LYN PROTON IRIZ OWNER THREAD V9, Fun, meet feisty.

SUSxcves
post Jan 14 2019, 03:12 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Jan 14 2019, 12:30 AM)
Wanna try to sell my 2015 1.3 exec iriz.

I wonder how much can i try to price it. Bank loan still around 28k though. Sigh
why want to sell?
then what car you gonna replace it with?
SUSxcves
post Jan 14 2019, 03:13 AM

43 posts

btw for those who say fuel filter no stock, even some waited for 1 year..

i wondering how come..

i just sent for service the other day for 60k km at COSE. no such problem for me.

total bill almost 800.
SUSxcves
post Jan 28 2019, 10:09 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(binjai @ Jan 28 2019, 02:26 PM)
If manual gearbox, how much ya for major service (mine ~ 65k km now) ? Call SC said around rm7++ even after stating my car is manual. Nengok proton website about rm3++
you are whale cum
http://helios.apdsecureapp.com/proton/serv...vice%20Menu.pdf
SUSxcves
post Feb 24 2019, 07:28 PM

43 posts

new myvi takes corner better than iriz.

the low height really makes a lot of difference. even taller iriz when corner can feel the body roll like wanna turnover kinda feeling.

but in terms of cilok2 (zig zag) + driving spiritedly iriz still win hands down.

anyway i have to say this. i will take punch cvt anyday over this 4AT gearbox.

if you all say punch cvt is shit and all, the new myvi's 4AT is shittier. cant believe its actually more laggy and more underpowered in terms of acceleration. they really tuned it to be too fuel saving minded that even punch cvt with latest updates and all is actually better in terms of acceleration and noise.

and in terms of qc, proton and perodua both 2x5, 5x2, both also got rattling issues.

This post has been edited by xcves: Feb 24 2019, 07:31 PM
SUSxcves
post Feb 24 2019, 11:07 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Feb 24 2019, 10:33 PM)
Myvi is like 150kg lighter than Iriz, acceleration should be quicker than Iriz.
thats what you would think.

but this new myvi very reluctant to downshift to 3rd gear.. it insists to keep in the same 4th gear and struggle all the way for power..

so pulling away from 60~70km/h is slow, worst if its a gradual uphill stretch of road as well.. and also you tekan full pedal also no use, cause it doesn't wanna downshift. so all you get is noise..

This post has been edited by xcves: Feb 24 2019, 11:11 PM
SUSxcves
post Feb 25 2019, 12:22 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(yadea @ Feb 25 2019, 10:39 AM)
Is it left in like some eco mode or something? Can try manually changing the gears and see if theres a difference.
more like permanent eco mode. cant be turned off as well.
SUSxcves
post Feb 28 2019, 08:46 PM

43 posts

still prefer old bunga raya rim..

anyway, tall boxy chassis is outdated already.

last time we always laugh at myvi even we had similar design because we had way better ride and handling where we can drive better and not turtle as easily..

but these days, the tall design really tak boleh pakai dy. suddenly makes iriz and this new facelift iriz look so so so outdated.

edit: im glad i went for myvi 2019 then.. before this i was deciding to get a 2nd car and it was between get back an iriz or go for new myvi. i was seriously considering waiting for this 2019 iriz but then i decided to just give new myvi a try instead..

This post has been edited by xcves: Feb 28 2019, 08:47 PM
SUSxcves
post Feb 28 2019, 11:54 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Feb 28 2019, 10:08 PM)
Design is subjective, I agree Myvi is a better looking car.

But my money is on the new Iriz, It is overall a better car, way better.
how so?

reflectors instead of projectors. same like persona.

and for me the older rim had a personality rather than this dull albeit sportier looking one.

speaking on looks, the older iriz was much cleaner looking exterior and interior wise. just take a look at the back of this new iriz, the fake vents and stuffs...
and also i really hate all these "martini racing stripes" decals they put on their seats. like so pointless and unnecessary. bajet what? bajet cool?
and new fl iriz doesnt have full leather seats anymore, its a combo of fabric + leather.

non-premium variant still only 2 airbags even myvi beats it already by offering 4 as standard.

engine refinement no need say. after owning new myvi for 1 month+ now, i realized what kind of fc ive been missing out on..
my standard daily jam route, my iriz fc was giving me 9~10km/l for 100% city driving, and 100% highway was around 14km/l. meanwhile this myvi gets me 13~14km/l for 100%city driving and about 17km/l for 100% highway..
and the iriz was 1.3, smaller engine but fc way higher. even my bro driving e250 with its massive cc engine gets similar fc as a 1.3 iriz. which is a joke.

there only few things that i still rate the new fl iriz over the new myvi:
- hpf steel usage. so safety in real world crash i trust the iriz more
- ride and handling, chassis rigidity.
- the seats. all of them. full body and thigh support even for rear is very good.

the rest, all lose to the new myvi which speaks how technologically lacking or old the iriz is already..
new myvi gives ASA, built-in smart tag, full size spare tyre, big space cabin (well at the cost of comfy seats like Iriz).

overall a way better car if you compare to past Iriz i agree lah. with new myvi is a nope from me.
unless you count the "hi proton" infotainment as a massive worthy upgrade lol.

and also still using campro + punch cvt, which is the very reason why Iriz is not doing as well as it should.
No matter how many iterations and smoothing out process it has gone through, people hear punch cvt and campro only they will try their best to steer clear of it..

just my 2 cents, speaking from my experiences as an owner of 1.3 Exec iriz and 1.5 adv myvi..

This post has been edited by xcves: Mar 1 2019, 12:13 AM
SUSxcves
post Mar 4 2019, 04:38 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Jaredion @ Mar 4 2019, 03:13 PM)
During ur drive with constant speed about 40-60km/h also no sound? Cling cling cling metal knocking sound.
Mine got when going up those ramp carparks..

The sound will come when engine below 2k rpm..

Those metal sound like driving old rusting falling apart cars right..
SUSxcves
post Mar 4 2019, 04:41 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Jaredion @ Mar 4 2019, 03:16 PM)
Hahahahaha.. you still had the consideration on getting a iriz?
Which means that you don’t have any issue regarding engine pinging/knocking noise problem?
Overall, still is a good value car.

The driving pleasure + safety is still unmatched.

Just that its quite outdated already in terms of features and looks, and proton (at the time of my planned purchase, which was 2 months ago) no longer giving discounts or other goodies like free maintenance, etc..

So thats why i went with myvi instead..

More value for money over the current iriz

SUSxcves
post Mar 7 2019, 10:09 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Mar 7 2019, 05:14 PM)
slight out of current topic but my stock Ramcar battery finally died after 3 years 3 month on Monday

Now replace with Amaron HL from bateriku..rm220 minus trade in old battery
Mine lasted exactly 3 years.

Not bad at all!
SUSxcves
post Mar 17 2019, 03:22 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Mar 15 2019, 09:44 AM)
But 110km/h @ 3400rpm?  rclxub.gif
where you get this from?
SUSxcves
post Mar 17 2019, 02:37 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Mar 15 2019, 09:44 AM)
But 110km/h @ 3400rpm?  rclxub.gif
QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Mar 15 2019, 10:59 AM)
I can accept the 1 second delay from standstill. But I cannot accept 3400rpm at 110km/h...better use 4 speed auto if like this!  ranting.gif
QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Mar 17 2019, 02:33 PM)
From the short video review of a malaysian motor review site we cannot quote anymore...
is this for the new upcoming iriz? 110 @ 3.4k rpm really unreasonable though. sweat.gif
is it for 1.3 or 1.6?

my 1.3 cvt iriz does 110km/h @ 3k rpm
i think 1.6 cvt does 110km/h @ 2.7k rpm
my 1.5 myvi gen3 does 110km/h @ 2.7k rpm too..

edit: i just checked it out.
iriz= 110 @ 3.1k rpm 6m10sec mark https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sGILsscRaBY
persona = 110 @ 3k rpm 4m50sec markhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cszu75w_7cg

ok so idk where u get the 3.4k rpm.
you sure you didnt confuse it with the aruz ??

but 3krpm @ 110km/h for a 1.6 engine is still high. its higher than old iriz 1.6 too

This post has been edited by xcves: Mar 17 2019, 02:57 PM
SUSxcves
post Mar 17 2019, 02:53 PM

43 posts

-dp

This post has been edited by xcves: Mar 17 2019, 02:53 PM

0.0208sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:35 PM