power supply, convert single phase to 3 phase

TSkons
post May 19 2007, 05:47 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ May 19 2007, 04:46 PM)
3 phase boxes should have 4 wires, Yellow, Red, Blue and Black. 3 of them are for each phase and 1 is for ground.
Well, all I can see is, there are 3 fuse or something like that..
And it has three rows of those jumper-like switch..

I see no wires.. maybe it's concealed beneath the wall or something.

QUOTE(sellihcA2005 @ May 19 2007, 04:47 PM)
oh nice biggrin.gif save you 1k already, lucky you got another to check.
I don't know. I want to be SURE. I want no hassle if all the air-conds are switched on at the same time.
empire23
post May 19 2007, 11:17 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(kons @ May 19 2007, 05:47 PM)
Well, all I can see is, there are 3 fuse or something like that..
And it has three rows of those jumper-like switch..

I see no wires.. maybe it's concealed beneath the wall or something.
I don't know. I want to be SURE. I want no hassle if all the air-conds are switched on at the same time.
Should be correct since only the 3 phases carry fuses and not the ground.
TSkons
post May 20 2007, 12:24 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ May 19 2007, 11:17 PM)
Should be correct since only the 3 phases carry fuses and not the ground.
Ooops, I made a mistake.

It has 3 of this thing:-
[attachmentid=234391]
Each on a row..

So is it 3 phase?
sellihcA2005
post May 20 2007, 04:59 PM

216 posts

mmm I wonder, is it compulsory to use three poles circuit breakers on 3 phase?

kons: from the picture, looks like it's a 2 pole circuit breaker...
empire23
post May 20 2007, 09:09 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(kons @ May 20 2007, 12:24 AM)
Ooops, I made a mistake.

[attachmentid=234391]
Each on a row..

So is it 3 phase?
That's the circuit breaker lah, my house has atleast 60 in panel. You'll have to check your meter and the wires going in and the distribution mechanism smile.gif
sellihcA2005
post May 20 2007, 10:34 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ May 20 2007, 09:09 PM)
That's the circuit breaker lah, my house has atleast 60 in panel. You'll have to check your meter and the wires going in and the distribution mechanism  smile.gif
Bro, can elaborate more abit, how to check whether it's 3 phase? unsure.gif

What about the wires going into the Distribution Box? Does it give a hint if it's 3 phase or not?

TSkons
post May 20 2007, 11:37 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

Confusing. I'll take pic when I'm free. Oh well.
empire23
post May 21 2007, 03:18 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(sellihcA2005 @ May 20 2007, 10:34 PM)
Bro, can elaborate more abit, how to check whether it's 3 phase?  unsure.gif

What about the wires going into the Distribution Box? Does it give a hint if it's 3 phase or not?
3 phase systems should have 3 wires going into the meter, one for each phase, coloured red, blue and yellow.
sellihcA2005
post May 21 2007, 09:08 AM

216 posts

kons: ya take a photo biggrin.gif

QUOTE(empire23 @ May 21 2007, 03:18 AM)
3 phase systems should have 3 wires going into the meter, one for each phase, coloured red, blue and yellow.
Aha ok smile.gif thanks. So I'm guessing we got to add a new wire from the meter to distribution box for it to work? hmm.gif

jovial
post Jun 1 2007, 02:46 PM

carpe diem
2,129 posts

QUOTE(kons @ May 20 2007, 12:24 AM)
Ooops, I made a mistake.

[attachmentid=234391]
Each on a row..

So is it 3 phase?
that's a single phase RCCB...residual current circuit breakers. they work like an ELCB and cut off the power when there is electricity leakage. 3-phase RCCB's exist, wonder why your electrician decided to give u 3 units of single phase.

The one that the empire23 has are MCB's minature circuit breakers. They will cut the power when there is an overload. They are like a replacement for fuses.

To figure out whether you're on single phase or 3 phases, look at the TNB meter. Single phase got 2 wires going in, 2 wires out. Three phase has 4 wires in, 4 wires out.

0.0166sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:53 AM