinese...but there is also zhong wen which also means the same..now I'm confused..haha
Username is for the weak
May 17 2018, 07:01 AM
QUOTE(::MaghuL:: @ May 15 2018, 05:22 PM) Yeap. Hua yu as told by my colleague means standard Chinese...but there is also zhong wen which also means the same..now I'm confused..haha And it is called "pu tong hua" too
wild_card_my
May 17 2018, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(Hogwarts4Life @ May 17 2018, 11:48 AM) chinese susah wei I tried and failed. one of those mobile apps... Duolinguo? but it is worth it i think... have to, because of the way the world is revolving...
internaldisputes
May 17 2018, 04:00 PM
I'm learning it since October. The resources that I use include Duolingo (currently level 17) and HelloChinese. I think both are quite sufficient if you aim to be an intermediate speaker. You just need to be very committed on revising the materials everyday because like me if I learn a word today, tomorrow I will forget. I have a very lousy memory.
wild_card_my
May 17 2018, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(internaldisputes @ May 17 2018, 04:00 PM) I'm learning it since October. The resources that I use include Duolingo (currently level 17) and HelloChinese. I think both are quite sufficient if you aim to be an intermediate speaker. You just need to be very committed on revising the materials everyday because like me if I learn a word today, tomorrow I will forget. I have a very lousy memory.  yes, but i still believe that you would need a chinese partner to practice your manrain with. thats how i picked up my english... withouut my ex classmate Ng Tze Syan, I would not be at my level today i also heard about people being dumped in a foreign country and picked up the language in a much quicker pace than people who learned them in classes
sapphist
May 18 2018, 09:27 AM
The way I learnt was by watching singapore TV dramas.. that way I learnt how to pronounce and use words in sentences.
wild_card_my
May 18 2018, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(sapphist @ May 18 2018, 09:27 AM) The way I learnt was by watching singapore TV dramas.. that way I learnt how to pronounce and use words in sentences. yes, this works. Just like how most people learn english by watching US tv/movies...
May 19 2018, 06:35 PM
QUOTE(internaldisputes @ May 17 2018, 04:00 PM) I'm learning it since October. The resources that I use include Duolingo (currently level 17) and HelloChinese. I think both are quite sufficient if you aim to be an intermediate speaker. You just need to be very committed on revising the materials everyday because like me if I learn a word today, tomorrow I will forget. I have a very lousy memory.  i agree with this...learn continously, the moment u stopped or not interested anymore then gone already