LYN PROTON IRIZ OWNER THREAD V9, Fun, meet feisty.

rabbit.dynamite
post Jul 8 2021, 11:59 PM

29 posts

For parts in the service booklet that state to replace every XXXX km (timing belt, spark plugs), should they be converted to months of service instead when mileage is really low?

Just got my Iriz serviced, the service center ask me to prepare for timing belt change on my next service in Jan 2022 as it will be 5 years since I bought my car (Jan '17).

My mileage right now is only 28k. According to service booklet it's every 120k for timing belt change. Even if assuming that mileage should be converted to months of service, 120k should be equivalent to 6 years instead of 5 years right?

Should I change my timing belt during my next service? Anything else I should be aware of during timing belt change? Timing belt change will also include FEAD/auxiliary belt change right?

rabbit.dynamite
post Jul 9 2021, 09:28 PM

29 posts

Thanks everyone for your replies. I'll get it replaced but during my Jan '23 (6 years) service instead of Jan '22 as 5 years I think is still too soon considering my low mileage.

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 9 2021, 06:12 AM)
see the manual, it all put km interval/ time duration interval and whichever comes first. those include the timing belt

I wanted to double check because as you can see in the photos, the spark plugs only state every 30,000km unlike the engine oil where it specifically states km or months, whichever comes first.

Same goes for the timing/FEAD belts where it only states every XXX km. It's not using the months/mileage chart format like what the engine coolant is using which makes it clear it should be replaced based on whichever comes first.

That's why I'm unsure as to whether these items should also follow time duration interval as the way they're stated is different from the others.

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Jul 9 2021, 04:42 PM)
The question you should ask yourself is whether RM1k for the belts and necessary parts replaced or risk it break and then pay for the repairs...

Have a look at the condition of the belts will help...any cracks or missing ‘teeth’, then better change...
Oh yes, definitely will get them replaced as I know how catastrophic a broken timing belt can be, just wanted to make sure that I'm not being ask to replace the timing belt ahead of schedule. Cos we all know how the service centres like to push us into making unnecessary services. Like this round of service, he was trying to get me to do servicing for air-con which I refused.
rabbit.dynamite
post Jan 8 2022, 04:54 PM

29 posts

First time went to Senaxis just now, chose it due to good review. My manual gearbox transmission oil was due for replacement. They charge me 3 units of "Manual Gear Oil FLX" at RM69.62/unit = RM 208.86.

However, later I checked on Proton's website and found it's supposed to be RM139.26 only (meaning 2 units). Did they just charge me unnecessary extra 1 unit?

Could it be the extra 1 unit is to cover the labour charge for transmission oil? Though it'd be weird as it should be under labour charges. Only changed transmission oil and normal engine oil. The labour charge was RM80 for this and labelled as "major service". I'm asking cos I'm not sure what the labour charge should actually be for this. Thanks.
rabbit.dynamite
post Feb 7 2024, 10:53 PM

29 posts

My Iriz (1.3 CVT 2015 model) encountering this issue where the ESC light suddenly comes on while driving and totally lose acceleration power. Tekan minyak but engine no response. Need to restart engine then everything back to normal.

Went to Senaxis service center for checking, they didn't manage to fully check today (too many customers) so they ask me to go back again. But currently they suspect is issue with gearbox. Roughly what they said is when I go back they will:

1. Check gearbox condition by looking for metal shavings/dust in the gearbox and see condition of gearbox oil
2. If gearbox issue, they will need to do oil levelling and clutch adaptation.
3. If the clutch adaptation does not work, then GG cos the process will cause my car to totally not moveable and will need to change gearbox. Around RM10k for new ori gearbox, RM5k for recon.

Point 3 is the thing that concerns me. I googled and saw that clutch adaptation is apparently a basic process that is supposed to be done everytime there's a change of gearbox oil. But according to them it sounds like some major risky process that can totally destroy my gearbox.

I'm planning of going to another service center for a second opinion to make sure I'm not being played.

Anyone has any advise or encounter similar issue before? Thanks in advance.
rabbit.dynamite
post Feb 8 2024, 11:04 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(laytiong @ Feb 8 2024, 09:45 AM)
i previously owned a CVT proton. Clutch adaptation can be done on your own. It resolves the jerkiness when moving from D to R or vice versa.

But i have not experienced your issue
Yeah, that's what I understood as well after googling. That's why I felt weird from the way they said it, that if clutch adaptation does not work, then your car cannot move d and need to total replace the gearbox. rclxub.gif
rabbit.dynamite
post Feb 15 2024, 04:59 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(Betrue @ Feb 8 2024, 11:38 AM)
The root of the problem either the clutch plate inside the gearbox or the cvt clutch damper flywheel lost grip ady. If u read the iriz or persona vvt facebook community, a lots of owner kena the same problem. That's why new saga proton change back to conventional 4AT gearbox which cheaper to change atf oil more frequent to prevent gearbox failing.
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 8 2024, 09:32 PM)
Ask famous cvt workshop at YouTube, they need rm6k for 6 months warranty or rm9k for 1 year warranty. Send other place at rm4k for the belt replacement.

Summary, after hit 100k km, standby for the belt to worn out or bust. Thats the CVT drawback vs normal auto with proper gear.
My mileage is not that high though, 57k only. But it might have something to do with my car hitting a speed bump kinda hard as problem started after that incident.

But thanks for confirming that this is a common issue, was afraid it was the workshop trying to pull a fast one on me. I guess I'll go back to the same service center again for them to further check and see what's the problem. Or do you think it's better to straight send to the place you did rm4k belt replacement (Summer Auto Transmission) for them to check there?
rabbit.dynamite
post Aug 26 2025, 07:05 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(rabbit.dynamite @ Feb 7 2024, 10:53 PM)
My Iriz (1.3 CVT 2015 model) encountering this issue where the ESC light suddenly comes on while driving and totally lose acceleration power. Tekan minyak but engine no response. Need to restart engine then everything back to normal.
QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Dec 26 2024, 09:16 AM)
Hi have you settle the issue? My car suffering the same issue now. cry.gif
Hi, sorry I didn't see your post. But I saw in another thread that you've settled it by overhauling the gearbox.

Just to update my situation so that it helps anyone else who might also be encountering the same issue.

Yes, it's gearbox issue that's apparently very common for Iriz and Persona CVT. Seems like inevitably every CVT Iriz will encounter this issue? Because basically it's wear and tear of the belting and parts inside the CVT transmission gearbox. My friend's Iriz also encountered this issue.

I also got mine overhauled; for RM4.5k including labour and transmission fluid with 1 year warranty from Summer Auto Transmission. Took a total of 11 days.

This post has been edited by rabbit.dynamite: Aug 26 2025, 07:05 AM
rabbit.dynamite
post Aug 30 2025, 04:07 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 26 2025, 08:47 AM)
u are not alone in the CVT issue. My family's previous generation HRV car was also sent in for a repair due to the CVT belt bursting inside. Spend rm4k+ at Sg Buloh workshop
QUOTE(Betrue @ Aug 26 2025, 12:44 PM)
Error code P1765 secondary pulley pressure too low, all the punch cvt kena the same after high mileage. Worst more often kena to saga flx cvt, second hand value rm12k nobody wants. Proton should end production of car using punch cvt, is a failure product. Once got clutch slipped, it will triggered traction control and pandai2 help u to free gear in the middle of drive.

Any brand car gearbox will have problem if don't service the gearbox oil, once got jerking symptoms need to straight away change the gearbox oil + treatment as maybe gearbox filter already clogging and fluid not entering the valvebody to create enough pressure.

Sad case is for this proton punch not cheap, cvt fluid + filter + adaption rm500+. Like my old 1st gen persona, once got jerking problem just buy 5x rm30 atf oil paid tyre shop rm50 gaotim. If not 100% settled problem pun the car won't free gear at middle drive like this st*pid punch cvt.
My big question now is; are all cars with CVTs fated to have their gearbox replaced/overhauled? I'm not a car enthusiast so I may be missing something.

Seems like many cars are using CVTs but from what I understand, CVT will be prone to wear and tear and eventually need to overhaul gearbox.

It doesn't make sense to me that the majority of cars nowadays are sold with the expectation that the consumer will have to spend thousands to overhaul their gearbox after a few years.

rabbit.dynamite
post Aug 30 2025, 04:28 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 30 2025, 09:47 AM)
To tell u the truth, manufacturer choose CVT cz that's the "cheatcode" for getting a better FC, better emissions and obviously the cost, much cheaper than normal proper gb with gear. Why better FC, cz peak torque gaining issues can be settled by the gb, it can move the rpm freely vs normal auto, not torque hunting.

Based on my previous hrv repair at GB shop, I saw majority of the gb are with CVT, followed by dry clutch dct. And those CVT repair at shop workshop told due to belt burst and owner did follow the cvt oil interval, my family car included. That car burst it cvt at 125k km just few months after warranty finished.

My old car waja 1.6 4 gear auto had no issues whatsoever with the GB even hit mileage of 310k km. If it used CVT, i bet it needs 1-2 times belt replacement already
Yeah, mine also follow recommended gearbox oil change, never skip. Mileage wasn't that high, only 57k km. Used 8 years, then kena this issue.

It just leaves me feeling like this is all one big scam by the automobile industry. Sell you a car where after a number of years, you need to replace your gearbox. Bought the car for around RM45k. If replace original gearbox RM10k, that's 20% of your car value right there. Even if overhaul around RM4k, that's still 10%.

My mum's car is Honda City 2018 model. Also CVT. This leaves me wondering now how long before her gearbox also need to go for repair.
rabbit.dynamite
post Sep 4 2025, 10:47 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Betrue @ Aug 31 2025, 05:45 PM)
If sekali kena engine or gearbox problem rm4~5k overhaul each, ultimately better sell off the car for the sake of peaceful mind rather than a no ending problemactic car that brings u miserable life.
I was going through the options when this happened to me. Had just finished paying off the loan, plan to drive the car until it kiamat and enjoy life without car loan.

If sell off and can get RM15k for it, then minus overhaul cost means only get around RM10k. New Myvi cost RM50k. Instead of car loan free, end up stuck with new RM40k car loan. How la to escape from loan life if like that?

So end up no choice fork out RM4k for the repairs. Fortunately no issue 1 and half year later (touch wood).

inb4 buy 2nd hand car la. Not very knowledgeable with cars, so buying 2nd hand car for me is another whole new set of challenges. Scared kena chop upfront, end up buy never ending problematic car, etc.

QUOTE(ktek @ Sep 2 2025, 09:01 PM)
city hybrid is 7sp dual clutch not cvt. but jaga bateri instead
My City is not hybrid version, so it should be CVT. sad.gif
rabbit.dynamite
post Sep 14 2025, 03:04 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(bristlebb @ Sep 7 2025, 06:22 PM)
did your car show any symptom before that issue happened? like engine light on the dashboard or something else...
No symptoms before it happened. But at the moment it happens, one of the lights (don't remember which one) will appear on the dashboard and will stay there until restart engine.
rabbit.dynamite
post Sep 17 2025, 07:07 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(bristlebb @ Sep 14 2025, 05:56 PM)
thanks..

lately i got the engine light turned on on the dash, then after the next day it longer shows.

my car is going to be 10 years old coming month, current at 52k km, after reading about the cvt issues i'm start thinking whether is it worth overhauling the cvt and continue to use until it breaks or just sell it off...
If the rest of the car is still OK, go find a reputable gearbox specialist for overhaul when your gearbox breaks down. If all goes well, then it should last you for a good while more.

Or you can sell off for around rm10k and get saddled with a new car loan xD

0.1435sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:08 AM