LYN PROTON IRIZ OWNER THREAD V9, Fun, meet feisty.

minizian
post Dec 20 2019, 12:09 AM

1,074 posts

Was looking at carlist for the discontinued 1.6 Manual and also Satria neo 1.6 Manual (non r3 bodykit).

More like wanted to have a manual car to drive around and occasionally rempit here and there.

Not interested in modding, perhaps at most going for better/lighther 15 inch wheel and better tires.

Not sure any members here have drove both and able to give feedback of pros and cons of the following:

What My observation of both car:
-Iriz is newer model for sure.
-Iriz dimension is more compact than satria
-Iriz only front disc equiped while Satria is all round disk.
-Is Iriz supposedly lighter than satria? Knowing Iriz chassis is more rigid due to construction.
-Iriz have more safety standard than satria.
-Most satria on used market were modded in way or so. Not sure really mint unit can be found

Do i miss anything?

Also, I am curious about this:
If under hard driving does satria brake will be more efficient over long run vs iriz front disk rear drum setup? Brake fake.
minizian
post Dec 20 2019, 03:47 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(annas473 @ Dec 20 2019, 08:13 AM)
My brake not fade at SiC. Stock pad is the best atm. Not bother to upgrade.
Nice to hear about that. Was never fan of modding mechanical parts thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by minizian: Dec 20 2019, 03:48 PM
minizian
post Dec 28 2019, 12:04 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(yadea @ Dec 26 2019, 04:39 PM)
Will recommend Satria since u wanna occasionally rempit. Reason:
1. Lower height.
2. Disc all round.
3. Higher HP/ faster 0-100.
4. More moddable(surely backside will be more itchy in the future).
5. Both also no more warranty and outside shops should be more familiar to satria compared to Iriz.
Hi thanks for the feedback.

Yes you are correct, also neo have suspension setup that are found on more performance oriented car too.

Now the fun part is looking for one used in mint vs buying new model iriz/persona.

Also, I just found out Persona 1.6 Manual (which was based on Iriz) was still in production for some reason. Will drop by there some forum to say hi.

This post has been edited by minizian: Dec 28 2019, 12:06 AM
minizian
post Jan 29 2022, 06:31 PM

1,074 posts

Is it possible to put in a road bicycle in Iriz after taking off the roab bike front wheel?

This post has been edited by minizian: Jan 29 2022, 06:31 PM
minizian
post Feb 12 2022, 12:45 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Feb 12 2022, 08:55 AM)
I did fit my mountain bike in with the front wheel off once, not sure abt road bike, but
u need to push forward further the front seat to fit.
Then it should be find since MTB tend to be more chunky, I also see my buddy road bike able to fit into Myvi with some kind of taichi around to fit the bike nicely as opposed to just open and chuck the bike at the boot like sedan or big wagon.

Cant wait for my Iriz, pending DP payment instruction from SA since bank loan sorted.
minizian
post Feb 19 2022, 07:15 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(dp82 @ Feb 13 2022, 10:46 PM)
Hi, any idea what is the waiting period for Iriz active? I've asked a few dealers, so far it is either out of stock or need to wait 2-3 months...
From my side was told at least 4 months wait.

While executive was 1 month wait (Not sure true or not which they may used it to make u pay booking fee to pay first)

I took Exec version, lets see if show up one month later.

This post has been edited by minizian: Feb 19 2022, 07:15 PM
minizian
post Apr 4 2022, 02:34 PM

1,074 posts

Got mine few days ago, took me like full 2 month.

easily 90% of the time is waiting the car to be allocated, once allocated & pay deposit accordingly (I did not pay any booking fee) the car show up within one week.

FYI, the Executive version comes with Atlas tires (Active come with Goodyear assusrance while not sure if 1.3 will also come with atlas). On dry it is quite decent, on wet not sure as I dont intend to do however, I do plan to change to more mainstream tires.

Overall so far so good thumbsup.gif hope it remains the same as time goes on and Geely input will make the car more tahan then pre-geely cars

This post has been edited by minizian: Apr 4 2022, 02:35 PM
minizian
post Dec 18 2022, 07:07 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(croydon @ Oct 13 2022, 02:30 PM)
Hi bro, any idea if Active LED lights are plug and play onto lower tier Iriz? Eg the Executive version?

I like the LED but I dont like the SUV style body. Just wonder how much will it cost and will Proton service center help to buy the parts and install it?
minizian
post Dec 18 2022, 11:30 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(croydon @ Dec 18 2022, 07:38 PM)
iriz active front head lamp pnp to std & executive (same case for persona VVT) any accessories shop able to install.... can order from proton or shopee (so far not found iriz active headlamp except persona vvt headlamp)

https://shopee.com.my/NEW-YEAR-END-SPECIAL-...6c-2fb69f47ad7b

cost RM1800, iriz active headlamp pnp to persona 
Nice, do you have any idea if the LED bulb can be changed to another brand?

I remember when I look at dealership there no hole where you can cabut out the bulb unlike the halogen version.

When I look at the shopee link u gave also the same too, seems like the bulb is not replaceable easily

That new iriz/persona wheel design is hnnnghhh. Too bad its 16 inch. Hard to find used one ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by minizian: Dec 18 2022, 11:34 PM
minizian
post Jan 13 2023, 01:46 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 1 2023, 01:26 AM)
i see complain cutting power when ESC never triggered,  then proceed to turn it off.  haihz waste time off video lol
Usually how was it supposed to be?
I guess cutting power is part of the safety feature? I always confused between ESC and TC in iriz.
I never really watched because the driving is quite hap-hazard shocking.gif
minizian
post Jan 13 2023, 02:31 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 13 2023, 02:19 PM)
if no indication, nothing is cut.

TC is a part of ESC, so you only  need to remember ONE system  > ESC/VSC/ESP (all same thing just different marketing naming)

yes i turned off the video the moment i reach that part. cuz i know it'll just waste my time.
From my experience when it is working it the "Slippery car" would be blinking right. Else ESC is not doing anything kan?

minizian
post Jan 18 2023, 01:56 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(JJLiow @ Jan 10 2023, 02:36 PM)
Hi all, it is time to change my engine oil this week, if Proton R3 engine oil (fully synthetic) any good? Saw from FB group stating it is more lighter than Proton normal engine oil (fully synthetic). Any different in term of fuel consumption of these 2 engine oil?
Being using it for 25K KM, to be honest I do not feel any different vs proton fully synth

Not sure how do they feel that, I myself is using it and the reason i bought is because the grade oil lube the R3 fully synthetic has is actually graded ilsac gf-6a while proton lube is graded at ilsac gf-5.

The best way is to do used oil analysis which myself not yet done but have kept some sample from my previous serivces.

see Quazacolt pinned topic on the main F&F forum about lubes

Also, if you noticed petronas dont really sell ilsac gf-6a grade lube in Malaysia but it is listed in API webpage.

So i presumed this particular grade is only available overseas petronas lube.

My car still under warranty too so when i change my lube I just show proton global services receipt (got from them directly) as proof that I bought it officially via proton. Cant really do that if you want to change lube to motul or liqui molly while car is still under warranty

This post has been edited by minizian: Jan 18 2023, 02:01 PM
minizian
post Jan 18 2023, 04:34 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(JJLiow @ Jan 18 2023, 04:02 PM)
Just out of my curiosity, can the exora bold wheel hub fits iriz's? I saw a Youtube video about the owner modified his wheel hub from 4 lugs to 5 lugs by drilling and welding extra hole on the wheel hub itself to make it 5 lugs which seems not safe in every way.
Errr even if it can be done I wont go into this path.

Unless your car is purely showcar should be no problem.

I would stay far from it as I tend to push my car here and there.
minizian
post Jan 27 2023, 03:04 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Not A Baboon @ Jan 27 2023, 07:05 AM)
*Update*

Changed at autohouz KL shah alam

Timing set rm360

upah rm120

Drive belt rm100
Waterpump aisin rm140
Coolant 1Lx2 rm42
Sparkplug 75

Upah rm85
Are they using genuine proton parts or "oem" parts

Not sure what coolant you are using but there this issue with persona/iriz radiator rusted as result of mixing tap water and coolant concentrate.

Please disregard if the workshop is using pre-mixed ready to use coolant
minizian
post Feb 11 2023, 08:10 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(DValentine @ Feb 8 2023, 07:37 PM)
eyeing latest 1.6

any cons?
I somewhat prefer the looks of exec than active. Feature wise between them is more on add on like nicer interrior and that suv look but mechanically they are the same

Just pity they upsize to 16 inch wheel as opposed to 15 inch. Not many tires to choose on the stock 185/55 unless u go upsize to 205 or 195 size if you are into performance driving.

Would get more miles if they stick to 15 inch but I sometime like the way it looks with stock 16 inch wheel (its damn heavy tho)

Planning to downsize to 15 inch once my current tire habis

Not sure what is teh current wait time, since iriz its one of the lowest sales in proton portfolio so understandably they rather made more of those model that sells well

QUOTE(Lazyguy1337 @ Feb 9 2023, 01:26 PM)
Using 1.6 exec 2022 as daily so far no problems only makan minyak abit more than my old Myvi. But I still service at Proton SC follow schedule. Overall is a really fun drive like a budget ford fiesta
+1 icon_rolleyes.gif

I did the same except i made a cvt oil change at 30km instead of 60km recommended by manual.

How long did you wait for you iriz?

I waited mine for almost 2 month and that is after flipping through few colours choice.

This post has been edited by minizian: Feb 11 2023, 08:12 PM
minizian
post Aug 6 2023, 04:39 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 6 2023, 08:48 AM)
From my read, plenty of sc and workshop who are not honest putting tap water which make it rust inside. Hence overheat. Not sure if it is correct
For some reason iriz/persona radiator are very prone to rust. Is there possibility of upgrading the radiator to better one or the stock one is still the best.

At least the service center that allows me to be around the car while it was worked on and I make sure they use the proper coolant (the ready to mix proton coolant)
minizian
post Aug 9 2023, 04:46 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 9 2023, 03:44 PM)
Based on reading, turn out the recent Persona, Iriz using the thinner radiator as opposed of old Iriz/ Persona. Rest owner change radiator with thicker of 22mm to solve this overheat issues. Just Shopee for the radiator parts
Alamak, i guess cost costting measure?
minizian
post Aug 14 2023, 05:32 PM

1,074 posts

Just a quick question, what is the bulb size used for rear light where signal and reverse light?

Also same question the rear brake light too, the one on the middle.

Thinking to convert mine to LED
minizian
post Sep 9 2023, 03:37 PM

1,074 posts

Is there any way of knowing CVT gear temp through obd2 scanner?

I got conflicting reply with regards to this.

Not sure if there particular dongle would be able to do so?
minizian
post Sep 9 2023, 08:22 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(croydon @ Sep 9 2023, 05:44 PM)
source FB group, dont remember whose the owner

seems like this one of the lufi unit?

But I checked lufi themselves and they cant really give conclusive answer