power supply, convert single phase to 3 phase
empire23
May 19 2007, 04:46 PM
Team Island Hopper
3 phase boxes should have 4 wires, Yellow, Red, Blue and Black. 3 of them are for each phase and 1 is for ground.
To know how much power you'll be using by so many airconditioners, add up the compressor power for each. 1 horsepower is about 736 watts, so if you have 6 air conditioners running at 1hp it should be 763x6 = 4.4kw. Remember that you should be able to tell the difference between watts and VA, watts is a measure of work done, VA is a measure of supply, since compressors are laggy devices, (PF is shit), let's assume 0.7 theta for that 4.4kw.
Now with theta being 0.7 and the work done being 4.4kw, that should mean your total draw is around 5028 watts. 0.7 is a measure of PF lag, meaning that 4.4 is only 70 percent of your real VA draw, so add in the missing 30 percent and you'll get a real draw figure.
Hope that helped.
This post has been edited by empire23: May 19 2007, 04:47 PM
empire23
May 19 2007, 11:17 PM
Team Island Hopper
QUOTE(kons @ May 19 2007, 05:47 PM) Well, all I can see is, there are 3 fuse or something like that.. And it has three rows of those jumper-like switch.. I see no wires.. maybe it's concealed beneath the wall or something. I don't know. I want to be SURE. I want no hassle if all the air-conds are switched on at the same time. Should be correct since only the 3 phases carry fuses and not the ground.
empire23
May 20 2007, 09:09 PM
Team Island Hopper
QUOTE(kons @ May 20 2007, 12:24 AM) Ooops, I made a mistake. It has 3 of this thing:- [attachmentid=234391] Each on a row.. So is it 3 phase? That's the circuit breaker lah, my house has atleast 60 in panel. You'll have to check your meter and the wires going in and the distribution mechanism
empire23
May 21 2007, 03:18 AM
Team Island Hopper
QUOTE(sellihcA2005 @ May 20 2007, 10:34 PM) Bro, can elaborate more abit, how to check whether it's 3 phase? What about the wires going into the Distribution Box? Does it give a hint if it's 3 phase or not? 3 phase systems should have 3 wires going into the meter, one for each phase, coloured red, blue and yellow.